DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 10/01/2024.
The IDSs filed on 10/01/2024 and 01/29/2025 are considered and entered into the application file.
Claims 1-8 are pending, and all the pending clams are examined and rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: analysis unit, transmission unit, reception unit, receiving unit, accepting unit, determination unit, and activation unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DiPierro et al (US 20130205189 A1).
DiPierro et al (“DiPierro”) is directed to Apparatus And Method For Interacting With An Electronic Form.
As per claim 1, DiPierro discloses an information processing system comprising a communication device (see Figs. 1-4); and
an information processing device (server 200, Fig. 2, or server 302, Fig. 3) that provides a drawing result of a Web page to the communication device (client device 202, Fig. 2 or client device 304, Fig. 3) based on a request from the communication device;
wherein the information processing device (server 200 or server 302) includes:
an analysis unit configured to analyze the Web page to determine a text input area, [0077] In another example, if the user touches a form field, if the field is a text field, automatically-generated code may display a popup keyboard to allow the user to enter text into the field. Alternatively, if the field is a radio button or checkbox field, the automatically-generated code may register an option as selected), and a transmission unit configured to transmit the drawing result and the information of the text input area to the communication device ([0043] In operation according to one example, the server may produce a menu system that displays a list of available blank and filled electronic forms for the client user),
the communication device (e.g., client device 304 ) includes, a reception unit configured to receive information of the text input area in the drawing result from the information processing device ([0103] The client 404 may include a display 408 configured to implement a user interface in which the requested form may be displayed and completed by the user under at least partial control of one or more form event handlers 410),
an accepting unit configured to accept an input operation from a user ([0071] The client 304 may include a user module 322 configured to handle user interactions with the client. In one example, user module may be configured to receive or initiate a request for a form with the server 302, which may be received and processed by its request handler 314. The request handler may be configured to handle the incoming request from the client and delivery of the requested form to the client. In one example, the request handler may be configured to interact with the device handler 316, which may be configured to customize logic, metadata, form display or the like based on the type of client, before delivery of the form to the client),
a determination unit configured to determine whether or not an operation position of the input operation is included in the text input area ([0089] Relative to the client 304 being configured to accept accurate and complete data into fields on the form, during the form execution process, field values may be set when the user triggers events that constitute data entry for a field. Events may be filtered by the pre-defined event handler program code or customized event handler program code to ensure quality data entry. As determined during transformation of the form by the transformer 306 of the form designer 300, each field may be created in the client-based form definition with a specific field type. Field types may limit the type of acceptable values that may be entered by the user); and
an activation unit configured to activate a keyboard in a case where the operation position is included in the text input area ([0076] In one example, if the user touches a form field label, automatically-generated code may display meta-information from the form definition describing what the field should contain. [0077] In another example, if the user touches a form field, if the field is a text field, automatically-generated code may display a popup keyboard to allow the user to enter text into the field).
As per claim 2, DiPierro further discloses that the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the information processing device further includes a reception unit configured to receive, from the communication device, input data input to the text input area in the communication device ([0029] After completing a form, the user may choose to either directly upload the data from the client to the server 102 or save on the client and send later such as in the case of the client not having a persistent network connection. Once the server receives the form, an authorized user or administrator may effectively view and archive the form and other submitted forms).
As per claim 3, DiPierro further discloses that the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the information of the text input area includes style information applied to the text input area, and the activation unit reflects the style information on the keyboard ([0079] In another example, if the user touches other text or a field, automatically-generated code may display the text and surrounding text in a larger font to give the appearance of zooming in on an area of the form (see, e.g., FIG. 12). [0077] In another example, if the user touches a form field, if the field is a text field, automatically-generated code may display a popup keyboard to allow the user to enter text into the field).
As per claim 4, DiPierro further discloses that the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the text input area is a rectangle defined by arbitrary coordinates, a width, and a height ([0088] In a similar example, if the user interacts with the caption of a field, or other pre-defined spatial area outside of any input field, program code may play or display context information, or display validation information, for the respective field, the fields or the form, such as in separate borderless window or dialog. [0132] In FIG. 35, the text field demonstrates a zoom to the page width. Also, while a text field is focused, the box for current data entry acceptance may provide a visual indication of this state such as by continually fading in and out or any other applicable cursor. In FIG. 35, the last box 3506 may display the faded visual).
