Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) [ 1, 2, 4-8, 10, 12, 14-18 and 20 ] is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a (1) as being anticipated by Karl (US 20190289492 A1)] hereon after Karl.
Regrading claim 1, 11 and 20, Karl teaches; A computing system comprising: [0086] Referring to FIG. 9, one example of an implementation of a base station 102 as a donor node 210 may include a variety of components, storage media; [0078] memory 816 may be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores one or more computer-executable codes, and processing circuitry in communication with the storage media, the processing circuitry configured to: [0012] The base station may include a memory and a processor in communication with the memory. The processor may be configured to receive a configuration for a first backhaul radio channel with a first priority… map each Quality of Service (QoS) requirement of a plurality of QoS requirements for data flows in a mobile network to a corresponding transport channel of a plurality of transport channels in a transport network [0030] the controller establishes, on each backhaul link, a separate RLC-channel (or radio bearer) for each QoS class. When a UE accesses a relay, the controller configures a mapping between each of the UE's access RLC-channels and the corresponding QoS-classes supported on the backhaul links on the relay and a donor communicatively coupled with a wireline (and any intermediate nodes) between a first node and a second node of at least one of a radio access network (RAN) of the mobile network or a core network of the mobile network; [0035] The base station 102-a may be a donor node that includes a backhaul link 132 to the core network 180. The relay nodes of base stations 102-b and 102-c may establish the wireless backhaul 134 via the donor node of base station 102-a. As discussed in further detail below, the base stations 102 may each be configured with mappings for differentiating packets for transmission over the wireless backhaul 134, select, based on the mapping and for a first data flow of the data flows, a first transport channel of the plurality of transport channels; [0054] the RLC-channel 372 may support QoS class 1, and the RLC-Channel 374 may support QoS class 2 between relay node 326 and donor node 210. When a UE 104 accesses a gNB-DU 320 on a relay node 324, the controller 410 configures on the relay node 324 and the donor node 210 a mapping between each of the UE's access RLC-channels and a corresponding QoS-class supported on the backhaul link, and send information to the second node, the information comprising data identifying the first data flow and data identifying the first transport channel, [0070] For example, at 710 method 700 includes receiving a configuration for a first backhaul radio channel with a first priority and a first priority ID, and receiving a configuration for a second backhaul radio channel with a second priority and a second priority ID… [0071] At 720, the method 700 includes receiving a configuration for a first tunnel with a first bearer ID and a first mapping to the first priority, and receiving a configuration for a second tunnel with a second bearer ID and a second mapping to the second priority, the information causing the second node to use the first transport channel when sending packets of the first data flow to the first node, [0074] donor node 210 may execute donor QoS component 170 to forward packets from the first tunnel 173 to the first radio channel 171, which may be a backhaul radio channel, based on the first mapping 175, and insert the first priority ID into a header in the packets from the first tunnel 173.
Regarding claim 2 and 12, Karl teaches; wherein, to map each QoS requirement of the plurality of QoS requirements for the data flows in the mobile network to the corresponding transport channel of the plurality of transport channels in the transport network, the processing circuitry is configured to: [0030] the controller establishes, on each backhaul link, a separate RLC-channel (or radio bearer) for each QoS class. When a UE accesses a relay, the controller configures a mapping between each of the UE's access RLC-channels and the corresponding QoS-classes supported on the backhaul links, map each radio-level QoS requirement of a plurality of radio-level QoS requirements for the data flows in the mobile network to a corresponding transport-level QoS capability of a transport channel of the plurality of transport channels in the transport network [0054] the RLC-channel 360 may support QoS class 1, and the RLC-Channel 362 may support QoS class 2 between relay node 324 and relay node 322. As another example, the RLC-channel 364 may support QoS class 1, and the RLC-Channel 366 may support QoS class 2 between relay node 322 and donor node 210… When a UE 104 accesses a gNB-DU 320 on a relay node 324, the controller 410 configures on the relay node 324 and the donor node 210 a mapping between each of the UE's access RLC-channels and a corresponding QoS-class supported on the backhaul link.
Regarding claim 4 and 14, Karl teaches; wherein the data identifying the first data flow comprises one or more of: data identifying a data radio bearer (DRB); [0050] An access link 222 can support multiple bearers, such as data radio bearers (DRBs) or signaling radio bearers (SRBs). Each bearer may be assigned a different QoS-class and therefore provide a QoS-class-specific priority in data scheduling on the air interface, or a tunnel endpoint identifier (TEID) for a DRB.
Regarding claim 5 and 15, Karl teaches; wherein the data identifying the first transport channel comprises at least one of: one or more of Layer-2, Layer-3, or Layer-4 header information; [0055] Forwarding of user data packets between the relay node 324 and the donor node 210 across the backhaul network may be based on the QoS-class ID which may be carried in an adaptation-layer header inserted into a L2 header stack. The adaptation-layer header may further carry a bearer identifier, which may be configured by the controller 410, e.g., the central unit-control (CU-C) plane, or a virtual local area network (VLAN) identifier.
Regarding claim 6 and 16, Karl teaches; wherein the plurality of transport channels comprise a plurality of tunnels over one of an F1 interface [0051] Each radio bearer may also include a corresponding F1-association 350, 352, 354, 356 between gNB-DU 320 and gNB-CU 310. Further, two QoS classes are used by the UEs in FIG. 3, or an N3 interface between the first node and the second node.
