DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 1, 2A, and 2B should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated1. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 9, 17, and all dependent thereon, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17: the claims recite the limitation “indicating a recommendation for a number of simultaneous links” (claim 1, lines 5-6). It is unclear if this limitation includes interpretation for a single indicated link or if a plurality of indicated links is required. For purposes of examination, the said limitation is interpreted to require either a single link or a plurality (e.g. “indicating a recommendation for one or more simultaneous links”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
10. Claims 1, 8, 9, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2025/0142459 A1 (hereinafter “Patwardhan”) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Patwardhan, in view of either U.S. Publication No. 2023/0308938 A1 (hereinafter “Sun”) or U.S. Publication No. 2022/0232276 A1 (hereinafter “Chitrakar”).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17: Patwardhan teaches a non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) in a wireless network, the non-AP MLD comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to:
receive a first frame from an AP MLD indicating a recommendation for a number of simultaneous links (see, e.g., figure 2, [0050]-[0055], [0061]-[0064]; an AP MLD sends a frame with link recommendation); and
transmit a second frame to the AP MLD indicating whether or not the non-AP MLD intends to follow the recommendation (see, e.g., figure 2, [0050]-[0055], [0061]-[0064]; a non-AP MLD responds on the link(s)).
Patwardhan does not explicitly state wherein multiple links are recommended (i.e. “indicating a recommendation for a number of simultaneous links”; emphasis added). To the extent the respective limitation is not inherent to Patwardhan, it is nevertheless taught by Sun (see e.g., [0118]-[0124], [0167]-[0170]; note multiple link recommendation; note also overlapping teachings with respect to signaling used for following recommendations). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Sun, such as the signaling or recommendation functionality, within the system of Patwardhan, in order to improve multi-link usage efficiency.
Alternatively to Sun, the said feature is taught by Chitrakar (see, e.g., figures 24, 26, [0056]-[0061]; note multiple link recommendation; note also overlapping teachings with respect to signaling used for following recommendations). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Chitrakar, such as the signaling or recommendation functionality, within the system of Patwardhan, in order to reduce signaling overhead.
The rationale set forth above regarding the device of claim 1 is applicable to the device and method of claims 9 and 17, respectively.
Regarding claims 8 and 16: Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar further teaches wherein the second frame indicates that the non-AP MLD does not intend to follow the recommendation and indicates an actual number of simultaneous links the non-AP MLD intends to use for communication with the AP MLD (see, e.g., Patwardhan [0054]-[0055], [0061]-[0062]; Sun [0118]-[0124]; Chitrakar [0056]-[0061]; a non-AP MLD responds with a link indication). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 2.
The rationale set forth above regarding the device of claim 8 is applicable to the device of claims 16.
11. Claims 2-7, 10-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patwardhan, alternatively in further view of either Sun or Chitrakar, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0254802 A1 (hereinafter “Kim”) or U.S. Publication No. 2024/0056974 A1 (hereinafter “Chu”).
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 18: Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar further teaches wherein one or more of the recommended links may be used (see, e.g., Patwardhan [0054]-[0055], [0061]-[0062]; Sun [0118]-[0124]; Chitrakar [0056]-[0061]), but does not explicitly state the features of active mode or power saving mode.
Therefore, Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar does not explicitly state wherein: the second frame indicates one or more links on which the non-AP MLD intends to be in an active mode or a power save mode; and a number of the one or more links is less than or equal to the recommended number of simultaneous links. To the extent these features are not inherent to Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar (e.g. by virtue of active connectivity), they are nevertheless taught by Kim (see, e.g., [0177]-[0180], [0190]-[0196], [0224], [0276]; note also overlapping teachings with respect to MLO link setup). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Kim, such as the signaling or mode functionality, within the system of Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar, in order to conserve power.
Alternatively to Kim, the said features are taught by Chu (see, e.g., [0059], [0081], [0154]-[0161]; note also overlapping teachings with respect to MLO link setup). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Chu, such as the signaling or mode functionality, within the system of Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar, in order to conserve power.
The rationale set forth above regarding the device of claim 2 is applicable to the device and method of claims 10 and 18, respectively.
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 19: Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar further teaches wherein one or more of the recommended links may be used (see, e.g., Patwardhan [0054]-[0055], [0061]-[0062]; Sun [0118]-[0124]; Chitrakar [0056]-[0061]), but does not explicitly state the features of active mode or power saving mode.
Therefore, Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar does not explicitly state wherein: the second frame is transmitted on one or more links on which the non-AP MLD intends to stay in an active mode or power save mode; and a number of the one or more links is less than or equal to the recommended number of simultaneous links. To the extent these features are not inherent to Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar (e.g. by virtue of active connectivity), they are nevertheless taught by Kim (see, e.g., [0177]-[0180], [0190]-[0196], [0224], [0276]; note also overlapping teachings with respect to MLO link setup). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Kim, such as the signaling or mode functionality, within the system of Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar, in order to conserve power.
