DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the response and amendments / application filed on 24 June 2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, and 17 have been amended. Note that claim 17 was identified as previously presented, however the claim included amendments.
Claims 2, 4, 10, 12, and 18-19 are cancelled.
Claims 6, 8, 14, 16, and 20 are original / previously presented.
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13-17, and 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the previous objection of claim 9, the Applicant has successfully amended the claim, and accordingly the objection is rescinded.
Regarding the previous 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claims 3, 5, 7, 11, 13, the Applicant has successfully amended and/or cancelled the claims, and accordingly the rejection is rescinded.
Regarding the Applicant’s arguments filed regarding the previous 35 USC 101 rejection of claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13-17, and 20; the arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the claims are eligible because “Under Step 2A, Prong Two, the claim as amended integrates any alleged judicial exception into a practical application. The claim does not merely determine, display, or transmit a price. Rather, the claim uses feature importances from a first ML model as inputs to a second ML model to identify training points that influenced the calculated price, actively evaluates the accuracy of the first ML model based on those identified training points, and adjusts the ML model based on the evaluation. This is an improvement to the machine-learning price determining system itself because the claim recites a concrete feedback mechanism for identifying influential training data points and using those training data points to evaluate and adjust the first ML model” (Remarks pg. 9). Examiner disagrees. First, the additional elements are no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using generic computers / general computer components (e.g. computing device, memory storage, processing unit, non-transitory computer readable medium, first machine learning (ML) model / ML model, second ML model); generally linking use of the judicial exception to a technological environment (machine learning) and adding high-level extra-solution activities (data gathering); and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea. Second, the claims do not improve machine learning outside of the judicial exception. At best the improvement (i.e. determining a price for transporting a product from one location to another, per Applicant specification ¶[0011]) is a business solution to a business problem, tangentially associated with a technology element (computers, machine learning). See Versata (2015) finding that a common business method aimed at processing business information despite being applied on a general purpose computer does not present enough for eligibility. See Ultramercial (2014) citing Alice (2014), stating “The problem was not that the asserted claims disclosed no innovation, but that it was an entrepreneurial rather than a technological one”, i.e. a business service solution solving a business problem. Using a second ML model to determine / identify the training data points, and using the data points to evaluate and adjust the first ML model is not a technologically based improvement that would represent a practical application since (1) there are no technical details in the claims how the second model is performing any ‘machine learning’ specific tasks to determine the training data points (because the steps claimed are organizing human activities), (2) the training data that is determined / produced by the second ML model is only being used to perform a judicial exception (e.g. evaluating the accuracy of the first model, and adjusting the first model based on the evaluation) and not particular technical steps; and (3) at best this would only be an improvement in analytics (i.e. a business process) which is part of the judicial exception rather than an improvement to a technical process. Both machine learning models are still claimed at a high level that represents a general linkage to technology because there are no particular claimed details regarding the algorithm steps involved in the machine learning models or in implementing the models more than using computers as a tool to perform otherwise manual processes (i.e. comparing locations, extrapolating / determining a price, determining training data related to determining a price, evaluating the accuracy of a model, adjusting the model). There are no technical steps or details regarding machine learning and (1) technical steps how machine learning calculates the price from the inputs, (2) technical steps how machine learning determines training data points for evaluating the accuracy of the first model, or (3) technical steps how machine learning learns / trains beyond using computer in its ordinary capacity or adding a general purpose computer after the fact to an abstract idea, which is not a practical application (or significantly more). This argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “amended claim 1 recites more than applying an abstract idea using generic computer components. The claim recites a specific arrangement of two ML models and an active evaluation-and-adjustment process that improves the operation and reliability of the first ML model. Therefore, amended claim 1 is patent eligible” (Remarks pg. 9). Examiner disagrees. Machine learning technology outside of a judicial exception is not improved in the claims. The claims instead focus on an abstract idea in which computers are invoked merely as a tool to perform the judicial exception. Machine learning is recited in the claims at such a high level of detail that machine learning is only a general linkage to a technology or technical field. Each of the model (algorithm) steps associated with the first machine learning model (e.g. inputting historical pricing data, determining a calculated price, comparing the first latitude / longitude and second latitude / longitude of the pickup and drop off locations, extrapolating the calculated price of the pickup / drop off location from the historical pricing data, obtaining feature importances (i.e. scores of variables on how useful they are, see Applicant specification ¶[0029]), evaluating the accuracy of the first model using training data points, adjusting the first model based on the evaluation of accuracy), and associated with the second machine learning model (e.g. inputting feature importances, determining training data points related to a determining of the calculated price, producing the one or more training data points) represent (1) high level certain methods of organizing human activities (managing personal behavior, following rules or instructions) and/or mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships) that are all part of the judicial exception, or (2) insignificant extra-solution activities (data gathering) using a computer as a tool in its ordinary capacity. These machine learning models without any particular technical steps is the same as implementing an algorithm / model on general purpose computers (i.e. using computers as a tool to implement a judicial exception or in its ordinary capacity) which is not a practical application or significantly more. This argument is not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, 11, 13, 15-17, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection (e.g. Delchev in view of Sundaravel in view of Cyperski in view of Cmielowski).
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 16 March 2026 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9:
Claim 9 includes the limitation “the ML model” in line 23. This is likely referring to the first machine learning (ML) model previously referenced (e.g. claim 9 lines 9, 14, 15), however claim 9 subsequently introduces a second ML model in lines 25-26 (e.g. provide, by the computing device, the one or more feature importances into a second ML model”. To add further clarity in the claims and distinguish whether this is the first or second ML model, the Office recommends adding the word ‘first’ to ‘the ML model’ in line 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13-17, and 20:
Step 1:
Claims 1, 3, 5-8 recite a method; claims 9, 11, 13-16 recite a system; and claims 17 and 20 recite a non-transitory computer readable medium. Since the claims recite either a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, the claims satisfy Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Framework in MPEP 2106 and the 2019 Patent Examination Guidelines (PEG). Analysis proceeds to Step 2A Prong One.
