DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2025, 07/21/2025, and, 05/14/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sommer et al., U.S. Patent No. 11,320,508 B2, and further in view of Yang et al., 2017, “ADMM-Net: A Deep Learning Approach for Compressive Sensing MRI” (pp. 1-14).
Regarding claim 21, Sommer discloses A method for generating magnetic resonance (MR) images, the method comprising:
obtaining, using a reconstruction neural network, multiple sets of one or more initial MR images based on MR data captured during MR imaging of a subject using a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system (Sommer teaches in - col. 22, lines 5-13 – “the computer memory 138 is shown as further containing an imaging reconstruction module 162 which contains computer executable code or instructions which enable the processor 130 to control the operation and function of the magnetic resonance imaging system to reconstruct magnetic resonance images. For example, the magnetic resonance imaging data sets 144 may comprise magnetic resonance images reconstructed from the acquired magnetic resonance imaging data 142”. As cited Sommmer discloses reconstructing multiple sets of MR data; but does not explicitly teaches using a neural network to do so. However, examiner here asserts that using a neural network for reconstruction is very well known, and, further cites Yang for evidentiary teachings. Yang teaches “Compressive sensing (CS) is an effective approach for fast Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI). It aims at reconstructing MR images from a small number of under-sampled data in k-space, and accelerating the data acquisition in MRI. To improve the current MRI system in reconstruction accuracy and speed, in this paper, we propose two novel deep architectures, dubbed ADMM-Nets in basic and generalized versions. ADMM-Nets are defined over data flow graphs, which are derived from the iterative procedures in Alternating Direction Method of Multipliers (ADMM) algorithm for optimizing a general CS-based MRI model. They take the sampled k-space data as inputs and output reconstructed MR images” (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use reconstruction neural network as taught by Yang in the invention of Sommer. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use reconstruction neural network as taught by Yang in the invention of Sommer, in order to improve reconstruction accuracy and speed (see Yang – Abstract as cited before).
The combined invention of Sommer and Yang further discloses “generating an MR image of the subject based on the multiple sets of one or more MR images output by the reconstruction neural network” (see Sommer - col. 27, lines 1-5 – Motion-artifact-corrected magnetic resonance image 802 results from a correction of motion-artifact-corrupted magnetic resonance images 800. The motion-artifact-corrected magnetic resonance image 802 may be provided as directed output by the fully convolution neural network)
wherein generating the MR image comprises providing the multiple sets of one or more MR images to a post-reconstruction neural network that comprises a plurality of neural networks, the plurality of neural networks comprising a first neural network configured to perform alignment among the multiple sets of one or more MR images to correct for motion of the subject during the MR imaging (see Sommer – col. 20, lines 64-66 – “the trained deep learning network 146 may for example comprise a trained deep convolutional neural network and/or a trained fully conventional network” – using plurality of neural networks; col. 21, lines 25-31 – Applying the magnetic resonance imaging data sets 144 to the trained deep learning network 146 may result in magnetic resonance imaging data sets with a reduced motion artifact level, i.e., motion-artifact-corrected magnetic resonance imaging data sets. In this case, the results 148 may comprise for example magnetic resonance imaging data sets with a reduced motion artifact level”).
Double Patenting
6. Claim 21 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,681,000 B2 (herein referred to as Schlemper) in view of Yang et al., 2017, “ADMM-Net: A Deep Learning Approach for Compressive Sensing MRI” (pp. 1-14).
