DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/14/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/01/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al., (hereinafter Lee), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0288431.
As per claim 1, Lee discloses a carrier determining method [paragraphs 0006, 0111, 0114, 0115, 0131, 0155, a carrier determining method (efficient carrier selection method)], wherein the method comprises:
determining, by a terminal, a second carrier and/or a plurality of third carriers from a plurality of first carriers based on first information of at least some carriers in the plurality of first carriers [fig. 6, 7, 9, paragraphs 0020, 0114, 0115, 0142, 0154, determining, by a terminal, a second carrier and/or a plurality of third carriers from a plurality of first carriers based on first information of at least some carriers in the plurality of first carriers (selecting one or more carriers from among a plurality of preconfigured carriers based on a priority of the carriers and the importance level of the selected one or more sidelink messages; three carriers of carrier #1, carrier #2, and carrier #3 are configured for a UE)],
wherein the second carrier is used to determine synchronization information of the second carrier and/or synchronization information of a fourth carrier [paragraphs 0015, 0114, 0126, wherein the second carrier is used to determine synchronization information of the second carrier and/or synchronization information of a fourth carrier (a carrier on which a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) is transmitted; transmission on a different carrier may be performed based on a synch source)];
the plurality of third carriers are used for sidelink (SL) transmission [fig. 7, paragraphs 0020, 0114, 0115, 0122, 0126, 0131, the plurality of third carriers are used for sidelink (SL) transmission (the selected one or more sidelink messages may be preferentially transmitted through a carrier)];
the plurality of first carriers meet a first condition; and the plurality of third carriers meet a second condition [paragraphs 0016, 0019, 0115, 0126, 0135, 0136, 0145, 0154, the plurality of first carriers meet a first condition; and the plurality of third carriers meet a second condition (e.g., carrier #3, which has the highest priority; carrier #1 having the next highest priority)].
As per claim 5, Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of first carriers comprise at least one of the following:
a plurality of carriers used for carrier aggregation (CA) transmission; a plurality of carriers used for multi-carrier transmission; a plurality of carriers used for SL transmission; a first carrier set; a second carrier set; or a third carrier set [paragraphs 0020, 0114, 0126, 0129, 0155, a plurality of carriers used for SL transmission (a plurality of carriers preconfigured for UE 1 from a base station or a network; a UE for which a plurality of carriers is previously configured performs sidelink transmission)],
wherein the second carrier set comprises carriers available as synchronization carriers, and the third carrier set comprises an available set of synchronization carriers [paragraphs 0109, 0114, 0121, 0122, 0126, 0137, 0143, 0153, wherein the second carrier set comprises carriers available as synchronization carriers, and the third carrier set comprises an available set of synchronization carriers (priority of the carriers may be such that a carrier on which a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) is transmitted; the primary carrier may be a carrier having a relatively high priority among selected carriers)].
As per claim 6, Lee discloses the method according to claim 1,
wherein the determining, by a terminal, a second carrier from a plurality of first carriers comprises: determining, by the terminal, the second carrier from the plurality of first carriers based on a first rule [paragraphs 0006, 0012-0015, 0020, 0126, 0127, 0139, 0152, determining, by the terminal, the second carrier from the plurality of first carriers based on a first rule (the UE may transmit the information using a plurality of preconfigured carriers; selects one or more carriers from among a plurality of preconfigured carriers based on a priority of the carriers)],
wherein the first rule comprises at least one of the following: determining the second carrier based on a selection priority; determining that a carrier whose signal quality meets the first condition is the second carrier; determining that a carrier whose searched time point meets the second condition is the second carrier; determining that a carrier whose synchronization reference type priority meets a third condition is the second carrier; determining that a carrier whose hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) configuration is enabled or not enabled is the second carrier; determining that a carrier whose period in a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) configuration meets a fourth condition is the second carrier; determining that a carrier whose resource pool meets a fifth condition is the second carrier; determining that a carrier whose second priority meets a sixth condition is the second carrier; or determining that a carrier whose synchronization resource meets a seventh condition is the second carrier [paragraphs 0006, 0012-0015, 0020, 0126, 0127, 0139, 0152, 0154, wherein the first rule comprises at least one of the following: determining the second carrier based on a selection priority (the UE may transmit the information using a plurality of preconfigured carriers; selects one or more carriers from among a plurality of preconfigured carriers based on a priority of the carriers)].
