DETAILED ACTION
This responds to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed 02/26/2026. Claims 1, 11, 16, 21-22 have been amended. Claims 1-26 are now pending in this Application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “embedding model” as recited in claims 1, 11 and 21.
In response to Applicant’s argument, the examiner submits that Li discloses “The search query 136 may be received by the text representation model 150 for processing. The text representation model 150 may be a trained ML model for encoding textual inputs into text embedding 152. The text embedding 152 may include text embedding representations such as vector embeddings. For example, the text representation model 150 may convert text into vector embeddings in a vector space” (Par [0040]) (Text embedding is the number vector produced by the embedding model).
Therefore, Li discloses “embedding model”.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0169110 A1), and Arun Koteeswaran et al (U.S. Pub No. 2025/0005082 A1), and further in view of Karmakar et al (U.S. Pub No. 2026/0010963 A1).
As per claim 1, Li discloses a server computer configured for embedding based text retrieval, comprising:
one or more processors; one or more databases communicatively coupled with the one or more processors; and a memory communicatively coupled with the one or more processors and storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to be configured as (par [0004]):
an encoder comprising an embedding model that converts text from a corpus into corpus text embeddings that are stored as text embeddings in a text embedding index in the one or more databases, and converts text from queries into baseline query embeddings (Par [0005, 0040, 0043]);
a query embedding transformation model that transforms the baseline query embeddings from the embedding model into modified query embeddings, the query embedding transformation model is trained based on a labeled retrieval dataset comprising training queries and corresponding training texts, wherein the training queries are converted by the embedding model to training query embeddings that are stored in a training query embedding index in the one or more databases, and wherein the training texts are added to the corpus and are converted into training text embeddings by the embedding model and are stored as the text embeddings in the text embedding index in the one or more databases, s (Par [0045-0047, 0048, 0060]);
searches the text embedding index based on the modified query embeddings to produce one or more texts from the corpus (par [0042]).
Li discloses searching queries, converting queries into a text vector encoding, text embedding. Li does not explicitly disclose a searcher that is configured to perform a nearest neighbor search.
However, Arun Koteeswaran discloses a searcher that is configured to perform a nearest neighbor search (Par [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Arun Koteeswaran into the teachings of Li in order to improve the relevancy based on semantic similarity (Par [0008]).
Li and Arun Koteeswaran do not explicitly disclose modified query based on distance between the baseline query and a training query store in training query, the modified query replace the baseline query for a subsequent search.
However, Karmakar discloses modified query based on distance between the baseline query and a training query store in training query, the modified query replace the baseline query for a subsequent search (par [0054-0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Karmakar into the teachings of Li as modified by Arun Koteeswaran in order to improve the speed and accuracy of response to search query (Par [0011]).
As per claim 2, Li discloses the server computer of claim 1, wherein the text embeddings, the baseline query embeddings, and the modified query embeddings are numeric vectors of a same fixed dimension (Par [0043-0044]).
Li and Arun Koteeswaran do not explicitly disclose modified query.
However, Karmakar discloses modified query embeddings (par [0054-0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Karmakar into the teachings of Li as modified by Arun Koteeswaran in order to improve the speed and accuracy of response to search query (Par [0011]).
As per claim 3, Karmakar discloses the server computer of claim 1, wherein the searcher searches the text embedding index based on a distance between the modified query embeddings and the text embeddings in the text embedding index (par [0045, 0060]).
As per claim 4, Li discloses the server computer of claim 1, wherein the distance is determined based on at least one of a cosine distance, a Euclidean distance, a squared Euclidean distance, a vector dot product, a Manhattan distance, and a Hamming distance (par [0045] cosine vector similarity metric).
As per claim 5, Li discloses the server computer of claim 1, wherein the query embedding transformation model is trained to transform the baseline query embeddings into the query embeddings based on the distance between the baseline query embeddings and the training query embeddings according to a set of parameters such that as the distance between the baseline query embeddings and the training query embeddings decreases, (par [0045, 0060] Scoring the similarity).
Li and Arun Koteeswaran do not explicitly disclose modified query, the modified query are less distant to the training text.
However, Karmakar discloses modified query, the modified query are less distant to the training text (par [0054-0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Karmakar into the teachings of Li as modified by Arun Koteeswaran in order to improve the speed and accuracy of response to search query (Par [0011]).
