DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3,11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the sensor" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 2 depends from claim 1, which does not include “a sensor”; therefore, the claim contains no earlier recitation or limitation of a sensor making it unclear as what element the limitation is making reference. See MPEP § 2173.05(e).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected as being dependent from claim 2 and therefor including all the limitation thereof.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "pulling the material through the tensioner and the location by moving the print head away from an anchor” which is indefinite. The term “the tensioner” is introduced for the first time in claim 11 and does not appear in any of the preceding claims. Is the tensioner the same as the “tensioner arm” described in earlier claim or it is distinct element ?
For purpose of examination, the limitation has been examined below as if term “the tensioner” read --the tensioner arm--.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "wherein the signal is indicative of operation of the tensioner" in line 1 which is indefinite. The term “the tensioner” is introduced for the first time in claim 15 and does not appear in any of the preceding claims. Is the tensioner the same as the “tensioner arm” described in earlier claim or it is distinct element ? For purpose of examination, the limitation has been examined below as if term “the tensioner” read --the tensioner arm--.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected as being dependent from claim 14 and therefor including all the limitation thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyler (US 2018/0126648 - of record) in view of Miller (US 6,491,773).
Regarding claim 1, Tyler teaches a method for additively manufacturing a composite structure (12) (Abstract; Fig. 1), comprising:
moving a print head (16) with a support (14) (see Fig. 1; [0014]);
directing a reinforcement (R) from a supply (feeders (40)) around a first end of a tensioner .. (tension mechanism (30) coupled to a mounting bracket (50)) to a matrix reservoir (28) in the print head (16) (see Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 5 below; [0023-0024] and [0031]);
wetting the reinforcement with a matrix (M) in the matrix reservoir (28) and discharging the matrix wetted reinforcement (M+R) from the print head (16) during the moving (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 5; [0016] and [0022]); generating a signal using a sensor (38) associated with tension mechanism (30) and used to regulate operation of the supply (40); and selectively adjusting operation of the supply based on the signal (see Figs. 2-3; [0026-0027] and [0029]).
However, Tyler does not explicitly teach that the tension mechanism is tensioner arm; and generating a signal indicative of pivoting of the tensioner arm.
In the same field of endeavor, process for manufacturing of composite structures, Miller teaches a process for manufacturing of composite structures (see column 1, lines 1-5), includes controlling tension of one or more fiber tows using a fiber tension dancer arm (50) has a pivotally connected end mounted in combination with a rotary optical encoder (56) (see annotated Fig. 6 below; column 3, lines 22-25, and column 5, lines 34-45). Miller teaches that any movement of the dancer arm is detected via rotary optical encoder (56) generating a signal indicative of pivoting of the tensioner arm (see annotated Fig. 6 below; column 3, lines 23-28, column 5, lines 34-45 and column 8, lines 1-15). Miller further discloses a controller and associated circuitry to control the tension of the fiber by controlling a motor in response to the position of the dancer arm (Abstract); and the controlling of the tension of one or more fiber tows will provide optimum fiber tow tension, controlling the velocity of the fiber tow, and precisely monitoring fiber travel as the fiber tow is despooled and ultimately applied to a laydown surface (see column 1, lines 12-16 of Miller).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the method for additively manufacturing a composite structure as taught by Tyler in view of Miller with directing a reinforcement from a supply around a first end of tensioner arm; and generating a signal indicative of pivoting of the tensioner arm as such is known in the art of manufacturing of composite structures given the discussion of Miller above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would optimum fiber tow tension, controlling the velocity of the fiber tow, and precisely monitoring fiber travel as the fiber tow is despooled and ultimately applied to a laydown surface (see column 1; Lines 12-16 of Miller).
Regarding claim 2, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, wherein the sensor (56) is located at a second end of the tensioner arm (50) opposite the first end (see annotated Fig. 6 above; column 5, lines 34-44 of Miller).
Regarding claim 3, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, wherein the tensioner arm (50) further includes a redirecting device (redirecting rollers (52,64) configured to rotate at the second end and engage the reinforcement (see annotated Fig. 6 above; column 5, lines 34-44 of Miller).
Regarding claim 4, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, further including exposing the matrix wetted reinforcement (M +R) to cure energy (i.e. cure enhancer (20)) at discharge from the print head (16) (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 5; [0019-0020] of Tyler).
Regarding claim 5, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, wherein the supply (feeder (40)) is mounted to at least one of the support (14) and the print head (see annotated Fig. 5 above; [0026] and [0031] of Tyler).
