DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 20 discloses its dependency from claim 10 and it was interpreted as drawing its dependency from claim 18. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and or (a)(2) as being anticipated by US-20240284456-A1 to Elkotby et al., from hereon Elkotby.
Regarding claim 1 Elkotby teaches..a method of wireless communication of a user equipment (UE), comprising (Abs discloses…Procedures, methods, architectures, apparatuses, systems, devices, and computer program products related to a Wireless Transmit-Receive Unit (WTRU) operating in a network, for supporting paging using an Ultra-Low Power (ULP) receiver ): receiving a unified waveform signal from a base station, wherein the unified waveform signal comprises an On-Off Keying (OOK) signal and an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) signal; determining whether an indicator in the OFDM signal indicates that the unified waveform signal is a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) (Fig. 3 and 4, P. 231 discloses…a WTRU receiving configurations of multiple paging cycles, …triggered paging, the RAN node may configure the ULP-capable WTRUs with multiple paging); decoding the LP-WUS when the indicator indicates that the unified waveform signal is the LP-WUS (P.151 ); and terminating a decoding operation when the indicator indicates that the unified waveform signal is not the LP-WUS (P.151, discloses… n a condition that the paging DCI is successfully decoded (and a configured sub-group identifier is detected, if available), the WTRU determines the paging message transmission configuration, e.g., scheduled time and frequency resources and modulation and coding scheme, and transitions to Uu RRC IDLE state (e.g., switches to PDSCH channel monitoring/decoding) within a maximum time duration based on the paging message's scheduling information. Otherwise, the WTRU transitions to Uu RRC IDLE state (e.g., switches to PDCCH/PDSCH channel monitoring and decoding) within a maximum time duration based on the configured/signaled paging DCI's PO configuration of the conventional receiver. In a fifth step, the WTRU utilizes the conventional receiver to decode the corresponding paging message to the decoded LP-PO or PO).
Regarding claim 10 Elkbotby teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, the apparatus being a user equipment (UE), comprising (Abs discloses… Procedures, methods, architectures, apparatuses, systems, devices, and computer program products related to a Wireless Transmit-Receive Unit (WTRU) operating in a network, for supporting paging using an Ultra-Low Power (ULP) receiver): a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to (P. 43 discloses the processor 118 may perform signal coding, data processing, power control, input/output processing, and/or any other functionality that enables the WTRU 102 to operate in a wireless environment. The processor 118 may be coupled to the transceiver 120, which may be coupled to the transmit/receive element 122. While FIG. 1B depicts the processor 118 and the transceiver 120 as separate components, it will be appreciated that the processor 118 and the transceiver 120 may be integrated together, e.g., in an electronic package or chip …): receiving a unified waveform signal from a base station, wherein the unified waveform signal comprises an On-Off Keying (OOK) signal and an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) signal; determining whether an indicator in the OFDM signal indicates that the unified waveform signal is a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) (Fig. 3 and 4, P. 231 discloses…a WTRU receiving configurations of multiple paging cycles, …triggered paging, the RAN node may configure the ULP-capable WTRUs with multiple paging); decoding the LP-WUS when the indicator indicates that the unified waveform signal is the LP-WUS (P.151 ); and terminating a decoding operation when the indicator indicates that the unified waveform signal is not the LP-WUS(P.151, discloses… n a condition that the paging DCI is successfully decoded (and a configured sub-group identifier is detected, if available), the WTRU determines the paging message transmission configuration, e.g., scheduled time and frequency resources and modulation and coding scheme, and transitions to Uu RRC IDLE state (e.g., switches to PDSCH channel monitoring/decoding) within a maximum time duration based on the paging message's scheduling information. Otherwise, the WTRU transitions to Uu RRC IDLE state (e.g., switches to PDCCH/PDSCH channel monitoring and decoding) within a maximum time duration based on the configured/signaled paging DCI's PO configuration of the conventional receiver. In a fifth step, the WTRU utilizes the conventional receiver to decode the corresponding paging message to the decoded LP-PO or PO).