As per claim 6, Li discloses the server computer of claim 1, wherein the query embedding transformation model is trained to transform the baseline query embeddings with a set of parameters such that: an exact match between a baseline query embedding and a training query embedding results in a query embedding that is the training text embedding; and as the distance between a baseline query embedding and a training query embedding approaches infinity (Par [0039, 0045-0046, 0060]).
Li and Arun Koteeswaran do not explicitly disclose modified query, the modified query is less distant to the baseline query.
However, Karmakar discloses modified query, the modified query is less distant to the baseline query (par [0054-0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Karmakar into the teachings of Li as modified by Arun Koteeswaran in order to improve the speed and accuracy of response to search query (Par [0011]).
As per claim 7, Li discloses the server computer of claim 1, wherein the query embedding transformation model is trained to transform the baseline query embeddings according to parameters such that:
an exact match between a baseline query embedding and a training query embedding results in a query embedding that is the training text embedding; a distance between a baseline query embedding and a training query embedding that is greater than a threshold results in a query embedding that is the baseline query embedding; (Par [0039, 0045-0046, 0060]).
Li and Arun Koteeswaran do not explicitly disclose a modified query, and a distance between a baseline query embedding and a training query embedding that is less than a threshold results in a modified query embedding that is the training text embedding.
However, Karmakar discloses a modified query, and a distance between a baseline query embedding and a training query embedding that is less than a threshold results in a modified query embedding that is the training text embedding (par [0054-0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Karmakar into the teachings of Li as modified by Arun Koteeswaran in order to improve the speed and accuracy of response to search query (Par [0011]).
Claim(s) 8, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al, Arun Koteeswaran et al and Karmakar et al, and further in view of Hiranandani et al (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0366016).
As per claim 8, Li discloses the server computer of claim 1, wherein the query embedding transformation model with parameters trained on the labeled retrieval dataset (Par [0039, 0045-0046, 0060]).
Li, Arun Koteeswaran and Karmakar do not explicitly disclose transformation model is a parameterized interpolation model.
However, Hiranandani discloses transformation model is a parameterized interpolation model (Par [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Hiranandani into the teachings of Li as modified by Arun Koteeswaran and Karmakar in order to improve in existing technologies that generate search result (Par [0003]).
As per claim 25, Li discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the query embedding transformation model with parameters trained on the labeled retrieval dataset (Par [0039, 0045-0046, 0060]).
Li, Arun Koteeswaran and Karmakar do not explicitly disclose transformation model is a parameterized interpolation model.
However, Hiranandani discloses transformation model is a parameterized interpolation model (Par [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Hiranandani into the teachings of Li as modified by Arun Koteeswaran and Karmakar in order to improve in existing technologies that generate search result (Par [0003]).
Claim(s) 9 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al, Arun Koteeswaran et al and Karmakar et al, and further in view of Xiong et al (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0234199 A1).
As per claim 9. The server computer of claim 1, wherein the query embedding transformation model is a process model with parameters trained on the labeled retrieval dataset (Par [0039, 0045-0046, 0060]).
Li, Arun Koteeswaran and Karmakar do not explicitly disclose transformation model is a parameterized multivariate Gaussian process model.
However, Xiong discloses transformation model is a parameterized multivariate Gaussian process model (Par [0055, 0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Hiranandani into the teachings of Li as modified by Arun Koteeswaran and Karmakar in order to improve the diversity performance (Par [0006]).
As per claim 26, Li discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the query embedding transformation model is a process model with parameters trained on the labeled retrieval dataset (Par [0039, 0045-0046, 0060]).
Li, Arun Koteeswaran and Karmakar do not explicitly disclose transformation model is a parameterized multivariate Gaussian process model.
However, Xiong discloses transformation model is a parameterized multivariate Gaussian process model (Par [0055, 0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Hiranandani into the teachings of Li as modified by Arun Koteeswaran and Karmakar in order to improve the diversity performance (Par [0006]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al, Arun Koteeswaran et al and Karmakar et al, and further in view of Shepherd et al (U.S. Pub No. 2025/0343825 A1).
As per claim 10, Li discloses the server computer of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a user query via an electronic interface; encode the user query into a baseline query embedding with the embedding model; transform the baseline query embedding to a modified query embedding based on the distance between the baseline query embedding and the training query embeddings; retrieve one or more texts from the corpus based on a nearest neighbor search of the text embedding index using the modified query embedding (Par [0045-0047, 0048, 0060]).
