DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (US 2012/0055537) in view of Alagha et al. (WO 2021/124273A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liao discloses a light trapping photovoltaic device in Figures 1 and 2, comprising:
a substrate (18), wherein a top surface of the substrate has openings that define a plurality of recesses (cellular structure 10) on the top surface ([14]-[15] and [20]); and
a plurality of light trapping photovoltaic cells (12) disposed in the recesses (10) ([14]-[15]), wherein each light trapping photovoltaic cell comprises a plurality of photovoltaic layers (22, 24, 26) configured to produce electricity in response to an external light ([14]-[17]), wherein:
each of the photovoltaic layers is inclined at a predetermined angle with respect to a normal direction of the top surface of the substrate so that a front face of each of the photovoltaic layers is exposed to the external light through the opening, wherein the predetermined angle is greater than zero degrees and smaller than ninety degrees (Figure 2, [14] and [19], the shape of the cavities tapers to a point in a V-shape which necessarily has an angle with respect to a normal direction of the top surface is in a range of 0 to 90 degrees);
a volume surrounded by the photovoltaic layers of each light trapping photovoltaic cell is in a vacuum state or filled with air (As shown in Figure 2 and discussed in [29], the volume surrounded by the photovoltaic layers is exposed to the environment and is therefore filled with air);
top edges of the photovoltaic layers are disposed along a perimeter of the opening defining the recess in which the light trapping photovoltaic cell is disposed (Figure 2).
Liao does not disclose that each of the photovoltaic layers comprises perovskite.
Alagha discloses a light trapping photovoltaic device in Figures 2 and 11, comprising:
a substrate (16), wherein a top surface of the substrate has openings that define a plurality of recesses on the top surface (optical cavities 12) ([72]-[73]); and
a plurality of light trapping photovoltaic cells (PV lining 14) disposed in the recesses ([72]-[72] and [75]), wherein each light trapping photovoltaic cell (14) comprises a plurality of photovoltaic layers configured to produce electricity in response to an external light ([75], [96] and [103]-[104]),
wherein: each of the photovoltaic layers (14) is inclined at a predetermined angle with respect to a normal direction of the top surface of the substrate so that a front face of each of the photovoltaic layers is exposed to the external light through the opening (Figures 2 and 10 and [52]-[53] and [68]), wherein the predetermined angle is greater than zero degrees and smaller than ninety degrees (As shown in Figures 2 and 10 and discussed in [52]-[53] and [68], the shape of the cavities can be a pyramid or triangular shape which tapers to a point which necessarily has a predetermined angle between 0 and 90 degrees to the normal direction);
top edges of the photovoltaic layers (14) are disposed along a perimeter of the opening defining the recess in which the light trapping photovoltaic cell is disposed (Figures 1-2, PV lining fills the entire cavity including along a perimeter of the opening),
and each of the photovoltaic layers (14) comprises perovskite ([96]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the photovoltaic layers of Liao with the perovskite photovoltaic layers taught by Alagha, because it would amount to nothing more than the simple substitution of one photovoltaic material for another to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Regarding claim 2, modified Liao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Liao additionally discloses that the shape of the cavities tapers to a point (Figure 2, [14] and [19]) which has an angle with respect to a normal direction of the top surface is in a range of 0 to 90 degrees, but Liao does not discloses that the predetermined angle with respect to a normal direction of the top surface is in a range of 15 to 25 degrees. A change in the predetermined angle would merely be a change in shape of the cavities. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the predetermined angle of Liao, as such modification would involve a mere change in configuration of shape of the cavities. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 3, modified Liao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Liao does not disclose that each light trapping photovoltaic cell has an inverted pyramid shape with a base of the inverted pyramid shape corresponding to the opening defining the recess. Alagha discloses recesses in the shape of an inverted pyramid ([68] and Figure 11). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the shape of each light trapping photovoltaic cell in the device of modified Liao to have an inverted pyramid shape, as taught by Alagha, as such modification would involve a mere change in configuration of shape of the cavities. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 4, Liao discloses a light trapping photovoltaic device in Figures 1 and 2, comprising:
a substrate (18), wherein a top surface of the substrate has openings that define a plurality of recesses (cellular structure 10) on the top surface ([14]-[15] and [20]); and
a plurality of light trapping photovoltaic cells (12) disposed in the recesses (10) ([14]-[15]), wherein each light trapping photovoltaic cell comprises a photovoltaic layer (24) configured to produce electricity in response to an external light ([14]-[17]), wherein:
a volume inside each light trapping photovoltaic cell is in a vacuum state or filled with air (As shown in Figure 2 and discussed in [29], the volume surrounded by the photovoltaic cells is exposed to the environment and is therefore filled with air).
