DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No.11,220,470. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims includes steps of recovering methane and carbon dioxide from a biogas. There are minor differences between the present claimed set and the Patent claimed set and such differences would have been obvious to one of skill in the art.
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No.10,968,151. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims includes steps of recovering methane and carbon dioxide from a biogas. There are minor differences between the present claimed set and the Patent claimed set and such differences would have been obvious to one of skill in the art.
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No.11,708,313. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims includes steps of recovering methane and carbon dioxide from a biogas. There are minor differences between the present claimed set and the Patent claimed set and such differences would have been obvious to one of skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Regarding claim 1, CN ’320 teaches a process for recovering methane and carbon dioxide from landfill gas/biogas. The landfill gas is subjected to pretreatment including desulfurization, compression and cooling, followed by adsorption separation to produce a high-purity methane product and a CO₂ rich desorption gas (CN ’320, ¶¶[0012], [0019]–[0023], [0040], [0044]–[0045], [0060]–[0063]; Figs. 2–4). The CO₂-rich gas is compressed, cooled and dried, subjected to condensation/liquefaction, and introduced into a flash device to recover a liquid CO₂ product of approximately 99.9% purity; the flash vapor/waste gas is recycled through the gas outlet of the flash device to the upstream raw-gas compression stage, whereby unrecovered gaseous CO₂ is returned through the process for further recovery (CN ’320, ¶¶[0040], [0045], [0060]–[0063]; Fig. 3). CN ’320 does not expressly disclose separating condensed liquid water and removing trace contaminants with the specificity recited.
Sethna teaches processing landfill/digester biogas by cooling/condensation and compression, including removal of condensate, followed by adsorption treatment (Sethna, ¶¶[0055]–[0059], [0094]–[0097]; Fig. 2), and teaches adsorbents/guard beds for removing water, H₂S and other sulfur compounds, NMOCs/VOCs, halogenated compounds, and siloxanes (Sethna, ¶¶[0055]–[0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN’320 process to employ Sethna's known water and trace-contaminant removal in CN ’320's biogas pretreatment to remove condensable water and undesirable contaminants before downstream adsorption and CO₂ liquefaction, thereby protecting downstream processing equipment and improving product purity.
CN ’320/Sethna do not expressly state that the facility monitors “material and energy inputs and outputs.” However, it would have been obvious to monitor the material streams and energy inputs/outputs of the disclosed industrial gas-processing facility in order to operate and control its compressors, coolers, dryers, adsorption units and liquefaction equipment and to determine process performance, material balance and energy consumption. CN ’320 itself employs automated PLC control of its PSA system (CN ’320, claim 7; ¶¶[0057]–[0059]), further evidencing conventional monitoring/control of the disclosed processing facility.
Regarding claim 2, Sethna teaches drying the gas by cooling/condensation and adsorption before further purification (Sethna, ¶¶[0055]–[0062], [0094]–[0097]; Fig. 2). Since claim 2 recites the additional steps as alternatives (“any of”), the disclosed drying step satisfies at least one of the claimed alternatives.
Regarding claim 11, Although the references do not expressly disclose a residual halogenated-hydrocarbon concentration below 0.1 ppmv, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of CN ’320 to operate the expressly taught contaminant-removal treatment to reduce the known undesirable halogenated hydrocarbons to a suitably low level, including below 0.1 ppmv, because further removal of such contaminants predictably increases the purity and suitability of the resulting biomethane product. Determining the extent of removal necessary to obtain the desired high-purity biomethane would have constituted routine optimization of an expressly taught purification step. Regarding claim 12, Sethna likewise expressly teaches removal of residual siloxanes from landfill biogas using the guard-bed treatment (Sethna, ¶¶[0055]–[0062]). Although Sethna does not expressly disclose a residual siloxane concentration below 0.01 mg Si/m³, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the expressly taught siloxane-removal treatment to reduce residual siloxanes to a suitably low level, including below 0.01 mg Si/m³, because minimizing residual siloxanes predictably provides a cleaner, higher-purity biomethane product and reduces the undesirable effects for which Sethna removes siloxanes. The claimed concentration therefore represents optimization of the degree of an expressly taught contaminant-removal operation.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yousef et al., “New approach for biogas purification using cryogenic separation and distillation process for CO2 capture” Energy 156 (2018), pp 328–351.
Regarding claim 8, CN ’320 does not expressly disclose an overall methane recovery efficiency greater than 98%.
Yousef teaches cryogenic biogas upgrading with less than 1% methane loss while producing high-purity biomethane and liquid CO₂ (Yousef: pp. 328–351, Abstract and discussion of cryogenic separation/methane loss).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate CN ’320's methane/CO₂ recovery process according to the known high-methane-recovery conditions taught by Yousef in order to minimize loss of the valuable methane product and maximize biomethane recovery.
