Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,5,9,11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al (US 12007642) in view of Chen et al (US 11611058)
Regarding Claim 1,
Ishikawa et al discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 5) a cover plate (CG); a display panel (PNL), disposed under the cover plate (CG); a sensor ((SE) sensor is in the XA region coated with the sealant 50) , disposed under the cover plate (CG); wherein the display panel having a first portion overlaps the sensor (sensor region aligned with display opening XA) and a second portion (non sensor display region, everywhere else except where XA is located) does not overlap the sensor; and an optical structure (14), disposed under the cover plate (CG) and comprising a polarizer (PL1), and a blocking wall (20) is disposed at a boundary of the first portion (XA) and the second portion (everywhere else except where XA is located), wherein the blocking wall (20) including a light-shielding material.
Ishikawa et al does not disclose the optical structure further comprises a quarter wave plate, nor that the quarter wave plate is disposed between the polarizer and the sensor.
Chen et al discloses (Fig. 3) an optical structure comprising a polarizer and a quarter wave plate (QWP), wherein the quarter wave pate (QWP) is disposed between the polarizer (330) and the sensor (310), in order to control polarization characteristics and improve sensing accuracy.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Ishikawa et al to include Chen et al’s quarter wave plate arrangement to improve optical performance and sensing reliability.
Regarding Claim 5,
In addition to Ishikawa et al and Chen et al, Ishikawa et al discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 5) discloses wherein the optical structure further comprises: a second adhesive layer (21), disposed between the polarizer (PL2) and the cover plate (CG).
Regarding Claim 9,
In addition to Ishikawa et al and Chen et al, Ishikawa et al discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 5) discloses the polarizer (PL2) overlaps the display panel (PNL) and the sensor (SE).
Regarding Claim 11,
In addition to Ishikawa et al and Chen et al, Chen et al discloses wherein the display device comprises a display region and a peripheral region, and the sensor is disposed in the display region.(column 11, lines 16-24)
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al (US 12007642) and of Chen et al (US 11611058) in view of Lee et al (US 20220165189)
Regarding Claim 2,
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al does not discloses wherein the sensor is configured to sense image information of at least one of infrared light and visible light.
Lee et al discloses wherein the sensor is configured to sense image information of at least one of infrared light and visible light [0079].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ishikawa et al and Chen et al to include Lee et al’s sensor is configured to sense image information of at least one of infrared light and visible light motivated by the desire to provide a camera that can generate image information [0079].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al (US 12007642) and of Chen et al (US 11611058) in view of Park et al (US 20210199984)
Regarding Claim 3,
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al does not discloses a first adhesive layer, disposed between the quarter wave plate and the polarizer.
Park et al discloses a first adhesive layer, disposed between the quarter wave plate and the polarizer.[0058]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ishikawa et al and Chen et al to include Park et al’s adhesive layer in between the quarter waveplate and the polarizer motivated by the desire to prevent the loss of the light due to the rapid change in the refractive index.[0058]
Claim(s) 4,6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al (US 12007642) and of Chen et al (US 11611058) and of Park et al (US 20210199984) in view of Kitano (US 20170029677)
Regarding Claim 4,6,
Ishikawa et al, Chen et al and Park et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Ishikawa et al, Chen et al and Park et al does not discloses wherein the first adhesive layer is doped with dye or colored particles.
Kitano discloses wherein the first adhesive layer is doped with dye or colored particles [0184].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ishikawa et al, Chen et al and Park et al to include Kitano’s first adhesive layer is doped with dye or colored particles [0184] motivated by the desire to add to the composition in order to impart decorations or the like.
Claim(s) 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al (US 12007642) and of Chen et al (US 11611058) in view of Fleischman et al (US 20210036265)
Regarding Claim 7,
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al does not discloses a surface treatment layer, disposed on a surface of the quarter-wave plate away from the cover plate.
Fleischman et al discloses a surface treatment layer, disposed on a surface of the quarter-wave plate away from the cover plate [0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ishikawa et al and Chen et al to include Fleischman et al’s surface treatment layer, disposed on a surface of the quarter-wave plate away from the cover plate [0046] motivated by the desire help enhance display contrast [0018].