As per claim 5, DiPierro further discloses that the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the input operation is a touch operation ([0037] The client may also respond appropriately to touch-based input gestures (e.g., touch, tap, swipe, pinch, etc). [0077] In another example, if the user touches a form field, if the field is a text field, automatically-generated code may display a popup keyboard to allow the user to enter text into the field).
As per claim 6, DiPierro further discloses that the information processing system (server 200 or 302) according to claim 1, wherein the analysis unit determines the text input area by acquiring and analyzing HTML from a Web server that provides the Web page ([0011] In various examples, the pages of the form may include context information identifying the respective pages. In these examples, the apparatus may be caused to process a plurality of events further including at least briefly displaying and then fading from display the context information for at least the focused page and non-focused page. Additionally or alternatively, in these examples, the apparatus may in at least one instance, display of all of the pages of the form in their entireties, and further display of the context information for the respective pages).
As per claim 7, DiPierro further discloses an information processing device that provides a drawing result of a Web page to a communication device based on a request from the communication device ([0049] FIG. 2 illustrates a server 200 that may be configured to operate as server 102, and a client 202 that may be configured to operate as a client 104, according to one example implementation), the information processing device comprising:
an analysis unit configured to analyze the Web page to determine a text input area ([0046] When a client user touches or clicks on a link corresponding to a given form, the client 104 may quickly display the previously cached HTML page. It may also activate embedded JS code, which may first attempt to communicate with the server 102 through the use of a web service that may be referred to as "EstablishSession." and
a transmission unit configured to transmit the drawing result and the information of the text input area to the communication device ([0071] The request handler may be configured to handle the incoming request from the client and delivery of the requested form to the client. In one example, the request handler may be configured to interact with the device handler 316, which may be configured to customize logic, metadata, form display or the like based on the type of client, before delivery of the form to the client).
As per claim 8, DiPierro further discloses a communication device (e.g. client device 304) that displays a drawing result of a Web page received from an information processing device ( [0070] The server may include an initial processor 310 configured to accept incoming form definitions and moves them to a form store 312, which may be configured to track available forms and make them available to other components of the server such as a request handler 314 and/or device handler 316), the communication device comprising:
a receiving unit configured to receive information of a text input area in the drawing result from the information processing device ([0071] The client 304 may include a user module 322 configured to handle user interactions with the client. In one example, user module may be configured to receive or initiate a request for a form with the server 302, which may be received and processed by its request handler 314); and
an accepting unit configured to accept an input operation from a user ([0071] The client 304 may include a user module 322 configured to handle user interactions with the client. In one example, user module may be configured to receive or initiate a request for a form with the server 302, which may be received and processed by its request handler 314. The request handler may be configured to handle the incoming request from the client and delivery of the requested form to the client. In one example, the request handler may be configured to interact with the device handler 316, which may be configured to customize logic, metadata, form display or the like based on the type of client, before delivery of the form to the client);
a determination unit configured to determine whether an operation position of the input operation is included in the text input area ([0089] Relative to the client 304 being configured to accept accurate and complete data into fields on the form, during the form execution process, field values may be set when the user triggers events that constitute data entry for a field. Events may be filtered by the pre-defined event handler program code or customized event handler program code to ensure quality data entry. As determined during transformation of the form by the transformer 306 of the form designer 300, each field may be created in the client-based form definition with a specific field type. Field types may limit the type of acceptable values that may be entered by the user); and
an activation unit configured to activate a keyboard in a case where the operation position is included in the text input area ([0076] In one example, if the user touches a form field label, automatically-generated code may display meta-information from the form definition describing what the field should contain. [0077] In another example, if the user touches a form field, if the field is a text field, automatically-generated code may display a popup keyboard to allow the user to enter text into the field).
Conclusion
.
/TADESSE HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174