DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on July 13th, 2026.
In the instant Amendment, claims 1, 11 & 20 are independent claims. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the instant Amendment, filed on 07/13/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S. C. §101 has been fully considered and they are found persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. §101 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments in the instant Amendment, filed on 07/13/2026, with respect to limitations listed below, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant submitted that Shu does not disclose “store dummy data” as recited by claim 1 (Emphasis added).
The examiner disagrees with the Applicants. As described in pars. [0111] - [0117] & illustrated in figs. 10 & 11 in Shu’s cryptographic architecture with instruction masking and other techniques for thwarting differential power analysis, the extra register 222 is a dummy register in that it receives and stores data, but the data received thereby is preferably not used to influence subsequent data processing by processor 200. In light specification (page 5, line 30 – page 6, line 8), dummy data is any appropriate data (e.g. randomly generated data) whose specific values do not affect the ultimate outcome (e.g., the value of the ciphertext). Accordingly, it is clearly seen that the received data from data bus 215 is considered as a dummy data. Thus, examiner believe that Shu does disclose the limitation argued above.
On page 11 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant submitted that Shu does not disclose “wherein the first representation of the input data and the dummy data are stored in an order that is determined responsive to an input selector having at least a first value or a second value” as recited by claim 1 (Emphasis added).
The examiner disagrees with the Applicants. As described in pars. [0125] & [0129] & illustrated in figs. 12 & 13 in Shu cryptographic architecture with instruction masking and other techniques for thwarting differential power analysis, when the random bit 314 is ‘0’ for bi-directional bus driver 315 during a ‘CPU write’ operation, the signal or data at 305 will be inverted on the data bus 316. At the other end, bi-directional bus driver 317 will pick up the inverted signal or data from the data bus 316 for bit 305 and invert the bit again to ensure the integrity of the original data signal. Accordingly, it is clearly seen that the data including input data and dummy data is written or stored in order accordingly to the random bit 314 value. Thus, examiner believe that Shu does disclose limitation argued above.
Therefore, Shu does disclose all limitations recited in claim 1.
On pages 11-12 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant submitted that Shu does not disclose “storing or overwriting dummy data in registers” as recited by claim 3 (Emphasis added).
The examiner disagrees with the Applicants. As described in pars. [0072] & [0111] – [0117] & illustrated in figs. 10 & 11 in Shu’s cryptographic architecture with instruction masking and other techniques for thwarting differential power analysis, the extra register 222 is a dummy register in that it receives and stores data, but the data received thereby is preferably not used to influence subsequent data processing by processor 200. In light specification (page 5, line 30 – page 6, line 8), dummy data is any appropriate data (e.g. randomly generated data) whose specific values do not affect the ultimate outcome (e.g., the value of the ciphertext). Accordingly, it is clearly seen that the received data from data bus 215 is considered as a dummy data. The amount of time required to complete each instruction is determined by the clock speed of the processor or a bus over which the data is transmitted to and from the processor. Different instructions take more clock cycles than other instructions. The knowledge of the encryption algorithm used to encrypt/decrypt the data provides hacker with knowledge about the timing of the algorithm. Accordingly, it is clearly seen that the data including input data and dummy data is stored or overwriting in registers. Thus, examiner believe that Shu does disclose the limitation argued above.
Claims 6-7 are parallel to claims 3-4. Therefore claims 6-7 remain un-patentable for the same reasons.
On pages 12-13 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant submitted that Shu does not disclose “storing dummy data in data registers and overwriting the dummy data with real data at a different clock cycle” as recited by claim 3 (Emphasis added).
The examiner disagrees with the Applicants. As described in pars. [0072] & [0111] – [0117] & illustrated in figs. 10 & 11 in Shu’s cryptographic architecture with instruction masking and other techniques for thwarting differential power analysis, the extra register 222 is a dummy register in that it receives and stores data, but the data received thereby is preferably not used to influence subsequent data processing by processor 200. In light specification (page 5, line 30 – page 6, line 8), dummy data is any appropriate data (e.g. randomly generated data) whose specific values do not affect the ultimate outcome (e.g., the value of the ciphertext). Accordingly, it is clearly seen that the received data from data bus 215 is considered as a dummy data. The amount of time required to complete each instruction is determined by the clock speed of the processor or a bus over which the data is transmitted to and from the processor. Different instructions take more clock cycles than other instructions. The knowledge of the encryption algorithm used to encrypt/decrypt the data provides hacker with knowledge about the timing of the algorithm. Accordingly, it is clearly seen that the data including input data and dummy data is stored or overwriting at different clock cycles in registers. Thus, examiner believe that Shu does disclose the limitation argued above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shu et al. (Shu), U.S. Pub. Number 2012/0144205.
Regarding claim 1; Shu discloses a processing device comprising:
a plurality of registers (par. 0039; a plurality of registers.);
one or more first circuits (par. 0128; the circuit is independent of the data value content of the ALU register bit.) to store, in the plurality of registers:
a first representation of an input data into a cryptographic operation (par. 0129; an on-chip bus or chip architecture of a microprocessor that is used to perform cryptographic operations.), and
a dummy data (par. 0117; a dummy register in that it receives and stores data.),
wherein the first representation of the input data and the dummy data are stored in an order that is determined responsive to an input selector having at least a first value or a second value (par. 0127; the CPU Read and CPU Write lines are used to control the data flow direction; the bi-directional bus drivers 315, 317 are inverting or non-inverting tri-state buffers determined by the value of the associated random bit 3140 – 314N if the random number generated by random generator 313; For instance, when the random bit 3140 is “0” for bi-directional bus driver 315 during a CPU Write operation, the signal at 3050 will be inverted on the data bus 316; at the other end, bi-directional bus driver 317 will pick up the inverted signal from the data bus 316 for bit 3050 and invert the bit again to ensure the integrity of the original data signal.); and
one or more second circuits to perform a non-linear mapping of the first representation of the input data to a second representation of the input data (par. 0129; enable securing existing cryptographic algorithms including RSA, DES, AES and non-linear algorithms.).