wherein the second priority comprises at least one of the following: a priority or priority group of a synchronization reference; a priority of a service; or a priority of a synchronization resource [paragraphs 0115, 0126, 0137, 0140, 0145, wherein the second priority comprises at least one of the following: a priority or priority group of a synchronization reference; a priority of a service; or a priority of a synchronization resource (secondary carrier may be a carrier having a relatively low priority compared to the primary carrier)]; and
the synchronization resource comprises at least one of the following: a period of a synchronization signal; a quantity of synchronization slots in the period of the synchronization signal; a quantity of repetitions of the synchronization signal; a synchronization slot offset; a time interval of the synchronization signal; or a sub-carrier spacing (SCS), wherein the SCS comprises at least one of the following: an SCS of a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) or an SCS of a carrier [paragraphs 0114, 0118, 0121, 0126, 0129, 0166, the synchronization resource comprises at least one of the following: a period of a synchronization signal (the positions and/or the numbers of synchronization signal (transmission (and/or reception)) resources (and/or the positions and/or the numbers of V2X resource pool-related subframes (and/or the sizes and/or the numbers of subchannels)) in carriers; information on the frequency position/band of the carriers and/or information on the priority of the carriers)].
As per claim 7, Lee discloses the method according to claim 6,
wherein the carrier meeting the first condition comprises at least one of the following: a carrier with highest signal strength; a carrier with lowest signal strength; or a carrier whose signal strength is a first threshold; and/or the carrier meeting the second condition comprises at least one of the following: a carrier whose searched time point is earliest; a carrier whose searched time point is latest; or a carrier whose searched time point is a predetermined time point; and/or the carrier meeting the third condition comprises at least one of the following: a carrier whose synchronization reference type priority is highest; a carrier whose synchronization reference type priority is lowest; or a carrier whose synchronization reference type priority is a predetermined synchronization reference priority; and/or the carrier meeting the fourth condition comprises at least one of the following: a carrier whose period in a PSFCH configuration is longest; a carrier whose period in a PSFCH configuration is shortest; or a carrier whose period in a PSFCH configuration is a first predetermined period; and/or the carrier meeting the fifth condition comprises at least one of the following: a carrier comprising at least one resource pool with a PSFCH resource; a carrier comprising at least one resource pool without a PSFCH resource; a carrier comprising resource pools none of which has a PSFCH resource; or a carrier comprising resource pools all of which have PSFCH resources; and/or the carrier meeting the sixth condition comprises at least one of the following: a carrier whose priority is highest; a carrier whose priority is lowest; or a carrier whose priority is a predetermined priority [paragraphs 0075, 0089, 0090, 0106, wherein the carrier meeting the first condition comprises at least one of the following: a carrier with highest signal strength; a carrier with lowest signal strength; or a carrier whose signal strength is a first threshold (resource pool whose S-RSSI measured by the UE exceed a (pre-)configured threshold)].
As per claim 8, Lee discloses the method according to claim 6,
wherein the carrier meeting the seventh condition comprises at least one of the following: a carrier in which a period of a synchronization signal is longest; a carrier in which a period of a synchronization signal is shortest; a carrier in which a period of a synchronization signal is a second predetermined period; a carrier in which a quantity of synchronization slots in a period is largest; a carrier in which a quantity of synchronization slots in a period is smallest; a carrier in which a quantity of synchronization slots in a period is a predetermined slot quantity; a carrier in which a quantity of repetitions of a synchronization signal is largest; a carrier in which a quantity of repetitions of a synchronization signal is smallest; a carrier in which a quantity of repetitions of a synchronization signal is a predetermined repetition quantity; a carrier in which a synchronization slot offset is largest; a carrier in which a synchronization slot offset is smallest; a carrier in which a synchronization slot offset is a predetermined offset; a carrier in which a time interval of a synchronization signal is longest; a carrier in which a time interval of a synchronization signal is a predetermined time interval; a carrier whose SCS is largest; a carrier whose SCS is smallest; or a carrier whose SCS is a predetermined SCS [paragraphs 0114, 0123, 0166, wherein the carrier meeting the seventh condition comprises at least one of the following: a carrier in which a period of a synchronization signal is longest; a carrier in which a period of a synchronization signal is shortest; a carrier in which a period of a synchronization signal is a second predetermined period; a carrier in which a quantity of synchronization slots in a period is largest; a carrier in which a quantity of synchronization slots in a period is smallest; a carrier in which a quantity of synchronization slots in a period is a predetermined slot quantity (the positions and/or the numbers of synchronization signal (transmission (and/or reception)) resources (and/or the positions and/or the numbers of V2X resource pool-related subframes (and/or the sizes and/or the numbers of subchannels)) in carriers are the same (and/or (partly) different))].