Step 2A – Prong One:
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13-17, and 20 recite an abstract idea. Independent claim 1 recites: converting, zip codes of pick-up locations and drop-off locations of historical pricing data into latitudes and longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data; receiving a request to transport a product, the request including a pick-up location, a drop-off location, and a pick-up date; determining a first latitude and a first longitude of the pick-up location and a second latitude and a second longitude of the drop-off location; determining, by the first model, a calculated price for transporting the product, wherein determining the calculated price comprises: comparing, by the first model, the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude to the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data, and extrapolating the calculated price for the pick-up location and the drop-off location from one or more pick-up locations and one or more drop-off locations, from the historical pricing data, located on each side of the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude; obtaining, one or more feature importances from the first model; inputting, the one or more feature importances into a second model; determining, by the second model, one or more training data points that are related to a determination of the calculated price for transporting the product, the one or more training data points determined based on having highest weight in determining the calculated price for transporting the product; producing, by the second model, the one or more training data points; evaluating the accuracy of the first model based on the one or more training data points produced by the second model; adjusting, the first model based on the evaluation of the accuracy. Independent claim 9 recites to: convert zip codes of pick-up locations and drop-off locations of historical pricing data into latitudes and longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data; receive a request to transport a product, the request including a pick-up location, a drop-off location, and a pick-up date; determine a first latitude and a first longitude of the pick-up location and a second latitude and a second longitude of the drop-off location; use the first model to determine a calculated price for transporting the product, wherein determine the calculated price includes use the first model to: compare the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude to the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data, and extrapolate the calculated price for the pick-up location and the drop-off location from one or more pick-up locations and one or more drop-off locations, from the historical pricing data, located on each side of the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude; receive, from the model, a calculated price for transporting the product; obtain one or more feature importances from the first model; provide, the one or more feature importances into a second model; determine, by the second model, one or more training data points that are related to a calculation of the calculated price for transporting the product, the one or more training data points determined based on having highest weight in determining the calculated price for transporting the product; produce, by the second model, the one or more training data points; evaluate the accuracy of the first model based on the one or more training data points; and adjust the first model based on the evaluation of the accuracy. Independent claim 17 recites: converting, zip codes of pick-up locations and drop-off locations of historical pricing data into latitudes and longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data; receiving a request to transport a product, the request including a pick-up location, a drop-off location, and a pick-up date; determining a first latitude and a first longitude of the pick-up location and a second latitude and a second longitude of the drop-off location; determining, by the first model, a calculated price for transporting the product, wherein determining the calculated price comprises: comparing, by the first model, the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude to the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data, and extrapolating the calculated price for the pick-up location and the drop-off location from one or more pick-up locations and one or more drop-off locations, from the historical pricing data, located on each side of the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude; obtaining, one or more feature importances from the first model; providing, the one or more feature importances into a second model; determining, by the second model, one or more training data points that are related to a calculation of the calculated price for transporting the product, the one or more training data points determined based on having highest weight in determining the calculated price for transporting the product; producing, by the second model, the one or more training data points; evaluating the accuracy of the first model based on the one or more training data points produced by the second model; adjusting, the first model based on the evaluation of the accuracy.
The claims as a whole recite certain methods of organizing human activities, and individual limitations also represent mathematical concepts.
First, the limitations of converting, zip codes of pick-up locations and drop-off locations of historical pricing data into latitudes and longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data; receiving a request to transport a product, the request including a pick-up location, a drop-off location, and a pick-up date; determining a first latitude and a first longitude of the pick-up location and a second latitude and a second longitude of the drop-off location; determining, by the first model, a calculated price for transporting the product, wherein determining the calculated price comprises: comparing, by the first model, the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude to the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data, and extrapolating the calculated price for the pick-up location and the drop-off location from one or more pick-up locations and one or more drop-off locations, from the historical pricing data, located on each side of the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude; receiv[ing], from the model, a calculated price for transporting the product; obtaining, one or more feature importances from the first model; inputting / providing, the one or more feature importances into a second model; determining, by the second model, one or more training data points that are related to a determination / calculation of the calculated price for transporting the product, the one or more training data points determined based on having highest weight in determining the calculated price for transporting the product; producing, by the second model, the one or more training data points; evaluating the accuracy of the first model based on the one or more training data points produced by the second model; adjusting the first model based on the evaluation of the accuracy are certain methods of organizing human activities. For instance, the claims represent the sub-groupings of fundamental economic principles or practices, commercial interactions, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, and following rules or instructions. For example, fundamental economic principles or practices includes receiving a request to transport a product…, receiving a calculated price for transporting the product; commercial interactions includes receiving a request to transport a product…, determining a calculated price…, receiving a calculated price for transporting the product; managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people includes converting zip codes…, receiving a request to transport a product…, determining latitude / longitude of locations…, determining a calculated price…, comparing the first / second longitude / latitude…, extrapolating the calculated price…, receiving a calculated price for transporting the product, obtaining one or more feature importances…, inputting, the feature importances…, determining training data points that are related to a determination / calculation of the calculated price…, producing training data points…, evaluating the accuracy of the first model based on training data…, adjusting the first model based on the evaluation…; and following rules or instructions includes converting zip codes…, determining latitude / longitude of locations…, determining a calculated price…, comparing the first / second longitude / latitude…, extrapolating the calculated price…, receiving a calculated price for transporting the product, obtaining one or more feature importances…, inputting, the feature importances…, determining training data points that are related to a determination / calculation of the calculated price…, producing training data points…, evaluating the accuracy of the first model based on training data…, adjusting the first model based on the evaluation…. The presence of generic / general computer components such as a computing device, memory storage, processing unit, non-transitory computer readable medium, first machine learning (ML) model / ML model (i.e. a computing device, per Applicant Specification Fig 7, ¶[0049]), second ML model (i.e. a computing device, per Applicant Specification Fig 7, ¶[0049]), does not preclude the steps from reciting certain methods of organizing human activities, since the number of people involved in the activities is not dispositive as to whether a claim limitation falls within this grouping and instead it is based on whether an activity itself falls within one of the sub-groupings. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers certain methods of organizing human activity (e.g. fundamental economic principles or practices, commercial interactions, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, following rules or instructions) regardless of the recitation of generic computer components or other machinery in its ordinary capacity, then it falls within the ‘Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity’ grouping of abstract ideas.