Li discloses searching queries, converting queries into a text vector encoding, text embedding. Li does not explicitly disclose a searcher that is configured to perform a nearest neighbor search.
However, Arun Koteeswaran discloses a searcher that is configured to perform a nearest neighbor search (Par [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Arun Koteeswaran into the teachings of Li in order to improve the relevancy based on semantic similarity (Par [0008]).
Li, Arun Koteeswaran and Karmakar do not explicitly disclose provide the one or more texts and the user query to a prompt constructor for a Large Language Model (LLM) in a Retrieval Augmented Generation application that produces a prompt to the LLM that integrates the one or more texts and the user query.
However, Shepherd discloses provide the one or more texts and the user query to a prompt constructor for a Large Language Model (LLM) in a Retrieval Augmented Generation application that produces a prompt to the LLM that integrates the one or more texts and the user query (par [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Shepherd into the teachings of Li as modified by Arun Koteeswaran and Karmakar in order provide significant advantages relative to conventional techniques (Par [0003]).
Claim(s) 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0169110 A1), and in view of Karmakar et al (U.S. Pub No. 2026/0010963 A1).
As per claim 11, Li discloses a method for training a text retrieval system for embedding based retrieval of text, comprising:
encoding text from a corpus into corpus text embeddings with an embedding model that is pretrained, wherein the embedding model converts text from user queries into baseline query embeddings (Par [0005, 0040, 0043]);
receiving a labeled retrieval dataset comprising training queries and corresponding training texts, wherein the training texts are added in the corpus; encoding the training queries into training query embeddings and the training texts into training text embeddings (par [0022, 0028-0031, 0048-0050]);
storing the training query embeddings in a training query embedding index; storing the corpus text embeddings and the training text embeddings as text embedding in a text embedding index; and
training a query embedding transformation model using the labeled retrieval dataset to transform the baseline query embeddings produced by the embedding model into modified query embeddings based on a distance between the baseline query embeddings and the training query embeddings stored in the training query embedding index (par [0022, 0028-0031, 0048-0050]).
Li does not explicitly disclose the modified query replace the baseline query for a subsequent search, the modified query replace the baseline query for a subsequent search.
However, Karmakar discloses the modified query replace the baseline query for a subsequent search, the modified query replace the baseline query for a subsequent search (par [0054-0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Karmakar into the teachings of Li in order to improve the speed and accuracy of response to search query (Par [0011]).
As per claim 12, Li discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the text embeddings, the baseline query embeddings, and the modified query embeddings are numeric vectors of a same fixed dimension (Par [0043-0044]).
Li does not explicitly disclose modified query.
However, Karmakar discloses modified query embeddings (par [0054-0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Karmakar into the teachings of Li in order to improve the speed and accuracy of response to search query (Par [0011]).
As per claim 13, Karmakar discloses the method of claim 11, wherein a searcher in the text retrieval system searches the text embedding index based on the distance between the modified query embeddings and the text embeddings in the text embedding index (Par [0054-0055])
As per claim 14, Li discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the query embedding transformation model is trained to transform the baseline query embeddings into modified query embeddings based on a distance between the baseline query embeddings and the training query embeddings according to a set of parameters that as the distance between the baseline query embeddings and the training query embeddings decreases, the modified query embeddings are less distant to the training text embeddings (par [0045, 0060] Scoring the similarity).
Li discloses the query embedding transformation model is trained to transform the baseline query embeddings. Li does not explicitly disclose baseline query into modified query based on a distance between the baseline query and the training query according to a set of parameters that as the distance between the baseline query and the training query decreases, the modified query are less distant to the training text.
Karmakar discloses baseline query embeddings into modified query based on a distance between the baseline query and the training query according to a set of parameters that as the distance between the baseline query and the training query embeddings decreases, the modified query are less distant to the training text (par [0054-0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Karmakar into the teachings of Li in order to improve the speed and accuracy of response to search query (Par [0011]).
As per claim 15, Li discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the query embedding transformation model is trained to transform the baseline query embeddings according to a set of parameters such that: an exact match between a baseline query embedding and a training query embedding results in a (Par [0039, 0045-0046, 0060]).
Li discloses matching query, query embedding and training query embedding results. Li does not explicitly disclose modified query embedding that is the training text embedding; and as the distance between a baseline query embedding and a training query embedding approaches infinity, the modified query embedding is less distant to the baseline query embedding.
