DETAILED ACTION
In a communication received on 24 June 2026, the applicants amended claims 1, 3, 4, 9, and 15.
Claims 1-22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 1, 3, 4, 9, and 15 claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With respect to claim 1, the applicants allege, "However, there is no ability to control devices, much less HV AC devices" (page 9) with respect to the claimed limitation(s), "wherein the single module is configured to collect and store the sensor data and communicate with other nodes using a blockchain network". The examiner respectfully traverses. The arguments/remarks pertain to whether the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest controlling HVAC equipment. The examiner concludes that the cited prior art clearly discloses or suggests using a blockchain to transfer and communicate sensor data for improving a building control equipment using sensors
"The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference.... Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art." In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981).
As best understood by the examiner, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed features reads on using wireless sensor information to affect and control building equipment through a blockchain network. A distinction over a single reference does not render unobvious a combination of prior art. Menard discloses processor receiving motion sensor to control electrical load (¶0026, ¶0053). Gu discloses IoT data packet sent for storage on blockchain; multiple blockchain nodes; blockchain authenticates and stores the sensor data (¶0037, ¶0049, and ¶0052). The combination of Menard and Gu disclose or suggest transferring that sensor data through a blockchain with a building control equipment, thus improving the safety of data storage by uploading data to the blockchain for authenticated immutable storage (¶0058).
In conclusion, the applicants argue(s) that the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest controlling HVAC equipment. The examiner traverses because the cited prior art clearly discloses or suggests using a blockchain to transfer and communicate sensor data for improving a building control equipment using sensors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Klicpera (US 2019/0234786 A1) in view of Menard et al. (US 2003/0016129 A1), and further in view of Gu et al. (US 2021/0336775 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Klicpera discloses: 1. A device (i.e., device includes collection node and communication hub corresponding to both sensors and wireless radio technology in Klicpera, ¶0005), comprising:
a sensor (i.e., sensors pertaining to water flow rate, leak detection, pressure, and acoustic sensors in Klicpera, ¶0005, ¶0007);
a wireless circuit configured to operate according to multiple protocols (i.e., operating over any combination of wireless technologies; for example, Bluetooth and Wi-Fi means in the collection node in Klicpera, ¶0005, ¶0120-0121)
and transmit and receive wireless data (i.e., duplex format corresponds to wireless technology for transmission and receipt in Klicpera, ¶0006, ¶00077); and
a microcontroller (MCU) module coupled to the wireless circuit (i.e., communication radio with microcontroller and wireless electronic communication means in Klicpera, ¶0007, ¶0121),
wherein the sensor, the MCU and the wireless circuit are provided in a single module. (i.e., microprocessor coupled to water shut off means, temperature sensor, and wireless transceiver for monitoring water use data in Klicpera, ¶0076, ¶0077)
Klicpera discloses receiving, determining and communicating property's thermostat; wireless tech to monitor water use data (¶0006, ¶0007, ¶0119). Klicpera do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Menard, in order to aiding emergency personnel in locating emergency site by communicating wirelessly with module that also includes motion sensor data (¶0053), discloses: the MCU being configured to control building equipment using the wireless data and sensor data from the sensor (i.e., actuating a switch coupled to a motion detector sensor and wireless transceiver; using both transceiver data and sensor outputs to control building load in Menard, ¶0007, ¶0026, ¶0053).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Menard to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to aiding emergency personnel in locating emergency site by communicating wirelessly with module that also includes motion sensor data.
Klicpera discloses communicating node to node mesh communication; and an advantage of blockchain technology as immutable (¶0061, ¶0077, ¶0129). Klicpera and Menard do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Gu, in order to improving the safety of data storage by uploading data to the blockchain for authenticated immutable storage (¶0058), discloses: , wherein the single module is configured to collect and store the sensor data and communicate with other nodes using a blockchain network (i.e., IoT data packet sent for storage on blockchain; multiple blockchain nodes; blockchain authenticates and stores the sensor data in Gu, ¶0037, ¶0049, and ¶0052).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard, and further in view of Gu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Gu to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to improve the safety of data storage by uploading data to the blockchain for authenticated immutable storage.
