DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 17-20 of copending Application No. 18732427 in view of Kim et al. US 2025/0392743. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims are not identical in terms of wording and terminology, the scopes of the claims are the same, and they are not patentably distinct from each other as they are obvious variations of one another. Copending Application No. 18732427 does not recite wherein an interpolation filter with X tap is used in the first reordering procedure, and wherein X is an integer number and storing the bitstream in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium. Kim discloses wherein an interpolation filter with X tap is used in the first reordering procedure, and wherein X is an integer number; [fig. 52; ¶ 1012-1019; ¶ 1118] and storing the bitstream in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium. [figs. 1-2; fig. 52; ¶ 2064-2078] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Copending Application No. 18732427 with the teachings of Kim allowing for improved coding efficiency.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
18902795
18732427
1. a method of video processing, comprising: applying, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video unit, a processing procedure to at least one motion candidate in a motion candidate list; reordering at least part of motion candidates in the motion candidate list by applying a first reordering procedure to the motion candidate list after the processing procedure, wherein an interpolation filter with X tap is used in the first reordering procedure, and wherein X is an integer number; and performing the conversion based on the reordered motion candidates.
1. A method of video processing, comprising: applying, during a conversion between a target block of a video and a bitstream of the target block, a processing procedure to at least one motion candidate in a motion candidate list; reordering the motion candidate list by applying a first reordering process to the motion candidate list after the processing procedure; and performing the conversion based on the reordered motion candidate list.
2. wherein the processing procedure comprises a second reordering procedure, and wherein only a portion of motion candidates in the motion candidate list after the second reordering procedure is reordered in the first reordering procedure.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the processing procedure comprises at least one of: a modification process, a motion refinement process, or a second reordering process.
17. wherein the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream.
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the target block into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the target block from the bitstream.
18. an apparatus for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to: apply, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video unit, a processing procedure to at least one motion candidate in a motion candidate list: reorder at least part of motion candidates in the motion candidate list by applying a first reordering procedure to the motion candidate list after the processing procedure, wherein an interpolation filter with X-tap is used in the first reordering procedure, and wherein X is an integer number; and perform the conversion based on the reordered motion candidates.
18. An apparatus for processing video data comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform acts comprising: applying, during a conversion between a target block of a video and a bitstream of the target block, a processing procedure to at least one motion candidate in a motion candidate list; reordering the motion candidate list by applying a first reordering process to the motion candidate list after the processing procedure; and performing the conversion based on the reordered motion candidate list.
19. a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to: apply, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video unit, a processing procedure to at least one motion candidate in a motion candidate list; reorder at least part of motion candidates in the motion candidate list by applying a first reordering procedure to the motion candidate list after the processing procedure, wherein an interpolation filter with X-tap is used in the first reordering procedures and wherein X is an integer number; and perform the conversion based on the reordered motion candidates.
19. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform acts comprising: applying, during a conversion between a target block of a video and a bitstream of the target block, a processing procedure to at least one motion candidate in a motion candidate list; reordering the motion candidate list by applying a first reordering process to the motion candidate list after the processing procedure; and performing the conversion based on the reordered motion candidate list.
20. a method for storing a bitstream of a video comprising: applying a processing procedure to at least one motion candidate in a motion candidate list; reordering at least part of motion candidates in the motion candidate list by applying a first reordering procedure to the motion candidate list after the processing procedure, [figs. wherein an interpolation filter with X-ta is used in the first reordering procedure and wherein X is an integer number; and generating the bitstream based on the reordered motion candidates; and storing the bitstream in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by a video processing apparatus, wherein the method comprises: applying a processing procedure to at least one motion candidate in a motion candidate list for the target block; reordering the motion candidate list by applying a first reordering process to the motion candidate list after the processing procedure; and generating a bitstream of the target block based on the reordered motion candidate list.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. US 2025/0392743.
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a method of video processing, comprising: applying, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video unit, a processing procedure to at least one motion candidate in a motion candidate list; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0247-0264; ¶ 0270; ¶ 0290-0303] reordering at least part of motion candidates in the motion candidate list by applying a first reordering procedure to the motion candidate list after the processing procedure, [fig. 52; ¶ 2064-2078] wherein an interpolation filter with X tap is used in the first reordering procedure, and wherein X is an integer number; [fig. 52; ¶ 1012-1019; ¶ 1118] and performing the conversion based on the reordered motion candidates. [figs. 1-2; fig. 52; ¶ 2064-2078]
As to claim 2, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the processing procedure comprises a second reordering procedure, and wherein only a portion of motion candidates in the motion candidate list after the second reordering procedure is reordered in the first reordering procedure. [fig. 52; ¶ 1491; ¶ 2064-2078]
As to claim 3, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 2. Kim teaches the first M motion candidates are reordered in the first reordering procedure, wherein M is an integer number. [¶ 2071]
As to claim 4, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 3. Kim teaches wherein M is predefined, and M is equal to one of: 4, 5, 6, 7,8,9, or 10, or wherein M is indicated in the bitstream, or wherein M is equal to N +M1, and N is a maximum allowed number of motion candidates for a coding tool, and M is an integer number which is larger than or equal to 0. [¶ 2071]
As to claim 5, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 4. Kim teaches wherein M is equal to one of: 0, 1, 2,3,4, 5, or 6.
