DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 11-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2020/0379325; hereinafter referred to as Lee) in view of Hsu (US 2023/0016205).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a laser source (Figures 3A and 3B; Optical Engine Module 130), comprising:
at least one laser assembly (Figures 3A and 3B; Illumination System 132), including:
a mounting substrate (Figures 3A and 3B; Light Source Circuit Board 157), the mounting substrate (Figures 3A and 3B; Light Source Circuit Board 157) being a first printed circuit board (Figures 3A and 3B; Light Source Circuit Board 157) and including:
a first surface (Figures 3A and 3B; Surface S2);
a first region located on the first surface (see Figures 3A and 3B; wherein surface S1 may be divided into a first and second region); and
a second region located on the first surface (see Figures 3A and 3B; wherein surface S1 may be divided into a first and second region),
at least one light-emitting group disposed on the first surface and located in the first region (see Paragraph [0019]; wherein it is disclosed that the illumination system 132, for example, is a combination of at least one light emitting element and at least one optical element, such as a light emitting diode or a laser light source), the light-emitting group being electrically connected with the first region (see Paragraph [0019]; wherein it is disclosed that the illumination system 132, for example, is a combination of at least one light emitting element and at least one optical element, such as a light emitting diode or a laser light source wherein an electrical connection is inherently required for the light emitting element to emit light), the light-emitting group including a plurality of light-emitting chips and being configured to emit laser beams (see Paragraph [0019]; wherein it is disclosed that the illumination system 132, for example, is a combination of at least one light emitting element and at least one optical element, such as a light emitting diode or a laser light source); and
at least one conductive connecting portion (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 156), a first end of the conductive connecting portion being connected with the second region (see Paragraph [0027]; wherein it is disclosed that the two light source circuit boards 157 are connected to the first circuit board 151 by the third connection portion 156), and a second end of the conductive connecting portion (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 156) being configured to be electrically connected with a second printed circuit board (Figures 3A and 3B; First Circuit Board 151), so as to electrically connect the light-emitting group with the second printed circuit board (see Paragraph [0027]; wherein it is disclosed that the two light source circuit boards 157 are connected to the first circuit board 151 by the third connection portion 156).
Lee does not expressly disclose that the mounting substrate includes a first surface; a first region located on the first surface; and a second region located on the first surface, the first region and the second region being discontinuously distributed, and the first region being connected with the second region through an internal wiring of the mounting substrate; at least one light-emitting group disposed on the first surface and located in the first region, the light-emitting group being electrically connected with the first region, the light-emitting group including a plurality of light-emitting chips and being configured to emit laser beams.
Hsu discloses a laser source (Figure 2C; Light Source Module 100), comprising:
at least one laser assembly (Figure 2C; Beam Emitter 124), including:
a mounting substrate (Figure 2C; Circuit Board 131), the mounting substrate (Figure 2C; Circuit Board 131) being a first printed circuit board (see Paragraph [0021]) and including:
a first surface (see Figure 2C; wherein the first surface is the top surface);
a first region located on the first surface (see Figure 2C; wherein the first region corresponds to the region which accommodates the leftmost beam emitter 124); and
a second region located on the first surface (see Figure 2C; wherein the second region corresponds to the region which accommodates the rightmost beam emitter 124), the first region and the second region being discontinuously distributed (see Figure 2C), and the first region being connected with the second region through an internal wiring of the mounting substrate (see Paragraph [0026]; wherein it is disclosed that the connector 135 is configured to provide power through a wire, which is transmitted to the beam emitter 124 of the laser assembly 120 via the two electroplated through holes 136 of the circuit board 131, the conductive material 140, and the two conductive pads 126, so that the beam emitter 124 emits the laser beam);
at least one light-emitting group (Figure 2C; Beam Emitter 124) disposed on the first surface and located in the first region (see Figure 2C), the light-emitting group (Figure 2C; Beam Emitter 124) being electrically connected with the first region (see Figure 2C and Paragraph [0026]), the light-emitting group (Figure 2C; Beam Emitter 124) including a plurality of light-emitting chips (Figure 2C; Beam Emitter 124) and being configured to emit laser beams (see Paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the laser source of Hsu such that the mounting substrate includes a first surface; a first region located on the first surface; and a second region located on the first surface, the first region and the second region being discontinuously distributed, and the first region being connected with the second region through an internal wiring of the mounting substrate; at least one light-emitting group disposed on the first surface and located in the first region, the light-emitting group being electrically connected with the first region, the light-emitting group including a plurality of light-emitting chips and being configured to emit laser beams, as taught by Hsu, because doing so would provide a light source module with low production