DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. In particular, this application is a continuation of a national stage application of an international application that claims a foreign priority to a Chinese application filed on 8 Nov 2019. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements, submitted on 1 Oct 2024 and 16 Jan 2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12143228. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are either broader or of the same scope as the reference claims. As shown in the table below, instant claims 1-5 are directed to the same invention as reference claim 1.
Instant Application
Reference Patent 12,143,228 (limitations provided out of order and repeated as needed)
1. An electronic device on side of a user device, comprising: a processing circuitry configured to:
1. An electronic device, comprising: a processing circuitry configured to:
in response to scheduling information in downlink control information (DCI), transmit a plurality of signals to a control device over a plurality of consecutive slots;
receive Downlink Control Information (DCI) from a control device;
in response to scheduling information in the DCI, perform a sequential transmission to transmit identical user data via a plurality of signals to the control device over a plurality of consecutive slots;
receive hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information which indicate whether a decoding for the user data by the control device is successful or not;
sequentially receive plural pieces of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information related to the sequentially transmitted plurality of signals, each of the plural pieces of the HARQ feedback information indicating whether a decoding of the user data of a corresponding one of the sequentially transmitted plurality of signals is successful or not,
in a case that the HARQ feedback information is received after a completion of the signal transmission in a first slot from the plurality of slots by a preconfigured duration D, determine the HARQ feedback information as valid if a value of the HARQ feedback information is ACK;
each of the plural pieces of HARQ feedback information sequentially received a preconfigured duration D after a corresponding one of the plurality of signals is transmitted;
and/or in a case that the HARQ feedback information is received after a completion of the signal transmission in a last slot from the plurality of slots by a preconfigured duration D, determine the HARQ feedback information as valid if a value of the HARQ feedback information is NACK.
only in a case that the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the last transmitted signal of the plurality of signals is NACK, determine that the NACK is valid HARQ feedback information
2. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the transmitted plurality of signals comprises a sequential transmission that transmits identical user data via a plurality of signals to the control device over the plurality of consecutive slots.
in response to scheduling information in the DCI, perform a sequential transmission to transmit identical user data via a plurality of signals to the control device over a plurality of consecutive slots;
3. The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the HARQ feedback information comprises plural pieces of HARQ feedback information that is sequentially received, each of the plural pieces of the HARQ feedback information indicating whether a decoding of the user data of a corresponding one of the sequentially transmitted plurality of signals is successful or not, each of the plural pieces of HARQ feedback information sequentially received the preconfigured duration D after a corresponding one of the plurality of signals is transmitted.
each of the plural pieces of the HARQ feedback information indicating whether a decoding of the user data of a corresponding one of the sequentially transmitted plurality of signals is successful or not, each of the plural pieces of HARQ feedback information sequentially received a preconfigured duration D after a corresponding one of the plurality of signals is transmitted;
4. The electronic device of claim 3, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to analyze each of the sequentially received plural pieces of HARQ feedback information in a sequence corresponding to a corresponding arrival time.
analyze each of the sequentially received plural pieces of HARQ feedback information in a sequence corresponding to a corresponding arrival time;
5. The electronic device of claim 4, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to in a case that any of the plural pieces of HARQ feedback information is ACK, determine a first arriving piece of HARQ feedback information that is ACK as valid HARQ feedback information and terminate the sequential transmission; in a case that any of the plural pieces of HARQ feedback information other than HARQ feedback information corresponding to a last transmitted signal of the plurality of signals is NACK, determine that the NACK is invalid HARQ feedback information and continue the sequential transmission; and only in a case that the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the last transmitted signal of the plurality of signals is NACK, determine that the NACK is valid HARQ feedback information and perform a sequential retransmission of the identical user data.
in a case that any of the plural pieces of HARQ feedback information is ACK, determine a first arriving piece of HARQ feedback information that is ACK as valid HARQ feedback information and terminate the sequential transmission; in a case that any of the plural pieces of HARQ feedback information other than HARQ feedback information corresponding to a last transmitted signal of the plurality of signals is NACK, determine that the NACK is invalid HARQ feedback information and continue the sequential transmission; and only in a case that the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the last transmitted signal of the plurality of signals is NACK, determine that the NACK is valid HARQ feedback information and perform a sequential retransmission of the identical user data, wherein each of the plurality of signals includes a respective redundancy version in addition to the identical user data.