Regarding claim 2; Shu discloses the processing device of claim 1, wherein the input data into the cryptographic operation comprises a plaintext message and a cryptographic key associated with the cryptographic operation, and wherein the first representation of the input data comprises a first share of the plaintext message and a second share of the plain text message, wherein the first share of the plaintext message comprises a random number (par. 0126; the N-bit random number generator controls the N-bit bi-directional drivers; the random number generator has N outputs, wherein each output comprises of one bit; each bit controls one bus driver; the random number generator generates a new set of N-bit random numbers whenever an activate signal is received from the CPU through the enable line; the required polarity changes are infrequent enough to thwart the statistical analysis by a reverse engineer; the polarity can be changed at the beginning of each DES round, or at the beginning of fetching each new plaintext for encryption.).
Regarding claim 3; Shu discloses the processing device of claim 1, wherein responsive to the input selector having the first value, the one or more first circuits are to: at a first clock cycle: store a first set of dummy data in data registers of the plurality of registers, and at a second clock cycle: overwrite the first set of dummy data in the data registers with the first representation of the input data (par. 0072; an encryption algorithm is a series of instructions executed by a processor; while the inputs and outputs of these instructions will vary, the amount of time required to complete each instruction is determined by the clock speed of the processor or a bus over which the data is transmitted to and from the processor; different instructions take more clock cycles than other instructions; the knowledge of the encryption algorithm used to encrypt/decrypt the data provides hackers with knowledge about the timing of the algorithm, knowledge about which instruction are used and how long each instruction should take.).
Regarding claim 4; Shu discloses the processing device of claim 3, wherein responsive to the input selector having the first value, the one or more first circuits are further to: at the first clock cycle: store a second set of dummy data in key registers of the plurality of registers, and at the second clock cycle: overwrite the second set of dummy data in the key registers with a representation of a key associated with the cryptographic operation (par. 0087; the random number generator may provide an output every clock cycle, or may be gated to ensure that an output is provided to the RIM Control Flag Register after a random number of X cycles, where X is any number such as 5; for a one-bit Random Number Generator, the RIM Control Flag Register is programmed to reset when either a zero or one is received from the one-bit Random Number Generator depending upon the logic used.).
Regarding claim 5; Shu discloses the processing device of claim 4, wherein the one or more first circuits are further to: at a third clock cycle: combine the first representation of the input data with the representation of the key associated with the cryptographic operation (par. 0087; the random number generator may provide an output every clock cycle, or may be gated to ensure that an output is provided to the RIM Control Flag Register after a random number of X cycles, where X is any number such as 5; for a one-bit Random Number Generator, the RIM Control Flag Register is programmed to reset when either a zero or one is received from the one-bit Random Number Generator depending upon the logic used.).
Regarding claim 6; Shu discloses the processing device of claim 1, wherein responsive to the input selector having the second value, the one or more first circuits are to: at a first clock cycle: store the first representation of the input data in data registers of the plurality of registers, and at a second clock cycle: store the dummy data in stage status registers of the plurality of registers (par. 0121; a processor may have additional status flag registers that should not be updated when running in RIM mode; the control such registers may be modified in the same way as the registers (by providing dummy flag registers – analogous to extra register – for writing results to when in RIM mode) resulting in a duplicated power signature component for updating these flags registers without really updating them; these flag registers are not depicted for purpose of simplicity.).
Regarding claim 7; Shu discloses the processing device of claim 6, wherein responsive to the input selector having the second value, the one or more first circuits are further to: at the first clock cycle: store a representation of a key associated with the cryptographic operation in key registers of the plurality of registers (par. 0124; the result is that within each group of messages having the same target bit values computed from the selection function with correctly guessed key KS, the corresponding power traces will not be always “0” or “1”; the chance of having “0” or “1” at the target bit will be appropriately at 0.5 due to the randomization of polarity; the section function D is effectively uncorrelated to the actual power trace measurement.).
Regarding claim 9; Shu discloses the processing device of claim 1, wherein the non-linear mapping of the first representation of the input data to the second representation of the input data comprises a substitution box of the cryptographic operation (par. 0010; substitution box (S-Box) functions are non-linear and can be implemented by using table lookups, Boolean logic or appropriately programmed computers.).
Regarding claim 10; Shu discloses the processing device of claim 1, wherein the one or more second circuits are further to perform multiple iterations of a substitution box (S-Box) of the cryptographic operation (par. 0010; substitution box (S-Box) functions are non-linear and can be implemented by using table lookups, Boolean logic or appropriately programmed computers.), wherein each iteration comprises a plurality of parallel stages of the S-Box, at least one of the plurality of parallel stages of the S-Box computing inconsequential data (par. 0120; a pipelined ALU has four stages: prefetch, instruction decode, execute, and writeback; the RIM control signal from the RIM flags may be synchronized with the pipeline through a delay circuit.).
Regarding claim 11; Claim 11 is directed to a method which has similar scope as claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 remains un-patentable for the same reasons.
Regarding claims 12-19; Claims 12-19 are directed to the method of claim 11 which have similar scope as claims 2-10. Therefore, claims 12-19 remain un-patentable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 20; Claim 20 is directed to a system which has similar scope as claim 1. Therefore, claim 20 remains un-patentable for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on July 13th, 2026.
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on July 13th, 2026.
Claims 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHOI V LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436