DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 10-11, 13-14, 16 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of copending Application No. 18/990,181 (US 2026/0181504 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to predicting a radio link failure (RLF) and taking corrective action before or during the predicted RLF. See the table below for a mapping of the instant Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 10-11, 13-14, 16 and 20 and Claims 1 and 11 of the co-pending application with differences underlined.
Claim No.
instant application
(18/902,828)
co-pending application
(18/990,181 | US 2026/0181504 A1)
Claim No.
1
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
1
a transceiver; and a processor configured to:
a processor configured to:
send, to a network, capability information related to radio link failure (RLF) prediction, wherein the capability information is based on an artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) model;
receive, via the transceiver, configuration information comprising radio link problem prediction parameters and associated radio link recovery actions;
receive, from the network, first configuration information associated with radio link monitoring (RLM) and RLF detection and prediction;
receive, from the network, second configuration information associated with a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) handover configuration to one or more candidate cells wherein the DAPS handover configuration comprises a condition to initiate a DAPS handover and a condition to cancel a DAPS handover, and wherein the processor is configured to initiate the DAPS handover upon a determination that the condition to initiate the DAPS handover has been satisfied, or to cancel the DAPS handover to a target cell upon a determination that the condition to cancel the DAPS handover has been satisfied;
monitor radio link conditions;
receive, from the network, first configuration information associated with radio link monitoring (RLM) …
predict, based on the radio link problem prediction parameters and the radio link conditions, an occurrence of a radio link problem within a period of time;
predict RLF of a serving cell of the WTRU at a predicted RLF time;
determine the target cell from the one or more candidate cells; initiate the DAPS handover with the target cell using the DAPS handover configuration corresponding with the target cell and while maintaining a connection with the serving cell;
determine that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially or fully fulfilled within a time window before or after the predicted period of time; and
detect a RLF of the serving cell at the predicted RLF time or within a time window that includes the predicted RLF time; and
perform the associated radio link recovery action based on the determination that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially or fully fulfilled within the time window before or after the predicted period of time.
finalize the DAPS handover to the target cell.
3
The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to use at least one artificial intelligence (AI) / machine learning (ML) model to predict the occurrence of the radio link problem.
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured to: send, to a network, capability information related to radio link failure (RLF) prediction, wherein the capability information is based on an artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) model;
…
1
4
The WTRU of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to send, via the transceiver, capability information, of the WTRU, related to the radio link problem.
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured to: send, to a network, capability information related to radio link failure (RLF) prediction, wherein the capability information is based on an artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) model;
…
1
6
The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor being configured to determine that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is fully fulfilled comprises the processor being configured to determine that the radio link problem is detected.
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
…
detect a RLF of the serving cell at the predicted RLF time or within a time window that includes the predicted RLF time;
1
10
The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: execute a handover, conditional handover, or lower-layered triggered mobility action based on a determination that radio link recovery is not likely to occur.
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
…
wherein the DAPS handover configuration comprises a condition to initiate a DAPS handover and a condition to cancel a DAPS handover, and
…
finalize the DAPS handover to the target cell.
1
11
A method performed by wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
11
sending, to a network, capability information related to radio link failure (RLF) prediction, wherein the capability information is based on an artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) model;
receiving configuration information comprising radio link problem prediction parameters and associated radio link recovery actions;
receiving, from the network, first configuration information associated with radio link monitoring (RLM) and RLF detection and prediction;
monitoring radio link conditions;
receiving, from the network, first configuration information associated with radio link monitoring (RLM) …
receiving, from the network, second configuration information associated with a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) handover configuration to one or more candidate cells, wherein the DAPS handover configuration comprises a condition to initiate a DAPS handover and a condition to cancel a DAPS handover, and wherein the method comprises initiating the DAPS handover upon a determination that the condition to initiate the DAPS handover has been satisfied, or cancelling the DAPS handover to a target cell upon a determination that the condition to cancel the DAPS handover has been satisfied;
predicting, based on the radio link problem prediction parameters and the radio link conditions, an occurrence of a radio link problem within a period of time;
predicting RLF of a serving cell of the WTRU at a predicted RLF time;
determining the target cell from the one or more candidate cells;
initiating the DAPS handover with the target cell using the DAPS handover configuration corresponding with the target cell and while maintaining a connection with the serving cell;
determining that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially or fully fulfilled within a time window before or after the predicted period of time; and
detecting a RLF of the serving cell at the predicted RLF time or within a time window that includes the predicted RLF time; and
performing the associated radio link recovery action based on the determination that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially or fully fulfilled within the time window before or after the predicted period of time.
finalizing the DAPS handover to the target cell.
