DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Claims 1-12 have been examined and rejected. This is the first Office action on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
a. The limitation “a recognition unit that executes recognition processing of a scanning cross section on an ultrasound image generated by being scanned with ultrasound, to estimate a plurality of candidates for a scanning cross section scanned with the ultrasound, and calculates a score indicating a certainty of the estimation for each candidate” in [claim 1, lines 2-5], because it uses a non-structural term “recognition unit” coupled with functional language “executes recognition processing of a scanning cross section on an ultrasound image generated by being scanned with ultrasound, to estimate a plurality of candidates for a scanning cross section scanned with the ultrasound, and calculates a score indicating a certainty of the estimation for each candidate” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the non-structural term is not preceded by a structural modifier.
b. The limitation “a display controller that displays, on a display, candidate images showing a plurality of respective candidates having higher scores among the plurality of candidates in different display aspects for each score” in [claim 1, lines 6-8], because it uses a non-structural term “display controller” coupled with functional language “displays, on a display, candidate images showing a plurality of respective candidates having higher scores among the plurality of candidates in different display aspects for each score” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the non-structural term is not preceded by a structural modifier.
C. The limitation “a reception unit that receives user's selection of a candidate having a score equal to or higher than a threshold value, and does not receive user's selection of a candidate having a score lower than the threshold value” in [claim 3, lines 2-4], because it uses a non-structural term “reception unit” coupled with functional language “receives user's selection of a candidate having a score equal to or higher than a threshold value, and does not receive user's selection of a candidate having a score lower than the threshold value” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the non-structural term is not preceded by a structural modifier.
d. The limitation “an execution unit that executes an examination in accordance with a setting related to a first candidate among the plurality of candidates” in [claim 11, lines 2-3], because it uses a non-structural term “execution unit” coupled with functional language “executes an examination in accordance with a setting related to a first candidate among the plurality of candidates” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the non-structural term is not preceded by a structural modifier.
6. Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,948,345).
9-1. Regarding claims 1 and 12, Wang teaches the claim comprising: a recognition unit that executes recognition processing of a scanning cross section on an ultrasound image generated by being scanned with ultrasound, to estimate a plurality of candidates for a scanning cross section scanned with the ultrasound, and calculates a score indicating a certainty of the estimation for each candidate, by disclosing a settings retrieval engine implementing a neural network that uses image data files retrieved from a source device to identify a prior image with a view that matches a current ultrasound image [column 7, lines 1-2, 52-55; column 9, line 67 to column 10, line 4]. Matches are identified based on a similarity score exceeding a certain value [column 8, lines 20-24; column 12, lines 57-61].
Wang teaches a display controller that displays, on a display, candidate images showing a plurality of respective candidates having higher scores among the plurality of candidates in different display aspects for each score, by disclosing displaying a view-matching interface comprising matching images [column 8, lines 26-37; column 11, line 62 to column 12, line 11; column 13, lines 38-46; figure 5].
9-2. Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 1, wherein the display controller displays a candidate for a cross section for which an examination is completed and a candidate for a cross section for which the examination is not completed, on the display in a distinguishable manner, by disclosing that prior image data retrieved may include archived images from the recurring patient’s last exam of the same type, or a number of the recurring patient’s most recent exams of the same type [column 7, lines 46-51]. Since a current ultrasound image for a current exam is used to identify a matching previous image such that a new ultrasound image with adjusted imaging parameters is acquired and locally stored [column 8, lines 40-46], and another view is subsequently acquired by the sonographer [column 8, lines 60-62] that acquires images at the another view from the local storage [column 7, lines 31-39] to identify matching pairs of images [column 7, lines 52-55], the matching pairs of images may include the most recently stored ultrasound image from the current examination, which is not yet completed.
9-3. Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising: an execution unit that executes an examination in accordance with a setting related to a first candidate among the plurality of candidates, by disclosing using the retrieved prior settings of the matching prior image to capture a new current image [column 8, lines 40-60].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 2-4, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,948,345) in view of Bouguet et al (U.S. Patent No. 7,840,076).
11-1. Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 1, wherein the display controller displays a plurality of the candidate images on the display in an arranged manner in an arrangement order corresponding to the scores, by disclosing that the matches are arranged from left to right in decreasing similarity score [figure 5].
Wang does not expressly teach wherein the display controller changes the arrangement order of the plurality of candidate images in response to an instruction issued by a user to change the arrangement order to display the plurality of candidate images in an arranged manner on the display. Bouguet discloses displaying search results of images ranked based on a relevancy score [column 4, lines 11-14; column 4, lines 32-35]. A user may then rearrange one or more of the search results by selecting and dragging a search result from the result window to a positive example window or a negative example window [column 4, lines 38-44]. The user can then select a run query button to cause a mining module to process image collection according to the supplied examples [column 4, lines 44-46]. This would help the user find more relevant matches. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow a user to rearrange the matching results of Wang to indicate positive or negative examples for obtaining better matching results, as taught by Bouguet. This would help provide a better match for the user.
11-2. Regarding claim 3, Wang-Bouguet teach all the limitations of claim 2, further comprising: a reception unit that receives user's selection of a candidate having a score equal to or higher than a threshold value, and does not receive user's selection of a candidate having a score lower than the threshold value, by disclosing that the sonographer may provide confirmatory input that the two views are sufficiently matched before adjusting the settings and/or acquiring further images with the updated settings [Wang, column 8, line 63 to column 9, line 2].