As per claim 9, Lee discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the selection priority is determined based on at least one of the following:
a selection priority relationship; or a selection priority order, wherein the selection priority relationship comprises a mapping relationship between at least one selection priority and at least one carrier [paragraphs 0138, 0139, 0143, 0144, 0153, a selection priority order (rules are (entirely or partly) applied, when congestion occurs in the primary (/prioritized) carrier; priorities of the carriers may be in order of carrier #3, carrier #1, and carrier #2)].
As per claim 10, Lee discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the determining the second carrier based on a selection priority comprises at least one of the following:
determining that a carrier whose selection priority is highest is the second carrier; determining that a carrier whose selection priority is higher than a first predetermined selection priority is the second carrier; determining that a carrier whose selection priority is lowest is the second carrier; determining that a carrier whose selection priority is lower than a second predetermined selection priority is the second carrier; or determining that a carrier whose selection priority is a third selection priority is the second carrier [paragraphs 0138, 0139, 0143, 0144, 0153, 0155, determining that a carrier whose selection priority is highest is the second carrier (rules are (entirely or partly) applied, when congestion occurs in the primary (/prioritized) carrier; priorities of the carriers may be in order of carrier #3, carrier #1, and carrier #2; a carrier having the highest priority according to the priority of a carrier)].
As per claim 11, Lee discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the selection priority is determined based on at least one of the following:
a protocol specification; a network configuration; a preconfiguration; a network indication; synchronization reference priority indication information; first indication information; a synchronization reference order; a synchronization reference type; a synchronization parameter configuration mode; a second priority; a HARQ configuration; a PSFCH configuration; an SCS configuration; a synchronization resource; a carrier frequency; or a carrier index [paragraphs 0020, 0124, 0126, 0127, a preconfiguration (a plurality of preconfigured carriers based on a priority of the carriers; plurality of carriers is preconfigured)].
As per claim 12, Lee discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the selection priority order is determined based on at least one of the following:
synchronization reference priority indication information; first indication information; a synchronization reference order; a synchronization reference type; a synchronization parameter configuration mode; a second priority; a HARQ configuration; a PSFCH configuration; an SCS configuration; a synchronization resource; a carrier frequency; or a carrier index [paragraphs 0015, 0114, 0124, 0126, synchronization reference priority indication information; a carrier frequency (priority of the carriers may be such that a carrier on which a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) is transmitted; transmission/reception-related (time/frequency) synchronization on a different carrier)].
As per claim 13, Lee discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
whether at least one specific synchronization reference needs to be monitored; whether at least one specific synchronization reference needs to be skipped; or whether to synchronize directly or indirectly to at least one specific synchronization reference; and/or the synchronization reference order comprises at least one of the following: a priority order or priority group order of synchronization references; a priority order of services; a priority order of synchronization resources; an order of signal strength; or an order of searched time points; and/or the synchronization reference type comprises at least one of the following: a next generation NodeB (gNB), an evolved NodeB (eNB), a global navigation satellite system (GNSS), user equipment (UE), or a UE internal clock; and/or the synchronization parameter configuration mode comprises at least one of the following: a network configuration or a preconfiguration; and/or the second priority comprises at least one of the following: a priority or priority group of a synchronization reference; a priority of a service; or a priority of a synchronization resource; and/or the HARQ configuration is used to indicate whether HARQ is enabled; and/or the PSFCH configuration comprises at least one of the following: a period of a PSFCH, a time domain position of the PSFCH, a frequency domain position of the PSFCH, configuration information indicating whether a PSFCH resource is configured, or a minimum interval between data and a corresponding PSFCH for feeding back the data; and/or the synchronization resource comprises at least one of the following: a period of a synchronization signal; a quantity of synchronization slots in the period of the synchronization signal; a quantity of repetitions of the synchronization signal; a synchronization slot offset; a time interval of the synchronization signal; or an SCS, wherein the SCS comprises at least one of the following: an SCS of an S-SSB or an SCS of a carrier [paragraphs 0122, 0163, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: whether at least one specific synchronization reference needs to be monitored (applied only to previously configured (/signaled) (specific) V2X channel (/signal) transmission (e.g., PSSCH (and/or (linked) PSCCH and/or PSBCH)))].
