DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “communication unit” in claim 20.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In particular, examiner is interpreting “communication unit” in light of Specification [0219] which teaches that a communication unit may be a transceiver and/or antenna.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 3-6 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the Feature Combination associated with the RA procedure" in line 2. The parent Claim 2 teaches “a Feature Combination” as an optional step and it is valid under BRI to interpret the invention such that there is no Feature Combination indicated in RA information. If this valid interpretation is relied upon, there is insufficient antecedent basis for Feature Combination in child Claim 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In the alternative, it could be said that Claim 3 is indefinite because it requires an optional step. Claims 4-6 and 13-15 each require the same optional step and lack antecedent basis / are rendered indefinite for at least the same reason(s). Appropriate correction is required, for example amending to affirmatively require RA information to comprise “a Feature Combination associated with the RA procedure” rather than it being an optional step.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “each network slice group identity” which is an optional step of parent Claim 12. If examiner relies on the valid interpretation of RA information not comprising network slice group identity, Claim 16 is rendered indefinite due to a lack of antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required, for example amending to affirmatively require RA information to comprise “a network slice group identity” rather than it being an optional step.
Claim 17 recites the limitations “”the at least one backoff value” and “each ramping step” which are each optional steps of parent Claim 12. If examiner relies on the valid interpretation of RA information not comprising a backoff value nor a ramping step, Claim 16 is rendered indefinite due to a lack of antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required, for example amending to affirmatively require RA information to comprise “at least one backoff value” and “at least one ramping step” rather than being optional steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9, 11-13, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Alfarhan (US 2024/0381429 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Alfarhan teaches the below limitation(s):
A wireless communication method for use in a wireless terminal (Alfarhan [0051] WTRU is a wireless terminal), the method comprising:
reporting, to a wireless network node, random access, RA, information of at least one RA procedure, wherein the RA information comprises information associated with utilizing RA channel, RACH, resources associated with one or more features that are applicable for the RA procedure ([0004] WTRU may receive configuration information (i.e. RA information) that indicates random access channel occasions (ROs), wherein ROs are interpreted as the claimed RA information associated with utilizing RACH).
Regarding Claim 2, Alfarhan teaches the limitation(s) of Claim #.
Alfarhan further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the RA information of each RA procedure comprises at least one of:
a feature type, indicating one or more features of a Feature Combination associated with the RA procedure (Alfarhan Fig 3A wherein RO2 may comprise feature combos 1-4; Fig 3, 4A, 4B preambles SSB1-SSB3 indicate feature combination),
a first preamble associated with the Feature Combination associated with the RA procedure (Fig 3 SSB1 which represents RA preamble(s) to indicate feature combination),
a number of consecutive preambles associated with the Feature Combination per Synchronization Signal/Physical broadcast channel block, SSB (Fig 3 SSB1, SSB2 and SSB3 which each present a number of consecutive preambles to indicate feature combination per SSB),
a number of consecutive preambles per SSB which are associated with a preamble group for the Feature Combination ([0119] WTRU may be configured via RRC with a number of preambles per feature combination in the reserved area of preambles in a RO),
feature priorities, indicating priorities for the one or more features of the Feature Combination ([0112] WTRU may receive priority indication(s) from the NW that the RedCap capability (i.e. feature) has higher priorities than other capabilities (i.e. features)),
an indication on whether a message 3, Msg3, repetition is enabled per RA procedure, per beam or per RA attempt ([0134] WTRU may indicate the use case of a feature in the payload of Msg3/A; [0151] teaches that RA may be used for CovEnh (e.g. Msg3 or Msg1 repetition); see also [0082]),
a number of Msg3 repetitions per RA attempt or per beam,
a modulation and coding scheme for the Msg3 repetition ([0090] scheduling information may include a modulation and coding scheme),
a number of repetitions for a physical uplink shared channel transmission scheduled by an RA radio network temporary identifier uplink grant and downlink control information format 0_0,
network slice related information associated with the RA procedure ([0082] PRACH partitioning may be used on one or more of the following features: … slicing (e.g. to indicate high priority slice(s) to the NW and/or to achieve a slice isolation for RACH)),
at least one network slice group identity associated with the RA procedure, at least one backoff value associated with the RA procedure,
at least one scaling factor associated with the at least one backoff value,
an indication on whether backoff index is received for the RA procedure ([0086] MsgB may include downlink response to MsgA (i.e. Msg3), which may be a success RAR, a fallback RAR, or a backoff indication),
at least one power ramping step used in the RA procedure,
at least one purpose associated with the at least one power ramping step,
an access identity associated with the RA procedure, or
an indication on whether the RA procedure is successful or not ([0145] state of the RA procedure (e.g. if the WTRU has received RAR) may be indicated on the Msg3 PUSCH resource).