Regarding claim 18 Elkotby teaches…the. A computer-readable medium storing computer executable code for wireless communication of a user equipment (UE), comprising code to (P.434 discloses… computer-readable media include electronic signals (transmitted over wired or wireless connections) and computer-readable storage media. Examples of computer-readable storage media ): receiving a unified waveform signal from a base station, wherein the unified waveform signal comprises an On-Off Keying (OOK) signal and an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) signal (Fig. 3 and 4, P. 231 discloses…a WTRU receiving configurations of multiple paging cycles, …triggered paging, the RAN node may configure the ULP-capable WTRUs with multiple paging); determining whether an indicator in the OFDM signal indicates that the unified waveform signal is a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) ((Fig. 3 and 4, P. 231 discloses…a WTRU receiving configurations of multiple paging cycles, …triggered paging, the RAN node may configure the ULP-capable WTRUs with multiple paging); decoding the LP-WUS when the indicator indicates that the unified waveform signal is the LP-WUS; and terminating a decoding operation when the indicator indicates that the unified waveform signal is not the LP-WUS ((P.151, discloses…a condition that the paging DCI is successfully decoded (and a configured sub-group identifier is detected, if available), the WTRU determines the paging message transmission configuration, e.g., scheduled time and frequency resources and modulation and coding scheme, and transitions to Uu RRC IDLE state (e.g., switches to PDSCH channel monitoring/decoding) within a maximum time duration based on the paging message's scheduling information. Otherwise, the WTRU transitions to Uu RRC IDLE state (e.g., switches to PDCCH/PDSCH channel monitoring and decoding) within a maximum time duration based on the configured/signaled paging DCI's PO configuration of the conventional receiver. In a fifth step, the WTRU utilizes the conventional receiver to decode the corresponding paging message to the decoded LP-PO or PO).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 9, 11, 12, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20240284456-A1 to Elkotby et al., from hereon Elkotby in view of US-20260205949-A1 to Ma et al., from hereon Ma.
Regarding claim 2 Elkotby teaches..the method of claim 1,but does not teach…wherein an OFDM sequence in the OFDM signal corresponds to an ON symbol of the OOK signal, wherein the method further comprises obtaining all information bits through the OFDM sequence.
Ma teaches… wherein an OFDM sequence in the OFDM signal corresponds to an ON symbol of the OOK signal, wherein the method further comprises obtaining all information bits through the OFDM sequence (P. 111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Elkotby by incorporating the teachings of Ma because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration of sequences indicated by bits based on transmission periodicity (Ma, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 3 Elkotby teaches…the method of claim 1, does not teach…wherein an OFDM sequence in the OFDM signal does not contain information bits of the LP-WUS, wherein the method further comprises obtaining all information bits through an ON/OFF pattern of the OOK signal.
Ma teaches… wherein an OFDM sequence in the OFDM signal does not contain information bits of the LP-WUS, wherein the method further comprises obtaining all information bits through an ON/OFF pattern of the OOK signal(P. 69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Elkotby by incorporating the teachings of Ma because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration of sequences indicated by bits based on transmission periodicity (Ma, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 9 Elkotby teaches…the method of claim 1, but does not teach…further comprising: monitoring an entire slot corresponding to the unified waveform signal; and decoding symbols of the OFDM signal and symbols of the OOK signal when first two OFDM symbols in a control resource set indicate that the unified waveform signal is the LP-WUS
Ma teaches… further comprising: monitoring an entire slot corresponding to the unified waveform signal; and decoding symbols of the OFDM signal and symbols of the OOK signal when first two OFDM symbols in a control resource set indicate that the unified waveform signal is the LP-WUS (P.110 discloses… UE may be configured or pre-configured to monitor one or more low density sequence(s) before triggering the decoding of a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS). The one or more sequence(s) may be used to indicate different LP-WUS decoding configurations, e.g., different data rates, lengths, bandwidths, or structures. The low density sequence in this scenario acts as a preamble that precedes the LP-WUS or that is part of the LP-WUS ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Elkotby by incorporating the teachings of Ma because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration of sequences indicated by bits based on transmission periodicity (Ma, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 11 Elkotby teaches…the apparatus of claim 10, but does not teach…wherein an OFDM sequence in the OFDM signal corresponds to an ON symbol of the OOK signal, wherein the at least one processor is configured to obtaining all information bits through the OFDM sequence.
