DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed July 13th, 2026 have been entered. Claims 11-30 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s Remarks have overcome each and every Drawing Objection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed June 4th, 2026 and are hereby withdrawn in light of their correction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lane et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20170281447); hereafter "Lane".
Regarding claim 11, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), a surgical limb support apparatus for use with a surgical table (Title, [0002]), the surgical limb support apparatus comprising a spar (416; FIG. 14/19) having a longitudinal axis (as illustrated in FIG. 14), a coupler (12/14) configured to attach the spar to the surgical table ([0116]-[0117]), the coupler being lockable to fix a position of the spar relative to the surgical table and being releasable to permit adjustment of an orientation of the spar relative to the surgical table (As set forth between [0116-0117] concerning “The mount 12 supports a lockable multi-axis coupler 14 that supports a spar 16 illustratively embodied as a rod and permits movement of the spar 16 relative to the mount 12 in a plurality of directions.”), a rod (476; FIG. 14) supported relative to the spar in spaced apart relation with the spar (as illustrated in FIG. 14), the rod being generally parallel with the spar (as illustrated in FIG. 14), a carriage (430; FIG. 14) coupled to the spar and to the rod (as illustrated in FIG. 14), the carriage being fixed relative to the spar and relative to the rod when in a locked configuration (as illustrated in FIG. 14, clarified in [0135-0137]; “he handle 438 is biased to a locked position (shown in FIGS. 14 and 15) wherein the movement along the spar 416 and about axes 434 and 435 is precluded”), the carriage having a released configuration in which the carriage is movable along the spar and along the rod ([0145]: “When the handle 438 is moved to a released position, such as that shown in FIG. 18, then the shaft 488 is unloaded and the bias member 484 urges the lock 480 out of engagement with the spar 416 so that the carriage 474 is free to move along the spar 416”), the rod preventing the carriage from being rotatable around the longitudinal axis of the spar when the carriage is in the released configuration ([0146]: “The engagement of the needle bearings 500, 502 with the guide tube 476 resists the rotation of the coupler 430 about the spar 416 when a load is placed on the limb rest 432”), and a limb support (410/434/432, and adjoint substructures thereof; as illustrated in FIGS. 14-19) coupled to the carriage to move therewith relative to the spar and relative to the rod when the carriage is in the released configuration (as clarified in claim 16 “limb rest about the first axis, about the second axis, and along the spar”), and a release handle (438; FIG. 19/422; FIG. 14) that is pivotable about a handle axis (correspondent 437; FIG. 19) which extends over the spar when the surgical limb support apparatus is in use having a patient's limb supported by the limb support during surgery (as illustrated in FIGS. 19; wherein the axis of 437 is above 416), the release handle being configured to pivot about the handle axis to change the carriage from the locked configuration to the released configuration (as clarified in [0135]: “The adjustable coupler 430 includes a handle 438 which may be actuated to cause the coupler 430 to be released to allow adjustment of the limb rest 432 about an axis 434 and an axis 435. When the handle 438 is actuated to a released position, the coupler 430 and limb rest 432 are free to move along the spar 416, and the limb rest 432 is adjustable about the axes 434 and 435”). Where it is considered the release handle appears capable of rotation through the “floating lock ring 458” [0140] that appears to be free to rotate beneath the wedge plates 462/464; FIG. 17-19 when the lock plate is unlocked. Therefore, it is considered that the release handle 438 may indeed pivot about the handle axis 437 (along 488; FIGS. 17-19). It has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex part Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Therefore, whether the apparatus is ‘in use having a patients limb supported’ or ‘during surgery’ the subject matter respectfully is considered to not pose any patentable weight and does not differentiate the claimed invention over the prior art.
Regarding claim 12, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 11, further comprising a first stop (584; FIG. 14) and a second stop (580) interconnecting the spar and the rod, the first and second stops being spaced apart and defining a range of movement of the carriage relative to the spar and the rod when the carriage is in the released configuration (as illustrated in FIG. 14).
Regarding claim 13, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 12, further comprising a spar handle (420; FIG. 14, and synonymous 20 of FIG. 2) extending from the first stop and grippable by a user to reposition the spar, the rod, the carriage, and the limb support relative to the surgical table when the coupler is released (as illustrated in FIG. 14, clarified in [0136]: “A handle 420 positioned on a distal end of the spar 416 relative to the mount 12 is configured to be used by a user to position the spar 416 and includes a release trigger 422 that, when gripped by a user, causes the a lockable multi-axis coupler 14 to be released to allow the spar 416 to move relative to the mount 12”).
Regarding claim 14, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 13, further comprising a release trigger (420/422; [0136]: “a release trigger 422”) extending from the first stop and movable toward the spar handle to release the coupler to permit the spar, the rod, the carriage, and the limb support to be repositioned relative to the surgical table (As set forth in [0136]).
Regarding claim 15, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 14, wherein a proximal end of the spar is coupled to the coupler and a distal end of the spar is coupled to the first stop (as illustrated in FIG. 14).