However, Karmakar discloses modified query embedding that is the training text embedding; and as the distance between a baseline query embedding and a training query embedding approaches infinity, the modified query embedding is less distant to the baseline query embedding (par [0054-0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Karmakar into the teachings of Li in order to improve the speed and accuracy of response to search query (Par [0011]).
As per claim 16, Li discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the query embedding transformation model is trained to transform the baseline query embeddings according to parameters such that:
an exact match between a baseline query embedding and a training query embedding results in (Par [0039, 0045-0046, 0060]).
Li discloses matching query, query embedding and training query embedding results. Li does not explicitly disclose a modified query embedding that is the transformed query embedding; a distance between a baseline query embedding and a training query embedding that is greater than a threshold results in a modified query embedding that is the baseline query embedding; and a distance between a baseline query embedding and a training query embedding that is less than a threshold results in a modified query embedding that is the training text embedding.
However, Karmakar discloses a modified query embedding that is the transformed query embedding; a distance between a baseline query embedding and a training query embedding that is greater than a threshold results in a modified query embedding that is the baseline query embedding; and a distance between a baseline query embedding and a training query embedding that is less than a threshold results in a modified query embedding that is the training text embedding (par [0054-0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Karmakar into the teachings of Li in order to improve the speed and accuracy of response to search query (Par [0011]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al, Karmakar et al, and further in view of Arun Koteeswaran et al (U.S. Pub NO. 2025/0005082 A1).
As per claim 19, Li discloses the method of claim 11, wherein training the query embedding transformation model comprises the labeled retrieval dataset (Par [0039, 0045-0046, 0060]).
Li, Arun Koteeswaran and Karmakar do not explicitly disclose transformation model is a parameterized interpolation model.
However, Hiranandani discloses transformation model is a parameterized interpolation model (Par [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Arun Koteeswaran into the teachings of Li as modified by Karmakar in order to improve in existing technologies that generate search result (Par [0003]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al, Karmakar et al, and further in view of Kosuru et al (U.S. Pub No. 2018/0089271).
As per claim 17, Li and Karmakar do not explicitly disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the query embedding transformation model is trained using F-fold cross validation.
However, Kosuru discloses wherein the query embedding transformation model is trained using F-fold cross validation (par [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Kosuru into the teachings of Li as modified by Karmakar in order to improve the quality of service (Par [0011]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al, Karmakar et al, and further in view of Xie et al (U.S. Pub No. 2011/0255858 A1).
As per claim 18, Li discloses the method of claim 11, wherein training the query embedding transformation model (Par [0039, 0045-0046, 0060]).
Li and Karmakar do not explicitly disclose minimizing a negative log marginal likelihood function.
However, Xie discloses minimizing a negative log marginal likelihood function (par [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Kosuru into the teachings of Li as modified by Karmakar in order to improve the quality of service (Par [0011]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al, Karmakar et al, and further in view of Xiong et al (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0234199 A1).
As per claim 20, Li discloses the method of claim 11, wherein training the query embedding transformation model comprises the labeled retrieval dataset (Par [0039, 0045-0046, 0060]).
Li, and Karmakar do not explicitly disclose transformation model is a parameterized multivariate Gaussian process model.
However, Xiong discloses transformation model is a parameterized multivariate Gaussian process model (Par [0055, 0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Hiranandani into the teachings of Li as modified by Karmakar in order to improve the diversity performance (Par [0006]).
Claim(s) 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0169110 A1), and Arun Koteeswaran et al (U.S. Pub No. 2025/0005082 A1), and Karmakar et al (U.S. Pub No. 2026/0010963 A1), and further in view of Shepherd et al (U.S. Pub No. 2025/0343825 A1).
As per claim 21, Li discloses a method for embedding based retrieval of text with a text retrieval system, comprising:
receiving a user query via an electronic interface (Par [0036]);
encoding the user query into a baseline query embedding with an embedding model, wherein the embedding model encodes text from a corpus into corpus text embeddings and the corpus text embeddings are stored as text embeddings in a text embedding index (Par [0005, 0040, 0043]);
transforming the baseline query embedding to a modified query embedding with a query embedding transformation model, the query embedding transformation model is trained based on a labeled retrieval dataset comprising training queries and corresponding training texts, wherein the training queries are converted by the embedding model to training query embeddings that are stored in a training query embedding index, and wherein the training texts are added to the corpus and are converted into training text embeddings by the embedding model and are stored as the text embeddings in the text embedding index, the query embedding transformation model transforms the baseline query embeddings into the modified query embeddings based on a distance between the baseline query embeddings and the training query embeddings Par [0045-0047, 0048, 0060]);
retrieving one or more texts from the corpus based on a nearest neighbor search of the text embeddings in the text embedding index using the modified query embedding searches the text embedding index based on the modified query embeddings to produce one or more texts from the corpus (par [0042]).
