DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,090,207 A (herein “Gilbertson”).
Regarding claim 1. Gilbertson discloses a thermal energy storage system (Figs. 15-17), comprising:
an ice brick (150, 10A) having at least one inlet (at the end near 10-1) and at least one outlet (at the end near 10-N) for a heat transfer fluid; and
a plurality of capsules (11) having a phase change medium therein (water/ice), wherein the plurality of capsules is arranged inside the ice brick (shown in Figs. 16 and 17),
wherein an average length of an actual flow path of the heat transfer fluid from a front end of the ice brick to a back end of the ice brick is larger than a length of the ice brick (Fig. 17 – the distance of all paths but one between the inlet and outlet through capsules 11 is longer than the length of 10A, so the average path length must be larger than the length of the ice brick), and
wherein the ice brick is shaped as a tube with a rectangular cross section (Figs. 15 and 16 – 150/10A has rectangular cross section) having a ratio of the length of the ice brick to the width of the ice brick is in a range of 4 to 50 (Table I – one example includes SM 506 having a length to width ratio of 5.33).
Regarding claim 3. Gilbertson discloses the thermal energy storage system of claim 1, wherein a flow path of said heat transfer fluid through said ice brick is arranged as a meandering path (Figs. 16 and 17 – many paths from the inlet to the outlet meander about the spacings between capsules).
Regarding claim 4. Gilbertson discloses the thermal energy storage system of claim 1, wherein at least one surface of the capsules comprises protrusions (Figs. 6-8) adapted to increase turbulence of the flow of the heat transfer fluid though the ice brick.
Regarding claim 6. Gilbertson discloses the thermal energy storage system of claim 4, wherein the protrusions are evenly distributed on the surface (shown in Fig. 6 – protrusions 130 are evenly distributed).
Regarding claim 7. Gilbertson discloses the thermal energy storage system of claim 1, further comprising spacers (Figs. 7 and 9A – 129) between the capsules.
Regarding claim 8. Gilbertson discloses the thermal energy storage system of claim 1, wherein the capsules are plate shaped (Figs. 6-9A); and
the capsules comprise ridges such that the capsules are arranged to provide a space as a flow channel for the heat transfer fluid in between the capsules (ridges shown in Fig. 6 at 129 and in Fig. 17 between adjacent capsules).
Regarding claim 9. Gilbertson discloses the thermal energy storage system of claim 1, wherein the capsules have a concave shape of their broad sides (Fig. 17 – capsules shown having concavities).
Regarding claim 10. Gilbertson discloses the thermal energy storage system of claim 1, wherein a plurality of ice bricks is arranged in a modular arrangement comprising ice bricks that are laid next to one another (Fig. 13 – tanks 10A and 10B next to one another – col. 21, ll. 42-43).
Regarding claim 13. Gilbertson discloses the thermal energy storage system of claim 10, wherein the plurality of ice bricks is interconnected for fluid communication of the heat transfer fluid flowing through said ice bricks via the at least one inlet and at least one outlet (Fig. 13 shows interconnection between 10A and 10B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilbertson alone and/or in view of US 2015/0027662 A1 (herein “Schmitz”).
Regarding claim 2. Gilbertson discloses the thermal energy storage system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose that the rectangular cross section has a ratio of the length of the ice brick to the width of the ice brick in a range from 12 to 20. However, Gilbertson does disclose a number of different storage tank options (Table I) having different length to width ratios and other properties that change with the different sizes of storage tanks.
Schmitz discloses a thermal energy storage system and discloses optimizing dimensions of the system, including length and width, in an attempt to achieve an improved heat storage heat exchanger ([0159]).
Since the claimed dimensions are recognized by Gilbertson and/or Schmitz as result-effective, it is not considered inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges thereof. See MPEP 2144.05(II). Therefore, it would have been routine and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the filing of the claimed invention, to experiment with the length and width ratio of the thermal energy storage system in an attempt to improve properties such as heat storage capacity and heat transfer rate as desired.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilbertson in view of US 2017/0045304 A1 (herein “Booska”).
Regarding claim 5. Gilbertson discloses the thermal energy storage system of claim 4, but does not disclose that the protrusions are oval shaped.
Booska discloses capsules containing phase change material including various protrusions and shapes (Figs. 2, 4, 13). Booska also states that numerous shapes and designs may be utilized to provide the capsules with increased and/or enhanced surface area, including any well-known shapes such as an ovoid ([0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the capsules of Gilbertson by experimenting with various shapes, including oval, as taught by Booska in an attempt to improve the heat transfer characteristics of the system.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilbertson in view of US 6,343,485 B1 (herein “Duerr”).
Regarding claim 11. Gilbertson discloses the thermal energy storage system of claim 10, but does not disclose insulation panels designed to be attached over one or more ice bricks according to the modular arrangement of bricks, wherein the insulation panels surround an outer surface of the modular arrangement but not non-external surfaces of the modular arrangement.
Duerr discloses a thermal energy storage system (Figs. 21 and 22) comprising a plurality of ice bricks (Fig. 22 – 60-65), each comprising a plurality of PCM capsules, and insulation panels (91 and 93) (col. 2, ll. 29-32) attached over the ice bricks, wherein the insulation panels surround the outer surface but not non-external surfaces.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the storage system of Gilbertson with the insulation teachings of Duerr in order to minimize thermal losses in the system.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilbertson in view of US 4,442,826 A (herein “Pleasants”).
Regarding claim 12. Gilbertson discloses the thermal energy storage system of claim 10, but does not disclose that the plurality of ice bricks is comprised in a structural arrangement of a building, the structural arrangement selected from one or more of a group consisting of: a wall; a floor; and a roof.
Pleasants discloses a thermal energy storage system wherein heat storage containers are structurally arranged in the walls of a building (Figs. 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy storage system of Gilbertson with the teachings of Pleasants to increase usable space within a building by moving at least portions of the heat storage containers into unused wall space.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026 July 26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1.
Applicant argues – Gilbertson describes a cylindrical pipe shaped thermal energy storage tank, having a circular cross-section. Gilbertson does not describe or suggest wherein the ice brick is shaped as a tube with a rectangular cross section.
In response – Claim 1 recites “wherein the ice brick is shaped as a tube with a rectangular cross section. Fig. 15 of Gilbertson shows that the ice brick is shaped as a tube and Fig. 16 shows that said tube has a rectangular cross section.
Applicant argues – Gilbertson presents measurements of diameter/length of the storage tanks and does not refer to either width/height or length/width of a storage tank. Gilbertson does not describe or suggest any ratios of width of the ice brick to the height of the ice brick.
In response – A tube diameter can represent and height and a width of a tube. As shown in attached Fig. 16 below, the rectangular tube cross section has a height and a length. The height is equal to the diameter. Based on the example provided in Table 1, the claimed ratio is anticipated by Gilbertson.
Regarding claims 2 and 8.
In view of the amendment to the claims, the 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JON T. SCHERMERHORN JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763