Second, the limitations of wherein determining the calculated price comprises: extrapolating the calculated price for the pick-up location and the drop-off location from one or more pick-up locations and one or more drop-off locations, from the historical pricing data, located on each side of the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude also recite a mathematical relationship (extrapolation) with historical pricing data, first and second latitude / longitude, pickup / drop off location, and calculated price. Thus, the claim recites a mathematical concept. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mathematical concepts (e.g. mathematical relationship) but for the recitation of generic / general computer components (i.e. computing device, first machine learning (ML) model), then it falls within the ‘Mathematical Concepts’ grouping of abstract ideas.
Accordingly, the claim(s) recite an abstract idea. Analysis proceeds to Step 2A Prong Two.
Step 2A – Prong Two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. First, claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13-17, and 20 as a whole merely describes how to generally ‘apply’ the concept of certain methods of organizing human activities in a computer environment. The claimed computer components (i.e. a computing device, memory storage, processing unit, non-transitory computer readable medium, first machine learning (ML) model / ML model (i.e. a computing device, per Applicant Specification Fig 7, ¶[0049]), second ML model (i.e. a computing device, per Applicant Specification Fig 7, ¶[0049]) are recited at a high-level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform manual processes. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic / general purpose computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2016.05(f). Furthermore, see the Applicant’s specification Fig 7, ¶[0049-52] describing the elements of a computing device, memory, a processing unit, and a non-transitory computer readable medium; and machine learning models implemented in the memory of a computing device at such a high level that indicates this element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Next, the additional element of machine learning in the limitations (e.g. inputting, by the computing device, the historical pricing data that includes the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations into a first machine learning (ML) model; training, by the first ML model, based on the historical pricing data; determining, by the first ML model, a calculated price for transporting the product; receiving, from the first ML model, a calculated price for transporting the product; receive, from the ML model, a calculated price for transporting the product; obtaining, by the computing device, one or more feature importances from the first ML model; inputting, by the computing device, the one or more feature importances from the first ML model into a second ML model; determining, by the second ML model, one or more training data points that are related to a determination / calculation of the calculated price for transporting the product, the one or more training data points determined based on having highest weight in determining the calculated price for transporting the product; producing, by the second ML model, the one or more training data points to the computing device; evaluating the accuracy of the first ML model based on the one or more training data points produced by the second ML model; adjusting the first ML model based on the evaluation of the accuracy) does no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e. machine learning), and as such does not provide integration into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(h). There are no technical steps or details regarding machine learning and (1) technical steps how machine learning calculates the price from the inputs, (2) technical steps how machine learning determines training data points for evaluating the accuracy of the first model, or (3) technical steps how machine learning learns / trains beyond using computer in its ordinary capacity or adding a general purpose computer after the fact to an abstract idea, which are not a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f) citing Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A. (Fed. Cir. 2016) stating the recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words ‘apply it’. Hence, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Next, the additional element of inputting historical pricing data and its steps of inputting, by the computing device, the historical pricing data that includes the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations into a first machine learning (ML) model are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering data for subsequent determining / comparing), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity and not a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(g). Furthermore, the computing device, first machine learning model (generic / general purpose computer) are only being used as a tool in the inputting historical pricing data, which is also not indicative of integration into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f). Note that there are no particular technical steps regarding inputting historical pricing data more than using computers as a tool in its ordinary capacity (i.e. to receive data). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Also, while identified above as a certain method of organizing human activity in Step 2A Prong One, note that the step of inputting feature importances (e.g. inputting, by the computing device, the one or more feature importances into a second ML model) is/are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering data for determining training data points), and also amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity and not a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(g). Furthermore, the computing device, the second ML model (generic computer / general computer component) are only being used as a tool in the inputting feature importances, which is also not indicative of integration into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f). Note that there are no particular technical steps regarding inputting feature importances date more than using computers as a tool and in their ordinary capacity (i.e. to receive data). Accordingly, this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Also, while identified above as a certain method of organizing human activity in Step 2A Prong One, note that the step of producing training data points (e.g. producing, by the second ML model, the one or more training data points to the computing device) is/are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of outputting data results of determining training data points), and also amounts to mere transmitting data / outputting data, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity and not a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(g). Furthermore, the computing device, the second ML model (generic computer / general computer component) are only being used as a tool in the producing training data points, which is also not indicative of integration into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f). Note that there are no particular technical steps regarding producing the training data points date more than using computers as a tool and in their ordinary capacity (i.e. to output data). Accordingly, this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computers / general computer components (computing device, memory storage, processing unit, non-transitory computer readable medium, first machine learning (ML) model / ML model, second ML model); generally linking use of the judicial exception to a technological environment (machine learning) and adding high-level extra-solution activities (data gathering). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea. Hence, the claim is directed to an abstract idea. Analysis proceeds to Step 2B.
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above in Step 2A Prong Two with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computing device, memory storage, processing unit, non-transitory computer readable medium, first machine learning (ML) model / ML model, second ML model to perform converting zip codes…, receiving a request to transport a product…, determining latitude / longitude of locations…, determining a calculated price…, comparing the first / second longitude / latitude…, extrapolating the calculated price…, receiving a calculated price for transporting the product, obtaining one or more feature importances…, inputting, the feature importances…, determining training data points that are related to a determination / calculation of the calculated price…, producing training data points…, evaluating the accuracy of the first model…, adjusting the first model based on the evaluation amounts to no more than mere instructions to ‘apply’ the exception using generic / general purpose computers. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e. mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Hence, these features do not provide an inventive concept / significantly more.
As discussed above in Step 2A Prong Two with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element regarding machine learning does no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e. machine learning). The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e. generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use does not provide integration into a practical application in Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05(h). There are no particular claimed details regarding the algorithm steps involved in the machine learning model or in implementing the model more than using computers as a tool to perform otherwise manual processes (i.e. comparing locations, extrapolating / determining a price, determining training data related to determining a price). There are no technical steps or details regarding machine learning and (1) technical steps how machine learning calculates the price from the inputs, (2) technical steps how machine learning determines / produces training data points used in evaluating the accuracy of the first model, or (3) technical steps how machine learning learns / trains beyond using computer in its ordinary capacity or adding a general purpose computer after the fact to an abstract idea, which is not a practical application or significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(f) citing Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A. (Fed. Cir. 2016) stating the recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words ‘apply it’. Furthermore, see the Applicant’s specification ¶[0011-12], ¶[0016], ¶[0019] describing the additional element of implementing a machine learning model to determine a transportation price at such a high level that indicates this additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Also note the Introduction of “Machine learning-based scheduling: a bibliometric perspective” to Li et al. (2020) demonstrating the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of this additional element (see Li pg. 131 Introduction section col 1 detailing that machine learning is widely used in transportation). See the Applicant’s specification Fig 3, ¶[0026], ¶[0029] describing the element of feature importances as an output of a ML model at such a high level that indicates this element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). See the Applicant’s specification ¶[0032-33] describing the additional element of implementing a machine learning model to calculate training data points that can be used to evaluate accuracy and adjust the model at such a high level that indicates this additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Hence, these features do not provide an inventive concept / significantly more.