13
The method of claim 11, further comprising using at least one artificial intelligence (AI) / machine learning (ML) model to predict the occurrence of the radio link problem.
A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
sending, to a network, capability information related to radio link failure (RLF) prediction, wherein the capability information is based on an artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) model;
11
14
The method of claim 13, further comprising sending capability information, of the WTRU, related to the radio link problem.
A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
sending, to a network, capability information related to radio link failure (RLF) prediction, wherein the capability information is based on an artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) model;
11
16
The method of claim 11, wherein determining that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is fully fulfilled comprises determining that the radio link problem is detected.
A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
…
detecting a RLF of the serving cell at the predicted RLF time or within a time window that includes the predicted RLF time;
…
11
20
The method of claim 11, further comprising: executing a handover, executing a conditional handover, or executing a lower-layered triggered mobility action based on a determination that radio link recovery is not likely to occur.
A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
…
wherein the method comprises initiating the DAPS handover upon a determination that the condition to initiate the DAPS handover has been satisfied, or cancelling the DAPS handover to a target cell upon a determination that the condition to cancel the DAPS handover has been satisfied;
11
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 9-11, 13-14, 16 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 9, 12, and 16 of copending Application No. 18/990,079 (US 2026/0181507 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to predicting a radio link failure (RLF) and taking corrective action before or during the predicted RLF. See the table below for a mapping of the instant Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9-11, 13-14, 16 and 19-20 and Claims 1, 4, 9, 12, and 16 of the co-pending application with difference underlined.
Claim No.
instant application
(18/902,828)
co-pending application
(18/990,079 | US 2026/0181507 A1)
Claim No.
1
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
1
a transceiver; and a processor configured to:
a processor configured to:
send capability information related to radio link failure (RLF) prediction based on an artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) model;
receive, via the transceiver, configuration information comprising radio link problem prediction parameters and associated radio link recovery actions;
receive configuration information associated with radio link monitoring (RLM) and RLF detection and prediction, wherein the configuration information comprises an early synchronization configuration associated with a target cell for RLF recovery;
monitor radio link conditions;
receive configuration information associated with radio link monitoring (RLM) …
predict, based on the radio link problem prediction parameters and the radio link conditions, an occurrence of a radio link problem within a period of time;
predict radio link failure of a serving cell of the WTRU at a predicted RLF time;
perform early synchronization with the target cell based on the early synchronization configuration;
determine that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially or fully fulfilled within a time window before or after the predicted period of time; and
detect a RLF of the serving cell at the predicted RLF time or within a time window that includes the predicted RFL time; and
perform the associated radio link recovery action based on the determination that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially or fully fulfilled within the time window before or after the predicted period of time.
perform a recovery of a connection via the target cell.
3
The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to use at least one artificial intelligence (AI) / machine learning (ML) model to predict the occurrence of the radio link problem.
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
…
send capability information related to radio link failure (RLF) prediction based on an artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) model;
1
4
The WTRU of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to send, via the transceiver, capability information, of the WTRU, related to the radio link problem.
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
…
send capability information related to radio link failure (RLF) prediction based on an artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) model;
1
6
The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor being configured to determine that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is fully fulfilled comprises the processor being configured to determine that the radio link problem is detected.
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
…
detect a RLF of the serving cell at the predicted RLF time or within a time window that includes the predicted RFL time;
1
9
The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to receive a response message, wherein the response message comprises an indication of one or more actions the WTRU is to take, or one or more conditions associated with the one or more indicated actions.
The WTRU of claim 1, wherein, to perform the early synchronization with the target cell, the processor is configured to: send a RACH preamble associated with the predicted RLF time to the target cell; and receive a random access response (RAR) from the target cell, where in the RAR comprises a timing advance (TA) and an uplink (UL) grant information associated with the target cell.
