DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klicpera (US 2019/0234786 A1) in view of Menard et al. (US 2003/0016129 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Klicpera discloses: 1. A device (i.e., device includes collection node and communication hub corresponding to both sensors and wireless radio technology in Klicpera, ¶0005), comprising:
a sensor (i.e., sensors pertaining to water flow rate, leak detection, pressure, and acoustic sensors in Klicpera, ¶0005, ¶0007);
a wireless circuit configured to operate according to multiple protocols (i.e., operating over any combination of wireless technologies; for example, Bluetooth and Wi-Fi means in the collection node in Klicpera, ¶0005, ¶0120-0121)
and transmit and receive wireless data (i.e., duplex format corresponds to wireless technology for transmission and receipt in Klicpera, ¶0006, ¶00077); and
a microcontroller (MCU) module coupled to the wireless circuit (i.e., communication radio with microcontroller and wireless electronic communication means in Klicpera, ¶0007, ¶0121),
wherein the sensor, the MCU and the wireless circuit are provided in a single module. (i.e., microprocessor coupled to water shut off means, temperature sensor, and wireless transceiver for monitoring water use data in Klicpera, ¶0076, ¶0077)
Klicpera discloses receiving, determining and communicating property's thermostat; wireless tech to monitor water use data (¶0006, ¶0007, ¶0119). Klicpera do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Menard, in order to aiding emergency personnel in locating emergency site by communicating wirelessly with module that also includes motion sensor data (¶0053), discloses: the MCU being configured to control building equipment using the wireless data and sensor data from the sensor (i.e., actuating a switch coupled to a motion detector sensor and wireless transceiver; using both transceiver data and sensor outputs to control building load in Menard, ¶0007, ¶0026, ¶0053).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Menard to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to aiding emergency personnel in locating emergency site by communicating wirelessly with module that also includes motion sensor data.
With respect to claim 2, Klicpera discloses CPU, wireless circuitry and sensor in a collection node (¶0007, ¶0076, ¶00121). Klicpera do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Menard, in order to aiding emergency personnel in locating emergency site by communicating wirelessly with module that also includes motion sensor data (¶0053), discloses: the device of claim 1, wherein the MCU and the wireless circuit are integrated together (i.e., electrical switch, motion detector, and wireless transceiver are integrated together in Menard, ¶0007, ¶0014, ¶0026).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Menard to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to aiding emergency personnel in locating emergency site by communicating wirelessly with module that also includes motion sensor data.
With respect to claim 5, Klicpera discloses CPU, wireless circuitry and sensor in a collection node (¶0007, ¶0076, ¶00121). Klicpera do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Menard, in order to aiding emergency personnel in locating emergency site by communicating wirelessly with module that also includes motion sensor data (¶0053), discloses: the device of claim 1, wherein the single module is provided on a single circuit board (i.e., module integrated with processor, transceiver and motion detector in Menard, ¶0007, ¶0014, ¶0026).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Menard to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to aiding emergency personnel in locating emergency site by communicating wirelessly with module that also includes motion sensor data.
With respect to claim 6, Klicpera discloses CPU, and associated circuitry mounted on electronic circuit board (¶0007, ¶0121, ¶0129). Klicpera do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Menard, in order to reduce interference in communication range of transceivers by physically locating them advantageously (¶0161), discloses: the device of claim 5, wherein the MCU and the wireless circuit are provided on opposite planar sides of the single circuit board (i.e., locating and positioning antenna to reduce interference by physical configuration of the electrical box; suggests predictable placement of the wireless antenna to improve transmission in Menard, ¶0054).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Menard to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to reduce interference in communication range of transceivers by physically locating them advantageously.
With respect to claim 7, Klicpera discloses: the device of claim 1, wherein the MCU and the wireless circuit are provided in a single integrated circuit package (i.e., associated integrated circuits for temperature sensor; associated circuity mounted on electronic circuit board in Klicpera, ¶0121, ¶0129).
With respect to claim 15, the limitation(s) of claim 15 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
Klicpera further discloses: a device, comprising:
the multiple protocols comprising Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or Zigbee protocols; and (i.e., utilizing WIFI Bluetooth, ZigBee and combinations thereof in Klicpera, ¶0005, ¶0121);
a microcontroller (MCU) module coupled to the wireless circuit, the MCU being configured collect and store sensor data from the sensor locally (i.e., collection-node sensor data storage in local memory in Klicpera, ¶0007, ¶0009, ¶0129),
and communicate the wireless data to other nodes using peer-to-peer encrypted communication. (i.e., RF mesh, point to point wireless communication encrypted end-to-end in Klicpera, ¶0061, ¶0064, ¶0106).
With respect to claim 16, Klicpera discloses: the device of claim 15, wherein the sensor data is temperature data, humidity data, air quality data, or carbon dioxide data (i.e., temperature sensor incorporated to communicate and address temperature conditions in Klicpera, ¶0007)
With respect to claim 17, Klicpera discloses: the device of claim 15, wherein the MCU performs an authentication protocol for the peer-to-peer encrypted communication (i.e., digital signatures and verifying and decrypting of public key hash for peer to peer encryption in Klicpera, ¶0093).
