This office action is in response to the application serial number 18/902,8067 filed on 09/30/2024.
Claims 1-5, 6-14, 15-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “ the FEC” should be spell out – the forwarding error correction (FEC) ---- . Clarification and Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAO ( US 20250015925, hereinafter, MAO’s 925 ) in view of Blasch et al. ( Patent No.: US 10827190, hereinafter, Blasch’s 190 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, MAO’s 925 teaches a transmitter, comprising:
a data compressor configured to:
receive data to be transmitted, and compress the data based on compressor settings (compressing setting) [see Paragraphs 0066 & 0135 & 0146 and Figure 5] , thereby generating compressed data;
an encoder coupled to the data compressor , wherein the encoder (encoder ) [see Figure 5 Paragraphs 0066 & 0135 & 0146 ] and is configured to:
encode the data based on the encoder settings, thereby generating encoded data (encode the data based on the encoder settings, thereby generating encoded data) [see Figure 5 Paragraphs 0066 & 0135 & 0146 ] ; and
a controller, coupled to the data compressor and the encoder (data compressing and encoder ) [see Figure 5 Paragraphs 0066 & 0135 & 0146 ], wherein the controller is configured to:
receive an acknowledgement signal (ACK) from a receiver (receive an acknowledgement signal (ACK) from a receiver) [see Paragraph 0135] , a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a signal to noise ratio (SNR), forward error correction settings used, a transmission scheme used, and a size of a packet transmitted [see Figure 5 Paragraphs 0066 & 0135 & 0146 ].
However, MAO’s 925 does not explicitly teach generate a plurality of SNR estimates based on the received signal strength indicator (RSSI), the signal to noise ratio (SNR), the forward error correction settings used, the transmission scheme used, and the size of the packet transmitted,
determine a SNR estimate based on the plurality of generated SNR estimates,
update a channel model based on the determined SNR estimate,
calculate updated compressor settings and updated encoder settings based on the updated channel model,
send the updated compressor settings to the data compressor, and
send the updated encoder settings to the encoder.
Blasch’s 190, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches generate a plurality of SNR estimates based on the received signal strength indicator (RSSI), the signal to noise ratio (SNR) [see Col. 5, Lines 25-35] , the forward error correction settings used, the transmission scheme used, and the size of the packet transmitted,
determine a SNR estimate [see Col. 5, Lines 25-35] based on the plurality of generated SNR estimates,
update a channel model based on the determined SNR estimate [see Col. 5, Lines 25-35],
calculate updated compressor settings and updated encoder settings based on the updated channel model [see Col. 5, Lines 25-35],
send the updated compressor settings to the data compressor [see Col. 5, Lines 25-35], and
send the updated encoder settings to the encoder [see Col. 5, Lines 25-35].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of MAO’s 925 in view of Blasch’s 190 because Blasch’s 190 suggests that perform error correction encoding on the at least one input data packet to obtain at least one output data packet and at least one error correction packet, and transmit the at least one output data packet and the at least one error correction packet using the primary transmission channel and the auxiliary transmission channel, respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose calculate a packet drop rate using the ACK.
Claims 3, 4, 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose generate a first SNR estimate in the plurality of SNR estimates using the calculated packet drop rate, the FEC settings used, and the size of the packet transmitted.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-14, 15-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “remove any potential compressor settings that do not satisfy the noise tolerance threshold, determine an expected change in queue size for each combination of potential compressor settings and encoder settings, determine updated compressor settings and updated encoder settings, based on the updated channel model, such that the updated compressor settings and updated encoder settings reduce the queue length, send the updated compressor settings to the data compressor, and send the updated encoder settings to the encoder ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 6.
Claim 15 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “remove potential compressor settings and potential encoder settings that do not meet the noise tolerance threshold, send a list of valid potential compressor settings and valid potential encoder settings to an optimizer, determine, using the optimizer, updated compressor settings and an updated encoder settings that yield a highest score determined by the optimizer, send the updated compressor settings to the data compressor, and send the updated encoder settings to the encoder ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 15.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is consider pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
( US 20250015925, hereinafter, MAO’s 925 ) , discloses wherein the encoder is configured to: encode the data based on encoder settings, thereby generating encoded data; and a controller, coupled to the data compressor and the encoder, wherein the controller is configured to: receive an acknowledgement signal (ACK) from a receiver [see Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0066 & 0135 & 0146 ], but does not disclose “remove any potential compressor settings that do not satisfy the noise tolerance threshold, determine an expected change in queue size for each combination of potential compressor settings and encoder settings, determine updated compressor settings and updated encoder settings, based on the updated channel model, such that the updated compressor settings and updated encoder settings reduce the queue length, send the updated compressor settings to the data compressor, and send the updated encoder settings to the encoder ” .
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412