cost (see Hsu Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee as modified by Hsu discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Lee further discloses a connecting board (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 152), the second printed circuit board (Figures 3A and 3B; First Circuit Board 151) including the connecting board (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 152), the connecting board (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 152) being configured to be electrically connected with a main board (see Figures 3A and 3B; Paragraph [0022]; wherein the first circuit board 151 is connected to the second circuit board 153 by the first connection portion 152), wherein the two ends of the conductive connecting portion (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 156) are welded with the second region of the mounting substrate (Figures 3A and 3B; Light Source Circuit Board 157) and the connecting board (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 152), respectively, and the laser assembly (Figures 3A and 3B; Illumination System 132) is connected with the connecting board (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 152) through the conductive connecting portion (see Figures 3A and 3B).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee as modified by Hsu discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Lee further discloses the first end of the conductive connecting portion (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 156) abuts against and is welded with the second region of the mounting substrate (see Figures 3A and 3B; Paragraph [0027]; wherein it is disclosed that the third connection portion 156 has two branch portions respectively connected to the two light source circuit boards 157), and the second end of the conductive connecting portion (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 156) abuts against and is welded with a welding portion of the second printed circuit board (see Paragraph [0027]; wherein it is disclosed that the other end of the third connection portion 156 is connected to the 6-pin connection port of the first circuit board 151 by using a 6-pin connector).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee as modified by Hsu discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Lee further discloses at least one of the second printed circuit board (Figures 3A and 3B; First Circuit Board 151) or the mounting substrate (Figures 3A and 3B; Light Source Circuit Board 157) includes a socket, and the conductive connecting portion (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 156) includes a connecting wire (see Paragraph [0027]; wherein it is disclosed that the third connection portion 156 is a flexible circuit board), and the conductive connecting portion (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 156) satisfies one of following:
a first end of the connecting wire (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 156) is connected to the socket of the mounting substrate (see Paragraph [0027]; wherein it is disclosed that the third connection portion 156 has two branch portions respectively connected to the two light source circuit boards 157 and the other end of the third connection portion 156 is connected to the 6-pin connection port of the first circuit board 151 by using a 6-pin connector), and a second end of the connecting wire (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 156) is connected to the socket of the second printed circuit board (Figures 3A and 3B; First Circuit Board 151), so as to connect the second printed circuit board (Figures 3A and 3B; First Circuit Board 151) with the mounting substrate (see Paragraph [0027]; wherein it is disclosed that the third connection portion 156 has two branch portions respectively connected to the two light source circuit boards 157 and the other end of the third connection portion 156 is connected to the 6-pin connection port of the first circuit board 151 by using a 6-pin connector);
Regarding Claim 11, Lee as modified by Hsu discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Lee further discloses a connecting board (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 152), the second printed circuit board (Figures 3A and 3B; First Circuit Board 151) including the connecting board (see Figures 3A and 3B), the connecting board (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 152) being configured to be electrically connected with a main board (see Figures 3A and 3B; Paragraph [0022]; wherein the first circuit board 151 is connected to the second circuit board 153 by the first connection portion 152), wherein the connecting board (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 152) satisfies one of following: the connecting board (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 152) includes:
a board body having a third surface (Figure 3B; wherein the third surface corresponds to the surface opposite to surface S3); and a hollow region disposed on the board body and running through the board body (see Figure 3B; wherein the PCBs 151 and 153 are disposed along the hollow region of the connection portion 152), an orthogonal projection of the laser assembly (Figures 3A and 3B; Illumination System 132) on the board body at least overlapping the hollow region (see Figure 3B); and
Regarding Claim 12, Lee as modified by Hsu discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above.
Lee further discloses a light-emitting surface of the light-emitting group (see Paragraph [0019]; wherein it is disclosed that the illumination system 132, for example, is a combination of at least one light emitting element and at least one optical element, such as a light emitting diode or a laser light source), the mounting substrate (Figures 3A and 3B; Light Source Circuit Board 157), and the connecting board (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 152) are parallel to each other (see Figures 3A and 3B).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee as modified by Hsu discloses the limitations of claim 12 as detailed above.