As per claim 14, Lee discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the selection priority order is determined based on at least one of the following:
a synchronization reference order of a carrier; a first order corresponding to an overlapping part in a case that a synchronization reference order of a carrier comprises the overlapping part; a synchronization reference order corresponding to a non-overlapping part other than an overlapping part in a case that a synchronization reference order of a carrier comprises the overlapping part; or an arrangement order of carriers [paragraphs 0015, 0114, 0124, 0126, 0138, 0139, 0143, 0144, 0153, a synchronization reference order of a carrier (priority of the carriers may be such that a carrier on which a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) is transmitted; transmission/reception-related (time/frequency) synchronization on a different carrier; priorities of the carriers may be in order of carrier #3, carrier #1, and carrier #2)].
As per claim 15, Lee discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the selection priority order meets at least one of the following:
a selection priority of a carrier with a high synchronization reference priority is higher than a selection priority of a carrier with a low synchronization reference priority or lower than a selection priority of a carrier with a low synchronization reference priority; a synchronization reference priority order of a carrier comprises an overlapping part, and a selection priority of a carrier with a high synchronization reference priority in the overlapping part is higher than a selection priority of a carrier with a low synchronization reference priority in the overlapping part, or lower than a selection priority of a carrier with a low synchronization reference priority in the overlapping part; or a synchronization reference priority order of a carrier comprises an overlapping part, and a selection priority of a carrier with a high synchronization reference priority in a non-overlapping part other than the overlapping part is higher than a selection priority of a carrier with a low synchronization reference priority in the non-overlapping part, or lower than a selection priority of a carrier with a low synchronization reference priority in the non-overlapping part [paragraphs 0115, 0126, 0140, 0144, 0145, a selection priority of a carrier with a high synchronization reference priority is higher than a selection priority of a carrier with a low synchronization reference priority or lower than a selection priority of a carrier with a low synchronization reference priority (the primary carrier may be a carrier having a relatively high priority, and the secondary carrier may be a carrier having a relatively low priority; one or more messages may be transmitted through the carrier having the relatively high priority among the selected one or more carriers and a sidelink message having a relatively low importance level among the selected one or more messages may be transmitted through a carrier having a relatively low priority among the selected one or more carriers)].
As per claim 16, Lee discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the selection priority order is determined based on at least one of the following:
a selection priority of a carrier with a first synchronization reference is higher or lower than a selection priority of a carrier with a second synchronization reference, wherein an order of the first synchronization reference is higher than an order of the second synchronization reference, and/or the first synchronization reference is a predetermined synchronization reference; a selection priority of a carrier with a first HARQ configuration is higher or lower than a selection priority of a carrier with another HARQ configuration different from the first HARQ configuration, wherein the first HARQ configuration is a predetermined HARQ configuration; a selection priority of a carrier with a first PSFCH configuration is higher or lower than a selection priority of a carrier with a second PSFCH configuration; or a selection priority of a carrier with a first SCS is higher or lower than a selection priority of a carrier with a second SCS, wherein the first SCS is greater than the second SCS, and/or the first SCS is a predetermined SCS [paragraphs 0115, 0126, 0140, 0144, 0145, a selection priority of a carrier with a first synchronization reference is higher or lower than a selection priority of a carrier with a second synchronization reference, wherein an order of the first synchronization reference is higher than an order of the second synchronization reference, and/or the first synchronization reference is a predetermined synchronization reference (the primary carrier may be a carrier having a relatively high priority, and the secondary carrier may be a carrier having a relatively low priority; one or more messages may be transmitted through the carrier having the relatively high priority among the selected one or more carriers and a sidelink message having a relatively low importance level among the selected one or more messages may be transmitted through a carrier having a relatively low priority among the selected one or more carriers)].