Regarding Claim 3, Alfarhan teaches the limitation(s) of Claim #.
Alfarhan further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the one or more features of the Feature Combination associated with the RA procedure comprises at least one of:
a reduced capability, a Msg3 repetition, a small data transmission, or a network slicing (Alfarhan [0082] PRACH partitioning may be used on one or more of the following features: RedCap (i.e. to indicate reduced capability device type to the NW), CovEnh (e.g. to indicate the need for coverage enhancement for Msg3 repetition), slicing (e.g. to indicate high priority slice(s) to the NW and/or to achieve a slice isolation for RACH)).
Regarding Claim 5, Alfarhan teaches the limitation(s) of Claim #.
Alfarhan further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the number of consecutive preambles associated with the Feature Combination per SSB is indicated by an integer with a value range from 1 to 64 (Alfarhan [0100] teaches that an RO has up to 64 available preambles).
Regarding Claim 9, Alfarhan teaches the limitation(s) of Claim #.
Alfarhan further teaches the below limitation(s):
receiving, from the wireless network node, an RA configuration determined based on the RA information (Alfarhan [0004] WTRU may receive configuration information (i.e. RA information) that indicates random access channel occasions (ROs)).
Regarding Claim 11, Alfarhan teaches the below limitation(s):
A wireless communication method for use in a wireless network node (Alfarhan Fig 1A and [0021] base station(s) 114A and 114B), the method comprising:
receiving, from a wireless terminal, random access, RA, information of at least one RA procedure (Fig 3 SSB1 which represents RA preamble(s) to indicate feature combination, i.e. "RA information", which are transmitted from WTRU (i.e. a wireless terminal per [0051])), and
determining a RA configuration associated with the RA procedure of the wireless terminal; and wherein the RA information comprises information associated with utilizing RA channel, RACH, resources associated with one or more features that are applicable for the RA procedure ([0004] WTRU may receive configuration information (i.e. RA information) that indicates random access channel occasions (ROs), wherein ROs are interpreted as the claimed RA information associated with utilizing RACH).
Regarding Claim 12, Alfarhan teaches the limitation(s) of Claim #.
