DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending and have been examined.
This application is a CON of 18/055,218, now US 12,107,732.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-3, 7, 8 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,107,732. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent anticipates the instant application’s claims according to the table below.
Instant Application Patent
1. A method for securing a network infrastructure of a computing environment, comprising: creating a network configuration graph by abstracting nodes of the network infrastructure representing components that are associated with serving or consuming one or more computing interfaces; responsive to receipt of a query associated with a given component, traversing the network configuration graph to identify one or more flows involving the given component and related to the service or consumption of the one or more computing interfaces; based on traversing the network configuration graph, detecting a configuration of the given component related to service or consumption of the one or more computing interfaces; and performing an action with respect to the detected configuration.
1. A method for securing a computing environment using graphing of computing interfaces, comprising: traversing a network configuration graph with respect to a first component deployed in a computing environment, wherein traversing the network configuration graph results in a plurality of connections between a plurality of components in the computing environment represented by a plurality of nodes including at least one connection to a first node representing the first component, wherein the plurality of nodes includes at least one computing interface node and at least one other node, wherein each computing interface node represents a computing interface of a plurality of computing interfaces deployed in the computing environment; determining, based on the plurality of connections, a configuration of the first component with respect to service or consumption of at least one of the plurality of computing interfaces; and detecting a misconfiguration of the first component based on the determined configuration of the first component.
The method of claim 1, further comprising: performing at least one mitigation action with respect to the detected misconfiguration.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein traversing the network configuration graph further comprises: querying the network configuration graph using an identifier of the first component.
2. The method as described in claim 1, wherein the configuration is a misconfiguration, and the action is a mitigation action.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: performing at least one mitigation action with respect to the detected misconfiguration.
3. The method as described in claim 1, wherein the components are computing interface-related components that serve, consume, or interact with the one or more computing interfaces.
1. A method for securing a computing environment using graphing of computing interfaces, comprising: traversing a network configuration graph with respect to a first component deployed in a computing environment, wherein traversing the network configuration graph results in a plurality of connections between a plurality of components in the computing environment represented by a plurality of nodes including at least one connection to a first node representing the first component, wherein the plurality of nodes includes at least one computing interface node and at least one other node, wherein each computing interface node represents a computing interface of a plurality of computing interfaces deployed in the computing environment; determining, based on the plurality of connections, a configuration of the first component with respect to service or consumption of at least one of the plurality of computing interfaces; and detecting a misconfiguration of the first component based on the determined configuration of the first component.
4. The method as described in claim 1, wherein at least one computing interface is an Application Programming Interface (API).
10. The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the at least one computing interface node represents an application programming interface.
5. The method as described in claim 1, wherein the action includes issuing a notification.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the network configuration graph further includes a pointer to each of the plurality of components in association with the node representing the component, wherein the pointer launches a system for viewing information related to the respective component when interacted with.
6. The method as described in claim 1, wherein the detected configuration is associated with a vulnerability.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: performing at least one mitigation action with respect to the detected misconfiguration.
7. The method as described in claim 1, wherein the network configuration graph includes first nodes representing the one or more computing interfaces, and second nodes representing infrastructure components of the computing environment.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of components includes at least one of: computing interfaces, cloud compute systems, virtual machines, network identifiers, networks, load balancers, software application services, and application gateways.
8. The method as described in claim 1, wherein the network configuration graph exposes at least one indirect or hidden connection from the given component to the one or more computing interfaces.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of components includes at least one of: computing interfaces, cloud compute systems, virtual machines, network identifiers, networks, load balancers, software application services, and application gateways.
9. The method as described in claim 1, wherein abstracted nodes of the network configuration graph consist essentially of computing interface-related nodes.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of components includes at least one of: computing interfaces, cloud compute systems, virtual machines, network identifiers, networks, load balancers, software application services, and application gateways.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2015/0139038 A1 (Riederer et al.).