With respect to claim 2, Klicpera discloses CPU, wireless circuitry and sensor in a collection node (¶0007, ¶0076, ¶00121). Klicpera do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Menard, in order to aiding emergency personnel in locating emergency site by communicating wirelessly with module that also includes motion sensor data (¶0053), discloses: the device of claim 1, wherein the MCU and the wireless circuit are integrated together (i.e., electrical switch, motion detector, and wireless transceiver are integrated together in Menard, ¶0007, ¶0014, ¶0026).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Menard to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to aiding emergency personnel in locating emergency site by communicating wirelessly with module that also includes motion sensor data.
With respect to claim 5, Klicpera discloses CPU, wireless circuitry and sensor in a collection node (¶0007, ¶0076, ¶00121). Klicpera do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Menard, in order to aiding emergency personnel in locating emergency site by communicating wirelessly with module that also includes motion sensor data (¶0053), discloses: the device of claim 1, wherein the single module is provided on a single circuit board (i.e., module integrated with processor, transceiver and motion detector in Menard, ¶0007, ¶0014, ¶0026).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Menard to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to aiding emergency personnel in locating emergency site by communicating wirelessly with module that also includes motion sensor data.
With respect to claim 6, Klicpera discloses CPU, and associated circuitry mounted on electronic circuit board (¶0007, ¶0121, ¶0129). Klicpera do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Menard, in order to reduce interference in communication range of transceivers by physically locating them advantageously (¶0161), discloses: the device of claim 5, wherein the MCU and the wireless circuit are provided on opposite planar sides of the single circuit board (i.e., locating and positioning antenna to reduce interference by physical configuration of the electrical box; suggests predictable placement of the wireless antenna to improve transmission in Menard, ¶0054).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Menard to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to reduce interference in communication range of transceivers by physically locating them advantageously.
With respect to claim 7, Klicpera discloses: the device of claim 1, wherein the MCU and the wireless circuit are provided in a single integrated circuit package (i.e., associated integrated circuits for temperature sensor; associated circuity mounted on electronic circuit board in Klicpera, ¶0121, ¶0129).
With respect to claim 8, Klicpera discloses various data access ports (¶0129). Klicpera and Menard do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Gu, in order to improve interoperability by implementing USB interface for transmitting packets (¶0041), discloses: the device of claim 1, further comprising a universal serial bus interface (i.e., communication modules including wired communication interface, USB in Gu, ¶0041).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard, and further in view of Gu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Gu to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to improve interoperability by implementing USB interface for transmitting packets.
With respect to claim 9, the limitation(s) of claim 9 are similar to those of claim(s) 1, 2, and 3. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1, 2.
With respect to claim 10, Klicpera discloses: the device of claim 9, wherein the wireless data is provided as Wi-Fi data or Bluetooth data based on environmental conditions (i.e., different types of wireless technology modules to accommodate wireless needs in environmental situations including Bluetooth and Wifi in Klicpera, ¶0121)
With respect to claim 11, Klicpera discloses: the device of claim 9, wherein the wireless circuit and the MCU are in a single module (i.e., collection node includes CPU and wireless circuity in Klicpera, ¶0007)
With respect to claim 12, Klicpera discloses: the device of claim 9, wherein the MCU is configured to use the wireless data to optimize the performance of a heating, ventilating, or air conditioning system (i.e., communicating via contemplated wireless communication by thermostat to maintain specified temperature in Klicpera, ¶0007, ¶0128)
With respect to claim 13, Klicpera discloses: the device of claim 12, wherein the wireless data is temperature data (i.e., temperature sensor with transfer means for communicating temperature conditions in Klicpera, ¶0007, ¶0121)
With respect to claim 14, Klicpera discloses: 14. The device of claim 12, further comprising a sensor interface, and the MCU is configured to monitor sensor data for water leaks and temperature changes (i.e., pressure sensor for detecting leaks, temperature sensor for communicating temperature conditions in Klicpera, ¶0007, ¶0128),
and perform equipment performance scheduling (i.e., software controls for scheduling water interruption on defined time schedules in Klicpera, ¶0167, ¶0169).
With respect to claim 15, the limitation(s) of claim 15 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
Klicpera further discloses: a device, comprising:
the multiple protocols comprising Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or Zigbee protocols; and (i.e., utilizing WIFI Bluetooth, ZigBee and combinations thereof in Klicpera, ¶0005, ¶0121);
a microcontroller (MCU) module coupled to the wireless circuit, the MCU being configured collect and store sensor data from the sensor locally (i.e., collection-node sensor data storage in local memory in Klicpera, ¶0007, ¶0009, ¶0129),
and communicate the wireless data to other nodes using peer-to-peer encrypted communication. (i.e., RF mesh, point to point wireless communication encrypted end-to-end in Klicpera, ¶0061, ¶0064, ¶0106).
