DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed 8/6/26. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 6-12 are newly added. Claims 1-12 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2018/0032858 A1 to Lucey et al. (hereinafter “Lucey”) in view of US Publication No. 2017/0061314 A1 to Schnurr et al. (hereinafter “Schnurr”).
Concerning claim 1, Lucey discloses a system for tracking actions in a live event (Abstract), comprising:
one or more cameras located at the live event, the one or more cameras each focused on at least one of a player participating in the live event or equipment used in the live event, and one or more cameras collect sensed movement data regarding the at least one player or the equipment; a memory storing a database of historical movement data (paragraphs [0002], [0030], [0031] – cameras collect movement data);
a processor configured to receive transmitted sensed movement data, compare the sensed movement data to the historical movement data in a database, and determine a predicted action of the at least one player or equipment in the live event, wherein the historical movement data in the database is updated in substantially real time after the collection of the sensed movement data by the one or more cameras (paragraphs [0030], [0044]-[0052], [0081]-[0086] – player actions are predicted).
Lucey lacks specifically disclosing, however Schnurr discloses the system further comprising: a display device configured to display, on a live video feed of the live event and in substantially real time, a graphic related to a predicted action based on the sensed movement of the at least one player or equipment in the live event (Figs. 3-5, paragraphs [0069]-[0086] – live video feed shows predicted action based on the sensed movement of player). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the display of the predicted actions as disclosed by Schnurr in the system of Lucey in order to provide more information to viewers regarding the sporting event, thereby increasing viewer interest.
Concerning claim 2, Lucey discloses further comprising a first displayed graphic showing a route of movement of the at least one player or equipment in the live event corresponding to the sensed movement data of the at least one player or equipment in the live event (Figs. 6a-6d, paragraphs [0030], [0044]-[0052], [0081]-[0086]).
Concerning claim 3, Lucey discloses further comprising a second displayed graphic showing a likely route of the at least one player or equipment in the live event movement that corresponds to the predicted movement of the at least one player or equipment in the live event (Figs. 6a-6d, paragraphs [0030], [0044]-[0052], [0081]-[0086]).
Concerning claim 4, Lucey discloses further comprising a highlight graphic that is generated showing a likely location of the at least one player or equipment in the live event in an upcoming action in the live event (Figs. 7-10, paragraphs [0030], [0044]-[0052], [0081]-[0086]).
Concerning claim 5, Lucey discloses further comprising a broadcast network that transmits display data of the live event (paragraphs [0030], [0044]-[0052], [0081]-[0086]).
Concerning claim 6, Lucey discloses wherein the processor is configured to determine the predicted action using a machine learning model trained on the historical movement data (paragraphs [0030], [0044]-[0052], [0081]-[0086]).
Concerning claim 7, Lucey discloses wherein the processor is configured to determine the predicted action by: filtering the historical movement data on situational data corresponding to an upcoming action in the live event; performing correlations on the filtered historical movement data; determining a difference between the correlated data; comparing the difference to a recommendations database; and adjusting a probability of the predicted action based on the recommendations database (paragraphs [0030], [0044]-[0052], [0081]-[0086]).
Concerning claim 8, Lucey discloses wherein the one or more cameras comprise an RGB-D camera that provides color and depth information for each pixel of an image (paragraphs [0030], [0044]-[0052], [0081]-[0086]).
Concerning claim 9, Lucey discloses wherein the sensed movement data comprises real-time X, Y positioning of the at least one player and X, Y, Z positioning of the equipment (paragraphs [0030], [0044]-[0052], [0081]-[0086]).
Concerning claim 10, Lucey lacks specifically disclosing, however Schnurr discloses wherein the display device comprises an augmented reality device, and the graphic is superimposed on the live video feed of the live event above the at least one player (Figs. 3-5, paragraphs [0069]-[0086]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the display of the predicted actions as disclosed by Schnurr in the system of Lucey in order to provide more information to viewers regarding the sporting event, thereby increasing viewer interest.
Concerning claim 11, Lucey lacks specifically disclosing, however Schnurr discloses wherein the predicted action is updated in substantially real time in response to a change in the live event, the change comprising at least one of a player substitution, a player injury, or a change in positioning of the at least one player (Figs. 3-5, paragraphs [0069]-[0086]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the display of the predicted actions as disclosed by Schnurr in the system of Lucey in order to provide more information to viewers regarding the sporting event, thereby increasing viewer interest.
Concerning claim 12, Lucey lacks specifically disclosing, however Schnurr discloses wherein the graphic comprises a probability of an action occurring in an upcoming action in the live event, and the probability is updated in substantially real time (Figs. 3-5, paragraphs [0069]-[0086]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the display of the predicted actions as disclosed by Schnurr in the system of Lucey in order to provide more information to viewers regarding the sporting event, thereby increasing viewer interest.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot based on the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MALINA D. BLAISE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/MALINA D. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715