As per claim 17, Lee discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the selection priority order is determined based on at least one of the following:
a selection priority of a carrier with a first synchronization signal is higher or lower than a selection priority of a carrier with a second synchronization signal, wherein a period of the first synchronization signal is longer than a period of the second synchronization signal, and/or the period of the first synchronization signal is a third predetermined period; a selection priority of a carrier in which a quantity of synchronization slots in a period is a first value is higher or lower than a selection priority of a carrier in which a quantity of synchronization slots in a period is a second value, wherein the first value is greater than the second value, and/or the first value is a first predetermined value; a selection priority of a carrier in which a quantity of repetitions of a synchronization signal is a third value is higher or lower than a selection priority of a carrier in which a quantity of repetitions of a synchronization signal is a fourth value, wherein the third value is greater than the fourth value, and/or the third value is a second predetermined value; a selection priority of a carrier with a first synchronization slot offset is higher or lower than a selection priority of a carrier with a second synchronization slot offset, wherein the first synchronization slot offset is greater than the second synchronization slot offset, and/or the first synchronization slot offset is a predetermined synchronization slot offset; or a selection priority of a carrier with a first time interval of a synchronization signal is higher or lower than a selection priority of a carrier with a second time interval, wherein the first time interval is longer than the second time interval, and/or the first time interval is a predetermined time interval [paragraphs 0115, 0126, 0140, 0144, 0145, a selection priority of a carrier with a first synchronization signal is higher or lower than a selection priority of a carrier with a second synchronization signal, wherein a period of the first synchronization signal is longer than a period of the second synchronization signal, and/or the period of the first synchronization signal is a third predetermined period (the primary carrier may be a carrier having a relatively high priority, and the secondary carrier may be a carrier having a relatively low priority; one or more messages may be transmitted through the carrier having the relatively high priority among the selected one or more carriers and a sidelink message having a relatively low importance level among the selected one or more messages may be transmitted through a carrier having a relatively low priority among the selected one or more carriers)].
As per claim 18, Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the fourth carrier comprise at least one of the following:
a carrier in a second carrier set; a carrier in a third carrier set; all carriers available for carrier aggregation (CA) transmission; a carrier actually used for CA transmission; a carrier once selected for CA transmission; all carriers available for multi-carrier transmission; a carrier actually used for multi-carrier transmission; a carrier once selected for multi-carrier transmission; all carriers available for SL transmission; a carrier actually used for SL transmission; a carrier once selected for SL transmission; or a carrier comprising a synchronization resource, wherein the second carrier set comprises carriers available as synchronization carriers, and the third carrier set comprises an available set of synchronization carriers [paragraphs 0020, 0114, 0121, 0122, 0126, 0129, 0137, 0143, 0153, 0155, a carrier in a second carrier set (a plurality of carriers preconfigured for UE 1 from a base station or a network; a UE for which a plurality of carriers is previously configured performs sidelink transmission); (priority of the carriers may be such that a carrier on which a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) is transmitted; the primary carrier may be a carrier having a relatively high priority among selected carriers)].
As per claim 19, Lee discloses a terminal, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a program or instructions capable of running on the processor, and the program or instructions, when executed by the processor [fig. 12, 18, paragraphs 0210-0213, terminal, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a program or instructions capable of running on the processor, and the program or instructions, when executed by the processor (wireless device 1810 may include one or more processors, such as a processor 1813, and one or more memories, such as a memory 1814; the memory 1814 may be configured to store a software code 1815 including a command which, when executed by the one or more processors, such as the processor 1813)], cause the terminal to perform:
determining a second carrier and/or a plurality of third carriers from a plurality of first carriers based on first information of at least some carriers in the plurality of first carriers [fig. 6, 7, 9, paragraphs 0020, 0114, 0115, 0142, 0154, determining a second carrier and/or a plurality of third carriers from a plurality of first carriers based on first information of at least some carriers in the plurality of first carriers (selecting one or more carriers from among a plurality of preconfigured carriers based on a priority of the carriers and the importance level of the selected one or more sidelink messages; three carriers of carrier #1, carrier #2, and carrier #3 are configured for a UE)],
wherein the second carrier is used to determine synchronization information of the second carrier and/or synchronization information of a fourth carrier [paragraphs 0015, 0114, 0126, wherein the second carrier is used to determine synchronization information of the second carrier and/or synchronization information of a fourth carrier (a carrier on which a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) is transmitted; transmission on a different carrier may be performed based on a synch source)];
the plurality of third carriers are used for sidelink (SL) transmission [fig. 7, paragraphs 0020, 0114, 0115, 0122, 0126, 0131, the plurality of third carriers are used for sidelink (SL) transmission (the selected one or more sidelink messages may be preferentially transmitted through a carrier)];
the plurality of first carriers meet a first condition; and the plurality of third carriers meet a second condition [paragraphs 0016, 0019, 0115, 0126, 0135, 0136, 0145, 0154, the plurality of first carriers meet a first condition; and the plurality of third carriers meet a second condition (e.g., carrier #3, which has the highest priority; carrier #1 having the next highest priority)].
