DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Arguments
The 05/11/2026 Amendments to the claims are entered. Claims 1 and 14 are amended. No claims are canceled, withdrawn, or newly added. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections, they are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240092185 A1 to Zhao, Yanan et al. (“Zhao”), further in view of US 20130001058 A1 to Bowler, Mark et al. (“Bowler”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches a method of controlling power of an electric vehicle (Zhao [0010]: “The following description relates to system and methods for operating a vehicle, including a battery electric vehicle (BEV).”), the electric vehicle including a start button (Zhao [0025]: “Still other examples may additionally or optionally use a start/stop button that is manually pressed by the operator to turn the vehicle on or off.”), a high voltage battery (Zhao [0015]: “In one example, electric energy storage device 132 is an onboard electrical energy storage device such as a high-voltage (HV) battery.”), at least one driving essential device configured to receive power from the high voltage battery (Zhao [0017]: “In one example, electric energy storage device 132 may supply power to one or more of electric machines 123, 135, and 126 for driving wheels 130b, 130a, 131a, and 131b, respectively.”), at least one convenience device configured to receive power from the high voltage battery (Zhao [0017]: “IN some examples, electric energy storage 132 may be configured to store electrical energy that may be supplied to other electrical loads residing on-board the vehicle (other than the electric machines 123, 135, 120, and 126), including HV components for auxiliary vehicle systems such as cabin heating and air conditioning, headlights, cabin audio and video systems, and the like.”).
Zhao does not appear to expressly teach a controller configured to convert a power mode to one of an off mode, a first power mode, or a second power mode, the method comprising:
converting, by the controller, the power mode to the first power mode in response to a determination that the start button is operated one time in the off mode;
converting the power mode to the second power mode in response to a determination that the start button is operated and a brake is operated in the off mode or the first power mode; and
converting the power mode to the off mode in response to a determination that a first set time elapses in the first power mode,
wherein the first power mode is a mode in which the power is only applied to the at least one convenience device and power supply to the at least one driving essential device is restricted, and wherein the second power mode is a mode in which the power is applied to the at least one driving essential device.
However, Bowler teaches a controller configured to convert a power mode to one of an off mode, a first power mode, or a second power mode (FIG. 3; [0025]: Controller 104 uses control logic to cycle through three “modes:” one mode where the vehicle is not running and the accessory output is not activated, one mode where only the accessory output is activated, and another mode where the vehicle is running.), the method comprising:
converting, by the controller, the power mode to the first power mode in response to a determination that the start button is operated one time in the off mode (FIG. 3; [0026]: In initial step 302, when the first touch is received, the vehicle either turns on only the accessory output in step 310, or starts the engine 312. Because neither the engine nor the accessory mode is activated, the accessory mode must be entered from a mode in which both the vehicle and accessories are turned off. Only the accessory output being activated reads on the first power mode. All outputs being off, including the engine being off, taken as being in the off mode.);
converting the power mode to the second power mode in response to a determination that the start button is operated and a brake is operated in the off mode (FIG. 3: Engine running taken as the second power mode, can be entered from the off mode if the touch input and brake input are detected. Note that engine running includes power to the accessories, but the first power mode is that in which only the accessories are operational.) or the first power mode (FIG. 3: The controller can start the vehicle from the state of only the accessory mode being activated (310) if a touch input and brake input are detected. ); and
converting the power mode to the off mode in response to a determination that a first set time elapses in the first power mode ([0029]: “In step 320, the accessory output 111 will remain on for ten minutes, . . . upon which point the accessory output w11 will be shut off in step 324.” Only powering the accessories remains the first power mode, regardless of whether the controller enters that mode before or after the vehicle was started and running.),
wherein the first power mode is a mode in which the power is only applied to the at least one convenience device and power supply to the at least one driving essential device is restricted ([0020]; [0024]: “The purpose of powering the accessory devices 18 separately is to isolate them from other components of the vehicle 1 that are generally only needed when the vehicle 1 is being used for transportation, is to keep them from being powered on while the engine 3 is not running thus saving battery 13 power needed to start the engine 3.” Bowler also considers that the vehicle may be a battery-powered electric vehicle, see [0012]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the techniques would apply to the electric drive motor of an EV as well as to the engine of an internal combustion engine car. Accessories are disclosed as entertainment and convenience features.), and wherein the second power mode is a mode in which the power is applied to the at least one driving essential device ([0027]-[0028]: The engine running taken as the second power mode. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized from [0012] that a similar technique can be used for activating driving essential devices of an electric vehicle as well as those of an internal combustion engine vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the electric vehicle comprising a start button of Zhao with the system for entering various power states based on combinations of button, brake, and time inputs of Bowler. Doing so would have provided the user more options for how to control the vehicle, improving its versatility.