As discussed above in Step 2A Prong Two with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements regarding the inputting historical pricing data are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering data for subsequent determining / comparing), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e. adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception does not provide integration into a practical application in Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The use of the computer (i.e. computing device, first machine learning model) in these steps merely represents using a generic / general purpose computer as a tool, and is not indicative of an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Furthermore, these inputting historical pricing data steps are also claimed at a high level of generality, and/or as insignificant extra-solution activities (e.g. data gathering) representing computer functions that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions that do not present an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) in particular receiving or transmitting data over a network (Symantec), a computer receives and sends information over a network (buySAFE). See the Applicant’s specification ¶[0014], ¶[0017], ¶[0040] describing the element of sourcing historical pricing data within a database as input to the ML model to train the model at such a high level that indicates this element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Hence, these features do not provide an inventive concept / significantly more.
Also, as discussed above in Step 2A Prong Two with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the Step 2A Prong One organizing human activity elements regarding the inputting feature importances are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering data for determining training data points), and also amounts to the extra-solution activity of data gathering, which is not a practical application or an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The use of the computer (i.e. computing device, second ML model) in these steps merely represents using a generic / general purpose computer as a tool, and is not indicative of an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Furthermore, these inputting feature importances steps are also claimed at a high level of generality, and/or as insignificant extra-solution activities (e.g. data gathering) representing computer functions that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions that do not present an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) in particular receiving or transmitting data over a network (Symantec), a computer receives and sends information over a network (buySAFE). See the Applicant’s specification ¶[0032] describing the element of inputting feature importances into a machine learning model at such a high level that indicates this element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Hence, these features do not provide an inventive concept / significantly more.
Also, as discussed above in Step 2A Prong Two with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the Step 2A Prong One organizing human activity elements regarding the producing training data points are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. a general means of outputting data results of determining training data points), and also amounts to the extra-solution activity of outputting data / transmitting data, which is not a practical application or an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The use of the computer (i.e. computing device, second ML model) in these steps merely represents using a generic / general purpose computer as a tool, and is not indicative of an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Furthermore, these producing training data points steps are also claimed at a high level of generality, and/or as insignificant extra-solution activities (e.g. data gathering) representing computer functions that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions that do not present an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) in particular receiving or transmitting data over a network (Symantec), a computer receives and sends information over a network (buySAFE). See the Applicant’s specification ¶[0033] describing the element of producing a predetermined number of training data points at such a high level that indicates this element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Hence, these features do not provide an inventive concept / significantly more.
The claims do not improve another technology or technical field. Instead, the claims represent a generic implementation of certain methods of organizing human activities ‘applied’ by generic / general purpose computers, generally ‘applied’ to a field of use / technology, and using general computer components in extra-solution capacities such as data gathering. The claims do not provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. At best, the claims are more directed towards solving a business / economic / entrepreneurial problem (i.e. what price to charge for transporting a product, how accurate is a pricing model), that is tangentially associated with a technology element (e.g. computers, machine learning), rather than solving a technology based problem. See MPEP 2106.05(a). The claims do not improve the functioning of a computer itself. The claims do not improve the functioning of machine learning itself. The claims are more directed towards improving business / economic / entrepreneurial processes rather than improving a computer outside of a business use, i.e. using computers a tool. The claims do not apply the judicial exception with or by use of a particular machine. The claims do not effect a transformation or reduction to a particular article to a different state or thing. The claims do not add a specific limitation other than what is well understood, routine, and conventional in a way that confines the claim to a particular useful application.
Viewing the claim limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at each of the claim limitations individually, both with respect to the independent claims 1, 9, 17, and further considering the addition of dependent claims 3, 5-8, 11, 13-16, and 20. Note that the combination of limitations and claim elements add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately, simply reciting implementation as performed by using generic computers / general computer components, see Alice (2014), and does not provide a non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of various computer components to achieve a technical improvement, see BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility LLC (2016). Hence, the ordered combination of elements does not provide significantly more. With respect to the dependent claims:
Dependent claims 3 and 11: The limitation wherein the second ML model is a nearest-neighbors model further limits the additional element of machine learning (the second ML model), which still only generally links use of the judicial exception to a field of use / technological environment (machine learning with nearest neighbors / k-nearest neighbors (KNN)). Also note that nearest neighbor modeling represents a judicial exception as mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships). See the Applicant’s specification ¶[0032] describing the additional element of machine learning models using nearest neighbors as a model for regression at such a high level that indicates this element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Similar to the independent claims, this recitation does not meaningfully integrate the abstract idea in a practical application, and is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 5 and 13: The limitation providing, by the computing device, the one or more training data points is further directed to a method of organizing human activity (managing personal behavior, following rules or instructions) as described in the independent claim. The recitation of the computing device / processing device is a computer component recited at a high level of generality and amounts to ‘applying’ the abstract idea on a generic computer. Similar to the independent claims, this recitation does not meaningfully integrate the abstract idea in a practical application, and is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 6 and 14: The limitation converting, by the computing device, the pick-up date into an integer by calculating a number of days since a predetermined date of a data set is further directed to a method of organizing human activity (managing personal behavior, following rules or instructions), and mathematical concept (mathematical relationship) as described in the independent claim. The recitation of the computing device / processing device is a computer component recited at a high level of generality and amounts to ‘applying’ the abstract idea on a generic computer. Similar to the independent claims, this recitation does not meaningfully integrate the abstract idea in a practical application, and is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 7 and 15: The limitations wherein the first ML model is a gradient boosting tree model further limits the additional element of machine learning (the first ML model), which still only generally links use of the judicial exception to a field of use / technological environment (machine learning with GBT). Also note that gradient boosting represents a judicial exception as mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships). See the Applicant’s specification ¶[0028] describing the additional element of machine learning models using gradient boosting for regression at such a high level that indicates this element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Similar to the independent claims, this recitation does not meaningfully integrate the abstract idea in a practical application, and is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 8, 16, and 20: The limitations adding, by the computing device, a percentage to the transportation price, thereby resulting in a retail price; and providing, by the computing device, the retail price to a second computing device are further directed to certain methods of organizing human activities (fundamental economic practices, managing personal behavior, following rules or instructions), and mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations) as described in the independent claim. The recitation of the computing device and a second computing device are computer components recited at a high level of generality and amounts to ‘applying’ the abstract idea on a generic computer. Similar to the independent claims, these recitations do not meaningfully integrate the abstract idea in a practical application, and are not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Therefore claims 1, 9, 17, and the dependent claims 3, 5-8, 11, 13-16, and 20 and all limitations taken both individually and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, nor do they include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13-17, and 20 are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, 11, 13, and 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication 2024/0185172 A1 to Delchev et al. in view of US patent application publication 2001/0051852 A1 to Sundaravel et al. in view of “Hybrid Approach to Cost Estimation of External-Fleet Full Truckload Contracts” (Algorithms 2023, 16, 360) to Cyperski et al. in view of US patent application publication 2020/0311541 A1 to Cmielowski et al.