As per claim 20, Lee discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, and the program or instructions, when executed by a processor [fig. 12, 18, paragraphs 0210-0213, a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, and the program or instructions, when executed by a processor (wireless device 1810 may include one or more processors, such as a processor 1813, and one or more memories, such as a memory 1814; the memory 1814 may be configured to store a software code 1815 including a command which, when executed by the one or more processors, such as the processor 1813)], cause the processor to perform:
determining a second carrier and/or a plurality of third carriers from a plurality of first carriers based on first information of at least some carriers in the plurality of first carriers [fig. 6, 7, 9, paragraphs 0020, 0114, 0115, 0142, 0154, determining a second carrier and/or a plurality of third carriers from a plurality of first carriers based on first information of at least some carriers in the plurality of first carriers (selecting one or more carriers from among a plurality of preconfigured carriers based on a priority of the carriers and the importance level of the selected one or more sidelink messages; three carriers of carrier #1, carrier #2, and carrier #3 are configured for a UE)],
wherein the second carrier is used to determine synchronization information of the second carrier and/or synchronization information of a fourth carrier [paragraphs 0015, 0114, 0126, wherein the second carrier is used to determine synchronization information of the second carrier and/or synchronization information of a fourth carrier (a carrier on which a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) is transmitted; transmission on a different carrier may be performed based on a synch source)];
the plurality of third carriers are used for sidelink (SL) transmission [fig. 7, paragraphs 0020, 0114, 0115, 0122, 0126, 0131, the plurality of third carriers are used for sidelink (SL) transmission (the selected one or more sidelink messages may be preferentially transmitted through a carrier)];
the plurality of first carriers meet a first condition; and the plurality of third carriers meet a second condition [paragraphs 0016, 0019, 0115, 0126, 0135, 0136, 0145, 0154, the plurality of first carriers meet a first condition; and the plurality of third carriers meet a second condition (e.g., carrier #3, which has the highest priority; carrier #1 having the next highest priority)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., (hereinafter Lee), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0288431, in view of Kim et al., (hereinafter Kim), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0006318.
As per claim 2, Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following:
synchronization reference orders of at least some carriers are the same, or synchronization reference orders of at least some carriers are different [paragraphs 0114, 0126, synchronization reference orders of at least some carriers are the same, or synchronization reference orders of at least some carriers are different (priority of the carriers may be such that a carrier on which a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) is transmitted (a synchronization reference carrier (e.g., where transmission/reception-related (time/frequency) synchronization on a different carrier)))]; or quantities of symbols occupied by at least some carriers are the same, or quantities of symbols occupied by at least some carriers are different [paragraphs 0166, (numbers of synchronization signal quantities of symbols occupied by at least some carriers are the same, or quantities of symbols occupied by at least some carriers are different (transmission (and/or reception)) resources (and/or the positions and/or the numbers of V2X resource pool-related subframes (and/or the sizes and/or the numbers of subchannels)) in carriers are the same (and/or (partly) different))],
wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: whether at least one specific synchronization reference needs to be monitored; whether at least one specific synchronization reference needs to be skipped; or whether to synchronize directly or indirectly to at least one specific synchronization reference [paragraphs 0122, 0163, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: whether at least one specific synchronization reference needs to be monitored (applied only to previously configured (/signaled) (specific) V2X channel (/signal) transmission (e.g., PSSCH (and/or (linked) PSCCH and/or PSBCH)))];
the synchronization resource comprises at least one of the following: a period of a synchronization signal, a quantity of synchronization slots in the period of the synchronization signal, a quantity of repetitions of the synchronization signal, a synchronization slot offset, a time interval of the synchronization signal, or an SCS [paragraphs 0114, 0126, 0166, the synchronization resource comprises at least one of the following: a period of a synchronization signal, a quantity of synchronization slots in the period of the synchronization signal, a quantity of repetitions of the synchronization signal (the positions and/or the numbers of synchronization signal (transmission (and/or reception)) resources)].
