DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer et al. (Iyer), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0039009.
Regarding Claims 2, 7 and 12, Iyer discloses a wireless communication
method, comprising:
detecting, by a communication device, an absence of a signaling that indicates to the communication device to not wake up (in other words, if there is a determination that the wake-up signal has not been detected, then the UE may sleep until next POW; see paragraphs [0184] and [0185]).
Iyer further discloses conventionally, in the IDLE and INACTIVE states, the UE may perform cell measurements (in other words, the UE/communication device is able to perform measurements even when not awake; see paragraph [0117]), if the wake-up signal is not received within this window, the UE does not need to wake up until the next POW occasion—this may be an implicit indication to sleep (in other words, the drx-onDuration Timer is not started (considered as the pre-onDuration-window which the timer is not started) when the communication device/UE detects an absence of the wake-up signal; see paragraph [0184]) and UE measures CSI-RS for aperiodic reporting. UE reports CSI-RS during the OnDuration. (i.e., the communication device/UE performs measurements such as CSI measurements and CSI reporting during DRX on-duration period as shown in figure 14A; see paragraph [0202]).
Therefore, Iyer discloses performing, by the communication device and in response to the detecting (if the wake-up signal is not received within this window, the UE does not need to wake up until the next POW occasion—this may be an implicit indication to sleep (in other words, the drx-onDuration Timer is not started (considered as the pre-onDuration-window which the timer is not started) when the communication device/UE detects an absence of the wake-up signal as described above), channel state information (CSI) measurement and CSI reporting during a discontinuous reception (DRX) on-duration period that is included in a DRX cycle (in other words, the UE/communication device is able to perform measurements even when not awake… the communication device/UE performs measurements such as CSI measurements and CSI reporting during DRX on-duration period as described above) in which a drx-onDurationTimer is not started (in other words, the drx-onDuration Timer is not started (considered as the pre-onDuration-window which the timer is not started) when the communication device/UE detects an absence of the wake-up signal as described above).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Iyer’s invention for enabling power savings as described throughout Iyer.
Regarding Claims 3, 8 and 13, Iyer discloses wherein a duration of the DRX on-
duration period is same as the drx-onDurationTimer (see figure 4D).
Regarding Claims 4, 9 and 14, for the reasons as already described above, it
would have been considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Iyer’s invention disclosing wherein the CSI measurement and the CSI reporting is performed in response to the detecting the absence of the signaling and in response to a fulfilment of a predefined condition (i.e., power consuming/power savings; see paragraphs [0117] and [0202]) that specifies that the communication device does not wake up in response to the detecting the absence of the signaling for enabling power savings as described throughout Iyer.
Regarding Claims 5, 10 and 15, for the reasons as already described above, it
would have been considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Iyer’s invention disclosing wherein the communication device performs the CSI measurement in response to a first predefined condition is fulfilled and based on a first subset of N1 CSI reference resources during an active window, wherein N1 is a natural number (i.e., BWPs; see figure 14A and paragraph [0202]), and wherein the first predefined condition includes the signaling not being detected by the communication device during a period for enabling power savings as described throughout Iyer.
Regarding Claims 6, 11 and 16, for the reasons as already described above, it
would have been considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Iyer’s invention disclosing wherein the first subset of the N1 CSI reference resources is determined by a time domain configuration (i.e., multiple BWPs, different DRX parameters, or time domain resource allocation (TDRA) parameters; see paragraph [0207]) for enabling power savings as described throughout Iyer
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Islam et al., U.S. Publication No. 2019/0053321 discloses beam management for
beam-swept wakeup signals.
Zhou et al., U.S. Publication No. 2020/0037248 discloses power saving operations in a wireless communication system.
He et al., U.S. Publication No. 2019/0254110 discloses a method and apparatus for power savings at a user equipment.
/SHANTELL L HEIBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645
August 14, 2026