DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 sets forth “formed at both ends” in lines 2 and 5-6, but the structures referred to by these limitations appear to be laterally disposed rather than longitudinally.
Claim 5 sets forth “a narrowed protrusion is further formed on the rear surface of the base to narrow…” which is not understood.
The remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao, U.S. Patent 12,201,192 in view of Prasitkittanai, U.S. Patent 11,412,820.
Regarding Claim 1, Gao teaches:
a plug member (see below) which includes support arms (see below) formed at both
ends in a forward direction of a base (see below), and a support part (see below) formed forward from the base between the two support arms (see below);
a socket member (see below) that includes support chambers (see below) formed at both ends where the support arms are inserted, a central chamber (see below) formed between the two support chambers and having an open front (see below), a retained part (see below, see 221) formed at the rear end of the central chamber…
a locking member (see below) which is rotatably mounted on the support part, and includes a hook part (311) formed at the front end thereof to be coupled to the retained part when the plug member and the socket member are coupled…
Gao does not teach:
a first magnet embedded inside the central chamber…a second magnet embedded in the center to correspond with the first magnet when the plug member and the socket member are coupled.
Prasitkittanai teaches:
A plug/socket assembly (fig. 1) including an element with a central chamber (10) with a first magnet (6) embedded inside the chamber and a locking member (8) a second magnet (5) embedded in the center to correspond with the first magnet when the plug and socket are coupled.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Gao with a magnet system to engage the locking member rather than a spring (see Gao, 33) because the magnet system can effectively bias the locking member into engagement without losing effectiveness over time as a spring can through mechanical fatigue.
Regarding Claim 2, see inclined guide part above in the annotated drawing selection.
Regarding Claim 3, see inclined guide protrusion above in the annotated drawing selection.
Regarding Claim 4, see Gao for slots 223 and coupling protrusions 126 which meet these limitations as claimed.
Regarding Claim 5, insofar as the claim is understood (see 112 rejection above), see narrowed protrusions below.
Regarding Claim 7, see drawing selection of Gao below for hinge grooves and see hinge (321) and connection parts (315).
Regarding Claim 8, see partition (drawing selection above) and see fig. 1 which teach the limitations of this claim as set forth.
Regarding Claims 9-10, see Gao which teaches the cross bar (111) and strap bar (112) and note the connecting member (see 20, 21) on the socket which teaches a strap connector.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao-Prasitkittanai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tseng, U.S. Patent 11,533,970.
All the aspects of the instant invention are set forth above, but for a groove for connecting a
string at the front end of the locking member.
Tseng teaches a magnetic buckle with a locking member (30) with a groove (see 31, see fig. 9) for connecting a string (40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the instant combination with the teachings of Tseng because that would permit easy unlocking and unbuckling of the device when user dexterity is compromised such as when a user’s hand is gloved.
Conclusion
/M.J.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677