Liao additionally discloses that each light trapping photovoltaic cell (12) has a an aperture having a bottom with a rounded shape ([19]) corresponding to the opening defining the recess so that a front face of each of the photovoltaic layers is exposed to the external light through the aperture ([19] and Figure 2), but Liao does not disclose that each light trapping photovoltaic cell has a paraboloid shape. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the shape of each light trapping photovoltaic cell in the device of modified Liao to have a paraboloid shape as such modification would involve a mere change in configuration of shape of the cells and cavities. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Modified Liao does not disclose that each of the photovoltaic layer comprises perovskite.
Alagha discloses a light trapping photovoltaic device in Figures 2 and 11, comprising:
a substrate (16), wherein a top surface of the substrate has openings that define a plurality of recesses on the top surface (optical cavities 12) ([72]-[73]); and
a plurality of light trapping photovoltaic cells (PV lining 14) disposed in the recesses ([72]-[72] and [75]), wherein each light trapping photovoltaic cell (14) comprises a plurality of photovoltaic layers configured to produce electricity in response to an external light ([75], [96] and [103]-[104]),
wherein: each of the photovoltaic layers (14) is inclined at a predetermined angle with respect to a normal direction of the top surface of the substrate so that a front face of each of the photovoltaic layers is exposed to the external light through the opening (Figures 2 and 10 and [52]-[53] and [68]), wherein the predetermined angle is greater than zero degrees and smaller than ninety degrees (As shown in Figures 2 and 10 and discussed in [52]-[53] and [68], the shape of the cavities can be a pyramid or triangular shape which tapers to a point which necessarily has a predetermined angle between 0 and 90 degrees to the normal direction);
top edges of the photovoltaic layers (14) are disposed along a perimeter of the opening defining the recess in which the light trapping photovoltaic cell is disposed (Figures 1-2, PV lining fills the entire cavity including along a perimeter of the opening),
and each of the photovoltaic layers (14) comprises perovskite ([96]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the photovoltaic layer of Liao with the perovskite photovoltaic layers taught by Alagha, because it would amount to nothing more than the simple substitution of one photovoltaic material for another to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Regarding claim 5, modified Liao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Liao additionally discloses that bottom edges of the photovoltaic layers are electrically coupled to each other (Figure 2 and [15]-[16]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Liao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Liao additionally discloses that the photovoltaic layers of each of the light trapping photovoltaic cells comprise a first and second photovoltaic layers that directly face each other, forming a V-shape cross-section of the first and second photovoltaic layers (Figure 2 and [14] and [19], the shape of the cavities tapers to a point which results in a V-shape cross section of the first and second photovoltaic layers).
Regarding claim 7, modified Liao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Liao additionally discloses that the photovoltaic layers of each of the light trapping photovoltaic cells comprise a first and second photovoltaic layers that directly face each other, forming a V-shape cross-section of the first and second photovoltaic layers (Figure 2). Liao additionally discloses that the shape of the cavities tapers to a point (Figure 2, [14] and [19]) which results in a V-shape cross section of the first and second photovoltaic layers and results in an angle between the first and second photovoltaic layers in a range of 0 to 90 degrees, but Liao does not discloses that the angle between the first and second photovoltaic layers is in a range of 30 to 50 degrees. A change in the angle between the first and second photovoltaic layers would merely be a change in shape of the cavities. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the angle between the first and second photovoltaic layers in the device of Liao as such modification would involve a mere change in configuration of shape of the cavities. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 8, modified Liao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Alagha additionally discloses that each of the photovoltaic layers comprises:
a photovoltaic medium layer (semiconductor layers) configured to produce electricity in response to the external light ([96], [104] and [108]);
a front electrode layer disposed on a front side of the photovoltaic medium layer (front contacts, [104]-[106]);
a rear electrode layer disposed on a rear side of the photovoltaic medium layer (bottom contacts, [104]-[106]);
an anti-reflection layer disposed on a front side of the front electrode layer ([65], [80] and [88]); and
a reflective layer disposed on a rear side of the rear electrode layer ([87] and [95], the substrate can contain mirror material which reads on a reflective layer).
Regarding claim 9, modified Liao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Alagha additionally discloses that the photovoltaic medium layer (semiconductor layers) comprises: a photovoltaic absorber (i-layer); an electron transfer layer (n-layer) disposed on a side of the photovoltaic absorber; and a hole transfer layer (p-layer) disposed on an opposite side of the photovoltaic absorber (See p-i-n photovoltaic junction, [110]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Liao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Alagha additionally discloses that the photovoltaic absorber comprises the perovskite ([96]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Liao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Alagha additionally discloses that the reflective layer is a Lambertian reflector that has a diffusely reflecting surface (The substrate can contain any light management layers including scattering surfaces such as patterned glass which reads on a “Lambertian reflector”, [92], [95] and [75]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Liao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Liao additionally discloses that said each light trapping photovoltaic cell further comprises an additional photovoltaic layer (rear side electrode layer 22) facing the opening, wherein the additional photovoltaic layer (22) contacts bottom edges of the photovoltaic layers (Figure 2 and [15], layer 22 is part of the photovoltaic cell and reads on a “photovoltaic layer”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot as a result of the new grounds of rejection and the addition of the Liao reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINDSEY A BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728