DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
With reference to claim 1, the claim requires that a request is made for consistency. However, neither the claims nor the specification provide any detail with respect to what the intended meaning of consistency is or what it represents. The specification merely provides a general reference to the term “consistency” and annexes conditions to “consistency” but does not appear to define the term. Similar rationale applies to claims 2-20.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With reference to claim 1, the claim requires that a request is made for consistency. However, no detail is provided within the claim language to define the meaning of “consistency” or its intended scope. For the purposes of examination, “a request for consistency” shall be interpreted as “a request” and “a consistency window” shall be interpreted as “a window.” Similar rational applies to claims 2-20 (whereby instances of “consistency” shall not be considered).
Allowable Subject Matter
Upon addressing the 35 USC § 112 rejections noted above, claim(s) 5-7, 9, 10, 15-17, 19, and 20 would be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 11-14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20250321323 A1 to Hirzallah; Mohammed Ali Mohammed et al.
Re: Claim(s) 1, 11
Hirzallah discloses a method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) in communication with a wireless network, the method comprising: (Figs. 6 and 9)
receiving, from the wireless network, a request session, a sensing configuration indicating one or more Doppler modality assumptions of a target object)
and information indicating a time period associated with a
determining an expected Doppler frequency of a sensing target during the time period (0155 - At stage 910, the processing device and/or the receiver device (e.g., entity 908) may receive, from the sensing server (e.g., entity 902) for a sensing session, a sensing configuration indicating one or more Doppler modality assumptions of a target object. In some aspects, the one or more Doppler modality assumptions may correspond to one or more candidate Doppler modalities (e.g., monomodal, bimodal, multimodal, a number of modes, and/or speed difference(s) of modes), one or more detection methods applicable to at least one of the one or more candidate Doppler modalities, one or more center frequencies for one or more sensing operations applicable to at least one of the one or more candidate Doppler modalities, one or more Doppler processing or filtering methods applicable to at least one of the one or more candidate Doppler modalities, one or more Doppler slow time occasions applicable to at least one of the one or more candidate Doppler modalities, or any combination thereof.);
performing, during the time period, sensing measurements on a plurality of downlink reference signals (DL-RSs) (Fig. 6 and 0135 - At stage 630, the sensing server 670 sends a request for sensing information to the UE 604. The UE 604 then measures the transmitted reference signals. Fig. 9 – 920 and 0156 - At stage 920, the processing device (e.g., entity 908) may receive a set of measurement samples associated with the sensing session based on the one or more Doppler modality assumptions. In some aspects, at stage 920, the receiver device (e.g., as part of the entity 908) may configure one or more sensing operations associated with the sensing session based on the one or more Doppler modality assumptions in order to detect from the sensed signals the set of measurement samples),
each DL-RS of the plurality of DL-RSs associated with a respective subcarrier spacing (SCS) (0114 - The transmission of a PRS resource within a given PRB has a particular comb size (also referred to as the “comb density”). A comb size ‘N’ represents the subcarrier spacing (or frequency/tone spacing) within each symbol of a PRS resource configuration.),
based on the expected Doppler frequency (0156 - At stage 920, the processing device (e.g., entity 908) may receive a set of measurement samples associated with the sensing session based on the one or more Doppler modality assumptions.);
generating a measurement report based on the sensing measurements; and transmitting the measurement report to the wireless network (Fig. 6 – 635. Fig. 9 – 940. 0135 - At stage 630, the sensing server 670 sends a request for sensing information to the UE 604. The UE 604 then measures the transmitted reference signals and, at stage 635, sends the measurements, or any sensing results determined from the measurements, to the sensing server 670. 0158 - At stage 940, the processing device (e.g., entity 908) may report, to the sensing server (e.g., entity 902), one or more parameters indicative of the determined Doppler modality of the target object.).
Hirzallah further discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) in communication with a wireless network, the WTRU comprising: a processor; and a transceiver (see at least Fig. 3A – UE 302 comprises processor 342 and memory 340) as required by claim 11.
Re: Claim(s) 2, 12
Hirzallah discloses wherein the information indicating the time period comprises a time duration
Re: Claim(s) 3, 13
Hirzallah discloses receiving, from the wireless network, a request to report information about a location of the WTRU; and transmitting, to the wireless network, information indicative of the location of the WTRU (0135 - At stage 630, the sensing server 670 sends a request for sensing information to the UE 604. The UE 604 then measures the transmitted reference signals and, at stage 635, sends the measurements, or any sensing results determined from the measurements, to the sensing server 670. 0123 - Possible use cases of RF sensing include health monitoring use cases, such as heartbeat detection, respiration rate monitoring, and the like, gesture recognition use cases, such as human activity recognition, keystroke detection, sign language recognition, and the like, contextual information acquisition use cases, such as location detection/tracking, direction finding, range estimation, and the like, and automotive sensing use cases, such as smart cruise control, collision avoidance, and the like.).
Re: Claim(s) 4, 14
Hirzallah discloses wherein determining the expected Doppler frequency of the sensing target during the time period comprises at least one of receiving, from the wireless network, the expected Doppler frequency, or estimating the expected Doppler frequency (0155 - At stage 910, the processing device and/or the receiver device (e.g., entity 908) may receive, from the sensing server (e.g., entity 902) for a sensing session, a sensing configuration indicating one or more Doppler modality assumptions of a target object. In some aspects, the one or more Doppler modality assumptions may correspond to one or more candidate Doppler modalities (e.g., monomodal, bimodal, multimodal, a number of modes, and/or speed difference(s) of modes), one or more detection methods applicable to at least one of the one or more candidate Doppler modalities, one or more center frequencies for one or more sensing operations applicable to at least one of the one or more candidate Doppler modalities, one or more Doppler processing or filtering methods applicable to at least one of the one or more candidate Doppler modalities, one or more Doppler slow time occasions applicable to at least one of the one or more candidate Doppler modalities, or any combination thereof.).
Re: Claim(s) 8, 18
Hirzallah discloses wherein the wireless network uses the measurement report to determine a velocity of the sensing target (0131 - wireless communication-based sensing signals can be used to estimate the range (distance), velocity (Doppler), and angle (AoA) of a target object. However, the performance (e.g., resolution and maximum values of range, velocity, and angle) may depend on the design of the reference signal.).
Conclusion
/KASHIF SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415