DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-23 remain for examination. Applicant's arguments filed on 03/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejections are maintained and incorporated by reference the last Office action on 12/19/2025. Accordingly, this action has been made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(2) as being anticipated by Griffin U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200082108 A1 (hereinafter "Griffin").
As to claim 1, Griffin teaches a method for preventing an Adversary in the Middle (AiTM) attack on deployed Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) system, the method comprising (Griffin Pa. [0016]) [This information can then be used in a multifactor risk based authentication system to streamline client access while still providing security]: collecting Internet Protocol (IP) addresses for electronic devices associated with a plurality of users and store the IP addresses in a database (Griffin Pa. [0004]) [The data store is configured to store a plurality of stored IP addresses from which users have made requests to access the stored data]; receiving a request for authentication for a user from a first electronic device; acquiring the IP addresses associated with first electronic device (Griffin Pa. [0007]) [determining an authentication level for a user based on an IP address of the request to access data]; determining whether the IP address associated with the first electronic device matches an IP address associated with an electronic device associated with the user from the database (Griffin Pa. [0054]) [The authentication level module 112 may compare the IP address with stored IP addresses in the data store module 108. The authentication level module 112 may determine that the IP address matches (e.g., exact match or determined match) one of the stored IP addresses]; and proceeding with an authentication process for the user in response to a match between the IP address associated with the first electronic device and the IP address associated with the electronic device associated with the user from the database (Griffin Pa. [0058]) [The authentication level module 112 may
determine that the IP address associated with the requesting device 130 matches a stored IP address in data store module 108. The authentication level module 112 may determine that the requesting
device 130 can authenticate at the second authentication level and increment the value associated with the IP address]
As to claim 2, Griffin teaches further comprising rejecting the request for authentication (Griffin Pa. [0016]) [can determine when a given IP address should not be used for authentication] in response to a mismatch between the IP address associated with the first electronic device and the IP address associated with the electronic device associated with the user from the database (Griffin Claim 17) [determining that the IP address does not match the stored IP address by lacking a match of at least a portion of the IP address with a portion of the stored IP address] [0015] [are technologies that help measure authentication risk from different perspectives. Many “bad” IP locations can be tracked and blocked by automated systems via black lists]
As to claim 3, Griffin teaches further comprising: generating an allow list based on the IP addresses associated with the plurality of users (Griffin Pa. [0013]) [a list of IP addresses can be stored and updated. The list can be updated to include a new IP address when a user from a plurality of users attempts to access data that is accessible via an IP network]; determining whether the IP address associated with first electronic device is on the allow list; and proceeding with authentication for the user in response to a determination that the IP address associated with the first electronic device is on the allow list (Griffin Pa. [0042]) [the authentication level module and authentication systems of the network device can have access to a full spectrum of account-based traffic across all originating IP addresses. The combination of this information can then be used to measure relative authentication risk upon connection. In other words, an IP address list may look like the following]
As to claim 4, Griffin teaches wherein determining whether the IP address associated with the first electronic device matches the IP address associated with an electronic device associated with the user from the database is performed in response to a determination that the IP address associated with the first electronic device is not on the allow list (Griffin Pa. [0054]) [The authentication level module 112 may determine that the IP address matches (e.g., exact match or determined match) one of the stored IP addresses. The authentication level module may compare other aspects of the identifying information, such as the browser settings with stored browser settings associated with the stored IP address that matched the IP address.]
As to claim 5, Griffin teaches wherein the allow list is configurable by system administration (Griffin Pa. [0006]) [The credential authentication system includes a data store configured to store a plurality of user authentication credentials and a credential verification module]
As to claim 6, Griffin teaches further comprising: determining whether a certificate is present in the request for authentication; proceeding with the authentication process for the user in response to a determination that the certificate is present in the request for authentication; and authenticating the user and uploading a certificate to the first electronic device in response to a determination that the certificate is not present in the request for authentication (Griffin Pa. [0027]) [the credential verification module 119 may authenticate a request from the requesting device 130 based on the IP address and submission of a user credential (i.e., username/password combination, digital certificate, etc.). I]
As to claim 7, Griffin teaches wherein authenticating the user comprises sending a request for authorization of the first electronic device to the electronic device associated with the user from the database (Griffin Pa. [0007]) [determining an authentication level for a user based on an IP address of the request to access data]
As to claim 8, Griffin teaches further comprising rejecting the request for authentication in response to a rejection of the request for authorization from the user via electronic device associated with the user (Griffin Claim 17) [determining that the IP address does not match the stored IP address by lacking a match of at least a portion of the IP address with a portion of the stored IP address] [0015] [are technologies that help measure authentication risk from different perspectives. Many “bad” IP locations can be tracked and blocked by automated systems via black lists]
As to claim 9, Griffin teaches wherein authenticating the user comprises the determining whether the IP address associated with the first electronic device matches the IP address associated with the electronic device associated with the user from the database (Griffin Pa. [0054]) [The authentication level module 112 may determine that the IP address matches (e.g., exact match or determined match) one of the stored IP addresses. The authentication level module may compare other aspects of the identifying information, such as the browser settings with stored browser settings associated with the stored IP address that matched the IP address.]