Claim(s) 10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al (US 12007642) and of Chen et al (US 11611058) in view of He et al (US 20180314871)
Regarding Claim 10,
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al does not discloses wherein the display device comprises a display region and a peripheral region, and the sensor is disposed in the peripheral region.
He et al discloses wherein the display device comprises a display region and a peripheral region, and the sensor is disposed in the peripheral region [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ishikawa et al and Chen et al to include He et al’s display device comprises a display region and a peripheral region, and the sensor is disposed in the peripheral region motivated by the desire to receive and detect a finger to obtain fingerprint information [0030].
Claim(s) 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al (US 12007642) and of Chen et al (US 11611058) in view of Angeles et al (US 20220401954)
Regarding Claim 12,
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al does not discloses wherein the display panel has a hollow region in the display region, and the sensor is disposed in the hollow region.
Angeles et al discloses the sensor is disposed in the hollow region [0236].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ishikawa et al and Chen et al to include Angeles et al’s sensor disposed in the hollow region motivated by the desire to measure temperatures located where the holes are [0236].
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Ishikawa et al (US 12007642) and of Chen et al (US 11611058) in view of Lim, Jae-ik et al (CN 115955872A)
Regarding Claim 13,
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al discloses everything as disclosed above including wherein the sensor is disposed between the display panel and the cover plate.
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al does not disclose a portion of the display panel that overlaps the sensor and a portion of the display panel that does not overlap the sensor have different stacking structures.
Lim, Jae-ik et al (Drawing 2) discloses wherein a portion of the display panel that overlaps the sensor (TPA, 330) and a portion of the display panel (300) that does not overlap the sensor (330) have different stacking structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ishikawa et al and Chen et al to include Lim, Jae-ik et al’s a portion of the display panel that overlaps the sensor and a portion of the display panel that does not overlap the sensor have different stacking structures motivated by the desire to improve image display efficiency (background).
Regarding Claim 14,
In addition to Ishikawa et al and Chen et al and Lim, Jae-ik et al, Lim,Jae-ik et al discloses wherein the portion of the display panel (TSA) that overlaps the sensor (330) comprises a light-transmitting layer, and the portion of the display panel that does not overlap the sensor comprises at least two of a light-transmitting layer, a non-light-transmitting layer, and a light-modulating layer.
Regarding Claim 15,
In addition to Ishikawa et al and Chen et al, and Lim, Jae-ik et al, Lim,Jae-ik et al discloses wherein the display panel is a liquid crystal display panel and the display panel further comprises: a blocking wall, disposed at a boundary between the portion of the display panel that overlaps the sensor (330) and the portion of the display panel (TSA) that does not overlap the sensor (330).
Claim(s) 16,17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al (US 12007642) and of Chen et al (US 11611058) in view of Choi Hae Rang (KR 102073000B1)
Regarding Claim 16,
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al does not discloses a ink layer, disposed between the display panel and the cover plate or on a surface of the cover plate away from the display panel, and overlapping the sensor.