Regarding claim 6, Tyler teaches a method for additively manufacturing a composite structure (12)) (Abstract; Fig. 1), comprising:
operating a system (10) to move a print head (16) with a support (14) (see Fig. 1;[0013-0014]);
imparting tension to a material (continuous reinforcement (R)) passing through the print head (16) using .. a tension mechanism (30) coupled to a mounting bracket (50 having a first end connected to the print head (16) and a second end engaging the material (R) (see Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 5 above; [0023-0024] and [0031]);
generating a signal using a sensor (38) associated with tension mechanism (30) and affecting operation of the system based on the signal (i.e. the signal information is used to regulate operation of the supply (40) and adjusting operation of the supply based on the signal) (see Figs. 2-3; [0026-0027] and [0029]). However, Tyler does not explicitly teach the tension mechanism includes an arm having a first end pivotally connected to the print head and a second end engaging the material; generating a signal indicative of pivoting of the arm; and affecting operation of the system based on the signal.
In the same field of endeavor, process for manufacturing of composite structures, Miller teaches a process for manufacturing of composite structures (see column 1, lines 1-5), includes controlling tension of one or more fiber tows using a fiber tension dancer arm (50) has a pivotally connected end mounted in combination with a rotary optical encoder (56) (see annotated Fig. 6 above; column 3, lines 22-25, column 5, lines 34-45). Miller discloses that any movement of the dancer arm is detected via the rotary optical encoder (56) which is configured for generating a signal indicative of pivoting of the tensioner arm (see annotated Fig. 6 above; column 3, lines 23-28, and column 5, lines 34-45 and column 8, lines 1-15). Miller further discloses a controller and associated circuitry to control the tension of the fiber by controlling a motor in response to the position of the dancer arm (Abstract); controlling tension of one or more fiber tows will provide optimum fiber tow tension, controlling the velocity of the fiber tow, and precisely monitoring fiber travel as the fiber tow is despooled and ultimately applied to a laydown surface (see column 1, lines 12-16 and column 3, lines 15-25 of Miller).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the method for additively manufacturing a composite structure as taught by Tyler in view of Miller with imparting tension to a material using an arm having a first end pivotally connected to the print head and a second end engaging the material; generating a signal indicative of pivoting of the arm as such is known in the art of manufacturing of composite structures given the discussion of Miller above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would optimum fiber tow tension, controlling the velocity of the fiber tow, and precisely monitoring fiber travel as the fiber tow is despooled and ultimately applied to a laydown surface (see column 1; Lines 12-16 of Miller).
Regarding claim 7, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, further including directing the material (R) from a supply (feeder (40)) mounted to at least one of the support (14) and the print head to the arm (see annotated Fig. 5 above; [0026] and [0031] of Tyler). Miller also disclose guiding fiber tows from spool (32) mounted to the support (30) to the arm (50) (see annotated Fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 8, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, wherein affecting operation of the system (10) includes selectively adjusting a feed rate of the material from the supply based on the signal (see Figs. 2-3; [0026-0027] and [0029] of Tyler).
Regarding claim 9, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, wherein selectively adjusting the feed rate is based at least in part on at least one of: comparing an orientation of the arm to a threshold orientation; or comparing the tension of the material to a threshold tension (i.e. the sensor (38) associated with tension mechanism (30) and used to regulate operation of a feeder (40), and a controller (22) programmed to responsively cause feeder (40) to increase a feed rate of reinforcements (R) to help to reduce the tension within reinforcements (R); and the sensor (38) may then generate a corresponding signal (e.g., a reduced signal or a lack of signal) causing controller (22) to reduce the feed rate of reinforcements R (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 5; [0026] and [0029] of Tyler) .
Regarding claim 10, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, further including at least partially wetting the material (R) with a matrix (M) at a location downstream of the arm (tensioner (30) connected to a mounting bracket 50) (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 5; [0016], [0018], [0022] and [0031] of Tyler; and annotated Fig. 6 of Miller above).
Regarding claim 11, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, further including pulling the material through the tensioner (30) and the location by moving the print head (16) away from an anchor (18) (see Fig. 1;[0018] of Tyler).
Regarding claim 12, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, further including exposing the material to cure energy (i.e. using cure enhancer (20)) at discharge from the print head (16) (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 5; [0019-0020] of Tyler).
Regarding claim 13, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, wherein the supply (feeder (40)) is mounted to at least one of the support (14) and the print head (see annotated Fig. 5 above; [0026] and [0031] of Tyler).
Regarding claim 14, Tyler teaches a method for additively manufacturing a composite structure (12) (Abstract; Fig. 1), comprising:
operating a system (10) to move a print head (16) with a support (14) (see Fig. 1; [0013-0014]);
imparting tension to a reinforcement (R) received at the print head (16) using .. a tension mechanism (30) coupled to a mounting bracket (50) having a first end .. connected to the print head and a redirecting device (guide element 32) located at a second end opposite the first end (see Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 5 above; [0023-0024] and [0031]); and
generating a signal via a sensor (38) located at the first end of the .. tensioner (30) (i.e. the signal information is used to regulate operation of the supply (40) and adjusting operation of the supply based on the signal) (see Figs. 2-3; [0026-0027] and [0029]).