As to claim 10, claim 10 recites the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claims 1-9; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
As to claim 11, Griffin teaches further comprising sending an instruction to the user via the electronic device associated with the user to reinitiate the request for authentication for the user on the first electronic device after the certificate is sent to the first electronic device (Griffin Pa. [0027]) [The data storage 117 may be configured to store multiple user credentials (e.g., username/password combinations, user certificates, digital signatures, etc.). The credential verification module 119 may perform authentication according to the authentication level determined by the authentication determination subsystem 114.]
As to claim 12, Griffin teaches further comprising rejecting the request for authentication in response to a rejection of the request to add the certificate to the first electronic device (Griffin Pa. [0027]) [The data storage 117 may be configured to store multiple user credentials (e.g., username/password combinations, user certificates, digital signatures, etc.). The credential verification module 119 may perform authentication according to the authentication level determined by the authentication determination subsystem 114.]
As to claim 13, claim 13 recites the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claim 1; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
As to claim 14, claim 14 recites the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claims 1-9; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
As to claim 15, claim 15 recites the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claim 10; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale
As to claim 16, claim 16 recites the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claim 11; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale
As to claim 17, claim 17 recites the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claims 1-10; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
As to claim 18, claim 18 recites the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claims 1-5; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
As to claim 19, claim 19 recites the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claim 3; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
As to claim 20, claim 20 recites the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claim 4; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
As to claim 21, claim 21 recites the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claim 10; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
As to claim 22, claim 22 recites the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claim 1; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
As to claim 23, claim 23 recites the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claims 1-10; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Arguments
It is argued that
In order to anticipate a claim under 35 U.S.C. § 102, every element of the claim must be disclosed in a single reference.1 The exclusion of a claimed element, no matter how insubstantial or obvious, from a prior art reference is enough to negate anticipation under 35 U.S.C. § 102.2
Thus, for a proper showing that Griffin anticipates these claims, "every element and limitation of the claimed invention must be found" in Griffin. Furthermore, the claim elements found in a single reference must be "arranged as in the claim."3 See also MPEP § 2131 ("The elements must be arranged as required by the claim."). For reasons discussed below, Griffin fails to disclose one or more elements of claim 1, and therefore Applicant's claim 1 is patentable over Griffin.
As an initial matter, Griffin fails to disclose or suggest "A method of preventing an Adversary in the Middle (AiTM) attack on deployed Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) system," as recited in the preamble of claim 1. Applicant notes that the preamble is limiting, as it gives "life, meaning, and vitality" to the claim by defining the scope, e.g., acting as a constraint to provide specific context for the method, as opposed to simply stating an intended use. See, MPEP §2111.02.
The Examiner alleges that Griffin discloses this feature of Applicant's claim 1.
Specifically, the Examiner cites paragraph [0016] of Griffin as stating "This information can then be used in a multifactor risk based authentication system to streamline client access while still providing security."
Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Griffin's disclosure at paragraph [0016] that "information can [] be used in a multifactor risk based authentication system to streamline client access" is not the same as "preventing an Adversary in the Middle (AiTM) attack ..." as recited. There is no explicit or implicit disclosure of preventing an Adversary in the Middle (AiTM) attack in paragraph [0016] or elsewhere in Griffin.
For example, the disclosure of Griffin is directed to an entirely different problem and solution than "preventing an Adversary in the Middle (AiTM) attack on deployed Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) system." Griffin describes using an originating IP address and an IP address counter that tracks requests by a user to access data from that or a different IP address "to determin[e] an authentication level ... to be used to authenticate the user that is making the request to access the data." See, paragraph [0004], [0010], [0011], and FIG. 2. Griffin is directed to determining an appropriate authentication level for a user. It does not explicitly or tracks requests by a user to access data from that or a different IP address "to determin[e] an authentication level ... to be used to authenticate the user that is making the request to access the data." See, paragraph [0004], [0010], [0011], and FIG. 2. For example, paragraph [0057] of Griffin states "the authentication level module 112 may select a first authentication level based on the value associated with the IP address," whereas paragraph [0058] states "In another example, the authentication level module 112 may select a second authentication level based on matching the IP address with a recorded IP address from a previous authentication of the user." Thus, Griffin is determining which authentication level is to be used based on the IP address, and discloses that selecting the "second authentication level" when the IP address matches with a recorded IP address from a previous authentication of the user.
