Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Kuramochi’s signal wiring layer 32 (the alleged upper surface wiring layer) is not located above the base layer 41, and the surface containing the ground wiring layer 42 (the alleged lower surface wiring layer is not located under base layer 41.
In response, the Examiner takes position that in a three dimensional space when two wiring layers are located on both surfaces of a substrate, either one of them may be considered as an upper or a lower surface wiring layer. Kuramochi’s ground layer 42 may be considered as the claimed upper surface wiring located above the base layer 41, and Kuramochi’s signal wiring layer 32 may be considered as the claimed lower surface wiring layer located under the base layer 41. Hong discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1 except that two wiring layers located on both surfaces of a substrate. Kuramochi teaches that it is known in the art that two wiring layers are located on both surfaces of a substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 20210274645), in view of Kuramochi (US 6143990).
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses an optical module comprising:
a package (communication device 400, Fig. 7A) including a substrate (the printed circuit board 410) that includes a first signal wiring (the layer containing the signal wiring 463) formed on a first wiring layer (the signal wiring 463), and a first ground wiring (the ground plain 466) formed on a second wiring layer (the layer containing the ground plain 466) located below the first wiring layer (463); and
a flexible printed circuit board (the flexible printed circuit board 500) including a second signal wiring (signal wiring 523), and a second ground wiring (the ground plain 525 and 526) formed on the lower surface wiring layer,
wherein the second signal wiring includes a lead portion (the portion of 523 near 4001) protruding from the base layer in a first direction,
the second ground wiring includes a ground terminal (connection 5001, Fig. 6C, on ground layer 525) located further inside the flexible printed circuit board in the first direction than the lead portion,
the lead portion is connected to the first signal wiring (523), and
the ground terminal is connected to the first ground wiring (525).
Hong does not explicitly disclose a flexible printed circuit board including a base layer, an upper surface wiring layer located above the base layer, and a lower surface wiring layer located under the base layer.
Kuramochi teaches a flexible printed circuit board (the flexible circuit board 20, Fig. 2 & 4) including a base layer (layer 41), an upper surface wiring layer (surface containing wiring layer 32. The wiring layer 32 is considered as an upper layer when rotate the Fig. 4 by 180 degree) located above the base layer (41), and a lower surface wiring layer (the surface containing the wiring layer 42) located under the base layer (41).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include several wiring layers on both surfaces of a circuit substrate in order to fit all the intended components in the limited space of the circuit substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Hong, in view of Kuramochi, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Kuramochi further suggests the first ground wiring (the ground wiring layer 42, Fig. 4) is located further outside the package (layer 42 is on a surface of the substrate 41) in the first direction than the first signal wiring (32).
Regarding claim 4, Hong, in view of Kuramochi, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Kuramochi further suggests the upper surface wiring layer (layer 42 is on the surface of layer 41) is located on the base layer (41), and the lower surface wiring layer (layer 32 is on the surface of layer 41) is located under the base layer.
Regarding claim 6, Hong, in view of Kuramochi, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1.
Hong does not explicitly disclose the lead portion located above the ground terminal.
Hong suggests the pad (4611, Fig. 7A) located above the ground via (5001).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the location of the components in order to fit all the required components into the intended circuitry.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ban (US 20100215324 A1), in view of Hong (US 20210274645).
Regarding claim 5, Ban discloses a flexible printed circuit board (5, Fig. 2D) comprising:
an upper surface wiring layer (the layer containing the signal line 1);
a lower surface wiring layer (the layer containing the ground line 3); and
a base layer (layer 5) disposed between the upper surface wiring layer and the lower surface wiring layer,
wherein a second signal wiring (the signal line layer 1) is formed on the upper surface wiring layer, a second ground wiring (the ground line layer 3) is formed on the lower surface wiring layer, and
the upper surface wiring layer (the layer containing lines 1 & 2, Fig. 2D) is located above the base layer (the base film 5), and the lower surface wiring layer (the layers containing line 3) is located under the base layer.
Ban does not explicitly disclose the second signal wiring includes a lead portion protruding from the base layer in a first direction, the second ground wiring includes a ground terminal located further inside the flexible printed circuit board in the first direction than the lead portion, the lead portion is connected to a first signal wiring of a substrate provided in a package of an optical module, and the ground terminal is connected to the first ground wiring of the substrate.
Ban suggests the module is an optical module (see abstract).
Hong teaches the second signal wiring (signal wiring 523) includes a lead portion (the portion around 5231) protruding from the base layer (5101) in a first direction, the second ground wiring (ground wiring 525) includes a ground terminal (5001, Fig. 6C) located further inside the flexible printed circuit board in the first direction than the lead portion, the lead portion is connected to a first signal wiring (layer 463, Fig. 7A) of a substrate (substrate 400) provided in a package of an optical module (an optical module suggested by Ban), and the ground terminal (5001) is connected to the first ground wiring (466) of the substrate (400).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the substrates in order to electrically connect to substrate together to form a complete circuitry of the circuit board.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that the substrate includes a first dielectric layer located between the first wiring layer and the second wiring layer, and a second dielectric layer located on a side opposite to the first dielectric layer when viewed from the second wiring layer, an end portion of the first signal wiring in a direction opposite to the first direction is separated from the base layer of the flexible printed circuit board, and an end portion of the second ground wiring in the first direction is separated from the first dielectric layer. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847