DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to an application filed on 10/01/2024.
Claims 1-9 are pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the current value" in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the winding" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the inductance value" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the resistance value" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the motor" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the control mode" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the determination result" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the square " in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recite “the motor)” in line 8, the typographical error (the bracket after motor) needs to be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the current value" in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the winding" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the inductance value" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the resistance value" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the motor" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the control mode" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “determination unit” and “a switching unit” in claim 1, “a control unit” in claim 4, “a calculation unit” in claim 6, “a determination step” in claim 8 and “a switching step” in claim 8.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Shimizu et al. (US 2022/0412612 A1 and Shimizu hereinafter).
As to claims 1, 6, 8 and 9, Shimizu in its teachings as shown in Fig.1-13 disclose a semiconductor device/ a switching method/ a program that causes a computer to run comprising (see [0027] and [0058] – [0059]) comprising:
a determination unit for (14) determining whether the current value of the winding exceeds a threshold value after a predetermined time based on at least one of the inductance value and the resistance value of the winding inside the motor (…an increase in the temperatures of the compressor 1 and the motor 8 changes the resistance, inductance, etc. of the motor 8, and hence changes the current flowing through the motor 8, that is, current values detected by the current detection unit 31. In general, a change in a current value caused by a change in temperature and detected by the current detection unit 31 has a time constant longer than that of a change in the current value caused by a change in the stop position of the rotor 120, that is, the magnetic-pole position and detected by the current detection unit 31. The control switching determination unit 14 can therefore accurately detect whether the stop position of the rotor 120, that is, the magnetic-pole position has changed, by using the gradient of change in current values or the like in addition to comparison with the threshold values described in the first to third embodiments…see [0079]); and
a switch unit (9) for switching the control mode of the motor Based on the determination result of the determination unit (see Fig13, S306: the control switching determination unit 14 determines that the stop position of the rotor 120 of the motor 8 has changed, and stops outputting the mode switching signal for instructing the steady heating control unit 13 to operate- see also ([0080] - [0083])).
As to claim 6, Shimizu disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1 further comprising a calculation unit for calculating an increase amount per unit time of the current value based on the inductance value and the resistance value, comprising, wherein the determination unit determines whether the current value exceeds the threshold value based on the measurement result of the current sensor for measuring the current value and the increase amount per unit time (see [0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu in view of Hagimoto et al. (US2021/0171010 A1 and Hagimoto hereinafter).
As to claim 2, Shimizu disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, however, it doesn’t explicitly disclose:
wherein the switch unit switches the control mode from a rectangular wave control mode to PWM control mode value when the current value is determined to exceed the threshold
Nonethless, Hagimoto in its teachings as shown in Fig.1-15 disclose that when the electronic control unit (HVECU) 7 determines that the SOC of the battery 6 is equal to or higher than the predetermined level (YES in step S4), the HVECU 7 changes the operating point of the generation motor MG1 from the rectangular wave control mode region to the PWM control mode region (step S5) (see [0069])
Therefore, it would have been an obvious modification before the effective filing date of the instant application to switch between a rectangular wave control mode to PWM control mode as thought by Hagimoto within the teachings of Shimizu for a precise, efficient, and smooth control of power or speed, reduced harmonic distortion, better dynamic response, and easier integration with modern digital control systems.
As to claim 7, Shimizu in view of Hagimoto disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the determination unit determines whether the current value exceeds the threshold value when the rotation speed of the motor exceeds a predetermined speed (Hagimoto: see [0051] – [0053]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu in view of Nakai (US2014/0152205 A1).
As to claim 3, Shimizu disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, however, it doesn’t explicitly disclose:
wherein the switch unit switches the control mode from PWM control mode to the square wave control mode when the current value is determined not to exceed the threshold value
Nonetheless, Nakai in its teachings as shown in Fig.1-20 disclose as shown schematically in FIG. 4, in a range I in which the number of revolutions is low is used the sine wave PWM control mode so as to reduce a torque variation, and in a range II in which the number of revolutions is middle is used the overmodulation PWM control mode, and in a range III in which the number of revolutions is high is used the square wave control mode (see [0075])
Therefore, it would have been an obvious modification before the effective filing date of the instant application to switch from the control mode from PWM control mode to the square wave control mode as thought by Nakai within the teachings of Shimizu so that the output of the AC motor can be enhanced (see also [0075]).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu in view of Hagimoto and in further view of Sasaki et al. (US2011/0080124 A1 and Sasaki hereinafter).
As to claim 4, Shimizu in view of Hagimoto disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 2, however, it doesn’t explicitly disclose:
a plurality of switching elements for generating a voltage applied to the winding; a gate driver for driving the gate of each switching element; an IPS (Inductive Position Sensor) for measuring the rotational angle of the motor); and a control unit for controlling the operation of the gate driver based on the control mode and the rotation angle
Nonetheless, Sasaki in its teachings as shown in Fig.1-7 disclose a plurality of switching elements for generating a voltage applied to the winding (inverter 3); a gate driver for driving the gate of each switching element (The current controller 7 converts the velocity command to a current command, generates a PWM gate signal, transmits the command for driving the semiconductor device 201 of the inverter 3, and the motor 13 is driven – see [0030]); an IPS for measuring the rotational angle of the motor (14) and a control unit (5) for controlling the operation of the gate driver (7) based on the control mode and the rotation angle (see [0024])
Therefore, it would have been an obvious modification before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a control unit for controlling the operation of the gate driver based on the control mode and the rotation angle as thought by Sasaki within the teachings of Shimizu and Hagimoto in order to enable an efficient switching and minimize losses.
As to claim 5, Shimizu in view of Hagimoto and Sasaki disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 4, wherein the determination unit determines whether the timing generated by the timer is within a first period in which the current value increases, and when the timing is within the first period, the current value exceeds the threshold (Sasaki: see [0043]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (US 2022/0231628 A1: The first square wave control mode using the square wave pulse pattern is used when the voltage acting on the inverter is equal to or higher than the threshold voltage. On the other hand, when the voltage acting on the inverter is lower than the threshold voltage, a square wave pulse pattern is used when the rotation speed of the motor is equal to or higher than the first predetermined rotation speed that is higher than the first resonance region, and the second square wave control mode using the first switching pattern for suppressing the LC resonance in the first resonance region is used when the rotation speed of the motor is lower than the first predetermined rotation speed – see [Abstract]).
/GABRIEL AGARED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837