DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites ‘In a vehicle including a plurality of wheels and a plurality of wheel wells, a wheel monitoring system comprising:’, and dependent claim recite ‘The wheel monitoring system according to claim 1’. It is unclear what limitation 1 is claim the vehicle with the plurality of wheels and wheel wells or the wheel monitoring system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dixit (US-20020084896-A1).
In regards to claim 1, Dixit teaches In a vehicle including a plurality of wheels and a plurality of wheel wells, a wheel monitoring system comprising: (abstract; (10 fig.1, ‘tire condition communication system’; 14(A-D), 44 fig(s) 1-2, ‘plurality of inflatable tires’, ‘wheel well’; para(s) [0020-0029])
a plurality of tags for wirelessly sending electromagnetic signals, wherein at least one tag of the plurality of tags is mounted, separated from each wheel, in each wheel well of the plurality of wheel wells; and (42(A-D) fig(s(s), ‘identification provision units’; 44 fig. 2, ‘wheel well’; para(s) [0020-0029])
a plurality of tag readers for wirelessly receiving and reading electromagnetic signals; (48(A-D) fig(s) 1-2,’communication portion’; para(s) [0020-0029])
wherein each one of the wheels comprises one tag reader of the plurality of tag readers for receiving electromagnetic signals sent by one of the tags mounted in a wheel well in which the respective wheel is mounted. (10 fig.1, ‘tire condition communication system’; para(s) [0020-0029]; 50, 50’, 56 fig(s) 5-6, ‘identification request signal’, ‘magnetic interrogation emitter component’)
In regards to claim 2, Dixit teaches a wheel monitoring system according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein the one of the tags is mounted to a non-rotatable member in the wheel well in which the respective wheel is mounted. (42(A-D) fig(s(s), ‘identification provision units’; 44 fig. 2, ‘wheel well’; para(s) [0020-0029])
In regards to claim 3, Dixit teaches a wheel monitoring system according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein the tag comprises one or more of a transceiver, a transponder, and a transmitter for sending the electromagnetic signals, and wherein the tag reader comprises one or more of a transceiver, a transponder, and a receiver for receiving the electromagnetic signals. (10 fig.1, ‘tire condition communication system’; para(s) [0020-0029]; 50, 50’, 56 fig(s) 5-6, ‘identification request signal’, ‘magnetic interrogation emitter component’)
In regards to claim 4, Dixit teaches a wheel monitoring system, according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein each tag comprises information indicating one or more of an individual mounting position of the tag, and a unique identifier of the tag. (fig(s) 3-4, ‘location identification response’, ‘tire condition message’; abstract, ‘identification provision unit 42A; para(s) [0007, 0025-0064])
In regards to claim 5, Dixit teaches a wheel monitoring system according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein the tag is one of an RFID tag, an LF tag, an SAW tag, and an NFC tag. (para(s) [0005, 0022, 0035, 0038]; ‘radio’]
In regards to claim 6, Dixit teaches a wheel monitoring system according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein each of the wheels comprises a communication system which comprises one of the tag readers, and wherein the communication system is further adapted to wirelessly send information based on received electromagnetic signals of the one of the tags. (42(A-D), 48(A-D) fig(s(s), ‘identification provision units’, ’communication portion’; 44 fig. 2, ‘wheel well’; 10 fig.1, ‘tire condition communication system’; para(s) [0020-0029])
In regards to claim 7, Dixit teaches a wheel monitoring system according to claim 6, (see claim rejection 6) wherein each of the wheels comprises a tire and a rim, and wherein the tire comprises a tire monitoring system comprising a tire pressure sensor and the communication system. (14(A-D), 18(A-D), 42(A-D) fig. 2, ‘plurality of inflatable tires’, ‘tire condition sensor units’, ‘identification provision units’; para(s) [0001-0005])
In regards to claim 8, Dixit teaches a wheel monitoring system according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein each wheel comprises a rim, a valve, and a tire, and wherein the tag reader is mounted to one of the rim, the valve, and the tire. (14(A-D), 18(A-D), 42(A-D), 44 fig. 2, ‘plurality of inflatable tires’, ‘tire condition sensor units’, ‘identification provision units’, ‘wheel well’)
In regards to claim 9, Dixit teaches a wheel monitoring system according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein at least one of the wheel wells comprises at least two wheels, and wherein the wheel well comprising the at least two wheels comprises at least two spatially separated tags. (42(A-D) fig(s(s), ‘identification provision units’; 44 fig. 2, ‘wheel well’; para(s) [0020-0029])
In regards to claim 10, Dixit teaches a wheel monitoring system according to claim 9, (see claim rejection 9) wherein the at least two spatially separated tags are fixed to one or more non-rotatable members in the at least one wheel well. (abstract; 10 fig. 1; 12, 14a, 42a, 44 fig. 2)
In regards to claim 11, Dixit teaches a wheel monitoring system according to claim 9, (see claim rejection 9) wherein one of the at least two spatially separated tags is closest to one of the at least two wheels and another one of the at least two spatially separated tags is closest to another one of the at least two wheels. (42(A-D) fig(s(s), ‘identification provision units’; 44 fig. 2, ‘wheel well’; para(s) [0020-0029]; 10 fig. 1, abstract)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dixit (US-20020084896-A1).