Regarding claim 9, CN ’320 teaches production of a high-purity methane product, including methane purities exceeding 99% (CN ’320, ¶¶[0044]–[0045] and Examples). Although CN ’320 does not expressly report a gross heating value greater than 1,000 Btu/SCF, it would have been obvious to provide such a heating value by increasing methane purity/removing noncombustible CO₂ and other diluents to obtain Yousef’s high-purity biomethane, because such removal predictably increases the heating value per unit volume. Selection of a methane purity sufficient to provide a desired fuel-gas heating value would have been routine optimization of CN ’320's expressly disclosed high-purity biomethane product.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ’320 in view of Sethna, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Prince et al. (US 2019/0001263 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Prince teaches a landfill-biogas purification plant employing drying, desulfurization, VOC removal, CO₂ purification and cryogenic separation (Prince, ¶¶[0047]–[0054], [0073]–[0080]; Figs. 1–2) and teaches using an available N₂-rich stream from cryogenic separation for regeneration of contaminant-loaded adsorbent. It would have been obvious to use the separated nitrogen stream to regenerate contaminant-laden adsorbent in the modified CN/Sethna process, thereby beneficially using an available inert process stream while regenerating the adsorbent for continued purification.
Regarding claim 4, Prince further teaches treating/oxidizing the contaminant-containing gas resulting from adsorbent regeneration, including embodiments employing the N₂-rich cryogenic stream in association with the regeneration operation (Prince, discussion of PSA/PTSA regeneration and oxidation of regeneration gas). It would have been obvious to direct the resulting contaminant-laden nitrogen-containing regeneration stream to a thermal oxidizer or flare in order to thermally destroy the concentrated contaminants before discharge.
Claims 5, 6, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ’320 in view of Sethna, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of FR 2,928,720 A1 (“FR ’720”). Regarding claim 5, FR ’720 teaches cryogenic separation of a CO₂-containing hydrocarbon gas to produce a CO₂-rich liquid stream and expressly teaches pressurizing the recovered CO₂ for injection into an underground reservoir for sequestration (FR ’720, p. 2, discussion of high-pressure reinjection/sequestration; pp. 8–10 and Figs. 1, 3, CO₂-rich liquid stream 30 and pump P1). It would have been obvious to inject CN ’320's recovered liquid CO₂ into an underground geologic reservoir as taught by FR ’720 because sequestration provides a known beneficial disposition of the recovered CO₂ rather than releasing it to the atmosphere. Regarding claim 6, the references do not expressly disclose monitoring the reservoir for verification of extended or permanent CO₂ storage. However, once the recovered CO₂ is deliberately injected into an underground reservoir for permanent sequestration as taught by FR ’720, it would have been obvious to monitor the reservoir to verify that the injected CO₂ remains stored and thereby confirm that the sequestration operation achieves its intended purpose. Such verification is a predictable monitoring step attendant to permanent underground storage.
Regarding claim 10, although CN ’320 and FR ’720 do not expressly disclose that the biomethane product has a carbon intensity of less than 25 gCO₂e/MJ, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of CN ’320 to operate and optimize the disclosed biogas purification, methane-recovery, CO₂-recovery, and CO₂-sequestration processes so as to minimize the greenhouse-gas emissions attributable to the useful biomethane product, including minimizing methane losses and recovering/sequestering separated CO₂ rather than releasing those greenhouse gases to the atmosphere. Optimization toward lower carbon intensity would have predictably increased the environmental benefit of the biomethane product, and the claimed value of less than 25 gCO₂e/MJ represents a degree of the desired reduction in greenhouse-gas emissions obtainable by optimization of the known process. Regarding claim 13, CN ’320 recovers methane and carbon dioxide from landfill gas, including recovery of carbon dioxide as a concentrated liquid product rather than simply discharging the separated carbon dioxide (CN ’320, ¶¶[0040], [0044]–[0045], [0060]–[0064]). FR ’720 further teaches injecting recovered carbon dioxide into an underground reservoir for sequestration, thereby preventing the sequestered carbon dioxide from being released to the atmosphere (FR ’720, pp. 2, 8–10; Figs. 1 and 3). Although the references do not expressly disclose generating credits due to the resulting reduction in greenhouse gases, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of CN ‘320 to generate or obtain available greenhouse-gas/carbon credits attributable to the reduction or sequestration of greenhouse-gas emissions resulting from the disclosed process, because such credits provide a known economic benefit associated with reducing or permanently storing greenhouse gases. Generation of the credit does not alter the underlying methane/CO₂ recovery and sequestration process but represents obtaining the known economic benefit associated with the greenhouse-gas reduction produced by that process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771