DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240092185 A1 to Zhao, Yanan et al. (“Zhao”) in view of The Kia EV6 Owner’s Manual (“the KIA manual”), further in light of EV Power Button, a YouTube video to Kia Features & Functions Videos channel (“the Video”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches a method of controlling power of an electric vehicle (Zhao [0010]: “The following description relates to system and methods for operating a vehicle, including a battery electric vehicle (BEV).”), the electric vehicle including a start button (Zhao [0025]: “Still other examples may additionally or optionally use a start/stop button that is manually pressed by the operator to turn the vehicle on or off.”), a high voltage battery (Zhao [0015]: “In one example, electric energy storage device 132 is an onboard electrical energy storage device such as a high-voltage (HV) battery.”), at least one driving essential device configured to receive power from the high voltage battery (Zhao [0017]: “In one example, electric energy storage device 132 may supply power to one or more of electric machines 123, 135, 120, and 126 for driving wheels 130b, 130a, 131a, and 131b, respectively.”), at least one convenience device configured to receive power from the high voltage battery (Zhao [0017]: “In some examples, electric energy storage 132 may be configured to store electrical energy that may be supplied to other electrical loads residing on-board the vehicle (other than the electric machines 123, 135, 120, and 126), including HV components for auxiliary vehicle systems such as cabin heating and air conditioning, headlights, cabin audio and video systems, and the like.”)
Zhao does not appear to expressly teach a controller configured to convert a power mode to one of an off mode, a first power mode, or a second power mode, the method comprising:
converting, by the controller, the power mode to the first power mode in response to a determination that the start button is operated one time in the off mode;
converting the power mode to the second power mode in response to a determination that the start button is operated and a brake is operated in the off mode or the first power mode; and
converting the power mode to the off mode in response to a determination that a first set time elapses in the first power mode,
wherein the first power mode is a mode in which the power is applied to the at least one convenience device, and
wherein the second power mode is a mode in which the power is applied to the at least one driving essential device.
However, the KIA manual teaches a controller configured to convert a power mode to one of an off mode, a first power mode, or a second power mode (Manual 6-7: OFF taken as off mode. ACC taken as first mode. START/RUN taken as second mode.), the method comprising:
converting, by the controller, the power mode to the first power mode in response to a determination that the start button is operated one time in the off mode (Manual 6-7: “Press the EV button while it is in the OFF position without depressing the brake pedal.” How to turn on ACC.);
converting the power mode to the second power mode in response to a determination that the start button is operated and a brake is operated in the off mode or the first power mode (Manual 6-8: “To start the vehicle, depress the brake pedal and press the EV button with the shifter dial in the P (Park) position.”); and
converting the power mode to the off mode in response to a determination that a first set time elapses in the first power mode (Manual 6-8: “If the EV button is in the ACC position for more than 1 hour, the button is turned off automatically to prevent battery discharge.”)
wherein the second power mode is a mode in which the power is applied to the at least one driving essential device (Manual 6-11: See the Shift-lock system section. The KIA manual teaches that to shift into Drive, understood as the mode where the EV motors receive power so the vehicle can drive, the vehicle must be started (i.e., placed in the second power mode).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have combined the electric vehicle comprising a start/stop button taught by Zhao with the controller for an electric vehicle that switches various power modes in response to various combinations of the power button being pressed taught by the KIA manual. Doing so would have given the user greater control over the vehicle functions by offering various power modes to power different parts of the vehicle.
While the above combination of Zhao and the KIA manual teaches putting a vehicle into ACC mode, it does not appear to expressly teach wherein the first power mode is a mode in which the power is applied to the at least one convenience device.
However, the Video teaches wherein the first power mode is a mode in which the power is applied to the at least one convenience device (Video [1:24]: The Video teaches that when the EV Power Button is operated to activate Accessory mode (understood as the same EV Power Button as the KIA manual), the audio system and other accessories may be used.).
In light of the Video, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the ACC mode of the KIA manual allows operation of various vehicle accessories, understood as at least one convenience device.
Regarding claim 2, the above combination of prior art teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
converting, by the controller, the power mode to the off mode in response to a determination that the start button is operated before the first set time elapses in the first power mode (Manual 6-8: The KIA manual teaches that if the EV button is pressed twice when in ACC, the vehicle will go back into OFF mode. Understood that this must occur before the 1 hour elapses, else the vehicle will automatically turn OFF.).
Regarding claim 3, the above combination of prior art teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
converting, by the controller, the power mode from the second power mode to the first power mode in response to a determination that the start button is operated in a state that a shift lever is not in P range or during driving (Manual 6-7: “When you press the EV button without the shifter dial in the P (Park) position, the EV button will not change to the off to the OFF position but to the ACC position.”).