Regarding claim 16, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 14, further comprising a release rod (as illustrated in FIG. 20 inside 416) extending through a bore of the spar along the longitudinal axis, the release rod being movable within the bore of the spar due to movement of the release trigger, the release rod also extending through upper regions of the first and second stops (as illustrated in FIG. 20).
Regarding claim 17, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 12, further comprising a counterbalance (418/18; FIG. 14) to counterbalance a weight of the spar, the rod, the carriage, the limb support, and a limb of a patient supported by the limb support when the coupler is released, the counterbalancer being coupled to the second stop and to the coupler (as explained in [0136] and [0117]: “a counterbalancing gas spring 418 which assists in supporting the weight of a patient's leg when the leg support 410 is in use or the position is being adjusted”).
Regarding claim 18, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 17, wherein a first end region of the counterbalancer is situated beneath the second stop and a second end region of the counterbalancer is situated beneath the coupler (as illustrated in FIG. 14).
Regarding claim 19, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 15, wherein the counterbalancer comprises a gas spring (as expressed in [0136] and [0117]: ”counterbalancing gas spring”).
Regarding claim 20, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 11, wherein the carriage is configured to clamp against the spar when in the locked configuration (as portrayed in FIG. 17) and to unclamp from the spar when in the released configuration (as portrayed in FIG. 18).
Regarding claim 21, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 20, further comprising a tension rod (488; FIG. 17 and 18) that is movable to clamp and unclamp the carriage relative to the spar thereby to move the carriage between the locked configuration and the released configuration (As illustrated between FIGS. 17 and 18).
Regarding claim 22, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 21, wherein the tension rod extends from the carriage in substantially perpendicular relation with the longitudinal axis of the spar (as illustrated in FIGS. 16-19).
Regarding claim 23, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 21, wherein the limb support is coupled to an end region of the tension rod that is spaced apart from the carriage so that the limb support is offset laterally from the carriage (as illustrated between FIGS. 14-21).
Regarding claim 24, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 23, wherein the limb support is coupled to the tension rod by a multi-axis joint that is lockable to prevent rotation of the limb support about a tension rod axis and that is releasable to allow rotation of the limb support about the tension rod axis (As set forth in [0141]: “the release 436, when it is in the locked position of FIG. 19, prevents movement of the limb rest 432 relative to two degrees of freedom, namely, axes 434, 435. When the release 436 is moved to the released position shown in FIG. 19, the limb rest mounting plate 596 and the limb rest 432 are free to move in two degrees of freedom about the axes 434, 435”).
Regarding claim 25, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 24, wherein movement of the release handle (438; FIG. 17/18) that is movable toward the limb support to unlock the multi-axis joint to permit the limb support to rotate about the tension rod axis (As illustrated between FIGS. 17/18, and clarified in [0135] and [0144]).
Regarding claim 26, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 25, wherein after movement of the release handle toward the limb support to unlock multi-axis joint and place the carriage in the released configuration, the limb support is adjustable in four degrees relative to the spar (As illustrated between FIGS. 17 and 18 and the clamps about 416; as clarified in claim 2; “wherein when the release is in the released position, the limb rest is simultaneously adjustable relative to the spar with at least four degrees of freedom.”).
Regarding claim 27, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 25, wherein the limb support comprises a surgical boot (432; FIG. 14) having a foot support portion (vertical portion of 432; FIG. 14) and a calf support portion (horizontal portion of 432; FIG. 14) and the release handle is movable toward the calf support portion to unlock the multi-axis joint (As illustrated between FIGS. 14, 17 and 18).
Regarding claim 28, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 25, wherein the multi- axis joint is configured to permit rotation of the limb support about a yaw axis regardless of whether the multi-axis joint is locked or unlocked to permit rotation of the limb support about the tension rod axis (as set forth in [0144]).
Regarding claim 29, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 28, wherein the yaw axis is substantially perpendicular to the tension rod axis (as illustrated between FIGS. 14-19).
Regarding claim 30, Lane discloses (FIGS. 14-21), the surgical limb support apparatus of claim 25, wherein the release handle pivots about the yaw axis with the limb support (As illustrated and conveyed through FIGS. 14-20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks (pag, filed July 13th, 2026, with respect to Drawing have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Objections of June 4th, 2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed March 23rd, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Particularly, applicant alleges that the amendments establish the invention while in use. However, it has been previously held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex part Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Particularly, the amendments only seem to address the use of the invention and not any structural limitations of the claim. While such could be considered to pose some weight in a method, applicant’s invention is respectfully an apparatus and therefore it is respectfully recommended to consider the structure should be further delineated on as to its locations and adjacencies to better obviate the prior art.
Therefore, the rejection/grounds thereof of claims 11-30 is respectfully maintained for reasons of record and those elucidated further herein.
Conclusion
The prior art previously made of record and not relied upon is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUKE HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673