Li discloses searching queries, converting queries into a text vector encoding, text embedding. Li does not explicitly disclose a searcher that is configured to perform a nearest neighbor search.
However, Arun Koteeswaran discloses a searcher that is configured to perform a nearest neighbor search (Par [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Arun Koteeswaran into the teachings of Li in order to improve the relevancy based on semantic similarity (Par [0008]).
Li and Arun Koteeswaran do not explicitly disclose modified query based on distance between the baseline query and a training query store in training query, the modified query replace the baseline query for a subsequent search.
However, Karmakar discloses modified query based on distance between the baseline query and a training query store in training query, the modified query replace the baseline query for a subsequent search (par [0054-0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Karmakar into the teachings of Li as modified by Arun Koteeswaran in order to improve the speed and accuracy of response to search query (Par [0011]).
Li, Arun Koteeswaran and Karmakar do not explicitly disclose provide the one or more texts and the user query to a prompt constructor for a Large Language Model (LLM) in a Retrieval Augmented Generation application that produces a prompt to the LLM that integrates the one or more texts and the user query.
However, Shepherd discloses provide the one or more texts and the user query to a prompt constructor for a Large Language Model (LLM) in a Retrieval Augmented Generation application that produces a prompt to the LLM that integrates the one or more texts and the user query (par [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Shepherd into the teachings of Li as modified by Arun Koteeswaran and Karmakar in order provide significant advantages relative to conventional techniques (Par [0003]).
As per claim 22, Li discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the query embedding transformation model is trained to transform the baseline query embedding into the modified query embedding based on the distance between the baseline query embedding and the training query embedding according to a set of parameters that as the distance between baseline query embeddings and a training query embedding decreases, the modified query embeddings are less distant to the training text embedding (par [0045, 0060] Scoring the similarity).
Li discloses query embedding transformation model is trained to transform the baseline query. Li, Arun Koteeswaran and Shepherd do not explicitly disclose query is trained to transform the baseline query into the modified query based on the distance between the baseline query and the training query according to a set of parameters that as the distance between baseline query.
However, Karmakar discloses query is trained to transform the baseline query into the modified query based on the distance between the baseline query and the training query according to a set of parameters that as the distance between baseline query (par [0054-0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Karmakar into the teachings of Li as modified by Arun Koteeswaran in order to improve the speed and accuracy of response to search query (Par [0011]).
As per claim 23. The method of claim 21, wherein the query embedding transformation model is trained to transform the baseline query embedding with a set of parameters such that: an exact match between the baseline query embedding and a training query embedding results in the modified query embedding that is the training text embedding; and as the distance between the baseline query embedding and a training query embedding approaches infinity, the modified query embedding is less distant to the baseline query embedding (Par [0039, 0045-0046, 0060]).
Li discloses query embedding transformation model is trained to transform the baseline query, exact match between baseline query embedding and a training query embedding. Li, Arun Koteeswaran and Shepherd do not explicitly disclose an exact match between the baseline query embedding and a training query embedding results in the modified query embedding that is the training text embedding; and as the distance between the baseline query embedding and a training query embedding approaches infinity, the modified query embedding is less distant to the baseline query embedding.
However, Karmakar discloses an exact match between the baseline query embedding and a training query embedding results in the modified query embedding that is the training text embedding; and as the distance between the baseline query embedding and a training query embedding approaches infinity, the modified query embedding is less distant to the baseline query embedding (par [0054-0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Karmakar into the teachings of Li as modified by Arun Koteeswaran in order to improve the speed and accuracy of response to search query (Par [0011]).
As per claim 24, Karmakar discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the query embedding transformation model is trained to transform the baseline query embedding according to parameters such that:
an exact match between the baseline query embedding and a training query embedding results in the modified query embedding that is the training text embedding; a distance between the baseline query embedding and a training query embedding that is greater than a threshold results in the modified query embedding that is the baseline query embedding; and a distance between the baseline query embedding and a training query embedding that is less than a threshold results in the modified query embedding that is the training text embedding (Par [0054-0055]).
Conclusion
September 16, 2026
/THU N NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2154