4
10
The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: execute a handover, conditional handover, or lower-layered triggered mobility action based on a determination that radio link recovery is not likely to occur.
The WTRU of claim 4, wherein, to perform the recovery of the connection via the target cell, the processor is configured to: receive a conditional handover (CHO) configuration corresponding with the target cell; and send a CHO complete message to the target cell using resources indicated in the UL grant information.
11
A method performed by wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising :
A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
9
sending capability information related to radio link failure (RLF) prediction based on an artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) model;
receiving configuration information comprising radio link problem prediction parameters and associated radio link recovery actions;
receiving configuration information associated with radio link monitoring (RLM) and RLF detection and prediction, wherein the configuration information comprises an early synchronization configuration associated with a target cell for RLF recovery;
monitoring radio link conditions;
receiving configuration information associated with radio link monitoring (RLM) …
predicting, based on the radio link problem prediction parameters and the radio link conditions, an occurrence of a radio link problem within a period of time;
predicting radio link failure of a serving cell of the WTRU at a predicted RLF time; performing early synchronization with the target cell based on the early synchronization configuration;
determining that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially or fully fulfilled within a time window before or after the predicted period of time; and
detecting a RLF of the serving cell at the predicted RLF time or within a time window that includes the predicted RFL time; and
performing the associated radio link recovery action based on the determination that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially or fully fulfilled within the time window before or after the predicted period of time.
performing a recovery of a connection via the target cell.
13
The method of claim 11, further comprising using at least one artificial intelligence (AI) / machine learning (ML) model to predict the occurrence of the radio link problem.
A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising: sending capability information related to radio link failure (RLF) prediction based on an artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) model;
…
9
14
The method of claim 13, further comprising sending capability information, of the WTRU, related to the radio link problem.
A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising: sending capability information related to radio link failure (RLF) prediction based on an artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) model;
…
9
16
The method of claim 11, wherein determining that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is fully fulfilled comprises determining that the radio link problem is detected.
A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
…
detecting a RLF of the serving cell at the predicted RLF time or within a time window that includes the predicted RFL time;
…
9
19
The method of claim 11, further comprising receiving a response message, wherein the response message comprises an indication of one or more actions the WTRU is to take, or one or more conditions associated with the one or more indicated actions.
The method of claim 9, wherein, to perform the early synchronization with the target cell, the method further comprises: sending a RACH preamble associated with the predicted RLF time to the target cell; and receiving a random access response (RAR) from the target cell, where in the RAR comprises a timing advance (TA) and an uplink (UL) grant information associated with the target cell.
12
20
The method of claim 11, further comprising:
The method of claim 12, wherein, to perform the recovery of the connection via the target cell, the method further comprises:
16
executing a handover, executing a conditional handover, or executing a lower-layered triggered mobility action based on a determination that radio link recovery is not likely to occur.
receiving a conditional handover (CHO) configuration corresponding with the target cell; and sending a CHO complete message to the target cell using resources indicated in the UL grant information.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 2023/0269816 A1) in view of Kim (US 2025/0344085 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhou discloses the below limitation(s): a transceiver; and a processor (Zhou Fig 3 UE 350 comprising processor 359 and transceiver 354) configured to:
receive, via the transceiver, configuration information comprising radio link problem prediction parameters and associated radio link recovery actions ([0074] thresholds may be defined in tracking the radio link conditions, the threshold(s) may correspond to an RSRP, a BLER, etc. that indicates an in-sync condition or an out-of-sync condition of the radio link (i.e. radio link problem prediction parameters));
monitor radio link conditions ([0073] UE may monitor the quality of the beams that is uses for communication with a base station … for example a UE may monitor a quality of a signal receive via reception beam(s); see also Fig 7 periodic BFD-RS 706);
predict, based on the radio link problem prediction parameters and the radio link conditions, an occurrence of a radio link problem within a period of time (Fig 7 step 708 predict one or more beam failures, which examiner is interpreting as a "radio link problem"; [0078] UE may be able to predict beam failure autonomously based on various algorithms (which may be machine learning based));
determine that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially or fully fulfilled within a time window before or after the predicted period of time ([0050] DRX component may be configured to identify a predicted beam failure detection (BFD) within a discontinuous reception (DRX) OFF duration associated with a configured DRX); and
perform the associated radio link recovery action (Fig 7 step 712 initiate BFR; [0073] a beam recovery procedure (BFR) may be used when a beam failure is detected)….