Lee further discloses the mounting substrate (Figures 3A and 3B; Light Source Circuit Board 157) is arranged side by side with the connecting board (see Figure 3B).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee as modified by Hsu discloses the limitations of claim 12 as detailed above.
Lee further discloses the first surface and the third surface are in different planes (see Figures 3A and 3B).
Regarding Claim 15, Lee as modified by Hsu discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Lee further discloses at least one of the light-emitting group includes a plurality of light-emitting groups (see Paragraph [0019]; wherein it is disclosed that the illumination system 132, for example, is a combination of at least one light emitting element and at least one optical element, such as a light emitting diode or a laser light source), and the plurality of light-emitting groups satisfy one of following:
the plurality of light-emitting groups are configured to emit the laser beams of a same color and connected in series (see Paragraph [0019]; wherein it is disclosed that the illumination system 132, for example, is a combination of at least one light emitting element and at least one optical element, such as a light emitting diode or a laser light source).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee as modified by Hsu discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Lee further discloses a housing (Figures 3A and 3B; Housing 110); and
a closing member (Figures 3A and 3B; Frame 140) located between the housing (Figures 3A and 3B; Housing 110) and the mounting substrate (Figures 3A and 3B; Light Source Circuit Board 157) and abutting against the housing (Figures 3A and 3B; Housing 110) and the mounting substrate (Figures 3A and 3B; Light Source Circuit Board 157), so as to close gaps between the housing (Figures 3A and 3B; Housing 110) and the mounting substrate (see Figures 3A and 3B).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee as modified by Hsu discloses the limitations of claim 16 as detailed above.
Lee further discloses the at least one laser assembly (Figures 3A and 3B; Illumination System 132) includes a plurality of laser assemblies (see Paragraph [0019]), and the plurality of laser assemblies satisfy one of following:
the plurality of laser assemblies (Figures 3A and 3B; Illumination System 132) include a plurality of mounting substrates (see Paragraph [0027]; wherein it is disclosed that there are two light source circuit boards 157), the plurality of mounting substrates (Figures 3A and 3B; Circuit Board 157) are connected to each other (see Figures 3A and 3B), and the plurality of light-emitting groups of the plurality of laser assemblies each are disposed on the corresponding mounting substrate (see Figures 3A and 3B; Paragraph [0019]); and
Regarding Claim 19, Lee as modified by Hsu discloses the limitations of claim 16 as detailed above.
Lee does not expressly disclose that the laser assembly further includes a plurality of first positioning portions disposed on the mounting substrate; the housing includes: a housing body; a support portion disposed on the housing body, at least a portion of at least one of the laser assembly or the second printed circuit board being disposed on the support portion; and a plurality of second positioning portions disposed on the housing body, the plurality of second positioning portions being matched with the plurality of first positioning portions respectively, so as to position the laser assembly.
Hsu discloses the laser assembly (Figure 2B) further includes a plurality of first positioning portions (Figure 2B; Guide Holes 128) disposed on the mounting substrate (see Figure 2B); the housing (Figure 2B; Heat Sink 110) includes: a housing body (Figure 2B; Heat Sink 110); a support portion disposed on the housing body (see Figure 2B;l wherein the support portion is the top surface of the heat sink 110), at least a portion of at least one of the laser assembly or the second printed circuit board being disposed on the support portion (see Figure 2B); and a plurality of second positioning portions (Figure 2B; Guide Members 118) disposed on the housing body (see Figure 2B), the plurality of second positioning portions (Figure 2B; Guide Members 118) being matched with the plurality of first positioning portions (Figure 2B; Guide Holes 128) respectively, so as to position the laser assembly (see Figure 2B and Paragraph [0025]; wherein it is disclosed that the guide members 118 of the heat sink 110 passes through the first guide holes 128 of the board 121 and the second guide holes 138 of the circuit board 131 in sequence when the laser assembly 120 and the circuit board assembly 130 are assembled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the laser source of Lee such that the laser assembly further includes a plurality of first positioning portions disposed on the mounting substrate; the housing includes: a housing body; a support portion disposed on the housing body, at least a portion of at least one of the laser assembly or the second printed circuit board being disposed on the support portion; and a plurality of second positioning portions disposed on the housing body, the plurality of second positioning portions being matched with the plurality of first positioning portions respectively, so as to position the laser assembly, as taught by Hsu, because doing so would result in lower production cost by eliminating the need for a male connector and a female connector (see Hsu Paragraph [0028]).