Alternatively to Kim, the said features are taught by Chu (see, e.g., [0059], [0081], [0154]-[0161]; note also overlapping teachings with respect to MLO link setup). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Chu, such as the signaling or mode functionality, within the system of Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar, in order to conserve power.
The rationale set forth above regarding the device of claim 3 is applicable to the device and method of claims 11 and 19, respectively.
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 20: Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar further teaches wherein one or more of the recommended links may be used (see, e.g., Patwardhan [0054]-[0055], [0061]-[0062]; Sun [0118]-[0124]; Chitrakar [0056]-[0061]), but does not explicitly state the features of active mode or power saving mode.
Therefore, Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar does not explicitly state wherein the second frame indicates that the non-AP MLD does not intend to follow the recommendation and the non-AP MLD is in an active mode or in a power save mode on a number of one or more links that is greater than the recommended number of simultaneous links. To the extent these features are not inherent to Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar (e.g. by virtue of active connectivity), they are nevertheless taught by Kim (see, e.g., [0177]-[0180], [0190]-[0196], [0224], [0276]; note also overlapping teachings with respect to MLO link setup). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Kim, such as the signaling or mode functionality, within the system of Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar, in order to conserve power.
Alternatively to Kim, the said features are taught by Chu (see, e.g., [0059], [0081], [0154]-[0161]; note also overlapping teachings with respect to MLO link setup). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Chu, such as the signaling or mode functionality, within the system of Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar, in order to conserve power.
The rationale set forth above regarding the device of claim 4 is applicable to the device and method of claims 12 and 20, respectively.
Regarding claims 5 and 13: Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar further teaches wherein one or more of the recommended links may be used (see, e.g., Patwardhan [0054]-[0055], [0061]-[0062]; Sun [0118]-[0124]; Chitrakar [0056]-[0061]), but does not explicitly state the features of active mode or power saving mode.
Therefore, Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar does not explicitly state wherein: the second frame is transmitted on one or more links on which the non-AP MLD intends to stay in an active mode or a power save mode; and a number of the one or more links is greater than the recommended number of simultaneous links. To the extent these features are not inherent to Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar (e.g. by virtue of active connectivity), they are nevertheless taught by Kim (see, e.g., [0177]-[0180], [0190]-[0196], [0224], [0276]; note also overlapping teachings with respect to MLO link setup). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Kim, such as the signaling or mode functionality, within the system of Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar, in order to conserve power.
Alternatively to Kim, the said features are taught by Chu (see, e.g., [0059], [0081], [0154]-[0161]; note also overlapping teachings with respect to MLO link setup). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Chu, such as the signaling or mode functionality, within the system of Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar, in order to conserve power.
The rationale set forth above regarding the device of claim 5 is applicable to the device of claims 13.
Regarding claims 6 and 14: Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar does not explicitly state wherein the processor is further configured to: receive at a later time a third frame from the AP MLD indicating an updated recommended number of simultaneous links that indicates a different value from the recommend[ed] number of simultaneous links in the first frame. However, these features are taught by Kim (see, e.g., [0241], [0248], [0276]; note also overlapping teachings with respect to MLO link setup). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Kim, such as the signaling or mode functionality, within the system of Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar, in order to adapt to network conditions.
Alternatively to Kim, the said features are taught by Chu (see, e.g., [0163]-[0169). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Chu, such as the signaling or mode functionality, within the system of Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar, in order to adapt to network conditions.
The rationale set forth above regarding the device of claim 6 is applicable to the device of claims 14.
Regarding claims 7 and 15: Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar does not explicitly state wherein the processor is further configured to set a critical update flag field in a beacon frame or a probe response frame to provide an indication of a critical update. However, these features are taught by Kim (see, e.g., [0241], [0248], [0276]; note also overlapping teachings with respect to MLO link setup). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Kim, such as the signaling or mode functionality, within the system of Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar, in order to adapt to network conditions.
Alternatively to Kim, the said features are taught by Chu (see, e.g., [0163]-[0169). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Chu, such as the signaling or mode functionality, within the system of Patwardhan alternatively modified by Sun or Chitrakar, in order to adapt to network conditions.
The rationale set forth above regarding the device of claim 7 is applicable to the device of claims 15.
Relevant Art
12. The following prior art not relied upon in this Office action is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See form PTO-892.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS SLOMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476
1 See, e.g., the corresponding figures in U.S. Publication No. 2022/0303907.