Ma teaches… wherein an OFDM sequence in the OFDM signal corresponds to an ON symbol of the OOK signal, wherein the at least one processor is configured to obtaining all information bits through the OFDM sequence(P. 111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Elkotby by incorporating the teachings of Ma because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration of sequences indicated by bits based on transmission periodicity (Ma, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 12 Elkotby teaches…the apparatus of claim 10, but does not teach…wherein an OFDM sequence in the OFDM signal does not contain information bits of the LP-WUS, wherein the at least one processor is configured to obtaining all information bits through an ON/OFF pattern of the OOK signal.
Ma teaches… wherein an OFDM sequence in the OFDM signal does not contain information bits of the LP-WUS, wherein the at least one processor is configured to obtaining all information bits through an ON/OFF pattern of the OOK signal (P.69 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Elkotby by incorporating the teachings of Ma because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration of sequences indicated by bits based on transmission periodicity (Ma, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 17 Elkotby teaches…the apparatus of claim 10, but does not teach…herein the at least one processor is further configured to monitoring an entire slot corresponding to the unified waveform signal; and decoding symbols of the OFDM signal and symbols of the OOK signal when first two OFDM symbols in a control resource set indicate that the unified waveform signal is the LP-WUS.
no
Ma teaches…herein the at least one processor is further configured to monitoring an entire slot corresponding to the unified waveform signal; and decoding symbols of the OFDM signal and symbols of the OOK signal when first two OFDM symbols in a control resource set indicate that the unified waveform signal is the LP-WUS (P. 110-111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Elkotby by incorporating the teachings of Ma because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration of sequences indicated by bits based on transmission periodicity (Ma, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 19 Elkotby teaches…the computer-readable medium of claim 18, but does not teach…wherein an OFDM sequence in the OFDM signal corresponds to an ON symbol of the OOK signal, wherein the at least one processor is configured to obtaining all information bits through the OFDM sequence.
Ma teaches… wherein an OFDM sequence in the OFDM signal corresponds to an ON symbol of the OOK signal, wherein the at least one processor is configured to obtaining all information bits through the OFDM sequence (P. 111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Elkotby by incorporating the teachings of Ma because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration of sequences indicated by bits based on transmission periodicity (Ma, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 20 Elkotby teaches…the computer-readable medium of claim 18, but does not teach…wherein an OFDM sequence in the OFDM signal does not contain information bits of the LP-WUS, wherein the at least one processor is configured to obtaining all information bits through an ON/OFF pattern of the OOK signal.
Ma teaches… wherein an OFDM sequence in the OFDM signal does not contain information bits of the LP-WUS, wherein the at least one processor is configured to obtaining all information bits through an ON/OFF pattern of the OOK signal(P.69 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Elkotby by incorporating the teachings of Ma because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration of sequences indicated by bits based on transmission periodicity (Ma, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the main reason for objection of the claims under discussion is the inclusion of “wherein each candidate OFDM sequence corresponds to an ON symbol of the OOK signal or each candidate OFDM sequence has consecutive OFDM symbols”, “the OFDM sequence corresponds to an ON symbol of the OOK signal and contains part of the information bits of the LP-WUS”, and “the OFDM sequence corresponds to an ON symbol of the OOK signal and contains all information bits of the LP-WUS” as the prior art of record in stand-alone form nor in combination read into the disclosed claims as supported by the specification. Furthermore, the nearest prior art such as US-20240015655-A1, WO-2024092291-A2 to Yang, EP-4106235-B1 to Liu, and CN-120858624-A to LV are silent on .
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO form PTO-892: US-20240015655-A1, WO-2024092291-A2 to Yang, EP-4106235-B1 to Liu, and CN-120858624-A to LV .
/L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476