Zhou does not disclose the below limitation(s): perform the associated radio link recovery action based on the determination that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially or fully fulfilled within the time window before or after the predicted period of time.
In the same field of endeavor of prediction and recovery of link failures, Kim does disclose the below limitation(s): monitor radio link conditions (Kim Fig 22 S2201 receiving radio link monitoring configuration);
predict, based on the radio link problem prediction parameters and the radio link conditions, an occurrence of a radio link problem within a period of time (Fig 22 S2202 deriving predictive radio link problem);
determine that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially or fully fulfilled within a time window before or after the predicted period of time (Fig 22 S2204 configuring time window); and
perform the associated radio link recovery action based on the determination that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially or fully fulfilled within the time window before or after the predicted period of time (Fig 22 S2205 performing procedure related to radio link recovery based on whether receiving recovery command within time window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teaching of Zhou to include performing radio link recovery action(s) before or during a particular time window as taught by Kim. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to limit the window in which RLR is enabled in order to avoid hang ups or other issues caused by unsuccessful RLR procedure(s). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 2, Zhou and Kim disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Zhou further discloses the below limitation(s): wherein the configuration information comprises reporting conditions, wherein processor is further configured to send a report based on the reporting conditions (Zhou [0086] UE may transmit a report (e.g. 730 in Fig 7) to the network entity to report the extension of ON duration (i.e. reporting recovery action in response to predicted beam failure)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a WTRU to include transmitting a report associated with RLF and/or RLR as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to report a predicted RLF to the network such that the network can enable the WTRU to perform RLR. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 3, Zhou and Kim disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Zhou further discloses the below limitation(s): wherein the processor is configured to use at least one artificial intelligence (AI) / machine learning (ML) model to predict the occurrence of the radio link problem (Zhou [0078] UE may be able to predict beam failure autonomously based on various algorithms (which may be machine learning based)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a WTRU to include using AI/ML for RLF prediction as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to leverage AI/ML to predict an error before it occurs in order to take recovery action sooner. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 4, Zhou and Kim disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 3.
Zhou further discloses the below limitation(s): wherein the processor is configured to send, via the transceiver, capability information, of the WTRU, related to the radio link problem (Zhou [0085] network entity determines whether to transmit activation/deactivation 750 (i.e. link recovery procedure) based on one or more of: a UE autonomy capability associated with the UE, … power/capability associated with the UE 702, or the like).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a WTRU to include transmitting capability information as part of a recovery procedure as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to ensure that the UE is capable of performing the selected recovery act. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 5, Zhou and Kim disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Zhou further discloses the below limitation(s): wherein the processor being configured to determine that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially fulfilled comprises the processor being configured to determine a percentage or number of out of sync (OOS) indicators are detected (Zhou [0074] out-of-sync condition may indicate that the radio link condition is poor … out-of-sync condition may also be referred to as a beam failure instance (BFI) and UE may determine a BFI indicator at every occasion of BFD-RS (see Fig 7 BFD-RS 706)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a WTRU to include determining RLF based on out-of-sync condition as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to determine a RLF based on a condition of being out-of-sync such that corrective action can be taken to put the WTRU in sync. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 6, Zhou and Kim disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Zhou further discloses the below limitation(s): wherein the processor being configured to determine that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is fully fulfilled comprises the processor being configured to determine that the radio link problem is detected (Zhou [0078] invention may improve BFD/BFR accuracy and allow more time of BFD-RS monitoring during DRX OFF duration to confirm beam failure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a WTRU to include confirming that the predicted RLF is occurring as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to prevent taking recovery action when a RLF does not occur. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 8, Zhou and Kim disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Zhou further discloses the below limitation(s): wherein the processor is further configured to send a prediction report based on the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem within the period of time (Zhou [0086] UE may transmit a report (e.g. 730 in Fig 7) to the network entity to report the extension of ON duration (i.e. reporting recovery action in response to predicted beam failure)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a WTRU to include sending a report to the network based on the predicted RLF as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to report to the network a recovery action to be taken in response to predicted RLF. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 9, Zhou and Kim disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Zhou further discloses the below limitation(s): wherein the processor is further configured to receive a response message, wherein the response message comprises an indication of one or more actions the WTRU is to take, or one or more conditions associated with the one or more indicated actions (Zhou Fig 7 step 732 BS transmits beam switching command ("one or more actions the WTRU is to take") in response to report 730 of predicted beam failures 708).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a WTRU to include receiving a response message comprising a recovery action as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to confirm by the network that the recovery action for RLF is to be performed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 10, Zhou and Kim disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Zhou does not disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the processor is further configured to: execute a handover, conditional handover, or lower-layered triggered mobility action based on a determination that radio link recovery is not likely to occur.