As to Claim 1, Riederer et al. anticipate a method (***) for securing a network infrastructure of a computing environment, comprising:
creating a network configuration graph by abstracting nodes of the network infrastructure representing components that are associated with serving or consuming one or more computing interfaces (Riederer et al. disclose the visual network map {network graph} used to simplify diagnostics and create visualization during maintenance, debugging and replacement of components represented on the map; and to verify bus configurations, power sequencing configurations and operation of nodes {abstracting from each node information regarding bus configurations, power sequencing and operation information} - ¶¶ [0013, 0028-0029, 0073-0074]; and creating the network graph using each node to be included in the graph’s point of view to create the graph - ¶ [0011]. Riederer et al. recite: “[I]t is thus a feature of at least one embodiment of the invention to provide a visual network map to simplify diagnostics and technical support and create visualization during maintenance, debugging and replacement.”- ¶ [0029]. The process of debugging inherently includes comparing the observed configuration of an element against an expected configuration of said element in order to detect and correct problems in the element’s configuration, usually software or firmware configuration);
responsive to receipt of a query associated with a given component, traversing the network configuration graph to identify one or more flows involving the given component and related to the service or consumption of the one or more computing interfaces (Riederer et al. disclose the visual network map with device identifiers A-F – Fig.6 and ¶¶ [0073-0074]. Riederer et al. disclose the visual network map {network graph} used to simplify diagnostics and create visualization during maintenance, debugging and replacement of components represented on the map; and to verify bus configurations, power sequencing configurations and operation of nodes {traversing and abstracting from each node information regarding bus configurations, power sequencing and operation information} - ¶¶ [0013, 0028-0029, 0073-0074]);
based on traversing the network configuration graph, detecting a configuration of the given component related to service or consumption of the one or more computing interfaces (Riederer et al. recite: “[I]t is thus a feature of at least one embodiment of the invention to provide a visual network map to simplify diagnostics and technical support and create visualization during maintenance, debugging and replacement.”- ¶ [0029]. The process of debugging inherently includes comparing the observed configuration of an element against an expected configuration of said element in order to detect and correct problems in the element’s configuration, usually software or firmware configuration); and
performing an action with respect to the detected configuration (Riederer et al. recite: “[I]t is thus a feature of at least one embodiment of the invention to provide a visual network map to simplify diagnostics and technical support and create visualization during maintenance, debugging and replacement.”- ¶ [0029]; and recite: “It is also a feature of at least one embodiment of the invention to improve the ability to detect user error in a network configuration.” - ¶ [0015]. The process of debugging inherently includes comparing the observed configuration of an element against an expected configuration of said element in order to detect and correct problems in the element’s configuration, usually software or firmware configuration).
As to Claim 2, Riederer et al. anticipate the method as described in claim 1,
wherein the configuration is a misconfiguration, and the action is a mitigation action (Riederer et al. recite: “[I]t is thus a feature of at least one embodiment of the invention to provide a visual network map to simplify diagnostics and technical support and create visualization during maintenance, debugging and replacement.”- ¶ [0029]; and recite: “It is also a feature of at least one embodiment of the invention to improve the ability to detect user error in a network configuration.” - ¶ [0015]. The process of debugging inherently includes comparing the observed configuration of an element against an expected configuration of said element in order to detect and correct problems in the element’s configuration, usually software or firmware configuration).
As to Claim 3, Riederer et al. anticipate the method as described in claim 1,
wherein the components are computing interface-related components that serve, consume, or interact with the one or more computing interfaces (Riederer et al. disclose the visual network map {network graph} used to simplify diagnostics and create visualization during maintenance, debugging and replacement of components represented on the map; and to verify bus configurations, power sequencing configurations and operation of nodes {traversing and abstracting from each node information regarding bus configurations, power sequencing and operation information} - ¶¶ [0009, 0013, 0028-0029, 0073-0074]).
As to Claim 4, Riederer et al. anticipate the method as described in claim 1,
wherein at least one computing interface is an Application Programming Interface (API) (Riederer et al. disclose the visual network map with physical computing device identifiers A-F – Fig.6 and ¶¶ [0073-0074]. Riederer et al. also disclose the visual network map {network graph} used to simplify diagnostics and create visualization during maintenance, debugging and replacement of components represented on the map; and to verify bus configurations, power sequencing configurations and operation of nodes {traversing and abstracting from each node information regarding bus configurations, power sequencing and operation information} - ¶¶ [0009, 0013, 0028-0029, 0073-0074]).
As to Claim 5, Riederer et al. anticipate the method as described in claim 1,
wherein the action includes issuing a notification (Riederer et al. disclose the visual network map used to simplify diagnostics and create visualization during maintenance, debugging and replacement of components represented on the map; and to verify bus configurations, power sequencing configurations and operation of nodes - ¶¶ [0013, 0028-0029, 0073-0074]).