In contrast, the claim recites "proceeding with an authentication process for the user in response to a match between the IP address associated with the first electronic device and the IP address associated with the electronic device associated with the user from the database." "Proceeding with an authentication process ... in response [to an IP address match]" is not the same as Griffin's selection of a "second authentication level based on matching the IP address" in paragraph [0058].
To place the claim element of "proceeding with an authentication process for the user in response to a match ..." in proper context, claim 1 requires a sequence that includes 1) collect and store IP addresses associated with a plurality of users, 2) receive a request for authentication from a first electronic device, 3) acquire the IP address of that first electronic device, 4) determine whether that IP address "matches an IP address associated with an electronic device associated with the user," and 5) in response to a match, "proceeding with an authentication process for the user." In the context of this claim, the element of "proceeding with an authentication process for the user in response to [an IP address] match ..." operates as a pre- multifactor authentication (MFA) gate that is used to prevent an Adversary in the Middle (AiTM) attack. In other words, the system proceeds with the authentication process for the user if the initiating device's IP address matches an IP address associated with the user.
Griffin has no such disclosure. The selection of an authentication level based on matching the IP address, e.g., in paragraph [0058] is not a gate that controls whether "an authentication process" proceeds, as required by Applicant's claims. Instead, Griffin always proceeds with some form of authentication. Griffin, for example, discloses using either aSer. No.: 18/90
"standard authentication" level (FIG. 2, blocks 206/214; [0011]) or a "step up authentication" level (Fig. 2, blocks 210/218). The elements disclosed in Griffin are not "arranged as in the claim"4 and accordingly, Griffin fails to anticipate claim 1.
Accordingly, because Griffin fails to disclose the above-identified elements, and Griffin fails to disclose the claim elements, as arranged in the claim, Applicant's claim 1 is patentable over Griffin.
Independent claims 13, 14, and 23 were "rejected under the same rationale" as claim 1. Accordingly, Applicant submits that Applicant's independent claims 13, 14, and 23 are patentable over Griffin for at least the same reasons.
Dependent claims 2-12 and 15-22 depend, directly or indirectly, from claims 1 and 14, respectively, and are therefore patentable over Griffin for at least the same reasons as the claims from which they depend.
4 Brown v. 3M, 265 F.3d 1349, 1351 (Fed. Cir 2001).
Examiner’s response
In response to applicant's argument, Examiner respectfully submits that claimed limitation is to be given their broadest reasonable interpretation during prosecution, and the scope of a claim cannot be narrowed by reading disclosed limitations into the claim. See In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054, 44 USPQ2D 1023, 1027 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2D 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404, 162 USPQ 541,550 (CCPA 1969). In addition, the law of anticipation does not require that a reference "teach" what an appellant's disclosure teaches. Assuming that reference is properly "prior art,'" it is only necessary that the claims "read on" something disclosed in the reference, i.e., all limitations of the claim are found in the reference, or "fully met" by it. Kalman v. Kimberly-Clark Corp., 713 F.2d 760, 772, 218 USPQ 781,789 (Fed. Cir. 1983). In this case, Griffin fairly discloses the claimed limitation “A method of preventing an Adversary in the Middle (AiTM) attack on deployed Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) system" (Griffin Pa. [0016]) [This information can then be used in a multifactor risk based authentication system to streamline client access while still providing security]
Furthermore, the use of Multi-Factor Authentication relates to well-known option in the field of authentication, the skilled person would consider with no inventive skills.
Also, the preamble “Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) system”, doesn’t have any relation with the body of the claim; therefore, it does not have any weight.
In addition, the claimed limitation below has been interpreted as authentication of user based on comparison of two IP addresses. Consequently, Griffin clearly discloses proceeding with an authentication process for the user in response to a match between the IP address associated with the first electronic device and the IP address associated with the electronic device associated with the user from the database (Griffin Pa. [0058]) [The authentication level module 112 may determine that the IP address associated with the requesting device 130 matches a stored IP address in data store module 108. The authentication level module 112 may determine that the requesting device 130 can authenticate at the second authentication level and increment the value associated with the IP address]
Appellant’s arguments are unpersuasive because they do not properly address the merits of the rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVANS DESROSIERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2491