Alfarhan further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the RA information of each RA procedure comprises at least one of:
a feature type, indicating one or more features of a Feature Combination associated with the RA procedure (Alfarhan Fig 3A wherein RO2 may comprise feature combos 1-4; Fig 3, 4A, 4B preambles SSB1-SSB3 indicate feature combination),
a first preamble associated with the Feature Combination associated with the RA procedure (Fig 3 SSB1 which represents RA preamble(s) to indicate feature combination),
a number of consecutive preambles associated with the Feature Combination per Synchronization Signal/Physical broadcast channel block, SSB (Fig 3 SSB1, SSB2 and SSB3 which each present a number of consecutive preambles to indicate feature combination per SSB),
a number of consecutive preambles per SSB which are associated with a preamble group for the Feature Combination ([0119] WTRU may be configured via RRC with a number of preambles per feature combination in the reserved area of preambles in a RO),
feature priorities, indicating priorities for the one or more features of the Feature Combination ([0112] WTRU may receive priority indication(s) from the NW that the RedCap capability (i.e. feature) has higher priorities than other capabilities (i.e. features)),
an indication on whether a message 3, Msg3, repetition is enabled per RA procedure, per beam or per RA attempt ([0134] WTRU may indicate the use case of a feature in the payload of Msg3/A; [0151] teaches that RA may be used for CovEnh (e.g. Msg3 or Msg1 repetition); see also [0082]),
a number of Msg3 repetitions per RA attempt or per beam,
a modulation and coding scheme for the Msg3 repetition ([0090] scheduling information may include a modulation and coding scheme),
a number of repetitions for a physical uplink shared channel transmission scheduled by an RA radio network temporary identifier uplink grant and downlink control information format 0_0,
network slice related information associated with the RA procedure ([0082] PRACH partitioning may be used on one or more of the following features: … slicing (e.g. to indicate high priority slice(s) to the NW and/or to achieve a slice isolation for RACH)),
at least one network slice group identity associated with the RA procedure, at least one backoff value associated with the RA procedure,
at least one scaling factor associated with the at least one backoff value,
an indication on whether backoff index is received for the RA procedure ([0086] MsgB may include downlink response to MsgA (i.e. Msg3), which may be a success RAR, a fallback RAR, or a backoff indication),
at least one power ramping step used in the RA procedure,
at least one purpose associated with the at least one power ramping step,
an access identity associated with the RA procedure, or
an indication on whether the RA procedure is successful or not ([0145] state of the RA procedure (e.g. if the WTRU has received RAR) may be indicated on the Msg3 PUSCH resource).
Regarding Claim 13, Alfarhan teaches the limitation(s) of Claim #.
Alfarhan further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the one or more features of the Feature Combination associated with the RA procedure comprises at least one of:
a reduced capability, a Msg3 repetition, a small data transmission, or a network slicing (Alfarhan [0082] PRACH partitioning may be used on one or more of the following features: RedCap (i.e. to indicate reduced capability device type to the NW), CovEnh (e.g. to indicate the need for coverage enhancement for Msg3 repetition), slicing (e.g. to indicate high priority slice(s) to the NW and/or to achieve a slice isolation for RACH)).
Regarding Claim 15, Alfarhan teaches the limitation(s) of Claim #.
Alfarhan further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the number of consecutive preambles associated with the Feature Combination per SSB is indicated by an integer with a value range from 1 to 64 (Alfarhan [0100] teaches that an RO has up to 64 available preambles).
Regarding Claim 20, Alfarhan teaches the below limitation(s):
An apparatus, comprising:
a communication unit and at least one processor (Alfarhan [0051] WTRU is a wireless terminal; Fig 1 terminal 102 comprising processor 118 and transceiver 120 (i.e. "communication unit")); wherein the communication unit is configured to report, to a wireless network node, random access, RA, information of at least one RA procedure; and wherein the RA information comprises information associated with utilizing RA channel, RACH, resources associated with one or more features that are applicable for the RA procedure ([0004] WTRU may receive configuration information (i.e. RA information) that indicates random access channel occasions (ROs), wherein ROs are interpreted as the claimed RA information associated with utilizing RACH).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan (US 2024/0381429 A1) in view of Liu (US 2021/0368544 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Alfarhan disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Alfarhan does not disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the RA information comprises information associated with the RA procedure in a shared spectrum.