Regarding claim 7 and 17, Karl teaches; the computing system of wherein the computing system comprises the first node, [0051] Referring to FIG. 3, an example of a wireless backhaul network 300 may extend the wireline fronthaul between a gNB-DU 320 (which may reside at a relay node 220) and gNB-CU 310 (which may reside at the donor node 210 or another network location), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to send the information to the second node via an F1-C interface between the first node and the second node, [0051] Each radio bearer may also include a corresponding F1-association 350, 352, 354, 356 between gNB-DU 320 and gNB-CU 310, and wherein the first transport channel supports an F1-U interface between the first node and the second node. [0052] While a scheduler in the gNB-DU 320 can enforce the priorities associated with these two QoS classes over the RLC channels 340, 342, 344, 346 to the UEs 330, 332, 335, the F1 associations 350, 352, 354, 356 may not specify how QoS enforcement is accomplished on the wireless backhaul.
Regarding claim 8 and 18, Karl teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to receive a Transport Network Update message from a transport network controller that manages the plurality of transport channels in the transport network, [0070] donor node 210 may execute donor QoS component 170 to receive a configuration for a first radio channel 171, which may be a backhaul radio channel, with a first priority and a first priority ID, and receive a configuration for a second radio channel 172, which may also be a backhaul radio channel, with a second priority and a second priority ID, as described herein. The configurations may be received from the controller 410, wherein the Transport Network Update message specifies transport-level QoS capabilities of the plurality of transport channels [0054] the RLC-channel 360 may support QoS class 1, and the RLC-Channel 362 may support QoS class 2 between relay node 324 and relay node 322. As another example, the RLC-channel 364 may support QoS class 1, and the RLC-Channel 366 may support QoS class 2 between relay node 322 and donor node 210.
Regarding claim 10, Karl teaches wherein the first node and the second node comprise at least two of: a Distributed Unit (DU) of the RAN, [0051] Referring to FIG. 3, an example of a wireless backhaul network 300 may extend the wireline fronthaul between a gNB-DU 320 (which may reside at a relay node 220) a Central Unit (CU) of the RAN, [0051] gNB-CU 310 (which may reside at the donor node 210 or another network location), or a User Plane Function (UPF) [0061] In the protocol stack 540 of FIG. 5D, Relay 2 holds a full gNB (CU and DU protocols) instead of just a gNB-DU, and the backhaul communicatively couples the gNB with a UPF.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [9 and 19] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Karl in view of Angelo (US 20200128452 A1).
In regard to claim 9 and 19, Karl teaches the limitations of the parent claim.
Karl does not teach wherein the buffer memory is configured to record only audio representation data received at the buffer input during the second and third periods.
However, Angelo does teach wherein one or more of a 5th Generation (5G) QoS flow, [0013] A 5G QoS flow is the finest granularity of PDU stream that can be differentiated for QoS forwarding treatment in the system, a Data Radio Bearer 5G QoS Identifier (DRB SQI), [0014] Two types of QoS marking include A-type QoS marking and B-type QoS marking: A-type QoS marking is user plane marking sent over NG3 (5G QoS Flow ID (5QI)) with standardized 5G QoS characteristics, or Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) specifies each QoS requirement of the plurality of QoS requirements [0015] A QoS profile consists of user plane marking (5QI) and corresponding 5G QoS characteristics.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Karl and Angelo before him or her, to modify the method of Karl in include data buffer as taught by Angelo.
The motivation for doing so would be improved radio bearers’ communication. (Paragraph 11 by Angelo)].
Claim [3 and 13] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Karl in view of Park (US 20180324645 A1).
In regard to claim 3 and 13, Karl teaches the limitations of the parent claim.
Karl teaches map the QoS requirement to a corresponding General Packet Radio Service (GPRS) Tunnelling Protocol User Plane (GTP-U) tunnel of a plurality of GTP-U tunnels [0061] the donor node may be split into a distributed entity and a centralized entity, which are interconnected via a wireline network, while only the distributed donor entity supports wireless backhaul links. In such an arrangement, the adaptation layer 512 may be terminated at the centralized entity and carried over the wireline entity, e.g., on top of UDP/IP or GTP-U/UDP/IP.
Karl does not teach for each QoS requirement of a plurality of QoS requirements, the plurality of QoS requirements specified by a slice and to be satisfied by data radio bearers (DRBs) in the mobile network.
However, Park does teach for each QoS requirement of a plurality of QoS requirements, [0190] QoS flows within a PDU session may belong to the same network slice; within a slice, QoS differentiation may be supported; connection of a UE to multiple network slices may be supported, the plurality of QoS requirements specified by a slice [0192] In case of network slicing, Slice ID information may be added per PDU session, so RAN may be enabled to apply policies at PDU session level according to the SLA represented by the network slice, e.g. while still being able to apply differentiated QoS within the slice, and to be satisfied by data radio bearers (DRBs) in the mobile network [0193] the third message may be configured to request for the serving base station to establish one or more bearers (and/or one or more packet flows) for the network slice and/or the service to support the request of the wireless device
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Karl and Park before him or her, to modify the method of Karl in include data buffer as taught by Park.
The motivation for doing so would be communication reliability. (Paragraph 181 by Park)].
Conclusion
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466