In the same field of endeavor of prediction and recovery of link failures, Kim does disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the processor is further configured to: execute a handover, conditional handover, or lower-layered triggered mobility action based on a determination that radio link recovery is not likely to occur (Kim [0008] upon prediction that a link failure will happen at a certain time, UE may inform the network and expect the network to send a recovery command, such as a handover, to trigger an action to avoid the predicted failure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a WTRU to include performing a handover as a recovery action in response to predicted RLF as taught by Kim. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to handover prior to RLF to enable uninterrupted communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 11, Zhou discloses the below limitation(s):
receiving, via the transceiver, configuration information comprising radio link problem prediction parameters and associated radio link recovery actions ([0074] thresholds may be defined in tracking the radio link conditions, the threshold(s) may correspond to an RSRP, a BLER, etc. that indicates an in-sync condition or an out-of-sync condition of the radio link (i.e. radio link problem prediction parameters));
monitoring radio link conditions ([0073] UE may monitor the quality of the beams that is uses for communication with a base station … for example a UE may monitor a quality of a signal receive via reception beam(s); see also Fig 7 periodic BFD-RS 706);
predicting, based on the radio link problem prediction parameters and the radio link conditions, an occurrence of a radio link problem within a period of time (Fig 7 step 708 predict one or more beam failures, which examiner is interpreting as a "radio link problem"; [0078] UE may be able to predict beam failure autonomously based on various algorithms (which may be machine learning based));
determining that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially or fully fulfilled within a time window before or after the predicted period of time ([0050] DRX component may be configured to identify a predicted beam failure detection (BFD) within a discontinuous reception (DRX) OFF duration associated with a configured DRX); and
performing the associated radio link recovery action (Fig 7 step 712 initiate BFR; [0073] a beam recovery procedure (BFR) may be used when a beam failure is detected)….
Zhou does not disclose the below limitation(s): performing the associated radio link recovery action based on the determination that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially or fully fulfilled within the time window before or after the predicted period of time.
In the same field of endeavor of prediction and recovery of link failures, Kim does disclose the below limitation(s): monitoring radio link conditions (Kim Fig 22 S2201 receiving radio link monitoring configuration);
predicting, based on the radio link problem prediction parameters and the radio link conditions, an occurrence of a radio link problem within a period of time (Fig 22 S2202 deriving predictive radio link problem);
determining that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially or fully fulfilled within a time window before or after the predicted period of time (Fig 22 S2204 configuring time window); and
performing the associated radio link recovery action based on the determination that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially or fully fulfilled within the time window before or after the predicted period of time (Fig 22 S2205 performing procedure related to radio link recovery based on whether receiving recovery command within time window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teaching of Zhou to include performing radio link recovery action(s) before or during a particular time window as taught by Kim. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to limit the window in which RLR is enabled in order to avoid hang ups or other issues caused by unsuccessful RLR procedure(s). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 12, Zhou and Kim disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 11.