Regarding claim 4, the above combination of prior art teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
converting, by the controller, the power mode to a third power mode in response to a determination that the third power mode is selected through a user settings menu of a user interface in the first power mode or the second power mode (Manual 1-16: See System Setting and Activation. The utility mode is selected from the vehicle infotainment system. Understood that the vehicle must be on, ready, or in ACC to turn on the infotainment screen.),
wherein the third power mode is a mode in which the power is applied to the at least one convenience device (Manual 1-16: “When driving is not necessary . . . , it is possible to use the electrical devices (audio, lights, etc.) for long hours.” Description of Utility Mode.).
Regarding claim 13, the above combination of prior art teaches the method of claim 1.
The art as combined does not appear to expressly teach the method further comprising:
outputting, by the controller, a warning message, in at least one of a first case where conversion to the off mode is requested according to operation of the start button or a vehicle door is opened in a state where a shift lever is not in P range in the second power mode, a second case where conversion to the second power mode is requested by operation of the start button in a state where the shift lever is not in P range in the first power mode, or a third case where conversion to the second power mode is requested by operation of the brake and the start button in a state where the shift lever is not in P range.
However, the KIA manual further teaches the method further comprising:
outputting, by the controller, a warning message, in at least one of a first case where conversion to the off mode is requested according to operation of the start button or a vehicle door is opened in a state where a shift lever is not in P range in the second power mode (Manual 5-74: “Shift to P[:]: This warning message is displayed if you try to turn off the vehicle with the gear in the N (Neutral) position.”), a second case where conversion to the second power mode is requested by operation of the start button in a state where the shift lever is not in P range in the first power mode, or a third case where conversion to the second power mode is requested by operation of the brake and the start button in a state where the shift lever is not in P range (Manual 5-74: “Shift to P to start vehicle[:] This warning message is displayed if you try to start the vehicle without shifting to the P (Park) position.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have combined the system that puts the vehicle in various power modes depending on the operation of a pushbutton and the brake pedal taught by the above combination of prior art with the system of the KIA manual which further teaches displaying messages when the button and brake pedal are not operated properly. Doing so would have provided the user with guidance if their inputs are incorrect, improving user operability.
Claim 14 is rejected over similar reasons as claim 1, applied to an electric vehicle as similarly described in the method of claim 1.
Claim 15 is rejected over similar reasons as claim 2, applied to the electric vehicle of claim 14.
Claim 16 is rejected over similar reasons as claim 3, applied to the electric vehicle of claim 14.
Claim 17 is rejected over similar reasons as claim 4, applied to the electric vehicle of claim 14.
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240092185 A1 to Zhao, Yanan et al. (“Zhao”) in view of The Kia EV6 Owner’s Manual (“the KIA manual”), in light of EV Power Button, a YouTube video to Kia Features & Functions Videos channel (“the Video”), and further in view of Tesla Model Y Camping (Camp Mode) – All your questions answered., a YouTube video to Iowa Tesla Guy (“Iowa Tesla Guy”).
Regarding claim 6, the above combination of prior art teaches the method of claim 4.
This combination does not appear to expressly teach the method further comprising:
automatically converting the power mode to the third power mode in response to a determination that a state of charge (SOC) of the high voltage battery is equal to or greater than a first set SOC.
However, Iowa Tesla Guy teaches the method further comprising:
automatically converting the power mode to the third power mode in response to a determination that a state of charge (SOC) of the high voltage battery is equal to or greater than a first set SOC (Iowa Tesla Guy [04:55]: The video discloses that Camp Mode may only be activated when battery level is above 20 percent.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have combined the system that allows for menu selection of a third power mode taught by the above combination of prior art with the menu selected third power mode that cannot be activated when battery level is lower than 20 percent taught by Iowa Tesla Guy. Doing so would have prevented excessive battery discharge while in the third mode, improving the life of the battery.
Claim 19 is rejected over similar reasons as claim 6, applied to the electric vehicle of claim 14.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240092185 A1 to Zhao, Yanan et al. (“Zhao”) in view of The Kia EV6 Owner’s Manual (“the KIA manual”), in light of EV Power Button, a YouTube video to Kia Features & Functions Videos channel (“the Video”), and further in view of Ford F-150 LIGHTNING Owner’s Manual (“the Ford manual”), copyright 2022 to the Ford Motor Company.
Regarding claim 7, the above combination of prior art teaches the method of claim 4.
This combination does not appear to expressly teach the method further comprising:
outputting, by the controller, a warning message through the user interface in response to a determination that the SOC of the high voltage battery reaches a second set SOC in the third power mode.