In regard to claim 12, Dixit teaches a wheel monitoring system for a vehicle, the vehicle comprising a plurality of wheels, and the system comprising: (abstract; (10 fig.1, ‘tire condition communication system’; 14(A-D), 44 fig(s) 1-2, ‘plurality of inflatable tires’, ‘wheel well’; para(s) [0020-0029])
a plurality of tags mounted separately from the wheels to the vehicle and adapted to wirelessly transmit electromagnetic signals; (42(A-D) fig(s(s), ‘identification provision units’; 44 fig. 2, ‘wheel well’; para(s) [0020-0029])
a plurality of tag readers wherein one tag reader of the plurality of tag readers is mounted to each of the plurality of wheels and is adapted to wirelessly receive electromagnetic signals; (abstract; claim 1; 18(A-D), 22(A-D), 28, 30 fig(s), ‘18(A-D)-tire condition sensor units ‘, ‘transmitter’, ‘central vehicle-based unit’, ‘radio frequency antenna’)
wherein each tag of the plurality of tags comprises unique information identifying at least one of the tag and a mounting position of the tag, and wherein the tag is adapted to wirelessly transmit this unique information; and (abstract, ‘identification provision unit 42A; para(s) [0007, 0025-0064])
wherein each tag of the plurality of tags is mounted closer to one of the wheels than to any other of the wheels so that each tag of the plurality of tags is closest to only one of the wheels and so that a tag reader of the one of the wheels receives the unique information from the tag closest to the one of the wheels. (para(s) [0008, 0027-0028, claims 9, 27)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dixit (US-20020084896-A1).
In regards to claim 13, Dixit teaches a method of locating mounting positions of wheels of a vehicle, comprising the steps of: (abstract; (10 fig.1, ‘tire condition communication system’; 14(A-D), 44 fig(s) 1-2, ‘plurality of inflatable tires’, ‘wheel well’; para(s) [0020-0029])
providing a plurality of tag readers, wherein one tag reader of the plurality of tag readers is mounted to each of the wheels mounted to the vehicle; (42(A-D) fig(s(s), ‘identification provision units’; 44 fig. 2, ‘wheel well’; para(s) [0020-0029])
providing a plurality of tags, wherein each one of the plurality of tags is mounted separately from the wheels to the vehicle at one mounting position of the mounting positions of wheels;
receiving with one of the tag readers, which is mounted to one of the wheels, information from one of the tags, which is mounted closest to the one of the tag readers, wherein the information indicates one or more of the mounting position of the one of the tags and a unique identification of the one of the tags; and (42(A-D), 48(A-D) fig(s(s), ‘identification provision units’, ’communication portion’; 44 fig. 2, ‘wheel well’; 10 fig.1, ‘tire condition communication system’; para(s) [0020-0029])
identifying a mounting position of the one of the wheels based on the information received from the one of the tags. (para(s) [0001, 0005]; 24(A-D) fig(s) ,’condition signals/signal location I.D.’)
In regards to claim 14, Dixit teaches a method according to claim 13, (see claim rejection 13) wherein each one of the tag readers mounted to one of the wheels receives information from one of the tags mounted closest to the respective tag reader, which indicates one or more of the mounting position of the respective tag and a unique identification of the respective tag. (42(A-D) fig(s(s), ‘identification provision units’; 44 fig. 2, ‘wheel well’; para(s) [0020-0029]; 10 fig. 1, abstract)
In regards to claim 15, Dixit teaches a method according to claim 13, (see claim rejection 13) wherein the method comprises the step of identifying mounting positions of all wheels based on information received from tags mounted to the vehicle at their respective mounting positions. (abstract, ‘identification provision unit 42A; para(s) [0001, 0005, 0007, 0025-0064]; 24(A-D) fig(s) ,’condition signals/signal location I.D.’)
In regard to claim 16, Dixit teaches a method according to claim 13, (see claim rejection 13) wherein the method comprises the step of attaching the tag reader to one or more of a rim and a tire of the respective wheel. (fig(s) 9-10); para(s) [0027, 0052], ‘Each identification provision unit (e.g., 42A) is fixedly mounted on the vehicle 12 at or adjacent to the area of attachment of the respective tire (e.g., 14A) to the vehicle.’)
In regards to claim 17, Dixit teaches a method according to claim 13, (see claim rejection 13) wherein the method comprises the step of attaching at least one tag in one wheel well of the vehicle. (42(A-D) fig(s(s), ‘identification provision units’; 44 fig. 2, ‘wheel well’; para(s) [0020-0029])
In regards to claim 18, Dixit teaches a method according to claim 13, (see claim rejection 13) wherein the tag reader sends a request to the one of the tags which responds to the tag reader upon the request by providing information indicating one or more of its mounting position and its unique identifier. (fig(s) 3-4, ‘location identification response’, ‘tire condition message’; fig(s) 5-10; para(s) [0020-0064])
In regards to claim 19, Dixit teaches a method according to claim 13, (see claim rejection 13) wherein the method further comprises the step of transmitting, from at least one wheel, tire status information of the at least one wheel together with an identified mounting position of the at least one wheel. (abstract, ‘identification provision unit 42A; para(s) [0007, 0025-0064])
In regards to claim 20, Dixit teaches a method according to claim 19, (see claim rejection 19) wherein the tire status information comprises one or more of tire pressure information, tire temperature information, tire load information, tire type information, tire footprint information, tire stiffness information, tire friction information, and tire tread wear information. (claims 14, 19)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited Singh (US-12344049-B2), Morris (US-20240190187-A1), and Sharma (US-202401900188-A1) references further describe a tire sensor system as described by the claims.
/K.C.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852