Regarding Claim 20, Lee discloses a laser projection apparatus (Figures 3A-3C; Projection Apparatus 100), comprising:
a laser source (Figures 3A and 3B; Illumination System 132) configured to emit illumination beams (see Paragraph [0019]);
a light modulation assembly (Figures 3A and 3B; Light Valve 134) configured to modulate the illumination beams emitted by the laser source (Figures 3A and 3B; Illumination System 132), so as to obtain projection beams (see Paragraph [0019]);
a projection lens (Figures 3A and 3B; Projection Lens 136) configured to project the projection beams into an image (see Paragraph [0019]); and
a main board (Figures 3A and 3B; Circuit Board 153) configured to transmit a control signal, so as to control the laser projection apparatus for image display (see Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the second circuit board 153 may be used as a mainboard of the projection apparatus 100);
wherein the laser source (Figures 3A and 3B; Illumination System 132) includes:
a housing (Figures 3A and 3B; Housing 110); and
a laser assembly (Figures 3A, 3B and 4; Light Emitting Element 178) disposed on the housing (see Figures 3A, 3B and 4), a light-emitting side of the laser assembly (Figures 3A, 3B and 4; Light Emitting Element 178) being towards an interior of the housing (see Figures 3A, 3B and 4), and the laser assembly (Figures 3A, 3B and 4; Light Emitting Element 178) including:
a mounting substrate (Figures 3A and 3B; Light Source Circuit Board 157), the mounting substrate (Figures 3A and 3B; Light Source Circuit Board 157) being a first printed circuit board (see Paragraph [0032]) and including:
a first surface, the first surface being a surface of the mounting substrate (Figures 3A and 3B; Light Source Circuit Board 157) proximate to the housing (see Figures 3A and 3B);
a first region located on the first surface (see Figures 3A and 3B); and
a second region located on the first surface (see Figures 3A and 3B),
a conductive connecting portion (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 152), a first end of the conductive connecting portion (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 152) being connected with the second region (see Figures 3A and 3B), and a second end of the conductive connecting portion (Figures 3A and 3B; Connection Portion 152) being configured to be electrically connected with a second printed circuit board (Figures 3A and 3B; Circuit Board 151), so as to electrically connect the light-emitting group (Figures 3A, 3B and 4; Light Emitting Element 178) with the main board (see Figures 3A and 3B and Paragraph [0022]).
Lee does not expressly disclose the first region and the second region being discontinuously distributed, and the first region being connected with the second region through an internal wiring of the mounting substrate;
a light-emitting group disposed on the first surface and located in the first region, the light-emitting group being electrically connected with the first region, and the light-emitting group including a plurality of light-emitting chips and being configured to emit laser beams.
Hsu discloses a laser source (Figure 2C; Light Source Module 100), comprising:
at least one laser assembly (Figure 2C; Beam Emitter 124), including:
a mounting substrate (Figure 2C; Circuit Board 131), the mounting substrate (Figure 2C; Circuit Board 131) being a first printed circuit board (see Paragraph [0021]) and including:
a first surface (see Figure 2C; wherein the first surface is the top surface);
a first region located on the first surface (see Figure 2C; wherein the first region corresponds to the region which accommodates the leftmost beam emitter 124); and
a second region located on the first surface (see Figure 2C; wherein the second region corresponds to the region which accommodates the rightmost beam emitter 124),
the first region and the second region being discontinuously distributed (see Figure 2C), and the first region being connected with the second region through an internal wiring of the mounting substrate (see Paragraph [0026]; wherein it is disclosed that the connector 135 is configured to provide power through a wire, which is transmitted to the beam emitter 124 of the laser assembly 120 via the two electroplated through holes 136 of the circuit board 131, the conductive material 140, and the two conductive pads 126, so that the beam emitter 124 emits the laser beam);
a light-emitting group (Figure 2C; Beam Emitter 124) disposed on the first surface and located in the first region (see Figure 2C), the light-emitting group (Figure 2C; Beam Emitter 124) being electrically connected with the first region (see Figure 2C and Paragraph [0026]), the light-emitting group (Figure 2C; Beam Emitter 124) including a plurality of light-emitting chips (Figure 2C; Beam Emitter 124) and being configured to emit laser beams (see Paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the laser source of Hsu such that the mounting substrate includes a first surface; a first region located on the first surface; and a second region located on the first surface, the first region and the second region being discontinuously distributed, and the first region being connected with the second region through an internal wiring of the mounting substrate; at least one light-emitting group disposed on the first surface and located in the first region, the light-emitting group being electrically connected with the first region, the light-emitting group including a plurality of light-emitting chips and being configured to emit laser beams, as taught by Hsu, because doing so would provide a light source module with low production cost (see Hsu Paragraph [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7, 