DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on September 30, 2024, and August 25, 2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the RELATED APPLICATION section needs updated to reflect applications that have matured into patents. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,107,846. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both application and patent claim identifying a first list of users in a messaging system; checking user identity for each user in the first list with a database to determine if each user is of record in the database; if the user is of record, automatically locating user identity credentials for each user and an associated service, in an event there is no record found, tagging the user as a provisional new user and assigning new user identity credentials to the provisional new user; performing at least one of a resolution action and a reconciliation action with other information found for the provisional new user to determine a status for the provisional new user, wherein the reconciliation action is performed by an inference engine configured to infer existence of presence of a single user when the single user participates as multiple participants in a session from different devices; and if the status for the provisional new user determines no prior record of user identity credentials, adding the provisional new user as a new user with the new user identity credentials to the database and using the new user identity credentials to sign in the new user to the application.
The patent further claims wherein the other information includes at least one of a real name, IP address and a telephone number. It would have been obvious to use user specific information as the other information as a way to identify the provisional user.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vangpat et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0086670).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 19, Vangpat et al. teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising: automatically facilitating login of a plurality of users to an application, by an adaptive log-in interface identifying the plurality of users from their use of a messaging system (paragraph 0071); checking each user identity with a database to determine if each user is of record in the database (paragraph 0065); automatically locating user identity credentials for each user and an associated service, if the user identity is of record in the database (paragraph 0065); tagging the user as a provisional new user and assigning new user identity credentials to the provisional new user, in an event the user identity is not of record in the database (paragraph 0066); performing a resolution action to determine if the user identity credentials located are unique (paragraph 0065); performing a reconciliation action to determine if the provisional user has a single presence of has appeared as multiple participants from different devices (paragraph 0065); and if the status for the provisional new user determines no prior record of user identity credentials, adding the provisional new user as a new user with the new user identity credentials to the database and using the new user identity credentials to sign in the new user to the application (paragraph 0067).
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 20, Vangpat et al. teaches wherein the adaptive login interface includes an identity-provider application tracking any and all user identification credentials previously used by the users to dynamically provide a current set of user credentials to the users before issuing authentication for the users in the instance a user requires access to a particular application, wherein the identity-provider application dynamically and continuously updates the database (paragraph 0046).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Vangpat et al. teaches wherein the identity-provider application provides an object to set up a meeting event (paragraph 0015).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Vangpat et al. teaches wherein the adaptive sign-in interface identifies the users by their use of user identity credentials across a plurality of different applications, services, or systems, tracking each instance of use of a new email address, a new phone number by an existing user in the database and registering the new email address or new phone number in a user record in the database (paragraph 0066).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Vangpat et al. teaches wherein the plurality of user identity credentials relates to an email, a text and a telephone (paragraph 0016).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Vangpat et al. teaches wherein the adaptive log-in interface is integrated with an identity trusted-broker application on a client device used by a user, wherein the identity-broker application serves to authenticate a set of user credentials provided by the adaptive log-in interface by returning the set of user credentials to a requesting application (paragraph 0027).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Vangpat et al. teaches wherein if the status for the provisional new user determines a prior record of user identity credentials, resolving the user identity credentials and updating a record for an existing user (paragraph 0066).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Vangpat et al. teaches wherein a notification is sent to the user when the user identity credentials are confirmed and wherein a query notification is sent to the user to confirm new user identity credentials in the event of uncertainty (paragraph 0064).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Vangpat et al. teaches wherein the adaptive log-in interface is integrated with a single sign-on provider to facilitate a connection between a cloud computing resource to decrease a need for a user to re-authenticate when using a mobile or a roaming application (paragraph 0005).
/BRANDON HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433