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 8 of Sclemper (claim 8 is combination of subject matter of claim 8 and 1)
Regarding claim 21, Schlemper discloses A method for generating magnetic resonance (MR) images, the method comprising:
obtaining, using a reconstruction neural network, multiple sets of one or more initial MR images based on MR data captured during MR imaging of a subject using a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system (see Schlemper – claim 1 - col. 69, line 65- col. 70, line 31 – reconstructing multiple sets of MR data”). As cited Schlemper discloses reconstructing multiple sets of MR data; but does not explicitly teaches using a neural network to do so. However, examiner here asserts that using a neural network for reconstruction is very well known, and, further cites Yang for evidentiary teachings. Yang teaches “Compressive sensing (CS) is an effective approach for fast Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI). It aims at reconstructing MR images from a small number of under-sampled data in k-space, and accelerating the data acquisition in MRI. To improve the current MRI system in reconstruction accuracy and speed, in this paper, we propose two novel deep architectures, dubbed ADMM-Nets in basic and generalized versions. ADMM-Nets are defined over data flow graphs, which are derived from the iterative procedures in Alternating Direction Method of Multipliers (ADMM) algorithm for optimizing a general CS-based MRI model. They take the sampled k-space data as inputs and output reconstructed MR images” (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use reconstruction neural network as taught by Yang in the invention of Schlemper. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use reconstruction neural network as taught by Yang in the invention of Schlemper, in order to improve reconstruction accuracy and speed (see Yang – Abstract as cited before).
The combined invention of Schlemper and Yang further discloses “generating an MR image of the subject based on the multiple sets of one or more MR images output by the reconstruction neural network” (see Schlemper – claim 1 - col. 70, lines 26-30)
wherein generating the MR image comprises providing the multiple sets of one or more MR images to a post-reconstruction neural network that comprises a plurality of neural networks, the plurality of neural networks comprising a first neural network configured to perform alignment among the multiple sets of one or more MR images to correct for motion of the subject during the MR imaging (see Schlemper – claim 1 - col. 70, lines 4-25; and claim 8 – col. 70, lines 50-58 – a composed transformation is a mathematical tool explicitly used to correct motion artifacts).
7. Claim 21 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,344,219 B2 (herein referred to as Schlemper) in view of Yang et al., 2017, “ADMM-Net: A Deep Learning Approach for Compressive Sensing MRI” (pp. 1-14).
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 8 of Sclemper (claim 8 is combination of subject matter of claim 8 and 1)
Regarding claim 21, Schlemper discloses A method for generating magnetic resonance (MR) images, the method comprising:
obtaining, using a reconstruction neural network, multiple sets of one or more initial MR images based on MR data captured during MR imaging of a subject using a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system (see Schlemper – claim 1 - col. 69, lines 46-53 – reconstructing multiple sets of MR data”). As cited Schlemper discloses reconstructing multiple sets of MR data; but does not explicitly teaches using a neural network to do so. However, examiner here asserts that using a neural network for reconstruction is very well known, and, further cites Yang for evidentiary teachings. Yang teaches “Compressive sensing (CS) is an effective approach for fast Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI). It aims at reconstructing MR images from a small number of under-sampled data in k-space, and accelerating the data acquisition in MRI. To improve the current MRI system in reconstruction accuracy and speed, in this paper, we propose two novel deep architectures, dubbed ADMM-Nets in basic and generalized versions. ADMM-Nets are defined over data flow graphs, which are derived from the iterative procedures in Alternating Direction Method of Multipliers (ADMM) algorithm for optimizing a general CS-based MRI model. They take the sampled k-space data as inputs and output reconstructed MR images” (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use reconstruction neural network as taught by Yang in the invention of Schlemper. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use reconstruction neural network as taught by Yang in the invention of Schlemper, in order to improve reconstruction accuracy and speed (see Yang – Abstract as cited before).
The combined invention of Schlemper and Yang further discloses “generating an MR image of the subject based on the multiple sets of one or more MR images output by the reconstruction neural network” (see Schlemper – claim 1 - col. 70, lines 4-7)
wherein generating the MR image comprises providing the multiple sets of one or more MR images to a post-reconstruction neural network that comprises a plurality of neural networks, the plurality of neural networks comprising a first neural network configured to perform alignment among the multiple sets of one or more MR images to correct for motion of the subject during the MR imaging (see Schlemper – claim 1 - col. 69, line 54- col. 70, line 3; and claim 8 – col. 70, lines 27-34 – a composed transformation is a mathematical tool explicitly used to correct motion artifacts).
/Manav Seth/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
September 3, 2026