DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kaneko et al.
For claim 1, Kaneko et al. (2014/0203578) discloses a vehicle impact absorbing structure (FIG.1), comprising:
a side frame (SL, SR) that extends in a vehicle front-rear direction in a vehicle front portion;
a bumper beam (BR) that extends in a vehicle width direction in front of the side frame, the bumper beam having a beam end portion located on an outer side of the side frame in the vehicle width direction; and
an impact absorber (10) that couples a front end of the side frame and the bumper beam in the vehicle front-rear direction (FIG.2),
the impact absorber being compressively deformable ([0028]) by an impact load that is input to the bumper beam from the front of the vehicle, wherein the impact absorber has
a first portion (20) that extends from the front end of the side frame toward the front of the vehicle in the vehicle front-rear direction,
the first portion being joined to the bumper beam, and
a second portion (30) that extends from the front end of the side frame toward the front of the vehicle while being inclined outward in the vehicle width direction,
the second portion being joined to the beam end portion of the bumper beam,
at least a part (rear end of outer wall 32) of a rear end of the second portion is located on an outer side of a rear end of the first portion in the vehicle width direction, and
the rear end of the first portion and the rear end of the second portion overlap the front end of the side frame in a vehicle front view (FIG.2).
For claim 13, the impact absorber has a common member (R8) that is provided across the first portion and the second portion, the common member forming a part of each of the first portion and the second portion.
Claims 1, 4-6, 10-11, 13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakanishi et al.
For claim 1, Nakanishi et al. (9266484) discloses a vehicle impact absorbing structure (FIG.11), comprising:
a side frame (12R) that extends in a vehicle front-rear direction in a vehicle front portion;
a bumper beam (14) that extends in a vehicle width direction in front of the side frame, the bumper beam having a beam end portion located on an outer side of the side frame in the vehicle width direction; and
an impact absorber (70) that couples a front end of the side frame and the bumper beam in the vehicle front-rear direction (FIG.11),
the impact absorber being compressively deformable (Col 10, lines 36-37) by an impact load that is input to the bumper beam from the front of the vehicle,
wherein the impact absorber has
a first portion (31,45) that extends from the front end of the side frame toward the front of the vehicle in the vehicle front-rear direction,
the first portion being joined to the bumper beam, and
a second portion (30,44) that extends from the front end of the side frame toward the front of the vehicle while being inclined outward in the vehicle width direction,
the second portion being joined to the beam end portion of the bumper beam,
at least a part (30) of a rear end of the second portion is located on an outer side of a rear end of the first portion in the vehicle width direction, and
the rear end of the first portion and the rear end of the second portion overlap the front end of the side frame in a vehicle front view (FIG.11).
For claim 4, the first portion and the second portion each have a closed cross-sectional structure including a corner (FIG.10),
a ridgeline (between 30 and 34 FIG.10) of the corner of the second portion continues from the bumper beam to the front end of the side frame,
a part of the rear end of the first portion abuts a side portion of the second portion, and
a remaining part of the rear end of the first portion is joined to the set plate (FIG.11).
For claim 10, a cross-sectional area (see 50 in FIG.10) of the second portion is larger than a cross-sectional area (see 52 in FIG.10) of the first portion.
For claim 11, a width (FIG.10) of the second portion in the vehicle width direction is greater than a width of the first portion in the vehicle width direction.
For claim 13, the impact absorber has a common member (72,74) that is provided across the first portion and the second portion, the common member forming a part of each of the first portion and the second portion.
For claims 5, 16, and 17, in the vehicle front view, an end surface center of the rear end of the first portion and an end surface center of the rear end of the second portion overlap an end surface of the front end of the side frame (implicit as seen in FIG.1 where the width of the side frame is large enough to encompass the centers of the first and second portions). Though the drawings in Nakanishi et al. are not set forth as being to scale, the drawings can be relied upon for what they reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2125).
For claims 6 and 18, in the vehicle front view, an end surface center of the front end of the side frame (12R) overlaps an end surface of the rear end of the second portion (30). Here again, looking to FIG.1 one of ordinary skill in the art notes that the rear end of the second portion (30) attaches to the side frame (12R) at a point more than half of the width of the side frame (12R). The center of the side frame would therefore fall within or overlap an end surface of the rear end of the second portion as recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi et al. as applied to claim 1 above in view of JP 2017077746 (JP 746) or Yasuhara et al. (2010/0127531).
For claim 2, Nakanishi et al. disclose a set plate (24) that is interposed between the impact absorber and the front end of the side frame, wherein a rear end of the impact absorber is joined to the set plate.
Nakanishi et al. lack the set plate including a convex section that protrudes from the front end of the side frame toward the front of the vehicle, and a rear end of the impact absorber is joined to the convex section.
JP 746 teaches a connection where a set plate (19, FIG.5 below left) includes a convex section protruding forward of the side frame (21) to which a rear end of an impact absorber is attached.