Claim 1:
With respect to the following:
A method comprising:
converting, by a computing device, zip codes of pick-up locations and drop-off locations of historical pricing data into latitudes and longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data;
Delchev, as shown in ¶[0028], ¶[0065-66], ¶[0073] details collecting historical data of orders and aggregates, transforms and processes that data for use with a machine learning model for price prediction; the training data includes the latitude / longitude of origin, latitude / longitude of delivery, and the price paid to one or more carriers transporting the vehicle (historical pricing data), which are used by the model; and the training data may be augmented to include zip codes (geographic location information); but does not explicitly state converting, by a computing device, zip codes of pick-up locations and drop-off locations of historical data into latitudes and longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data. However, Sundaravel teaches this remaining limitation, converting the geographic location information obtained from a data source to a specific coordinate system (e.g. latitude and longitude reference system) when it receives a zip code or area code, based on the centroid of the zip code (Sundaravel ¶[0050], ¶[0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include converting, by a computing device, zip codes locations (pickup locations and drop off locations, per Delchev) of historical data (pricing data, per Delchev) into latitudes and longitudes of the locations as taught by Sundaravel with the teachings of Delchev, with the motivation of “efficient and rapid comparison of locations” (Sundaravel ¶[0050]). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include converting, by a computing device, zip codes locations (pickup locations and drop off locations, per Delchev) of historical data (pricing data, per Delchev) into latitudes and longitudes of the locations as taught by Sundaravel in the system of Delchev, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. See MPEP 2141 citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Delchev (in view of Sundaravel) also teaches the following:
inputting, by the computing device, the historical pricing data that includes the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations into a first machine learning (ML) model (Delchev ¶[0028], ¶[0045], ¶[0063-64] details training the model with the collected historical data that has been transformed, the training data includes origin and destination latitude / longitude coordinates and price paid to carriers for transporting);
receiving, by the computing device, a request to transport a product, the request including a pick-up location, a drop-off location, and a pick-up date (Delchev Fig 4-5, Fig 10C, ¶[0068], ¶[0078-79], ¶[0102-104] details receiving a transportation request including the origin location, destination location, and shipping date / date the vehicle (product) will be available for pickup);
determining, by the computing device, a first latitude and a first longitude of the pick-up location and a second latitude and a second longitude of the drop-off location (Delchev ¶[0054], ¶[0065] details obtaining the GPS coordinates of both the origin location and the destination location for the machine learning servers, and the coordinate information used by the system includes latitudes and longitudes coordinates of the pickup and drop-off locations);
determining, by the first ML model, a calculated price for transporting the product (Delchev Fig 4-5, ¶[0056], ¶[0082] details the machine learning servers determine a predicted automobile transportation price using the first trained machine learning model, which may corresponds to the price to transport the vehicles at the time the request is received), wherein determining of the calculated price comprises:
With respect to the following:
comparing the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude to the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data, and
extrapolating the calculated price for the pick-up location and the drop-off location from one or more pick-up locations and one or more drop-off locations, from the historical pricing data, located on each side of the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude;
Delchev, as shown in ¶[0054-56], ¶[0065-66], ¶[0081-82] details using the pickup / drop off locations which may the GPS coordinate locations (first latitude, first longitude, second latitude, second longitude) to then predict the automobile transportation price using the machine learning model, which the model is based on the historical delivery record locations which include the latitudes / longitude / price paid; but does not explicitly state comparing the pickup / drop off locations to the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data; and extrapolating the calculated price for the pick-up location and the drop-off location from one or more pick-up locations and one or more drop-off locations, from the historical pricing data, located on each side of the pickup / drop off locations. However, Cyperski teaches these remaining limitations using KNN estimation, (1) for each new pickup / unloading location (i.e. pickup and drop-off location) find the most similar neighbors (previous orders) of the preprocessed records grouped as a cluster mapped by DBSCAN, i.e. comparing the pickup / drop off locations (of the request) to the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data (Cyperski Fig 4, pg. 6-7 section 2.2.2 DEBSCAN Clustering, pg. 9-10 section 3.2 DBSCAN Clustering), and (2) then determining the final price estimation from the nearest neighbors (i.e. the historic latitude / longitude) using the weighted mean of the k = 5 nearest neighbors costs from the model (i.e. extrapolating the price), and noting the historic delivery data is plotted on maps representing coordinate data in Figures 3-4. (Cyperski pg. 9 Fig 3, pg. 10 Fig. 4 and section 3.2 DBSCAN clustering, pg. 11 section 3.3 kNN cost Estimation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include comparing the pickup / drop off locations (i.e. first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude, per Delchev above) of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data; and extrapolating the calculated price for the pick-up location and the drop-off location from one or more pick-up locations and one or more drop-off locations, from the historical pricing data, located on each side of the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude as taught by Cyperski with the teachings of Delchev in view of Sundaravel, with the motivation “to allow one to estimate the cost for totally new locations” (Cyperski pg. 9 section 3.2 DEBSCAN Clustering). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include comparing the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude to the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data, and extrapolating the calculated price for the pick-up location and the drop-off location from one or more pick-up locations and one or more drop-off locations, from the historical pricing data, located on each side of the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude as taught by Cyperski in the system of Delchev in view of Sundaravel , since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. See MPEP 2141 citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Delchev (in view of Sundaravel in view of Cyperski) also teaches the following:
obtaining, by the computing device, one or more feature importances from the first ML model (Delchev Fig 5, ¶[0042], ¶[0064], claim 1 details obtaining results of the pricing model and using these results to periodically train the models (e.g. recurrent neural networks), weighing the most recent / previous day results data with the highest importance when training);
inputting, by the computing device, the one or more feature importances into a second ML model (Delchev ¶[0042], ¶[0064], ¶[0067], ¶[0071], ¶[0095], claim 1 details using the results of the pricing model to train the machine learning models weighing the most recent / previous day results with the highest importance when training (i.e. feature importances), and ¶[0071] details using two different trained machine learning models allows for each model to be updated with a different frequency (e.g. periodic / daily) and with different goals (e.g. one for current price now, one for price fluctuations in the future), thus by using two separate trained machine learning models each can be updated (e.g. discarded and trained anew, further trained) in a manner that optimally benefits its training goals, i.e. inputting the previous results (one or more feature importances) into a second ML model);
determining, by the second ML model, one or more training data points that are related to a determination of the calculated price for transporting the product, the one or more training data points determined based on having highest weight in determining the calculated price for transporting the product (Delchev ¶[0042], ¶[0064], ¶[0067-68], ¶[0071], claim 1 details using two different machine learning models for predicting prices where each machine learning model is updated with different frequency and goals (e.g. one for current price now, one for price fluctuations in the future), and Fig 5, ¶[0095] after executing both the first and second ML models using results to periodically train the machine learning models based on user reactions to prices to the modified price predictions (i.e. training data points related to a determination of calculated price), and claim 1, claim 19 training may comprise weighting with the higher importance being the most recent data pricing data, i.e. highest weight);
producing, by the second ML model, the one or more training data points to the computing device (Delchev ¶[0042], ¶[0064], ¶[0067-68], ¶[0071], claim 1 details using two different machine learning models for predicting prices (e.g. one for current price now, one for price fluctuations in the future), and Fig 5, ¶[0095] details using the price results of the pricing models with user reactions to train the machine learning models, i.e. producing by the second ML model the one or more training data points to the computing device);
With respect to the following:
evaluating, by the computing device, the accuracy of the first ML model based on the one or more training data points produced by the second ML model; and
adjusting, by the computing device, the first ML model based on the evaluation of the accuracy.
Delchev, as shown in ¶[0042], ¶[0064], ¶[0067-68], ¶[0071], claim 1 details using two different machine learning models for predicting prices (e.g. one for current price now, one for price fluctuations in the future), and Fig 5, ¶[0095] details using the price results of the pricing models with user reactions (i.e. feedback data) to train one or both of the machine learning models (i.e. training data points produced by the second ML model, and adjusting the first ML model); but does not explicitly state evaluating by the computing device the accuracy of the first ML model based on the one or more training data points (feedback data); and adjusting by the computing device the first ML model based on the evaluation of the accuracy. However, Cmielowski teaches these remaining limitations, evaluating the accuracy of a first machine learning model using feedback data, noting that the feedback process includes labels and deviations from the target value (i.e. pricing model results and user reactions, per Delchev) and when the quality value is below a threshold, then trigger a retraining process of the model, i.e. adjusting the first ML model based on the evaluation of the accuracy (Cmielowski Fig 1, ¶[0018-20], ¶[0037], ¶[0039], claims 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include evaluating, by the computing device, the accuracy of the first ML model based on feedback data (i.e. the one or more training data points produced by the second ML model, per Delchev above); and adjusting, by the computing device, the first ML model based on the evaluation of the accuracy as taught by Cmielowski with the teachings of Delchev in view of Sundaravel in view of Cyperski, with the motivation of “improving a machine learning process” (Cmielowski ¶[0001], ¶[0010]). Claim 3:
Delchev in view of Sundaravel in view of Cyperski in view of Cmielowski, as shown above, teaches the limitations of claim 1. Cyperski also teaches the following:
wherein the second ML model is a nearest-neighbors model (Cyperski pg. 6-7 section 2.2.3 The kNN Estimation, pg. 9 section 3.2 DBSCAN Clustering details using kNN (nearest neighbor) modeling for the machine learning estimation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the second ML model is a nearest-neighbors model as taught by Cyperski with the teachings of Delchev in view of Sundaravel (in view of Cyperski in view of Cmielowski), with the motivation “to allow one to estimate the cost for totally new locations” (Cyperski pg. 9 section 3.2 DEBSCAN Clustering). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the second ML model is a nearest-neighbors model as taught by Cyperski in the system of Delchev in view of Sundaravel (in view of Cyperski in view of Cmielowski), since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. See MPEP 2141 citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 5:
Delchev in view of Sundaravel in view of Cyperski in view of Cmielowski, as shown above, teaches the limitations of claim 1. Delchev also teaches the following:
providing, by the computing device, the one or more training data points (Delchev ¶[0045] details collecting training data and testing data sets).
Claim 7:
Delchev in view of Sundaravel in view of Cyperski in view of Cmielowski, as shown above, teaches the limitations of claim 1. Delchev also teaches the following:
wherein the ML model is a gradient boosting tree model (Delchev ¶[0043], ¶[0046] details using gradient descent algorithms, and using gradient boosting with the prediction model).
Claim 8:
Delchev in view of Sundaravel in view of Cyperski in view of Cmielowski, as shown above, teaches the limitations of claim 1. Delchev also teaches the following:
adding, by the computing device, a percentage to the transportation price, thereby resulting in a retail price (Delchev ¶[0085] details adjusting the transportation price by a multiplied percentage, e.g. a 10% increase in the predicted price for the future); and
providing, by the computing device, the retail price to a second computing device (Delchev ¶[0086] details presenting the modified price as an offer to one or more user devices).