Claim 14 is rejected over similar reasons to claim 1, as applied to the electric vehicle described in claim 1.
Claims 2-4, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240092185 A1 to Zhao, Yanan et al. (“Zhao”) in view of US 20130001058 A1 to Bowler, Mark et al. (“Bowler”), further in view of The Kia EV6 Owner’s Manual (“the KIA Manual”).
Regarding claim 2, the above combination of prior art teaches the method of claim 1.
This combination does not appear to expressly teach converting, by the controller, the power mode to the off mode in response to a determination that the start button is operated before the first set time elapses in the first power mode.
However, the Kia Manual teaches converting, by the controller, the power mode to the off mode in response to a determination that the start button is operated before the first set time elapses in the first power mode (Manual 6-8: The KIA manual teaches pressing the EV button twice when in ACC to exit ACC and go into OFF mode. Bowler is relied upon to teach the structure of ACC mode and off mode, while the Manual is relied upon to teach exiting an ACC mode and going to off mode on demand via button operation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have combined the system that keeps the accessories powered for some time after powering off the vehicle ignition of the above combination of prior art with the system that allows the accessories to be powered off upon operation of the button before they turn off automatically of the Kia Manual. Doing so would have provided the user more functionality by allowing them to control powering off of the system outside of any elapsed time.
Regarding claim 3, the above combination of prior art teaches the method of claim 1.
This combination does not appear to expressly teach converting, by the controller, the power mode from the second power mode to the first power mode in response to a determination that the start button is operated in a state that a shift lever is not in P range or during driving.
However, the KIA Manual teaches converting, by the controller, the power mode from the second power mode to the first power mode in response to a determination that the start button is operated in a state that a shift lever is not in P range or during driving (Manual 6-7: “When you press the EV button without the shifter dial in the P (Park) position, the EV button will not change to the ACC position.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the system that converts from a running state to an accessory state in response to the push of a button of Bowler with the system that ensures that an accessory position is entered when the button is operated in a running vehicle not in Park of the KIA Manual. Doing so would have improved user operability by providing another way to enter accessory mode.
Regarding claim 4, the above combination of prior art teaches the method of claim 1.
This combination does not appear to expressly teach converting, by the controller, the power mode to a third power mode in response to a determination that the third power mode is selected through a user settings menu of a user interface in the first power mode or the second power mode,
wherein the third power mode is a mode in which the power is applied to the at least one convenience device.
However, the KIA Manual teaches converting, by the controller, the power mode to a third power mode in response to a determination that the third power mode is selected through a user settings menu of a user interface in the first power mode or the second power mode (Manual 1-16, System Setting and Activation: Users can select utility mode from the vehicle infotainment system, which is accessible when the vehicle is running or in ACC.)
wherein the third power mode is a mode in which the power is applied to the at least one convenience device (Manual 1-16: “When driving is not necessary . . . , it is possible to use the electrical devices (audio, lights, etc.) for long hours.” Description of Utility Mode.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the vehicle system that converts between power modes of an electric vehicle using button inputs of Bowler with the vehicle infotainment system and controller that allows for selection of a utility mode where the accessory devices stay on for long periods of the KIA Manual. Doing so would have improved user convenience by allowing them to operate accessories for a long time without having to restart the accessory mode timer.
Regarding claim 13, the above combination of prior art teaches the method of claim 1.
This combination does not appear to expressly teach outputting, by the controller, a warning message, in at least one of a first case where conversion to the off mode is requested according to operation of the start button or a vehicle door is opened in a state where a shift lever is not in P range in the second power mode, a second case where conversion to the second power mode is requested by operation of the start button in a state where the shift lever is not in P range in the first power mode, or a third case where conversion to the second power mode is requested by operation of the brake and the start button in a state where the shift lever is not in P range.