With respect to claim 16, Klicpera discloses: the device of claim 15, wherein the sensor data is temperature data, humidity data, air quality data, or carbon dioxide data (i.e., temperature sensor incorporated to communicate and address temperature conditions in Klicpera, ¶0007)
With respect to claim 17, Klicpera discloses: the device of claim 15, wherein the MCU performs an authentication protocol for the peer-to-peer encrypted communication (i.e., digital signatures and verifying and decrypting of public key hash for peer to peer encryption in Klicpera, ¶0093).
With respect to claim 18, the limitation(s) of claim 18 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
With respect to claim 19, the limitation(s) of claim 19 are similar to those of claim(s) 3. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 3.
With respect to claim 20, the limitation(s) of claim 20 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klicpera (US 2019/0234786 A1) in view of Menard et al. (US 2003/0016129 A1) and Gu et al. (US 2021/0336775 A1), further in view of Sinha et al. (US 2018/0328612 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Klicpera discloses securely sending sensor data (¶0106). Klicpera, Menard, and Gu do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Sinha, in order to improve data security and data corruption by removing a single point of failure (¶0051), discloses: the device of claim 2, wherein the single module is configured to execute a hashing algorithm (i.e., cryptographic hashes used to link blocks in a blockchain in Sinha, ¶ 0118)
to generate unique fixed-size hashes for any input data for secure links between blocks in a block chain associated with the block chain network and to secure transaction data (i.e., hashes link each block to its predecessor and hashed transaction/device data is signed, protecting the chain and transaction contents. in Sinha, ¶ 0048; ¶ 0135).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard and Gu, and further in view of Sinha, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Sinha to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to improve data security and data corruption by removing a single point of failure.
With respect to claim 4, Klicpera discloses: The device of claim 3, further comprising a sensor interface for connecting to other sensors (i.e., node connects to multiple sensors receiving and querying their sensor data in Klicpera, ¶ 0121, ¶0159-0160)
Klicpera discloses securely sending sensor data (¶0106). Klicpera, Menard, and Gu do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Sinha, in order to improve data security and data corruption by removing a single point of failure (¶0051), discloses: and the single module is configured to securely records transactions across multiple nodes in a building network. (i.e., multiple building HVAC devices each maintain a distributed chain whose transaction and control records are securely stored and authenticated. in Sinha, ¶ 0047; ¶ 0048).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard and Gu, and further in view of Sinha, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Sinha to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to improve data security and data corruption by removing a single point of failure.
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klicpera (US 2019/0234786 A1) in view of Menard et al. (US 2003/0016129 A1) and Gu et al. (US 2021/0336775 A1), and further in view of Al Rasheed et al. (US 2025/0225854 A1).
With respect to claim 21, Klicpera discloses receiving, determining and communicating property's thermostat; wireless tech to monitor water use data (¶0006, ¶0007, ¶0119). Klicpera and Menard and Gu do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Al-Rasheed, in order to implement IoT on boats, ships, buses, or train with low power wireless networks (¶0005), discloses: the device of claim 15, wherein the multiple protocols comprise matter and near field communications protocols (i.e., Matter, and NFC utilizes in IoT for ships, buses or trains in Al-Rasheed, ¶0005).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard and Gu, and further in view of Al-Rasheed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Al-Rasheed to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to implement IoT on boats, ships, buses, or train with low power wireless networks.
With respect to claim 22, Klicpera discloses receiving, determining and communicating property's thermostat; wireless tech to monitor water use data (¶0006, ¶0007, ¶0119). Klicpera and Menard and Gu do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Al-Rasheed, in order to implement IoT on boats, ships, buses, or train with low power wireless networks (¶0005), discloses: the device of claim 15, wherein the multiple protocols comprise Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, Matter and near field communications protocols (i.e., Wi-Fi, Bluetooth low energy, ZigBee, Matter, NFC low power wireless networks in Al-Rasheed, ¶0005).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard and Gu, and further in view of Al-Rasheed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Al-Rasheed to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to implement IoT on boats, ships, buses, or train with low power wireless networks.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Sherman Lin
9/19/2026
/S. L./Examiner, Art Unit 2447
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447