Zhou further discloses the below limitation(s): wherein the configuration information comprises reporting conditions, wherein the method further comprising sending a report based on the reporting conditions (Zhou [0086] UE may transmit a report (e.g. 730 in Fig 7) to the network entity to report the extension of ON duration (i.e. reporting recovery action in response to predicted beam failure)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a WTRU to include transmitting a report associated with RLF and/or RLR as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to report a predicted RLF to the network such that the network can enable the WTRU to perform RLR. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 13, Zhou and Kim disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 11.
Zhou further discloses the below limitation(s): using at least one artificial intelligence (AI) / machine learning (ML) model to predict the occurrence of the radio link problem (Zhou [0078] UE may be able to predict beam failure autonomously based on various algorithms (which may be machine learning based)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a WTRU to include using AI/ML for RLF prediction as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to leverage AI/ML to predict an error before it occurs in order to take recovery action sooner. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 14, Zhou and Kim disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 13.
Zhou further discloses the below limitation(s): sending capability information, of the WTRU, related to the radio link problem (Zhou [0085] network entity determines whether to transmit activation/deactivation 750 (i.e. link recovery procedure) based on one or more of: a UE autonomy capability associated with the UE, … power/capability associated with the UE 702, or the like).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a WTRU to include transmitting capability information as part of a recovery procedure as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to ensure that the UE is capable of performing the selected recovery act. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 15, Zhou and Kim disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 11.
Zhou further discloses the below limitation(s): determining that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is partially fulfilled comprises the processor being configured to determine a percentage or number of out of sync (OOS) indicators are detected (Zhou [0074] out-of-sync condition may indicate that the radio link condition is poor … out-of-sync condition may also be referred to as a beam failure instance (BFI) and UE may determine a BFI indicator at every occasion of BFD-RS (see Fig 7 BFD-RS 706)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a WTRU to include determining RLF based on out-of-sync condition as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to determine a RLF based on a condition of being out-of-sync such that corrective action can be taken to put the WTRU in sync. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 16, Zhou and Kim disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 11.
Zhou further discloses the below limitation(s): determining that the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem is fully fulfilled comprises the processor being configured to determine that the radio link problem is detected (Zhou [0078] invention may improve BFD/BFR accuracy and allow more time of BFD-RS monitoring during DRX OFF duration to confirm beam failure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a WTRU to include confirming that the predicted RLF is occurring as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to prevent taking recovery action when a RLF does not occur. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 18, Zhou and Kim disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 11.
Zhou further discloses the below limitation(s): sending a prediction report based on the prediction of the occurrence of the radio link problem within the period of time (Zhou [0086] UE may transmit a report (e.g. 730 in Fig 7) to the network entity to report the extension of ON duration (i.e. reporting recovery action in response to predicted beam failure)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a WTRU to include sending a report to the network based on the predicted RLF as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to report to the network a recovery action to be taken in response to predicted RLF. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 19, Zhou and Kim disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 11.
Zhou further discloses the below limitation(s): receiving a response message, wherein the response message comprises an indication of one or more actions the WTRU is to take, or one or more conditions associated with the one or more indicated actions (Zhou Fig 7 step 732 BS transmits beam switching command ("one or more actions the WTRU is to take") in response to report 730 of predicted beam failures 708).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a WTRU to include receiving a response message comprising a recovery action as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to confirming by the network that the recovery action for RLF is to be performed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 20, Zhou and Kim disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 11.
Zhou does not disclose the below limitation(s): executing a handover, conditional handover, or lower-layered triggered mobility action based on a determination that radio link recovery is not likely to occur.
In the same field of endeavor of prediction and recovery of link failures, Kim does disclose the below limitation(s): executing a handover, conditional handover, or lower-layered triggered mobility action based on a determination that radio link recovery is not likely to occur (Kim [0008] upon prediction that a link failure will happen at a certain time, UE may inform the network and expect the network to send a recovery command, such as a handover, to trigger an action to avoid the predicted failure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method performed by a WTRU to include performing a handover as a recovery action in response to predicted RLF as taught by Kim. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to handover prior to RLF to enable uninterrupted communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Kim to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a thorough and complete search has been conducted and no prior art has been found that solely, or in any reasonable combination, reads on each element of the indicated claim(s).
Conclusion
/SHAWN D MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412