Lee does not explicitly disclose the HARQ configuration is used to indicate whether HARQ is enabled; the PSFCH configuration comprises at least one of the following: a period of a PSFCH, a time domain position of the PSFCH, a frequency domain position of the PSFCH, configuration information indicating whether a PSFCH resource is configured, or a minimum interval between data and a corresponding PSFCH for feeding back the data; and the SCS comprises at least one of the following: an SCS of the synchronization signal or an SCS of a carrier.
However, Kim teaches the HARQ configuration is used to indicate whether HARQ is enabled [paragraphs 0063, 0100, 0101, 0102, 0230, the HARQ configuration is used to indicate whether HARQ is enabled (SCH is transmitted (i.e., when HARQ feedback is enabled); DCI including HARQ-ACK/NACK bit)]; the PSFCH configuration comprises at least one of the following: a period of a PSFCH, a time domain position of the PSFCH, a frequency domain position of the PSFCH, configuration information indicating whether a PSFCH resource is configured, or a minimum interval between data and a corresponding PSFCH for feeding back the data [paragraphs 0017, 0103, 0104, 0127, 0182, 0183, the PSFCH configuration comprises at least one of the following: a period of a PSFCH (a periodicity of the PSFCH)]; and the SCS comprises at least one of the following: an SCS of the synchronization signal or an SCS of a carrier [paragraphs 0087, 0093, 0184, 0243, the SCS comprises at least one of the following: an SCS of a carrier (different subcarrier spacings and/or CP lengths)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Lee by including HARQ configuration as taught by Kim because it would provide the Lee's method with the enhanced capability of improving performance of the communication system [Kim, paragraphs 0004, 0028].
As per claim 3, Lee discloses the method according to claim 1,
wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following: synchronization reference orders of at least some carriers are the same; synchronization reference priority indication information of at least some carriers is the same; first indication information of at least some carriers is the same; hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) configurations of at least some carriers are the same; physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) configurations of at least some carriers are the same; sub-carrier spacing (SCS) configurations of at least some carriers are the same; synchronization resources comprised in at least some carriers are the same; start symbols of at least some carriers are the same; or quantities of symbols occupied by at least some carriers are the same [paragraphs 0015, 0114, 0126, 0166, wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following: synchronization reference orders of at least some carriers are the same; synchronization reference priority indication information of at least some carriers is the same (carrier on which a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) is transmitted has a high priority; a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) is transmitted as a carrier having a relatively high priority; carriers are the same)],
wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: whether at least one specific synchronization reference needs to be monitored; whether at least one specific synchronization reference needs to be skipped; or whether to synchronize directly or indirectly to at least one specific synchronization reference [paragraphs 0122, 0163, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: whether at least one specific synchronization reference needs to be monitored (applied only to previously configured (/signaled) (specific) V2X channel (/signal) transmission (e.g., PSSCH (and/or (linked) PSCCH and/or PSBCH)))];
the synchronization resource comprises at least one of the following: a period of a synchronization signal, a quantity of synchronization slots in the period of the synchronization signal, a quantity of repetitions of the synchronization signal, a synchronization slot offset, a time interval of the synchronization signal, or an SCS [paragraphs 0114, 0126, 0166, the synchronization resource comprises at least one of the following: a period of a synchronization signal, a quantity of synchronization slots in the period of the synchronization signal, a quantity of repetitions of the synchronization signal (the positions and/or the numbers of synchronization signal (transmission (and/or reception)) resources)].
Lee does not explicitly disclose the HARQ configuration is used to indicate whether HARQ is enabled; the PSFCH configuration comprises at least one of the following: a period of a PSFCH, a time domain position of the PSFCH, a frequency domain position of the PSFCH, configuration information indicating whether a PSFCH resource is configured, or a minimum interval between data and a corresponding PSFCH for feeding back the data; and the SCS comprises at least one of the following: an SCS of the synchronization signal or an SCS of a carrier.