As to Claim 6, Riederer et al. anticipate the method as described in claim 1,
wherein the detected configuration is associated with a vulnerability (Riederer et al. recite: “It is also a feature of at least one embodiment of the invention to improve the ability to detect user error in a network configuration.” - ¶ [0015]).
As to Claim 7, Riederer et al. anticipate the method as described in claim 1,
wherein the network configuration graph includes first nodes representing the one or more computing interfaces, and second nodes representing infrastructure components of the computing environment (Riederer et al. recite: “[A]s the functions of a computer network change over time the nodes on the computer network often also change, requiring updates from their original configuration. For example, new nodes may be added to the network to increase its capability, while other nodes may be moved and/or removed from the network altogether. Despite such changes, protocols inherent in the computer network typically allow the nodes to continue to be logically aware of one another and communicate with one another.”- ¶ [0004]. Riederer et al. also disclose the visual network map {network graph} used to simplify diagnostics and create visualization during maintenance, debugging and replacement of components represented on the map; and to verify bus configurations, power sequencing configurations and operation of nodes {traversing and abstracting from each node information regarding bus configurations, power sequencing and operation information} - ¶¶ [0009, 0013, 0028-0029, 0073-0074]).
As to Claim 8, Riederer et al. anticipate the method as described in claim 1,
wherein the network configuration graph exposes at least one indirect or hidden connection from the given component to the one or more computing interfaces (Riederer et al. disclose the visual network map {network graph} used to simplify diagnostics and create visualization during maintenance, debugging and replacement of components represented on the map; and to verify bus configurations, power sequencing configurations and operation of nodes {abstracting from each node information regarding bus configurations, power sequencing and operation information} - ¶¶ [0013, 0028-0029, 0073-0074]; and creating the network graph using each node to be included in the graph’s point of view to create the graph - ¶ [0011]).
As to Claim 9, Riederer et al. anticipate the method as described in claim 1,
wherein abstracted nodes of the network configuration graph consist essentially of computing interface-related nodes (Riederer et al. disclose the visual network map {network graph} used to simplify diagnostics and create visualization during maintenance, debugging and replacement of components represented on the map; and to verify bus configurations, power sequencing configurations and operation of nodes {abstracting from each node information regarding bus configurations, power sequencing and operation information} - ¶¶ [0013, 0028-0029, 0073-0074]; and creating the network graph using each node to be included in the graph’s point of view to create the graph - ¶ [0011]).
Interview Practice
USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR)
The USPTO AIR is a new optional online interview scheduling tool that allows Applicants to request an interview with an Examiner for their pending patent application.
The USPTO AIR form is available on our website at: http://www.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/interview-practice.
By submitting this type of interview request, the pending patent application will be in compliance with the written authorization requirement for Internet communication in accordance with MPEP §502.03. This authorization will be in effect until the Applicant provides a written withdrawal of authorization to the Examiner of record.
If you have questions or need assistance with the USPTO AIR form or with interview practice at the USPTO, please contact an Interview Specialist at http://www.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/interview-practice/interview-specialist or send an email to ExaminerInterviewPractice@USPTO.GOV.
Examiner Notes:
A) Prior to conducting any interview (whether using AIR or not), Applicant(s) must submit an agenda including the proposed date and time, all arguments in writing, and proposed claim amendments (if applicable). Any proposed amendments or arguments not presented in the agenda will only be heard by the Examiner, but because the Examiner will not have heard them in advance and been given an equitable opportunity to consider them, no decision will be rendered, nor agreement made. ALL AGENDAS MUST BE RECEIVED BY THE EXAMINER AT LEAST 24 HOURS PRIOR TO THE START OF THE INTERVIEW, OR THE PREVIOUS BUSINESS DAY, WHICHEVER IS LONGER, or the interview may have to be rescheduled.
B) After-final interviews may be granted, but the agenda must be in compliance with MPEP 713.09 which limits the interview only to discussions of proposed amendments, or clarification for appeal. After-final interviews are not to be conducted for the purpose of rehashing previously made arguments. After seeing the agenda, Examiner will decide whether to grant or deny the interview.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Form PTO-892.
/RICHARD G KEEHN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444