However, the KIA Manual teaches outputting, by the controller, a warning message, in at least one of a first case where conversion to the off mode is requested according to operation of the start button or a vehicle door is opened in a state where a shift lever is not in P range in the second power mode (Manual 5-74: “Shift to P[:] This warning message is displayed if you try to turn off the vehicle with the gear in the N (Neutral) position.”), a second case where conversion to the second power mode is requested by operation of the start button in a state where the shift lever is not in P range in the first power mode, or a third case where conversion to the second power mode is requested by operation of the brake and the start button in a state where the shift lever is not in P range (Manual 5-74: “Shift to P to start vehicle[:] This warning message is displayed if you try to start the vehicle without shifting to the P (Park) position.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have combined the system that puts the vehicle in various power modes depending on the operation of a pushbutton and the brake pedal taught by the above combination of prior art with the system of the KIA Manual which further teaches displaying warning messages when the button and brake pedal are not operated in the proper gear. Doing so would have improved user convenience and safety by providing guidance to the user if their inputs are incorrect or unsafe.
Claims 15-17 are rejected over similar reasons to claims 2-4, respectively, applied to an electric vehicle as similarly described in the method of claim 1.
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240092185 A1 to Zhao, Yanan et al. (“Zhao”) in view of US 20130001058 A1 to Bowler, Mark et al. (“Bowler”) and the KIA Manual, further in view of Tesla Model Y Camping (Camp Mode)-All your questions answered., a YouTube video to Iowa Tesla Guy (“Iowa Tesla Guy”).
Regarding claim 6, the above combination of prior art teaches the method of claim 4.
This combination does not appear to expressly teach automatically converting the power mode to the third power mode in response to a determination that a state of charge (SOC) of the high voltage battery equal to or greater than a first set SOC.
However, Iowa Tesla Guy teaches automatically converting the power mode to the third power mode in response to a determination that a state of charge (SOC) of the high voltage battery equal to or greater than a first set SOC (Iowa Tesla Guy [04:55]: The video shows that Camp Mode may only be activated when the battery level is above 20 percent.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have combined the system that allows for menu selection of a third power mode taught by the above combination of prior art with the menu-selected third power mode that cannot be activated when the battery level is lower than 20 percent taught by Iowa Tesla Guy. Doing so would have prevented excessive battery discharge while in the third mode, improving the life of the battery.
Claim 19 is likewise rejected over similar reasons to claim 6, applied to the electric vehicle of claim 14.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240092185 A1 to Zhao, Yanan et al. (“Zhao”) in view of US 20130001058 A1 to Bowler, Mark et al. (“Bowler”) and the KIA Manual, further in view of Ford F-150 LIGHTNING Owner’s Manual (“the Ford Manual”), copyright 2022 to the Ford Motor Company.
Regarding claim 7, the above combination of prior art teaches the method of claim 4.
This combination does not appear to expressly teach outputting, by the controller, a warning message through the user interface in response to a determination that the SOC of the high voltage battery reaches a second set SOC in the third power mode.
However, the Ford Manual teaches outputting, by the controller, a warning message through the user interface in response to a determination that the SOC of the high voltage battery reaches a second set SOC in the third power mode (Ford Manual p. 187: “A notification indicates when the vehicle reaches the pre-set limit and Pro Power Onboard turns off.” Notification taken as a warning message. The pre-set limit is described as a battery reserve limit. Pro Power Onboard taken as analogous to a utility mode, as it allows the high-voltage battery to power loads other than the wheels.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have combined the system enabling the vehicle to switch between power modes including a utility mode taught by the above combination of prior art with the system that issues a notification when a pre-set reserve limit is reached in a utility mode taught by the Ford manual. Doing so would have prevented excessive battery drain by notifying the user of when the reserve limit is reached.
Claim 20 is likewise rejected over similar reasons as claim 7, applied to the electric vehicle of claim 14.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240092185 A1 to Zhao, Yanan et al. (“Zhao”) in view of US 20130001058 A1 to Bowler, Mark et al. (“Bowler”) and the KIA Manual, further in view of 2022 KIA EV6 Features & Functions Guide (“the Features & Functions Guide”).
Regarding claim 11, the above combination of prior art teaches the method of claim 1, comprising:
converting, by the controller the power mode to the first power mode (Bowler FIG. 3: The controller can at least convert to the first mode where only accessories are powered.).
