DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment dated 1 October 2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1-6 as amended are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 3 recite “when the compound is in a polyoxyethylene polyol or a polyoxyethylene alkyl ether”. It is unclear whether the term “in” requires a mixture of the copolymer and these compounds, or that the copolymer incorporates these species.
The Office notes that the limitations of claims 2 and 3 may be more relevant to embodiments of the application using polyoxyethylene based polymers, rather than the (meth)acrylate copolymers as required by claim 1.
Claim 5 recites a further polymer consisting of (meth)acrylates having the structure of formula 1. Claim 5 also recites “further . . . a copolymer having a unit based on the structure of formula 1, a unit based on a (meth)acrylate having an alkoxysilyl group”. Since a copolymer of these units is already recited in claim 1, it is unclear whether claim 5 is simply repeating that copolymer, or is reciting an additional copolymer of the same monomers that is different from the copolymer of claim 1.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 4 only recites limitations that have already been recited in base claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2020/0346972 (“Eguchi”).
The applied reference has a common applicant and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
As to claims 1 and 4, Eguchi teaches a (meth)acrylate copolymer compound X3-1 formed from hydroxyethylmethacrylate (para. 0252), which has a biocompatible moiety of formula (1) where n is 1, and 100 % of which is a moiety of formula (4) where n is 1 and R6 is methyl. Eguchi teaches the copolymer includes KBM-403, methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane (para. 0207, 0252), which has an alkoxysilyl group of formula 5 where t is 3 and R8 is methyl. Eguchi further teaches the use of VPE-0201 as initiator, which initiator provides a unit of Formula (B12) where Q7 and Q8 are divalent organic groups, and n3 is 45-46 (para. 0253, Chem. 18). Eguchi teaches this copolymer has a biocompatible moiety content of 52.3 % by mass and the content of the alkoxysilyl group is 2.4 % by mass, and the proportion of structures of formula 4 are 98 mol % (para. 0254).
As to claims 2 and 3, the compound contains a polyoxyethylene group. While it is not stated how the moiety is obtained, it is equivalent by one obtained by hydroxyl groups at the end of the polyoxyethylene moiety with a linking group, i.e., a linking group to the initiating species linking to the alkoxysilyl (meth)acrylate.
As to claim 6, the aforementioned compound comprises units of formula (A) where R is methyl, Q2 is a n-propylene group, t is 3, and R8 is methyl, and units of formula (B11) where R is methyl, Q3 is a single bond, n2 is 1, and R6 is methyl.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 2020/0346972 (“Eguchi”).
The applied reference has a common inventor and applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
The discussion of Eguchi with respect to claim 1 is incorporated by reference.
As to claims 2 and 3, to the extent not exemplified by the aforementioned example, Eguchi teaches the introduction of the alkoxysilyl group in the recited manner of claims 2 and 3 (see Eguchi, claims 3 and 4), and as such are an obvious modification suggested by Eguchi.
As to claim 5, the aforementioned compound is a copolymer of a (meth)acrylate having the structure of formula 1, and a unit based on alkoxysilyl (meth)acrylate. Eguchi does not exemplify the recited polymer consisting of formula (1) units; however, Eguchi teaches combining the aforementioned polymer with only (meth)acrylates of structure 1, with structures of formula 4 being present in 50 to 100 mol% (paras. 0166-0167; claim 5), and as such the additional polymer is an obvious modification suggested by Eguchi.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,133,935. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claims 1 and 3-7 each recite all of the limitations of claims 1-6, respectively.
Conclusion
/KREGG T BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764