Claim 9:
Delchev, as shown, teaches the following:
A system comprising:
a memory storage (Delchev ¶[0062] details memory); and
a processing unit, the processing unit disposed in a station and coupled to the memory storage (Delchev ¶[0062] details processors that execute the instructions stored in memory), wherein the processing unit is operative to:
With respect to the following:
convert zip codes of pick-up locations and drop-off locations of historical pricing data into latitudes and longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data;
Delchev, as shown in ¶[0028], ¶[0065-66], ¶[0073] details collecting historical data of orders and aggregates, transforms and processes that data for use with a machine learning model for price prediction; the training data includes the latitude / longitude of origin, latitude / longitude of delivery, and the price paid to one or more carriers transporting the vehicle (historical pricing data), which are used by the model; and the training data may be augmented to include zip codes (geographic location information); but does not explicitly state converting zip codes of pick-up locations and drop-off locations of historical data into latitudes and longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data. However, Sundaravel teaches this remaining limitation, converting the geographic location information obtained from a data source to a specific coordinate system (e.g. latitude and longitude reference system) when it receives a zip code or area code, based on the centroid of the zip code (Sundaravel ¶[0050], ¶[0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include converting zip codes locations (pickup locations and drop off locations, per Delchev) of historical data (pricing data, per Delchev) into latitudes and longitudes of the locations as taught by Sundaravel with the teachings of Delchev, with the motivation of “efficient and rapid comparison of locations” (Sundaravel ¶[0050]). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include converting zip codes locations (pickup locations and drop off locations, per Delchev) of historical data (pricing data, per Delchev) into latitudes and longitudes of the locations as taught by Sundaravel in the system of Delchev, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. See MPEP 2141 citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Delchev (in view of Sundaravel) also teaches the following:
input historical pricing data that includes the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations into a first machine learning (ML) model (Delchev ¶[0028], ¶[0045], ¶[0063-64] details training the model with the collected historical data that has been transformed, the training data includes origin and destination latitude / longitude coordinates and price paid to carriers for transporting);
receive a request to transport a product, the request including a pick-up location, a drop-off location, and a pick-up date (Delchev Fig 4-5, Fig 10C, ¶[0068], ¶[0078-79], ¶[0102-104] details receiving a transportation request including the origin location, destination location, and shipping date / date the vehicle (product) will be available for pickup);
determine a first latitude and a first longitude of the pick-up location and a second latitude and a second longitude of the drop-off location (Delchev ¶[0054], ¶[0065] details obtaining the GPS coordinates of both the origin location and the destination location for the machine learning servers, and the coordinate information used by the system includes latitudes and longitudes coordinates of the pickup and drop-off locations);
use the first ML model to determine a calculated price for transporting the product (Delchev Fig 4-5, ¶[0056], ¶[0082] details the machine learning servers determine a predicted automobile transportation price using the first trained machine learning model, which may corresponds to the price to transport the vehicles at the time the request is received), wherein determine the calculated price includes use the first ML model to:
With respect to the following:
compare the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude to the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data, and
extrapolate the calculated price for the pick-up location and the drop-off location from one or more pick-up locations and one or more drop-off locations, from the historical pricing data, located on each side of the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude;
Delchev, as shown in ¶[0054-56], ¶[0065-66], ¶[0081-82] details using the pickup / drop off locations which may the GPS coordinate locations (first latitude, first longitude, second latitude, second longitude) to then predict the automobile transportation price using the machine learning model, which the model is based on the historical delivery record locations which include the latitudes / longitude / price paid; but does not explicitly state comparing the pickup / drop off locations to the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data; and extrapolating the calculated price for the pick-up location and the drop-off location from one or more pick-up locations and one or more drop-off locations, from the historical pricing data, located on each side of the pickup / drop off locations. However, Cyperski teaches these remaining limitations using KNN estimation, (1) for each new pickup / unloading location (i.e. pickup and drop-off location) find the most similar neighbors (previous orders) of the preprocessed records grouped as a cluster mapped by DBSCAN, i.e. comparing the pickup / drop off locations (of the request) to the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data (Cyperski Fig 4, pg. 6-7 section 2.2.2 DEBSCAN Clustering, pg. 9-10 section 3.2 DBSCAN Clustering), and (2) then determining the final price estimation from the nearest neighbors (i.e. the historic latitude / longitude) using the weighted mean of the k = 5 nearest neighbors costs from the model (i.e. extrapolating the price), and noting the historic delivery data is plotted on maps representing coordinate data in Figures 3-4. (Cyperski pg. 9 Fig 3, pg. 10 Fig. 4 and section 3.2 DBSCAN clustering, pg. 11 section 3.3 kNN cost Estimation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include comparing the pickup / drop off locations (i.e. first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude, per Delchev above) of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data; and extrapolating the calculated price for the pick-up location and the drop-off location from one or more pick-up locations and one or more drop-off locations, from the historical pricing data, located on each side of the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude as taught by Cyperski with the teachings of Delchev in view of Sundaravel, with the motivation “to allow one to estimate the cost for totally new locations” (Cyperski pg. 9 section 3.2 DEBSCAN Clustering). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include comparing the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude to the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data, and extrapolating the calculated price for the pick-up location and the drop-off location from one or more pick-up locations and one or more drop-off locations, from the historical pricing data, located on each side of the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude as taught by Cyperski in the system of Delchev in view of Sundaravel , since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. See MPEP 2141 citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Delchev (in view of Sundaravel in view of Cyperski) also teaches the following:
receive, from the ML model, a calculated price for transporting the product (Delchev Fig 4-5, ¶[0056], ¶[0082] details the machine learning servers determine a predicted automobile transportation price using the first trained machine learning model, which may corresponds to the price to transport the vehicles at the time the request is received, i.e. pickup date / time);
obtain one or more feature importances from the first ML model (Delchev ¶[0042], ¶[0064], ¶[0091], claim 1 details obtaining results of the pricing model and using these results to periodically train the models (e.g. recurrent neural networks), weighing the most recent / previous day results data with the highest importance when training);
provide, by the computing device, the one or more feature importances into a second ML model (Delchev Fig 5, ¶[0042], ¶[0064], ¶[0067], ¶[0071], ¶[0095], claim 1 details using the results of the pricing model to train the machine learning models weighing the most recent / previous day results with the highest importance when training (i.e. feature importances), and ¶[0071] details using two different trained machine learning models allows for each model to be updated with a different frequency (e.g. periodic / daily) and with different goals (e.g. one for current price now, one for price fluctuations in the future), thus by using two separate trained machine learning models each can be updated (e.g. discarded and trained anew, further trained) in a manner that optimally benefits its training goals, i.e. inputting the previous results (one or more feature importances) into a second ML model);
determine, by the second ML model, one or more training data points that are related to a calculation of the calculated price for transporting the product, the one or more training data points determined based on having highest weight in determining the calculated price for transporting the product (Delchev ¶[0042], ¶[0064], ¶[0067-68], ¶[0071], claim 1 details using two different machine learning models for predicting prices where each machine learning model is updated with different frequency and goals (e.g. one for current price now, one for price fluctuations in the future), and Fig 5, ¶[0095] after executing both the first and second ML models using results to periodically train the machine learning models based on user reactions to prices to the modified price predictions (i.e. training data points related to a determination of calculated price), and claim 1, claim 19 training may comprise weighting with the higher importance being the most recent data pricing data, i.e. highest weight); and
producing, by the second ML model, the one or more training data points (Delchev ¶[0042], ¶[0064], ¶[0067-68], ¶[0071], claim 1 details using two different machine learning models for predicting prices (e.g. one for current price now, one for price fluctuations in the future), and Fig 5, ¶[0095] details using the price results of the pricing models with user reactions to train the machine learning models, i.e. producing by the second ML model the one or more training data points to the computing device);
With respect to the following:
evaluate the accuracy of the first ML model based on the one or more training data points; and
adjust the first ML model based on the evaluation of the accuracy.