Likewise, Yasuhara e al. teach a connection where a set plate (51) has a convex section (FIG.4) protruding forward to engage with a rear end of an impact absorber (FIG.4 below, right).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided such a set plate as taught by JP 746 or Yasuhara et al. for use with the impact absorber of Nakanishi et al. in order to strengthen the connection.
For claim 3, Nakashini et al., as modified, disclose the first portion and the second portion each have a closed cross-sectional structure including a corner (FIG.10),
a ridgeline (between 30 and 34 FIG.10) of the corner of the second portion continues from the bumper beam to the front end of the side frame,
a part of the rear end of the first portion abuts a side portion of the second portion, and
a remaining part of the rear end of the first portion is joined to the set plate (FIG.11).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi et al. as applied above with respect to claim 5, and in view of Kashiwagi et al. (10131302).
Kashiwagi et al. teach, for claim 9, an upper end of the first portion (25b) and an upper end of the second portion (25a) are located slightly above an upper end of the side frame (FIG.5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the first and second portions of Nakanishi et al. each with upper ends which extend slightly above an upper end of the side frame as taught by Kashiwagi et al. as an obvious alternative to fasten the first and second portions to the set plate.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi et al. as applied to claim 1 above in view of Kashiwagi et al. (10131302).
For claim 12, Nakanishi et al. disclose the first portion being a closed cross-sectional structure but fail to provide first and second cross sections aligned vertically as recited.
Kashiwagi et al. teach an impact absorbing structure having a first portion (18) with a closed cross-sectional structure having a first closed cross section (33) and a second closed cross section (33, FIG.5 (as shown above)) aligned in an up-down direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided Nakanishi et al. with first and second vertically aligned closed cross sections as taught by Kashiwagi et al. in order to stiffen the first portion.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi et al. as applied to claim 13 above in view of KR 101359966 (KR 966).
Nakanishi et al. (FIG.10) fail to include a common member with an outer portion of the common member in the vehicle width direction forming a lower plate section of the second portion, and the outer portion having a groove shape that is recessed downwardly, a feature taught by KR 966. Specifically, KR 966 includes an impact absorber (FIGS.4-7) with first and second portions (formed from upper 35 and lower 37 panels) and a common member (lower panel 37,51) which is provided across the first portion and the second portion; the common member (37,51) forming a part of each of the first and the second portions (31,33).
The common member includes an outer portion in the vehicle width direction which forms a lower plate section (FIGS.6-7) of the second portion, wherein the outer portion has a groove shape (37, FIG.6) that is recessed downwardly (FIGS.5-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided for Nakanishi et al. a construction of KR 966 with upper and lower panels, including a common member as taught by KR 966, as an obvious alternative to that structure of Nakanishi et al. (FIG.10) and in order to accomplish the same predictable result of mitigating a collision.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi et al. as applied to claim 13 above in view of Klimek (2011/0193370).
Nakanishi et al. fail to include a common member that is provided across the first portion and the second portion, the common member forming a part of each of the first portion and the second portion with a removed section therebetween.
Klimek teaches such a common member (40) with honeycomb structure (41) (which implicitly includes a removed section) between a first portion (27) and a second portion (26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided such a common member with removed section as taught by DE 975 connected to and for use between the first and second portions in order to further absorb collision energy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter for the claims in this application is the inclusion of the specific the first portion and the second portion each have a closed cross-sectional structure including a vertical wall and a horizontal wall, and the vertical walls of the first portion and the second portion overlap the horizontal wall of the side frame in the vehicle front view, in combination with the other elements recited which is not found in the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP 2004066932 (JP 932) discloses a vehicle impact absorbing structure, comprising:
a side frame (11) that extends in a vehicle front-rear direction in a vehicle front portion;
a bumper beam (12) that extends in a vehicle width direction in front of the side frame, the bumper beam having a beam end portion located on an outer side of the side frame in the vehicle width direction; and
an impact absorber (B) that couples a front end of the side frame and the bumper beam in the vehicle front-rear direction, the impact absorber being compressively deformable by an impact load that is input to the bumper beam from the front of the vehicle,
wherein the impact absorber has
a first portion (20) that extends from the front end of the side frame toward the front of the vehicle in the vehicle front-rear direction,
the first portion being joined to the bumper beam, and
a second portion (11) that extends from the front end of the side frame toward the front of the vehicle while being inclined outward in the vehicle width direction,
the second portion being joined to the beam end portion of the bumper beam,
at least a part of a rear end of the second portion is located on an outer side of a rear end of the first portion in the vehicle width direction, and
the rear end of the first portion and the rear end of the second portion overlap the front end of the side frame in a vehicle front view (FIG.4).
For claim 9, JP 932 teaches an upper end of the first portion (see where B2 attaches at a location above the side frame) and an upper end of the second portion (11c) are located slightly above an upper end of the side frame (FIG.4).
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B