Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: Fig. 2 in the reply filed on 01/12/2026, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 4 and 8 do not contain any limitation which is not already included in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jackson, Jr. et al. (U.S. Publication 2016/0061344), hereinafter “Jackson”.
In regards to claims 1, 4, 8, Jackson discloses a fluid management system comprising: a housing (12) having a port (port closed by gate 28); a valve body (22) moveable within the housing (12) between a first position (Fig. 10) and a second position (Fig. 7), the valve body (22) configured to seal the port in the first position (Fig. 10) and to permit fluid flow through the port in the second position (Fig. 7), wherein the valve body (22) includes a shoulder (42); a biasing element (44) surrounding a portion of and coupled to the valve body (22), the biasing element (44) configured to bias the valve body (22) toward one of the first position (Fig. 10) or the second position (Fig. 7); an actuator (40) surrounding a portion of and coupled to the valve body (22), wherein the actuator (44) includes a shape memory alloy material (para. 0049]) and is configured to move the valve body (22) to one of the first position (Fig. 10) or the second position (Fig. 7) against a biasing force of the biasing element (44) in response to heating the actuator (40); and a power source (para. [0052]) electrically coupled to the actuator (40), wherein the power source (para. [0052]) is configured to selectively drive current through the actuator (40) to heat the actuator (40), wherein the biasing element (44) and actuator (40) engage opposite sides of shoulder (42) on the valve body (22).
In regards to claim 2, the biasing element (44) extends in a direction along a length of the valve body (22).
In regards to claim 3, the actuator (40) extends in a direction along a length of the valve body (22).
In regards to claim 7, the housing (12) is configured to support the valve body (22) for sliding movement between the first (Fig. 10) and second positions (Fig. 7). See Merriam-Webster which defines “sliding” as: “to move smoothly along a surface”.
In regards to claim 9, the actuator (40) is a spring.
In regards to claim 10, Jackson discloses a fluid management system comprising: a housing having a port; a valve body moveable within the housing between a first position and a second position, wherein the housing is configured to support the valve body for sliding movement to seal the port in the first position and to permit fluid flow through the port in the second position;a biasing element surrounding a portion of and coupled to the valve body, wherein the biasing element extends in a direction along a length of the valve body and is configured to bias the valve body toward one of the first position or the second position;an actuator extending in a direction along and surrounding a length of the valve body and surrounding a portion of the biasing element, wherein the actuator is coupled to the valve body and includes a shape memory alloy material, and wherein the actuator is configured to move the valve body to one of the first position or the second position against a biasing force of the biasing element in response to heating the actuator; anda power source electrically coupled to the actuator, wherein the power source is configured to selectively drive current through the actuator to heat the actuator. See the rejections of claims 1-4, and 7-9 above.
Jackson further discloses that the biasing element (44) extends in a first direction from a shoulder (42) on the valve body (22) toward a first end of the housing (12) and the actuator (40) extends in a second opposite direction from the shoulder (42) toward a second opposite end of the housing (12).
In regards to claim 14, the biasing element (44) is configured to bias the valve body (22) toward the first position.
In regards to claim 15, the actuator (40) is a spring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crofts et al. (U.S. Patent 6,253,736) in view of Jackson.
In regards to claims 1, 4, 8, Crofts discloses a fluid management system comprising: a housing (14) having a port (57); a valve body (50) moveable within the housing (14) between a first position (Fig. 2a) and a second position (Fig. 2b), the valve body (50) configured to seal the port (50) in the first position (Fig. 2a) and to permit fluid flow through the port in the second position (Fig. 2b), wherein the valve body (50) includes a shoulder (S); a biasing element (56) surrounding a portion of and coupled to the valve body (50), the biasing element (56) configured to bias the valve body (50) toward one of the first position (Fig. 2a) or the second position (Fig. 2b); an actuator (52) coupled to the valve body (50), wherein the actuator (52) includes a shape memory alloy material and is configured to move the valve body (50) to one of the first position (Fig. 2a) or the second position (Fig. 2b) against a biasing force of the biasing element (56) in response to heating the actuator (52); and a power source (58]) electrically coupled to the actuator (52), wherein the power source (58) is configured to selectively drive current through the actuator (52) to heat the actuator (52), wherein the biasing element (56) and actuator (52) engage opposite sides of shoulder (S) on the valve body (50).
Crofts does not specifically disclose that the actuator surrounds a portion of the valve body. However, Crofts does explicitly disclose that actuator 52 “may include any type or design of piezoelectric actuator capable of actuating control valve member 50”.
Jackson teaches a fluid management system which includes a piezo actuator which surrounds a portion of a valve body (see the discussion above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have utilized a piezo spring centered along a valve shaft as taught by Jackson in lieu of the piezo stack disclosed by Crofts as the simple solution of one type of piezo actuator with another type of piezo actuator.
In regards to claim 2, the biasing element (56) extends in a direction along a length of the valve body (50).
In regards to claim 3, the actuator (Jackson 40) extends in a direction along a length of the valve body (50).
In regards to claim 5, the valve body (50) includes a plunger and a sealing element (54) coupled to one end of the plunger.
In regards to claim 7, the housing (14) is configured to support the valve body (50) for sliding movement between the first (Fig. 2a) and second positions (Fig. 2b).
In regards to claim 9, the actuator (Jackson 40) is a spring.
In regards to claims 10 and 21, Crofts, as modified by Jackson, discloses a fluid management system comprising: a housing having a port; a valve body moveable within the housing between a first position and a second position, wherein the housing is configured to support the valve body for sliding movement to seal the port in the first position and to permit fluid flow through the port in the second position;a biasing element surrounding a portion of and coupled to the valve body, wherein the biasing element extends in a direction along a length of the valve body and is configured to bias the valve body toward one of the first position or the second position;an actuator extending in a direction along and surrounding a length of the valve body and surrounding a portion of the biasing element, wherein the actuator is coupled to the valve body and includes a shape memory alloy material, and wherein the actuator is configured to move the valve body to one of the first position or the second position against a biasing force of the biasing element in response to heating the actuator; anda power source electrically coupled to the actuator, wherein the power source is configured to selectively drive current through the actuator to heat the actuator. See the rejections of claims 1-5, and 7-9 above.
Crofts, as modified, further discloses that the biasing element (56) extends in a first direction from a shoulder (S) on the valve body (50) toward a first end of the housing (14) and the actuator (Jackson 40) extends in a second opposite direction from the shoulder (S) toward a second opposite end of the housing (14).
In regards to claim 11, the valve body (50) includes a plunger and a sealing element (54) coupled to one end of the plunger.
In regards to claim 12, the actuator (Jackson 40) extends along a first length along of the plunger and the biasing element (56) extends along a second length along the plunger different from the first length.
In regards to claim 13, the first length is less than the second length.
In regards to claim 14, the biasing element (56) is configured to bias the valve body (50) toward the first position.
In regards to claim 15, the actuator (Jackson 40) is a spring.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT K ARUNDALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753