However, Tyler does not explicitly teach imparting tension to a reinforcement using an arm having a first end pivotally connected to the print head; generating a signal via a sensor located at the first end of the arm.
In the same field of endeavor, process for manufacturing of composite structures, Miller teaches a process for manufacturing of composite structures (see column 1, lines 1-5), includes controlling tension of one or more fiber tows using a fiber tension dancer arm (50) has a pivotally connected end mounted in combination with a rotary optical encoder (56) (see annotated Fig. 6 above; column 3, lines 22-25, column 5, lines 34-45). Miller discloses that any movement of the dancer arm is detected via the rotary optical encoder (56) which is configured for generating a signal indicative of pivoting of the tensioner arm (see annotated Fig. 6 above; column 3, lines 23-28, column 5, lines 34-45 and column 8, lines 1-15). Miller further discloses a controller and associated circuitry to control the tension of the fiber by controlling a motor in response to the position of the dancer arm (Abstract); controlling tension of one or more fiber tows will provide optimum fiber tow tension, controlling the velocity of the fiber tow, and precisely monitoring fiber travel as the fiber tow is despooled and ultimately applied to a laydown surface (see column 1, lines 12-16 and column 3, lines 15-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the method for additively manufacturing a composite structure as taught by Tyler in view of Miller with imparting tension to a reinforcement using an arm having a first end pivotally connected to the print head; generating a signal via a sensor located at the first end of the arm as such is known in the art of manufacturing of composite structures given the discussion of Miller above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would optimum fiber tow tension, controlling the velocity of the fiber tow, and precisely monitoring fiber travel as the fiber tow is despooled and ultimately applied to a laydown surface (see column 1; Lines 12-16 of Miller).
Regarding claim 15, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, wherein: wherein the signal is indicative of operation of the tensioner (i.e. the sensor (38)associated with tension mechanism (30) and configured to generate on/off or proportional signal indicative of the movement of tensioner) (see Fig. 2; [0026]); and the method further includes selectively adjusting a feed rate of the reinforcement to the print head based at least in part on the signal (i.e. the sensor (38) configured to generate a corresponding signal (e.g., a reduced signal or a lack of signal) causing controller (22) to reduce the feed rate of reinforcements ® (e.g., via slowing or stopping of feeder (40)) (see Fig. 1-2 and Fig. 5; [0026] of Tyler).
Regarding claim 16, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, further including: directing the reinforcement (R) from a supply (feeder (40)) to the print head (16) (see Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 5 above; [0031]); and driving the supply with a motor (a motorized supply spool), wherein selectively adjusting the feed rate includes adjusting a drive speed of the motor (see [0026] of Tyler).
Regarding claim 17, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, wherein: increasing the drive speed of the motor causes the arm to pivot in a first direction (i.e. a controller increase the speed of motor (42) causes the dancer arm (50) to pivot in a first direction (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 6; column 8, lines 38-42 and lines 64-67 of Miller); and decreasing the drive speed of the motor causes the arm to pivot in a second direction that is opposite the first direction (see column 9, lines 1-5 of Miller).
Regarding claim 18, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, further including making a comparison of an orientation of the arm detected by the sensor with a threshold orientation (i.e. the angular sensor detect a relative angular position of the dancer arm (50)) (see claim 1), wherein selectively adjusting the feed rate includes selectively adjusting the feed rate based at least in part on the comparison (i.e. a controller and associated circuitry in communication with the angular sensor to control the tension of the fiber by controlling the motor in response to the position of the dancer arm) (see column 3, lines 1-5, lines 22-26).
Regarding claim 19, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, further including biasing (i.e. pneumatic cylinder (58) mounted to dancer arm (50) and configured for biasing the dancer arm) the arm toward the reinforcement (fiber twos) (see annotated Fig. 6 above; column 3, lines 1-2, lines 18-22 and claim 18 of Miller) .
Regarding claim 20, Tyler in view Miller further teaches the method, further including exposing the reinforcement (R) to cure energy (i.e. using cure enhancer (20) at discharge from the print head (16) (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 5; [0019-0020] of Tyler).
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tyler (US 2018/0207866) teaches a method for additively manufacturing a composite structure (12) (Abstract; Fig. 1), includes operating a system (10) to move a print head (16) with a support (14) (see Fig. 1; [0013-0014]); and imparting tension to a reinforcement (R) received at the print head (16) (see Figs. 1-3;[0015-0016]).
Dreschau (DE 4019108) teaches a deflection device (1) with a pivot arm (3) equipped with a rotary encoder (5) at the pivot point of to provide positional feedback of the arm (see annotated Fig. 1 below).
/MOHAMED K AHMED ALI/Examiner, Art Unit 1743