However, Kim teaches the HARQ configuration is used to indicate whether HARQ is enabled [paragraphs 0063, 0100, 0101, 0102, 0230, the HARQ configuration is used to indicate whether HARQ is enabled (SCH is transmitted (i.e., when HARQ feedback is enabled); DCI including HARQ-ACK/NACK bit)]; the PSFCH configuration comprises at least one of the following: a period of a PSFCH, a time domain position of the PSFCH, a frequency domain position of the PSFCH, configuration information indicating whether a PSFCH resource is configured, or a minimum interval between data and a corresponding PSFCH for feeding back the data [paragraphs 0017, 0103, 0104, 0127, 0182, 0183, the PSFCH configuration comprises at least one of the following: a period of a PSFCH (a periodicity of the PSFCH)]; and the SCS comprises at least one of the following: an SCS of the synchronization signal or an SCS of a carrier [paragraphs 0087, 0093, 0184, 0243, the SCS comprises at least one of the following: an SCS of a carrier (different subcarrier spacings and/or CP lengths)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Lee by including HARQ configuration as taught by Kim because it would provide the Lee's method with the enhanced capability of improving performance of the communication system [Kim, paragraphs 0004, 0028].
As per claim 4, Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following:
a synchronization reference order; synchronization reference priority indication information; first indication information; a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) configuration; a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) configuration; a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) configuration; a comprised synchronization resource; a start symbol; or a quantity of occupied symbols [paragraphs 0015, 0114, 0126, 0166, synchronization reference orders of at least some carriers are the same; synchronization reference priority indication information of at least some carriers is the same (carrier on which a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) is transmitted has a high priority; a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) is transmitted as a carrier having a relatively high priority; carriers are the same)],
wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: whether at least one specific synchronization reference needs to be monitored; whether at least one specific synchronization reference needs to be skipped; or whether to synchronize directly or indirectly to at least one specific synchronization reference [paragraphs 0122, 0163, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: whether at least one specific synchronization reference needs to be monitored (applied only to previously configured (/signaled) (specific) V2X channel (/signal) transmission (e.g., PSSCH (and/or (linked) PSCCH and/or PSBCH)))];
the synchronization reference order comprises at least one of the following: a priority order or priority group order of synchronization references; a priority order of services; a priority order of synchronization resources; an order of signal strength; or an order of searched time points [paragraphs 0143, 0145, 0153, the synchronization reference order comprises at least one of the following: a priority order or priority group order of synchronization references; a priority order of services; a priority order of synchronization resources (priorities of the carriers configured for the UE may be in order of carriers)];
the synchronization resource comprises at least one of the following: a period of a synchronization signal, a quantity of synchronization slots in the period of the synchronization signal, a quantity of repetitions of the synchronization signal, a synchronization slot offset, a time interval of the synchronization signal, or an SCS [paragraphs 0114, 0126, 0166, the synchronization resource comprises at least one of the following: a period of a synchronization signal, a quantity of synchronization slots in the period of the synchronization signal, a quantity of repetitions of the synchronization signal (the positions and/or the numbers of synchronization signal (transmission (and/or reception)) resources)].
Lee does not explicitly disclose the HARQ configuration is used to indicate whether HARQ is enabled; the PSFCH configuration comprises at least one of the following: a period of a PSFCH, a time domain position of the PSFCH, a frequency domain position of the PSFCH, configuration information indicating whether a PSFCH resource is configured, or a minimum interval between data and a corresponding PSFCH for feeding back the data; and the SCS comprises at least one of the following: an SCS of the synchronization signal or an SCS of a carrier.
However, Kim teaches the HARQ configuration is used to indicate whether HARQ is enabled [paragraphs 0063, 0100, 0101, 0102, 0230, the HARQ configuration is used to indicate whether HARQ is enabled (SCH is transmitted (i.e., when HARQ feedback is enabled); DCI including HARQ-ACK/NACK bit)]; the PSFCH configuration comprises at least one of the following: a period of a PSFCH, a time domain position of the PSFCH, a frequency domain position of the PSFCH, configuration information indicating whether a PSFCH resource is configured, or a minimum interval between data and a corresponding PSFCH for feeding back the data [paragraphs 0017, 0103, 0104, 0127, 0182, 0183, the PSFCH configuration comprises at least one of the following: a period of a PSFCH (a periodicity of the PSFCH)]; and the SCS comprises at least one of the following: an SCS of the synchronization signal or an SCS of a carrier [paragraphs 0087, 0093, 0184, 0243, the SCS comprises at least one of the following: an SCS of a carrier (different subcarrier spacings and/or CP lengths)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Lee by including HARQ configuration as taught by Kim because it would provide the Lee's method with the enhanced capability of improving performance of the communication system [Kim, paragraphs 0004, 0028].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhao et al., U.S. Publication No. 2022/0256483 discloses transmitting the synchronization signal over the one or more selected carriers.
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469