However, the Ford manual teaches the method further comprising:
outputting, by the controller, a warning message through the user interface in response to a determination that the SOC of the high voltage battery reaches a second set SOC in the third power mode (Ford Manual p. 187: “A notification indicates when the vehicle reaches the pre-set limit and Pro Power Onboard turns off.” Notification taken as a warning message. The pre-set limit is described as a battery reserve limit. Pro Power Onboard taken as analogous to a utility mode, as it allows the high-voltage battery to power loads other than the wheels.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have combined the system enabling the vehicle to switch between three power modes including a utility mode taught by the above combination of prior art with the system that issues a notification when a pre-set reserve limit is reached in a utility mode taught by the Ford manual. Doing so would have prevented excessive battery drain by notifying the user of when the reserve limit is reached.
Claim 20 is rejected over similar reasons as claim 7, applied to the electric vehicle of claim 14.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240092185 A1 to Zhao, Yanan et al. (“Zhao”) in view of The Kia EV6 Owner’s Manual (“the KIA manual”), in light of EV Power Button, a YouTube video to Kia Features & Functions Videos channel (“the Video”), and further in view of 2022 KIA EV6 Features & Functions Guide (“the Features & Functions Guide”).
Regarding claim 11, the above combination of prior art teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
converting, by the controller, the power mode to the first power mode and converting a shift lever to P range (KIA manual 6-7: “OFF: To turn off the vehicle power . . . press the EV button with the shifter dial in the P . . . position.” Understood that the power mode can at least be converted into ACC and the shift range to P position by the controller.).
This combination does not appear to expressly teach converting the first power mode to the off mode, in response to a determination that the start button is operated during driving in the second power mode.
However, the Features & Functions Guide teaches converting the first power mode to the off mode, in response to a determination that the start button is operated during driving in the second power mode (Quick Reference Guide p. 40: “REMINDERS: IN an emergency situation while the vehicle is in motion, you are able to turn the vehicle off and to the ACC position by pressing the POWER button for more than 2 seconds or 3 times successively within 3 seconds”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have combined the vehicle system that changes power modes depending on the operation of a start/stop button taught by the above combination of prior art with the vehicle system that changes power modes from driving to ACC and off as taught in the Features & Functions Guide. Doing so would have improved user safety by allowing them to shut the vehicle off in an emergency, even while driving.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240092185 A1 to Zhao, Yanan et al. (“Zhao”) in view of The Kia EV6 Owner’s Manual (“the KIA manual”), in light of EV Power Button, a YouTube video to Kia Features & Functions Videos channel (“the Video”), further in view of US 20070222292 A1 to Shimomura Toshio (“Toshio”).
Regarding claim 12, the above combination of prior art teaches the method of claim 1.
This combination does not appear to expressly teach wherein converting the power mode to the second power mode comprises:
converting the power mode to the second power mode in response to recognition of a digital key within the electric vehicle when a second set time has elapsed since a start of the first power mode; and
converting the power mode to the second power mode without the recognition of a digital key within the electric vehicle when the second set time has not yet elapsed.
However, Shimomura teaches wherein converting the power mode to the second power mode comprises:
converting the power mode to the second power mode in response to recognition of a digital key within the electric vehicle when a second set time has elapsed since a start of the first power mode (Shimomura [0046]: “The immobilizer ECU 11 furthermore sets the remote immobilizer as shown from the point F to a time point G in (a) and (b) of FIG. 2, when ACC of the power supply condition has elapsed for a predetermined time.”; Shimomura [0017]: “The immobilizer ECU 11 outputs a drive signal to the engine ECU 20 based upon an identification signal transmitted from the key 40 . . . .”; Shimomura [0024]: “Only in a case that the immobilizer ECU 11 unsets the immobilizer, that is, when a drive signal indicative of driver permission of engine 30 is outputted, the engine ECU 20 starts operations of its starter motor, fuel injection device and ignition device based upon a starting signal supplied from an ignition switch (not shown).” One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that starting a gasoline engine based on switch output is analogous to turning electric drive motors on in an electric vehicle); and
converting the power mode to the second power mode without the recognition of a digital key within the electric vehicle when the second set time has not yet elapsed (Shimomura FIG. 2: See for example time period A-B. When the immobilizer is unset while power is in ACC, the vehicle may be started (taken as switched to IG) without needing to first receive a signal from the key (which would be needed to unset the immobilizer, see above).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have combined the system for starting/stopping a vehicle using a pushbutton taught by the above combination of prior art with the system that only allows the stopping/starting of a vehicle after a predetermined time elapsed in the ACC mode upon the receipt of a signal from a key taught by Shimomura. Doing so would have improved vehicle security by ensuring the vehicle cannot be started and driven away without key registration after a certain amount of time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8-10 ,and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bowler, Mark et al.. US 20130001058 A1. Vehicle Touch Button.
/HENRY R HINTON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665