With respect to claim 18, the limitation(s) of claim 18 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
With respect to claim 20, the limitation(s) of claim 20 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 8-14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klicpera (US 2019/0234786 A1) in view of Menard et al. (US 2003/0016129 A1), and further in view of Gu et al. (US 2021/0336775 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Klicpera discloses: the device of claim 2, wherein the single module collects and stores the sensor data (i.e., collection-node sensor data storage in local memory in Klicpera, ¶0007, ¶0009, ¶0129)
Klicpera discloses communicating node to node mesh communication; and an advantage of blockchain technology as immutable (¶0061, ¶0077, ¶0129). Klicpera and Menard do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Gu, in order to improving the safety of data storage by uploading data to the blockchain for authenticated immutable storage (¶0058), discloses: and communicates with other nodes using a blockchain network (i.e., transmitting data packets to blockchain nodes, the data is authenticated and stored in Gu, ¶0037, ¶0049, ¶0052).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard, and further in view of Gu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Gu to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to improving the safety of data storage by uploading data to the blockchain for authenticated immutable storage.
With respect to claim 4, Klicpera discloses: 4. The device of claim 3, further comprising a sensor interface for connecting to other sensors. (i.e., node can communicate with additional sensors and run a schedule for querying the sensors in Klicpera, ¶0159-0160)
With respect to claim 8, Klicpera discloses various data access ports (¶0129). Klicpera and Menard do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Gu, in order to improve interoperability by implementing USB interface for transmitting packets (¶0041), discloses: the device of claim 1, further comprising a universal serial bus interface (i.e., communication modules including wired communication interface, USB in Gu, ¶0041).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard, and further in view of Gu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Gu to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to improve interoperability by implementing USB interface for transmitting packets.
With respect to claim 9, the limitation(s) of claim 9 are similar to those of claim(s) 1, 2, and 3. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1, 2, and 3.
With respect to claim 10, Klicpera discloses: the device of claim 9, wherein the wireless data is provided as Wi-Fi data or Bluetooth data based on environmental conditions (i.e., different types of wireless technology modules to accommodate wireless needs in environmental situations including Bluetooth and Wifi in Klicpera, ¶0121)
With respect to claim 11, Klicpera discloses: the device of claim 9, wherein the wireless circuit and the MCU are in a single module (i.e., collection node includes CPU and wireless circuity in Klicpera, ¶0007)
With respect to claim 12, Klicpera discloses: the device of claim 9, wherein the MCU is configured to use the wireless data to optimize the performance of a heating, ventilating, or air conditioning system (i.e., communicating via contemplated wireless communication by thermostat to maintain specified temperature in Klicpera, ¶0007, ¶0128)
With respect to claim 13, Klicpera discloses: the device of claim 12, wherein the wireless data is temperature data (i.e., temperature sensor with transfer means for communicating temperature conditions in Klicpera, ¶0007, ¶0121)
With respect to claim 14, Klicpera discloses: 14. The device of claim 12, further comprising a sensor interface, and the MCU is configured to monitor sensor data for water leaks and temperature changes (i.e., pressure sensor for detecting leaks, temperature sensor for communicating temperature conditions in Klicpera, ¶0007, ¶0128),
and perform equipment performance scheduling (i.e., software controls for scheduling water interruption on defined time schedules in Klicpera, ¶0167, ¶0169)
With respect to claim 19, the limitation(s) of claim 19 are similar to those of claim(s) 3. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 3.
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klicpera (US 2019/0234786 A1) in view of Menard et al. (US 2003/0016129 A1), and further in view of Al Rasheed et al. (US 2025/0225854 A1).
With respect to claim 21, Klicpera discloses receiving, determining and communicating property's thermostat; wireless tech to monitor water use data (¶0006, ¶0007, ¶0119). Klicpera and Menard do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Al-Rasheed, in order to implement IoT on boats, ships, buses, or train with low power wireless networks (¶0005), discloses: the device of claim 15, wherein the multiple protocols comprise matter and near field communications protocols (i.e., Matter, and NFC utilizes in IoT for ships, buses or trains in Al-Rasheed, ¶0005).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard, and further in view of Al-Rasheed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Al-Rasheed to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to implement IoT on boats, ships, buses, or train with low power wireless networks.
With respect to claim 22, Klicpera discloses receiving, determining and communicating property's thermostat; wireless tech to monitor water use data (¶0006, ¶0007, ¶0119). Klicpera and Menard do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Al-Rasheed, in order to implement IoT on boats, ships, buses, or train with low power wireless networks (¶0005), discloses: the device of claim 15, wherein the multiple protocols comprise Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, Matter and near field communications protocols (i.e., Wi-Fi, Bluetooth low energy, ZigBee, Matter, NFC low power wireless networks in Al-Rasheed, ¶0005).
Based on Klicpera in view of Menard, and further in view of Al-Rasheed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Al-Rasheed to improve upon those of Klicpera in order to implement IoT on boats, ships, buses, or train with low power wireless networks.
Conclusion
Sherman Lin
3/19/2026
/S. L./Examiner, Art Unit 2447
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447