This combination does not appear to expressly teach converting a shift lever to the P range.
However, the KIA manual teaches converting a shift lever to P range in order to turn off the vehicle power (KIA Manual 6-11: “N (Neutral) . . . To turn off the vehicle from the ACC position, press the [P] button within 3 minutes. The vehicle will shift to P (Park) and turn off.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have combined the system that uses a button to change between vehicle power modes of the above combination of prior art with the controller that can convert a shift range to P when a button is operated to turn the vehicle off in Neutral. Doing so would have improved vehicle safety by preventing the user from accidentally leaving the vehicle in neutral when they shut the vehicle off, preventing the vehicle from rolling away.
Bowler further teaches converting the second power mode to the first power mode upon touch input of the button by exiting the vehicle running state and leaving only accessory power on when the input is performed while the vehicle is running. See for example FIG. 3. The accessory mode automatically turns off after an amount of time elapses, entering the off mode. This reads on converting the first power mode to the off mode, in response to a determination that the start button is operated in the second power mode because the start button is operated in the running state, causing entry into the accessory state which eventually shifts to the off state.
The above combination does not appear to expressly teach performing this conversion when the start button in the second power mode is operated during driving.
However, the Features & Functions Guide teaches performing this conversion when the start button in the second power mode is operated during driving (Features & Functions Guide p. 40: “REMINDERS: IN an emergency situation while the vehicle is in motion, you are able to turn the vehicle off and to the ACC position by pressing the POWER button for more than 2 seconds or 3 times successively within 3 seconds”).
In light of the Features & Functions Guide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that button operation during the run state of Bowler to change to the accessory state would have been performable while the vehicle is driving.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240092185 A1 to Zhao, Yanan et al. (“Zhao”) in view of US 20130001058 A1 to Bowler, Mark et al. (“Bowler”) and the KIA Manual, further in view of 2022 KIA EV6 Features & Functions Guide (“the Features & Functions Guide”).
Regarding claim 12, the above combination of prior art teaches the method of claim 1.
This combination does not appear to expressly teach wherein converting the power mode to the second power mode comprises:
converting the power mode to the second power mode in response to recognition of a digital key within the electric vehicle when a second set time has elapsed since a start of the first power mode; and
converting the power mode to the second power mode without the recognition of a digital key within the electric vehicle when the second set time has not yet elapsed.
However, Shimomura teaches wherein converting the power mode to the second power mode comprises:
converting the power mode to the second power mode in response to recognition of a digital key within the electric vehicle when a second set time has elapsed since a start of the first power mode (Shimomura [0046]: “The immobilizer ECU 11 furthermore sets the remote immobilizer as shown from the point F to a time point G in (a) and (b) of FIG. 2, when ACC of the power supply condition has elapsed for a predetermined time.”; Shimomura [0017]: “The immobilizer ECU 11 outputs a drive signal to the engine ECU 20 based upon an identification signal transmitted from the key 40 . . . .”; Shimomura [0024]: “Only in a case that the immobilizer ECU 11 unsets the immobilizer, that is, when a drive signal indicative of driver permission of engine 30 is outputted, the engine ECU 20 starts operations of its starter motor, fuel injection device and ignition device based upon a starting signal supplied from an ignition switch (not shown).” One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that starting a gasoline engine based on switch output is analogous to turning electric drive motors on in an electric vehicle); and
converting the power mode to the second power mode without the recognition of a digital key within the electric vehicle when the second set time has not yet elapsed (Shimomura FIG. 2: See for example time period A-B. When the immobilizer is unset while power is in ACC, the vehicle may be started (taken as switched to IG) without needing to first receive a signal from the key (which would be needed to unset the immobilizer, see above).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have combined the system for starting/stopping a vehicle using a pushbutton taught by the above combination of prior art with the system that only allows the stopping/starting of a vehicle after a predetermined time elapsed in the ACC mode upon the receipt of a signal from a key taught by Shimomura. Doing so would have improved vehicle security by ensuring the vehicle cannot be started and driven away without key registration after a certain amount of time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8-10 ,and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim Jun Ki. KR 20180076737 A. POWER CONTROL METHOD AND DEVICE FOR A CAR HAVING PUSH-BUTTON IGNITION SYSTEM AND SBW SYSTEM.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY R HINTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665