11-3. Regarding claim 4, Wang-Bouguet teach all the limitations of claim 3, wherein, in a case in which a candidate that corresponds to a candidate image displayed at a position corresponding to a specific rank in the arrangement order corresponding to the scores and that has the score equal to or higher than the threshold value is selected by the user, the reception unit receives the selection, by disclosing displaying a view-matching interface comprising matching images [Wang, column 11, line 62 to column 12, line 11; column 13, lines 38-46; figure 5] and receiving confirmatory input that the two views are sufficiently matched before adjusting the settings and/or acquiring further images with the updated settings [Wang, column 8, line 63 to column 9, line 2; column 13, lines 46-51].
11-4. Regarding claim 6, Wang-Bouguet teach all the limitations of claim 2, wherein, in a case in which a plurality of ultrasound images showing candidates having scores equal to or higher than a first threshold value are consecutively acquired, and the number of the consecutively acquired plurality of ultrasound images is equal to or higher than a second threshold value, the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus executes a next examination, by disclosing that the system may automatically store the current image upon the identification of a matching prior view such that a sonographer may continue the examination [Wang, column 8, lines 60-62; column 9, lines 5-8].
11-5. Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Wang does not expressly teach wherein, in a case in which a user issues an instruction to execute re-recognition after the plurality of candidates are estimated by the recognition unit, the recognition unit executes the recognition processing on the ultrasound image again to estimate a new plurality of candidates for the scanning cross section, excluding a candidate having a highest score among the plurality of candidates, and the display controller displays candidate images showing the new plurality of candidates on the display. Bouguet discloses displaying search results of images ranked based on a relevancy score [column 4, lines 11-14; column 4, lines 32-35]. A user may select and drag a search result from the result window to a positive example window or a negative example window [column 4, lines 38-44]. The user can then select a run query button to cause a mining module to process image collection according to the supplied examples [column 4, lines 44-46]. This would help the user find more relevant matches. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow a user to indicate positive or negative examples and rerun image ranking, as taught by Bouguet. This would help provide a better match for the user.
12. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,948,345), in view of Bouguet et al (U.S. Patent No. 7,840,076), and further in view of Alcantara et al (U.S. Patent No. 10,810,255).
12-1. Regarding claim 5, Wang-Bouguet teach all the limitations of claim 3, wherein, in a case in which the candidate having the score lower than the threshold value is selected by the user, the reception unit receives the selection as valid selection depending on a content of processing executed after the selection. Alcantara discloses determining a similarity score to indicate how similar two images may be [column 10, lines 25-30]. An application permits a user to provide match confirmation user input regarding whether at least one of the image search results depicts a certain feature by selecting one of the image search results to bring up a context menu allowing the user to confirm whether that search result depicts the feature [column 15, lines 29-36]. This would help ensure a correct selection was made. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display search results regardless of a score exceeding a threshold value and allow confirmation selection of a result via context menu, as taught by Alcantara. This would help ensure a correct selection was made.
13. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,948,345) in view of Sasaki et al (Pub. No. US 2021/0303917).
13-1. Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Wang does not expressly teach wherein, in a case in which a candidate having a score equal to or higher than a threshold value is not estimated, the display controller displays information prompting a user to manually select the candidate on the display. Sasaki discloses an inference unit that infers a body mark with respect to an ultrasonic image using a classifier such that inference results are output as likelihood of a correct label [paragraphs 22, 27, 36; figure 10, ‘S302’]. A determination unit acquires a class and a likelihood corresponding to the class as inference results from the inference unit, wherein the class corresponds to a body mark [paragraph 70, lines 4-8; figure 10, ‘S901’]. The determination unit compares the likelihood corresponding to the acquired class with a predetermined reference [paragraph 70, lines 8-10] and when the likelihood corresponding to the class does not satisfy the predetermined reference, information indicating the classes and likelihoods respectively corresponding to the classes are transmitted for display [paragraph 70, lines 15-20; paragraphs 71-72; figure 11]. The user can then select an image indicating the capturing position from among the candidates [paragraph 72, lines 23-28]. This would allow the user to select the closest candidate even when the score is less than desired. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display, for the pairs of Wang that do not have a score higher than a threshold value, an interface prompting the user for manual selection of a candidate, as taught by Sasaki. This would allow the user to select the closest candidate even when the score is less than desired.
14. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,948,345), in view of Alcantara et al (U.S. Patent No. 10,810,255).
14-1. Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Wang does not expressly teach wherein, in a case in which a candidate having a score equal to or higher than a threshold value is not estimated, and a region in which a plurality of the candidate images are displayed is designated, the display controller displays a candidate list for a user to select the candidate on the display. Alcantara discloses determining a similarity score to indicate how similar two images may be [column 10, lines 25-30]. An application permits a user to provide match confirmation user input regarding whether at least one of the image search results depicts a certain feature by selecting one of the image search results to bring up a context menu allowing the user to confirm whether that search result depicts the feature [column 15, lines 29-36]. This would help ensure a correct selection was made. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display search results regardless of a score exceeding a threshold value and allow confirmation selection of a result via context menu, as taught by Alcantara. This would help ensure a correct selection was made.
Conclusion
/ALVIN H TAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118