Delchev, as shown in ¶[0042], ¶[0064], ¶[0067-68], ¶[0071], claim 1 details using two different machine learning models for predicting prices (e.g. one for current price now, one for price fluctuations in the future), and Fig 5, ¶[0095] details using the price results of the pricing models with user reactions (i.e. feedback data) to train one or both of the machine learning models (i.e. training data points produced by the second ML model, and adjusting the first ML model); but does not explicitly state evaluating by the computing device the accuracy of the first ML model based on the one or more training data points (feedback data); and adjusting by the computing device the first ML model based on the evaluation of the accuracy. However, Cmielowski teaches these remaining limitations, evaluating the accuracy of a first machine learning model using feedback data, noting that the feedback process includes labels and deviations from the target value (i.e. pricing model results and user reactions of the second ML model, per Delchev) and when the quality value is below a threshold, then trigger a retraining process of the model, i.e. adjusting the first ML model based on the evaluation of the accuracy (Cmielowski Fig 1, ¶[0018-20], ¶[0037], ¶[0039], claims 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include evaluating the accuracy of the first ML model based on feedback data (i.e. the one or more training data points, per Delchev above); and adjusting the first ML model based on the evaluation of the accuracy as taught by Cmielowski with the teachings of Delchev in view of Sundaravel in view of Cyperski, with the motivation of “improving a machine learning process” (Cmielowski ¶[0001], ¶[0010]).
Claim 11:
Claim 11 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 3 and therefore claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning presented above for claim 3.
Claim 13:
Claim 13 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 5 and therefore claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning presented above for claim 5.
Claim 15:
Claim 15 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 7 and therefore claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning presented above for claim 7.
Claim 16:
Claim 16 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 8 and therefore claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning presented above for claim 8.
Claim 17:
Claim 17 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 1 and therefore claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning presented above for claim 1.
Claim 20:
Claim 20 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 8 and therefore claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning presented above for claim 8.
Novelty / Non-Obviousness
Claims 6 and 14 are not rejected under 35 USC 102 or 35 USC 103. The Examiner knows of no art which teaches or suggests the combination of all features as recited in claim 6 (including all claimed features in the claims which claim 6 is dependent on), and similarly recited in claim 14 (including all claimed features in the claims which claim 14 is dependent on). The following reference(s) teach the additional individual features in the limitations of claims 6 and 14, however the Examiner has determined it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine these additional references in combination with the previously applied references (e.g. claims 1 and 9: Delchev in view of Sundaravel in view of Cyperski in view of Cmielowski) to render claims 6 and 14 obvious.
Claims 6 and 14:
converting, by a computing device, zip codes of pick-up locations and drop-off locations of historical pricing data into latitudes and longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data;
inputting, by the computing device, the historical pricing data that includes the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations into a first machine learning (ML) model;
receiving, by the computing device, a request to transport a product, the request including a pick-up location, a drop-off location, and a pick-up date;
determining, by the computing device, a first latitude and a first longitude of the pick-up location and a second latitude and a second longitude of the drop-off location;
determining, by the first ML model, a calculated price for transporting the product, wherein determining the calculated price comprises:
comparing, by the first ML model, the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude to the latitudes and the longitudes of the pick-up locations and the drop-off locations of the historical pricing data, and
extrapolating the calculated price for the pick-up location and the drop-off location from one or more pick-up locations and one or more drop-off locations, from the historical pricing data, located on each side of the first latitude, the first longitude, the second latitude, and the second longitude;
obtaining, by the computing device, one or more feature importances from the first ML model;
inputting, by the computing device, the one or more feature importances into a second ML model;
determining, by the second ML model, one or more training data points that are related to a determination of the calculated price for transporting the product, the one or more training data points determined based on having highest weight in determining the calculated price for transporting the product;
producing, by the second ML model, the one or more training data points to the computing device;
evaluating, by the computing device, the accuracy of the first ML model based on the one or more training data points produced by the second ML model; and
adjusting, by the computing device, the first ML model based on the evaluation of the accuracy;
converting, by the computing device, the pick-up date into an integer by calculating a number of days since a predetermined date of a data set.
The prior art of Delchev (US 2024/0185172 A1) details using machine learning to generate a price prediction for a given shipping day (i.e. predetermined date), and then generating price predictions for the weeks before and after that date, i.e. data set as [predetermined date – 7 days] through [predetermined date + 7 days]) (Delchev ¶[0070]).
The prior art of Enuka (US 2021/0256156 A1) details converting a date into an integer by calculating a number of days since a predetermined date of a data set, by normalizing data in pre-processing for machine learning by determining the number of days from a fixed date (e.g. Jan 1 1970) to the given date, and using this metadata date value that has been converted to an integer value subtracted from the fixed date (Enuka Abstract, ¶[0073]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRIAN TALLMAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/BRIAN A TALLMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/MICHAEL P HARRINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628