Choi Hae Rang discloses a ink layer (blocking layer 50), disposed between the display panel and the cover plate or on a surface of the cover plate away from the display panel, and overlapping the sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ishikawa et al and Chen et al to include Choi Hae Rang’s a ink layer (blocking layer 50) motivated by the desire prevent light saturation and increase recognition rate to enable accurate position information determination (…”The blocking layer 50 is a kind of reflective film formed at the rear of the pattern layer 20 and is similar to a film for protecting privacy. The blocking layer 50 reflects a part of the light emitted from the imaging device and blocks the light from being transmitted forward. The light transmittance of the blocking layer 50 is preferably 65 to 90%. When the light transmittance is less than 65%, the visibility and brightness of the display screen are reduced, so that writing is hard to be seen, and when the light transmittance exceeds 90%, As a result, the recognition rate of the sensor decreases and the image of the dot pattern is distorted, making accurate reading of the position information difficult. As such, the blocking layer 50 is provided directly in front of the imaging device, so that the reflectance of the light incident from the imaging device increases, so that about 65 to 90% of the light emitted from the imaging device is transmitted to the front. In addition, light saturation can be prevented so that the recognition rate of the electronic pen can be increased to enable accurate position information determination and positioning of the dot pattern by the electronic pen…”)
Regarding Claim 17,
In addition to Ishikawa et al and Chen et al and Choi Hae Rang, Choi Hae Rang discloses wherein a transmittance of the ink layer (50) for visible light is greater than or equal to 30% and less than or equal to 95%, greater than or equal to 40% and less than or equal to 95%, greater than or equal to 50% and less than or equal to 95%, greater than or equal to 60% and less than or equal to 95%, or greater than or equal to 70% and less than or equal to 95%.(…”The blocking layer 50 is a kind of reflective film formed at the rear of the pattern layer 20 and is similar to a film for protecting privacy. The blocking layer 50 reflects a part of the light emitted from the imaging device and blocks the light from being transmitted forward. The light transmittance of the blocking layer 50 is preferably 65 to 90%. When the light transmittance is less than 65%, the visibility and brightness of the display screen are reduced, so that writing is hard to be seen, and when the light transmittance exceeds 90%, As a result, the recognition rate of the sensor decreases and the image of the dot pattern is distorted, making accurate reading of the position information difficult. As such, the blocking layer 50 is provided directly in front of the imaging device, so that the reflectance of the light incident from the imaging device increases, so that about 65 to 90% of the light emitted from the imaging device is transmitted to the front. In addition, light saturation can be prevented so that the recognition rate of the electronic pen can be increased to enable accurate position information determination and positioning of the dot pattern by the electronic pen…”)
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al (US 12007642) and of Chen et al (US 11611058) and of Choi Hae Rang (KR 102073000B1) in view of Wang et al (US 20140132861)
Regarding Claim 18,
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al, and Choi Hae Rang discloses everything as disclosed above.
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al, and Choi Hae Rang does not disclose a decorative layer, disposed under the cover plate and having a first opening exposing the display panel and a second opening exposing the sensor, wherein the ink layer is disposed in the second opening and located between the optical structure and the cover plate.
Wang et al disclose a decorative layer, disposed under the cover plate and having a first opening exposing the display panel and a second opening exposing the sensor, wherein the ink layer is disposed in the second opening and located between the optical structure and the cover plate [0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ishikawa et al and Chen et al, and Choi Hae Rang to include Wang et al’s decorative layer, disposed under the cover plate and having a first opening exposing the display panel and a second opening exposing the sensor, wherein the ink layer is disposed in the second opening and located between the optical structure and the cover plate motivated by the desire to have a cover layer above the decorative layer to protect the decorative layer and avoid problems of scratching and breakage of the decorative layer [0033].
Regarding Claim 19,
In addition to Ishikawa et al and Chen et al Choi Hae Rang, and Wang et al, Wang et al disclose a decorative layer [0033], disposed under the cover plate and having a first opening exposing the display panel and a second opening exposing the sensor, wherein the ink layer is disposed corresponding to the second opening, and the cover plate is located between the optical structure and the ink layer.
Regarding Claim 20,
In addition to Ishikawa et al and Chen et al Choi Hae Rang, and Wang et al, Wang et al disclose [0033] a decorative layer, disposed under the cover plate and having an opening exposing the display panel, wherein the ink layer is disposed in the opening and is located between the optical structure and the cover plate.
Claim(s) 21, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al (US 12007642) and of Chen et al (US 11611058) in view of Vastmans et al (US 20160098913)
Regarding Claim 21,
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Ishikawa et al and Chen et al does not discloses a sleeve, configured to fix the sensor, wherein the sleeve is fixed under the optical structure away from the cover plate.
Vastmans et al discloses a sleeve, configured to fix the sensor, wherein the sleeve is fixed under the optical structure away from the cover plate [ABSTRACT).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ishikawa et al and Chen et al to include Vastmans et al sleeve, configured to fix the sensor, wherein the sleeve is fixed under the optical structure away from the cover plate [ABSTRACT) motivated by the desire to keep the sensor mounted to an element to keep it from moving.
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871