As to claim 6, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the processing procedure comprises a motion refinement process which is simplified, and wherein if a template matching is used as the motion refinement process, only one of above template or left template is used in the motion refinement process. [figs. 24-26; ¶ 1029-1049]
As to claim 7, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 6. Kim teaches wherein if both the above template and the left template are available, a template with a larger size is used. [figs. 24-26; ¶ 1029-1049]
As to claim 8, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 7. Kim teaches wherein if a block width is larger than a block height, the above template is used, and wherein if the block height is larger than the block width, the left template is used. [figs. 24-26; ¶ 1029-1049]
As to claim 9, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the processing procedure comprises a motion refinement process which is simplified, and wherein whether to and an approach to simplify the motion refinement process is dependent on coding information of the video unit. [¶ 1995]
As to claim 11, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein X is equal to one of: 2, 4,6,8, 10, or 12, or wherein the interpolation filter used in the first reordering procedure is different from another interpolation filter used in the second reordering procedure, or wherein the interpolation filter used in the first reordering procedure is same as another interpolation filter used in the second reordering procedure, or wherein another interpolation filter with Y-tap is used in the second reordering procedure, and wherein Y is an integer number. [¶ 1118]
As to claim 14, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein whether the first reordering procedure using refined motion information is applied to a coding tool is dependent on a condition, and the condition is different for different coding tools. [¶ 2064-2067]
As to claim 15, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 14. Kim teaches wherein the coding tool comprises at least one of: a template matching (TM) merge mode, an advanced decoder side motion vector refinement (ADMVIR) mode, a TM advanced motion vector predication (AMVP) mode, or a regular merge mode. [¶ 2064]
As to claim 16, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein whether to and an approach to apply the first reordering procedure for different coding tools is controlled by a single syntax element indicated in the bitstream. [¶ 2112]
As to claim 17, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream. [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0245; ¶ 0264; ¶ 0291-0292]
As to claim 18, Kim teaches an apparatus for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to: apply, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video unit, a processing procedure to at least one motion candidate in a motion candidate list: [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0247-0264; ¶ 0270; ¶ 0290-0303] reorder at least part of motion candidates in the motion candidate list by applying a first reordering procedure to the motion candidate list after the processing procedure, [figs. 1-2; fig. 52; ¶ 2064-2078] wherein an interpolation filter with X-tap is used in the first reordering procedure, and wherein X is an integer number; [fig. 52; ¶ 1012-1019; ¶ 1118] and perform the conversion based on the reordered motion candidates. [figs. 1-2; fig. 52; ¶ 2064-2078]
As to claim 19, Kim teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to: apply, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video unit, a processing procedure to at least one motion candidate in a motion candidate list; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0247-0264; ¶ 0270; ¶ 0290-0303] reorder at least part of motion candidates in the motion candidate list by applying a first reordering procedure to the motion candidate list after the processing procedure, [figs. 1-2; fig. 52; ¶ 2064-2078] wherein an interpolation filter with X-tap is used in the first reordering procedures1andwherein X is an integer number; [fig. 52; ¶ 1012-1019; ¶ 1118] and perform the conversion based on the reordered motion candidates. [figs. 1-2; fig. 52; ¶ 2064-2078]
As to claim 20, Kim teaches a method for storing a bitstream of a video comprising: applying a processing procedure to at least one motion candidate in a motion candidate list; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0247-0264; ¶ 0270; ¶ 0290-0303] reordering at least part of motion candidates in the motion candidate list by applying a first reordering procedure to the motion candidate list after the processing procedure, [figs. 1-2; fig. 52; ¶ 2064-2078] wherein an interpolation filter with X-ta is used in the first reordering procedure and wherein X is an integer number; [fig. 52; ¶ 1012-1019; ¶ 1118] and generating the bitstream based on the reordered motion candidates; and storing the bitstream in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium. [figs. 1-2; fig. 52; ¶ 2064-2078]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US 2025/0392743 in view of Chen et al. US 2025/0016304.
As to claim 12, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 11.
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein Y is equal to one of:4,6,8, or 10.
Chen teaches wherein Y is equal to one of:4,6,8, or 10. [¶ 0426]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Chiu with the teachings of Kim allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US 2025/0392743 in view of Chiu et al. US 2023/0047501.
As to claim 13, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein whether the first reordering procedure using refined motion information is applied to the video unit is dependent on quantization parameter (QP).
Chiu teaches wherein whether the first reordering procedure using refined motion information is applied to the video unit is dependent on quantization parameter (QP). [¶ 0040]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Chiu with the teachings of Kim allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Conclusion
/ANNER HOLDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483