9-10 and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 3, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitations which require the second region is located at an edge of the mounting substrate, and the second region is closer to the connecting board than the first region; the mounting substrate includes a plurality of first welding portions, the plurality of first welding portions constitute the second region; the connecting board includes a board body and a plurality of second welding portions, the plurality of second welding portions are disposed on the board body; and the at least one conductive connecting portion includes a plurality of conductive connecting portions, the plurality of conductive connecting portions correspond to the plurality of first welding portions and the plurality of second welding portions respectively; the first end of any of the plurality of conductive connecting portions is connected to any of the plurality of first welding portions, and the second end of the conductive connecting portion is connected to any of the plurality of second welding portions.
These limitations in combination with the limitations of claims 1 and 2 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Claims 4-5 would likewise be non-obvious over the prior art of record if the abovementioned amendment were made by virtue of their dependency upon claim 3.
Regarding Claim 7, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitations which require the conductive connecting portion further satisfies one of following: the second printed circuit board includes a plurality of mounting holes and a plurality of welding portions, the plurality of mounting holes are disposed on the plurality of welding portions of the second printed circuit board, respectively, the mounting substrate further includes a plurality of first welding portions, the first end of the conductive connecting portion abuts against and is welded with any of the plurality of first welding portions, and the second end of the conductive connecting portion is inserted into any of the plurality of mounting holes and welded with the welding portion of the second printed circuit board; and the second printed circuit board includes the plurality of mounting holes and the plurality of welding portions, the plurality of mounting holes are disposed on the plurality of welding portions of the second printed circuit board, respectively, the mounting substrate further includes a plurality of first welding portions and a plurality of second mounting holes, the plurality of second mounting holes are disposed on the plurality of first welding portions, respectively, the first end of the conductive connecting portion is inserted into any of the plurality of second mounting holes and welded with the first welding portion, and the second end of the conductive connecting portion is inserted into any of the plurality of mounting holes and welded with the welding portion of the second printed circuit board.
These limitations in combination with the limitations of claim 1 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Regarding Claim 9, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitations which require a connecting board, the second printed circuit board including the connecting board, the connecting board being configured to be electrically connected with a main board, wherein the mounting substrate includes a first socket, and the first socket is located in the second region and connected with the second region; the connecting board includes a board body and a second socket, and the second socket is disposed on the board body; and the first end of the connecting wire is connected to the first socket, and the second end of the connecting wire is connected to the second socket, so as to connect the mounting substrate with the connecting board.
These limitations in combination with the limitations of claims 1 and 8 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Regarding Claim 10, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitations which require the mounting substrate includes a first socket, and the first socket is located in the second region and connected with the second region; the second circuit board includes a main board, and the main board is provided with a third socket; and the first end of the connecting wire is connected to the first socket, and the second end of the connecting wire is connected to the third socket, so as to electrically connect the light-emitting group with the main board.
These limitations in combination with the limitations of claims 1 and 8 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Regarding Claim 18, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitations which require the plurality of laser assemblies include a first laser assembly and a second laser assembly, the first laser assembly and the second laser assembly satisfy one of following: the mounting substrate of the first laser assembly abuts against the mounting substrate of the second laser assembly; and the plurality of light-emitting groups of the first laser assembly and the second laser assembly are disposed on a same mounting substrate; the closing member includes: a closing body; a first through hole disposed on the closing body, an inner wall of the first through hole surrounding the light-emitting group of the first laser assembly; and a second through hole disposed on the closing body, an inner wall of the second through hole surrounding the light-emitting group of the second laser assembly.
These limitations in combination with the limitations of claims 1, 16 and 17 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882