DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/08/2025 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
3. Claims 1-6, 9-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (U.S PAT. 9,647,767, hereinafter “Guo”) in view of Qu et al. (CN 115483943, “Shanghai Maiteng Internet of Things Technology Co., Ltd.”, hereinafter “Qu”, provided by the applicant’s IDS filed on 05/08/2025).
Consider claim 1, Guo teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a compensator, an input signal comprising a pilot tone signal and an operating signal (col. 4, lines 26-53); detecting a transmit period based on the pilot tone signal (col. 4, lines 26-53); measuring a pilot tone gap within the transmit period where the pilot tone signal is off (col. 5, line 47 through col. 6, line 14); generating an internal transmit-on signal based on the pilot tone signal, the internal transmit-on signal being active during the pilot tone gap to keep the compensator in transmit mode during the pilot tone gap (col. 6 lines 15-40).
Guo does not explicitly show that adjusting an output power level of the compensator based on the pilot tone gap.
In the same field of endeavor, Qu teaches adjusting an output power level of the compensator based on the pilot tone gap (paragraph [n0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use, adjusting an output power level of the compensator based on the pilot tone gap, as taught by Qu, in order to provide a vehicle-mounted antenna system and an antenna compensator and compensation method thereof, which realize closed-loop power control of V2X transmission signals and power compensation of V2X reception signals, and reduce design and installation costs.
Consider claim 2, Guo further teaches wherein a duration of the pilot tone gap is proportional to the output power level requested from the compensator (col. 17, lines 27-45).
Consider claim 3, Guo further teaches wherein the pilot tone gap is measured by a timer in the compensator, wherein an input power received by the compensator is measured by a measuring unit in the compensator, wherein the internal transmit-on signal is generated by a reconstructor in the compensator (col. 6 lines 15-40).
Consider claim 4, Guo further teaches wherein a comparator in the compensator regulates the output power level based on the input power measured by the measuring unit and a requested output power based on a duration of the pilot tone gap (col. 17, lines 27-45).
Consider claim 5, Guo further teaches wherein an output signal from the comparator is sent to a low pass filter that is part of a power-control loop used to adjust an output of an attenuator in a transmit/receive path (col. 18, lines 33-51).
Consider claim 6, Guo further teaches wherein a maximum duration of the pilot tone gap is less than a duration of a shortest possible transmit frame (col. 5, line 47 through col. 6, line 14).
Consider claim 9, QU further teaches wherein the compensator comprises a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication compensator or a cellular to V2X compensator (paragraph [n0019]).
Consider claim 10, Qu further teaches wherein the input signal further comprises a direct current (DC) phantom supply, wherein the pilot tone signal has a frequency of 125 megahertz, wherein the operating signal has a frequency of 5.9 gigahertz (paragraph [n0029]).
Consider claim 11, the subject-matter of independent claim 11 relates to a compensator with features fully corresponding to the characteristics of claim 1. Therefore, the same argumentation presented in relation to claim 1 is, mutatis mutandis, of application to claim 11.
Consider claim 12, the previous rejections of claim 2 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 12.
Consider claim 13, the previous rejections of claim 3 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 13.
Consider claim 14, the previous rejections of claim 4 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 14.
Consider claim 15, the previous rejections of claim 5 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 15.
Consider claim 16, the previous rejections of claim 6 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 16.
Consider claim 19, the previous rejections of claim 9 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 19.
Consider claim 20, the previous rejections of claim 10 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Consider claim 7, the prior arts made of record, alone or in combination, fail to clearly teach or fairly suggest detecting a first subgap and a second subgap, within the pilot tone gap, separated by a period where the pilot tone signal is on; and detecting an error in transmission based on the durations of the first subgap and the second subgap being different by a value that exceeds a predetermined threshold, in combination with other limitations, as specified in the independent claim 1, and further limitations of their respective dependent claim 8.
Consider claim 17, the prior arts made of record, alone or in combination, fail to clearly teach or fairly suggest wherein the comparator is configured for: detecting a first subgap and a second subgap, within the pilot tone gap, separated by a period where the pilot tone signal is on; and detecting an error in transmission based on the durations of the first subgap and the second subgap being different by a value that exceeds a predetermined threshold, in combination with other limitations, as specified in the independent claim 11, and further limitations of their respective dependent claim 18.
Thus, prior art of record neither render obvious nor anticipates the combination of claimed elements in light of the specification.
Conclusion
5. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop_________ (Explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/TUAN H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649