DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-19, 21-28, 30-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by O’Keeffe (US 2018/0106890).
Regarding Claims 18, 27 and 35, O’Keeffe discloses a detection method, and non-transitory computer-readable medium for a LiDAR comprising a plurality of detection channels, the detection method [Fig 2A, 2B; 0018-19; 0036; 0045; 0048-50] comprising: for each detection channel of the plurality of detection channels of the LiDAR, determining whether there is an object within a first distance based on a previous detection result [0003; 0006-08; 0036-43], wherein the detection channel comprises at least one laser and at least one detector [Fig 2A, 2B; 008-19; 0036; 0045; 0048-50], a controller apparatus connected to the plurality of lasers and the plurality of detectors, and the at least one laser of the detection channel is configured to emit a sequence of detection pulses [0043-45; 0052]; dynamically changing a code of the sequence of detection pulses of the detection channel based on a determining result [Fig 2B, 2C; 0003; 0018-19; 0036; 0045; 0048-50]; controlling the at least one laser of the detection channel to emit detection pulses based on the code [0042]; and receiving an echo of the detection pulses reflected by the object, and determining information of the object based on the echo [0036; 0045; 0048].
Regarding Claims 19 and 28, O’Keeffe also discloses wherein determining whether there is an object within the first distance based on the previous detection result comprises: determining whether there is an object within the first distance based on at least one of: a previous detection result of the detection channel, or a previous detection result of a detection channel adjacent to the detection channel in detection time or space [Fig 1A, 1B; 0017; 0047-48].
Regarding Claims 21 and 30, O’Keeffe also discloses wherein dynamically changing the code of the sequence of detection pulses of the detection channel based on the determining result further comprises: in response to determining that there is an object within the first distance, increasing the number of detection pulses in the sequence of detection pulses and decreasing the power of the at least one detection pulse in the sequence of detection pulses [Fig 9A, 9B; 0028; 0084].
Regarding Claims 22 and 31, O’Keeffe also discloses wherein dynamically changing the code of the sequence of detection pulses of the detection channel based on the determining result further comprises: in response to determining that there is no object within the first distance, decreasing the number of detection pulses in the sequence of detection pulses or using a single detection pulse, and increasing the power of the at least one detection pulse in the sequence of detection pulses [Fig 9A, 9B; 0028; 0084].
Regarding Claim 23, O’Keeffe also discloses wherein the first distance is no greater than 1/10 of a maximum detectable distance of the LiDAR [0006; 0012; 0015; 0046].
Regarding Claims 24 and 32, O’Keeffe also discloses wherein at least one of a total optical power of the sequence of detection pulses of the detection channel or a total electrical power consumption of the detection channel is lower than a threshold [0003; 0006; 0071; 0077].
Regarding Claims 25 and 33, O’Keeffe also discloses wherein, a total optical power of detection pulses of each sequence of a plurality of sequences for a detection channel of the plurality of detection channels of the LiDAR is substantially equal, or a total optical power of detection pulses of a corresponding sequence for each detection channel of the plurality of detection channels of the LiDAR in a same detection is substantially equal [0006-08].
Regarding Claims 26 and 34, O’Keeffe also discloses wherein, a total electrical power consumption of detection pulses of each sequence of a plurality of sequences for a detection channel of the plurality of detection channels of the LiDAR is substantially equal, or a total electrical power consumption of detection pulses of a corresponding sequence for each detection channel of the plurality of detection channels of the LiDAR in a same detection is substantially equal [0006-08; 0036-43; 0048-51]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Keeffe (US 2018/0106890), as applied to claims 18 and 27 above, and further in view of Zhu (US 2020/0003877).
Regarding Claims 20 and 29, O’Keeffe does not explicitly teach – but Zhu does teach wherein dynamically changing the code of the sequence of detection pulses of the detection channel based on the determining result comprises: encoding at least one of a power of at least one detection pulse in the sequence of detection pulses, a pulse interval of the sequence of detection pulses, or a number of detection pulses in the sequence of detection pulses emitted by the at least one laser of the detection channel, based on the determining result [0029; 0032; 0037-41]. It would have been obvious to modify the method and device of O’Keeffe to include dynamic changing of the code sequence such that a sequence of pulses may be processed by the coding condition analyzer to extract signal condition or environment condition.
Conclusion
JAMES R. HULKA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645