In the same field of endeavor of random access in NR-U, Liu does disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the RA information comprises information associated with the RA procedure in a shared spectrum (Liu [0008] in NR-U (i.e. "shared spectrum"), random access channel (RACH) procedures may involve four-step random access (RA) and two-step RA ... the UE selects a preamble (i.e. "RA information") which is transmitted to gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned wireless communication method to include performing a random access procedure in a shared spectrum (i.e. unlicensed spectrum i.e. NR-U) as taught by Liu. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to enable a UE to perform random access in NR-U to reduce congestion on licensed portions of the spectrum. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Alfarhan and Liu to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 8, Alfarhan disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Alfarhan does not disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the RA information comprises at least one of:
a configuration for detecting consistent uplink listen-before-talk, LBT, failures in a shared spectrum channel access,
…
In the same field of endeavor of random access in NR-U, Liu does disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the RA information comprises at least one of:
a configuration for detecting consistent uplink listen-before-talk, LBT, failures in a shared spectrum channel access (Liu Abstract and [0047] invention is directed to reducing the negative impact due to LBT failure in unlicensed spectrum for NR-U random access; see [0081] for an exemplary configuration of LBT failure detection and reduction),
… (alternative limitations not considered).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned wireless communication method to include performing a random access procedure in a shared spectrum (i.e. unlicensed spectrum i.e. NR-U) and further to detect LBT failure due to the requirement of LBT on unlicensed spectrum as taught by Liu. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to enable a UE to perform random access in NR-U to reduce congestion on licensed portions of the spectrum. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Alfarhan and Liu to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 18, Alfarhan disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 11.
Alfarhan does not disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the RA information comprises at least one of:
a configuration for detecting consistent uplink listen-before-talk, LBT, failures in a shared spectrum channel access,
…
In the same field of endeavor of random access in NR-U, Liu does disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the RA information comprises at least one of:
a configuration for detecting consistent uplink listen-before-talk, LBT, failures in a shared spectrum channel access (Liu Abstract and [0047] invention is directed to reducing the negative impact due to LBT failure in unlicensed spectrum for NR-U random access; see [0081] for an exemplary configuration of LBT failure detection and reduction; [0008] in NR-U (i.e. "shared spectrum"), random access channel (RACH) procedures may involve four-step random access (RA) and two-step RA ... the UE selects a preamble (i.e. "RA information") which is transmitted to gNB),
… (alternative limitations not considered).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned wireless communication method to include performing a random access procedure in a shared spectrum (i.e. unlicensed spectrum i.e. NR-U) and further to detect LBT failure due to the requirement of LBT on unlicensed spectrum as taught by Liu. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to enable a UE to perform random access in NR-U to reduce congestion on licensed portions of the spectrum. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Alfarhan and Liu to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Claim(s) 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan in view of Chen (US 2020/0100294 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Alfarhan disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Alfarhan further discloses the below limitation(s): transmitting, to the wireless network node, the capability indication associated with reporting the RA information relevant to RA procedure utilizing RA resources associated with a Feature Combination of the RA procedure (Alfarhan [0095] and [0112] each teach a WTRU transmitting capability indication associated with feature combination(s), for example RedCap capability or slice capability).
Alfarhan does not disclose the below limitation(s): receiving, from the wireless network node, a request for a capability indication;
In the same field of endeavor of random access in NR-U, Chen does disclose the below limitation(s): receiving, from the wireless network node, a request for a capability indication (Chen [0055] UE capable of operating on an unlicensed spectrum may indicate such a capability to the network upon receiving a request from the network);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned wireless communication method to include the network requesting UE capability as part of an unlicensed spectrum RA procedure as taught by Chen. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to determine that the UE is capable of operating on NR-U prior to performing an NR-U RA procedure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Alfarhan and Chen to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 19, Alfarhan disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 11.
Alfarhan further discloses the below limitation(s): transmitting, to the wireless network node, the capability indication associated with reporting the RA information relevant to RA procedure utilizing RA resources associated with a Feature Combination of the RA procedure (Alfarhan [0095] and [0112] each teach a WTRU transmitting capability indication associated with feature combination(s), for example RedCap capability or slice capability).
Alfarhan does not disclose the below limitation(s): receiving, from the wireless network node, a request for a capability indication;
In the same field of endeavor of random access in NR-U, Chen does disclose the below limitation(s): receiving, from the wireless network node, a request for a capability indication (Chen [0055] UE capable of operating on an unlicensed spectrum may indicate such a capability to the network upon receiving a request from the network);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned wireless communication method to include the network requesting UE capability as part of an unlicensed spectrum RA procedure as taught by Chen. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to determine that the UE is capable of operating on NR-U prior to performing an NR-U RA procedure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Alfarhan and Chen to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Conclusion
/SHAWN D MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412