While no table is provided, instant claim 6 is also directed to the same invention as reference claim 1. Instant claim 7 is directed to the same invention as reference claim 2. Instant claim 8 is directed to the same invention as reference claim 3. Instant claim 9 is directed to the same invention as reference claim 4. Instant claim 10 is directed to the same invention as reference claim 5. Instant claim 11 is directed to the same invention as reference claim 6. Lastly, instant claims 12 and 13 are directed to the same invention as reference claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The independent claims use a combination of conjunctions, “and/or,” to conjoin their limitations. This creates ambiguity as to the scope of the claimed invention.
Additionally, claim 1 recites, in part, “an electronic device on side of a user device.” Claim 1 (preamble). It is unclear what constitutes a device “on side” of another device. As best the Examiner understands the claimed invention, the functions recited in claim 1 appear to be functions executed by the base station. E.g. Spec., figure 4 (base station transmits data signals and receives HARQ feedback).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 20220216954) in view of Park (US 20160020873).
Regarding claims 1, and 12, and 13, Lin teaches an electronic device on side of a user device, a communication method, and a non-transitory computer product containing instructions for a communication method performed by an electronic device, the communication method comprising:
. . . transmitting a plurality of signals to a control device over a plurality of consecutive slots (Lin, ¶¶7, 9, and 53 – UE transmits redundant versions of an uplink packet, where each version is a sub-packet via PUSCHs);
receiving hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information which indicate whether a decoding for the user data by the control device is successful or not (Lin, ¶41 – UE receives DFI signal which includes an ACK/NACK indication for a plurality of sub-packets that belong to a slot aggregation [i.e. the PUSCH repetitions]);
in a case that the HARQ feedback information is received after a completion of the signal transmission in a first slot from the plurality of slots by a preconfigured duration D, determining the HARQ feedback information as valid if a value of the HARQ feedback information is ACK (Lin, figure 3A, steps 320, 325, and 325A and ¶¶70, 72, and 73 – if the second time duration, which is from the first sub-packet to the reception of the DFI is greater than D and the value of the ACK/NACK indication is equal to ACK, then the ACK/NACK indication is determined as being valid; see also id. at ¶14 for sub-packets as slots); and/or
in a case that the HARQ feedback information is received after a completion of the signal transmission in a last slot from the plurality of slots by a preconfigured duration D, determining the HARQ feedback information as valid if a value of the HARQ feedback information is NACK. Lin, figure 3A, steps 310 and 310A and ¶¶70-71 – if the first duration, which is from last sub-packet to the reception of the DFI is greater than D and regardless of the value of the ACK/NACK indication [i.e. including if its NACK], the ACK/NACK indication is considered valid).
Lin does not explicitly teach transmitting its sub-packets “in response to scheduling information in Downlink Control Information (DCI).” Lin only discusses the UE receiving a DCI. Lin, ¶8. However, Park teaches a UE that receives downlink control information and then transmits its uplink signal according to the DCI. Park, ¶53 and figure 4 (DCI in PDSCCH at s407 that triggers the PUSCH at s408). At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to schedule the uplink PUSCH transmissions, taught by Lin, via a DCI from the base station, as taught by Park, in order to provide the UE with resource allocation. Id. at ¶53.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lin and Park also teaches wherein the transmitted plurality of signals comprises a sequential transmission that transmits identical user data via a plurality of signals to the control device over the plurality of consecutive slots. Lin, ¶¶7, 9, and 53 (UE transmits redundant versions of an uplink packet, where each version is a sub-packet via PUSCHs); Lin, figure 41 (sequential transmission of PUSCHs over multiple slots).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 lack a prior art rejection. In particular, the prior art teaches that when transmitting a repetition of PUSCHs, HARQ feedback information may be consolidated for more than one PUSCH. For example, in Park, feedback is provided in either subframe 4 or subframe 5 for the data transmissions provided in subframes 0-2. Park, figure 10. Park does not teach each HARQ information of a plurality of HARQ information corresponding to one data transmission. Instead, in Park, a single HARQ may provide feedback for all data transmissions.
Conclusion
/Benjamin Lamont/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461