DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I: Claims 1-16 in the reply filed on August 13, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fix (2003/0221908) in view of Ballek (3,871,481).
Fix discloses:
Claim 1: A ladder (Fig. 1; 34) for a work machine (Fig. 1; 12), the ladder defining a first end (Fig. 1; nearest the top of A), a second end (Fig. 3; nearest 32), and a length (Fig. 1; the length of A and 34) between the first end and the second end, the ladder comprising:
a pair of side rails (Fig. 1; 22 left and right of 34) adapted to be removably coupled with a frame (Para. [0020]) of the work machine, wherein the pair of side rails extend along the length of the ladder and are spaced apart from each other in a direction that is orthogonal to the length of the ladder (Fig. 1; the side rails at 22 left and right extend along the length of 34 and are spaced apart from each other), each of the pair of side rails including:
a side rail portion (Fig. 1; 88) extending from the first end of the ladder to the second end of the ladder;
a first portion (Fig. 6; 70) integral with the side rail portion, wherein the first portion extends orthogonally relative to the side rail portion (Fig. 6; 70 extends orthogonally to 88), wherein the first portion extends at least partially along the length of the ladder from the first end of the ladder towards the second end of the ladder (Fig. 6; 70 extends partially along the length of A), and wherein the first portion is adapted to removably couple the ladder with the frame of the work machine proximal to the first end of the ladder (Fig. 6; via 80); and
a second portion (Fig. 6; 60) defining a free end (Fig. 6; nearest 54) and a coupling end (Fig. 6; nearest 96), wherein the second portion extends at least partially along the length of the ladder from the first end of the ladder towards the second end of the ladder (Fig. 6; 60 extends partially along the length of A) and is integrally coupled with the side rail (Fig. 6; via 98) portion at the coupling end of the second portion (Fig. 6; where 60 and 98 connect), wherein the second portion extends at an oblique angle relative to the side rail portion (Fig. 7; 60 extends at an oblique angle relative to 88), and wherein the second portion includes a rolled section at the free end of the second portion (Fig. 7; 60 is rolled at the free end); and
a plurality of rungs coupled with each of the pair of side rails and extending between the pair of side rails (Fig. 1; 34 is depicted with a plurality of rungs coupled between 22 left and right of 34).
Fix fails to disclose removably coupled rungs.
However, Ballek discloses removable rungs (Fig. 1; 13-18, Col. 3, Lines 30-43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ladder rungs of Fix to be removably attached, as taught by Ballek, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow the ladder to be adapted for use with a different number of rungs depending upon the particular height a person wishes to climb (abstract).
Claim 2: Fix discloses the ladder of claim 1, wherein the first portion includes a mounting plate (Fig. 7; see detail) that is removably coupled with the frame of the work machine, and wherein the mounting plate defines one or more through-holes (Fig. 7; see detail).
Claim 3: Fix discloses the ladder of claim 2 further comprising a mounting member (Fig. 7; see detail) that is adapted to removably couple the ladder with the frame of the work machine proximal to the second end of the ladder, wherein the mounting member is removably coupled with each of the pair of side rails and the frame of the work machine (Fig. 7; see detail).
Claim 4: Fix discloses the ladder of claim 3, wherein the ladder is adapted to allow access to an operator station (Para. [0018]) of the work machine, wherein the first portion is adapted to removably couple the ladder with an upper deck (Para. [0018]) of the frame of the work machine, and wherein the mounting member is adapted to removably couple the ladder with a lower deck (Fig. 1; the ladder allows access to lower areas of the work machine) of the frame of the work machine.
Claim 5: Fix discloses the ladder of claim 1, wherein the ladder is disposed in a service area to access a power source of the work machine (Para. [0019]).
Claim 6: Fix discloses the ladder of claim 1 further comprising a pair of connectors (Fig. 5; 90 left and right), wherein the rolled section of the second portion of a corresponding side rail at least partially receives a corresponding connector (Fig. 3; 68 left and right) from the pair of connectors, and wherein each connector from the pair of connectors is adapted to removably couple the ladder with a corresponding handrail (Fig. 3; 66 left and right) of the work machine.
Claim 7: Ballek discloses the ladder of claim 1, wherein the side rail portion of each of the pair of side rails defines a plurality of slots (Fig. 4; S), and wherein each slot at least partially receives a corresponding rung from the plurality of rungs to removably couple the corresponding rung with the side rail portion (Fig. 4; S, Col. 3, Lines 21-29).
Claim 8: Fix discloses the ladder of claim 1, but fails to specifically disclose wherein the ladder is made of sheet metal.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use sheet metal because applicant has not disclosed that using sheet metal provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Fix’s ladder, and applicant's ladder to perform equally well with either the material taught by Fix or the claimed sheet metal because both materials would perform the same function of structural strength equally well.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stand of Fix to be made of sheet metal, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would be cost effective to manufacture.
Claim 9: A work machine (Fig. 1; 12) comprising:
a frame (Fig. 3; 18); and
a ladder (Fig. 1; 34) removably coupled with the frame (Fig. 7; via the bolts mounted in the through holes – see detail), the ladder defining a first end (Fig. 1; nearest the top of A), a second end (Fig. 3; nearest 32), and a length (Fig. 1; the length of A and 34) between the first end and the second end, the ladder including:
a pair of side rails (Fig. 1; 22 left and right of 34) adapted to be removably coupled with a frame (Para. [0020]) of the work machine, wherein the pair of side rails extend along the length of the ladder and are spaced apart from each other in a direction that is orthogonal to the length of the ladder (Fig. 1; the side rails at 22 left and right extend along the length of 34 and are spaced apart from each other), each of the pair of side rails including:
a side rail portion (Fig. 1; 88) extending from the first end of the ladder to the second end of the ladder;
a first portion (Fig. 6; 70) integral with the side rail portion, wherein the first portion extends orthogonally relative to the side rail portion (Fig. 6; 70 extends orthogonally to 88), wherein the first portion extends at least partially along the length of the ladder from the first end of the ladder towards the second end of the ladder (Fig. 6; 70 extends partially along the length of A), and wherein the first portion is adapted to removably couple the ladder with the frame of the work machine proximal to the first end of the ladder (Fig. 6; via 80); and
a second portion (Fig. 6; 60) defining a free end (Fig. 6; nearest 54) and a coupling end (Fig. 6; nearest 96), wherein the second portion extends at least partially along the length of the ladder from the first end of the ladder towards the second end of the ladder (Fig. 6; 60 extends partially along the length of A) and is integrally coupled with the side rail (Fig. 6; via 68) portion at the coupling end of the second portion (Fig. 5; where 60 and 98 connect), wherein the second portion extends at an oblique angle relative to the side rail portion (Fig. 7; 60 extends at an oblique angle relative to 88), and wherein the second portion includes a rolled section at the free end of the second portion (Fig. 7; 60 is rolled at the free end); and
a plurality of rungs coupled with each of the pair of side rails and extending between the pair of side rails (Fig. 1; 34 is depicted with a plurality of rungs coupled between 22 left and right of 34).
Fix fails to disclose removably coupled rungs.
However, Ballek discloses removable rungs (Fig. 1; 13-18, Col. 3, Lines 30-43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ladder rungs of Fix to be removably attached, as taught by Ballek, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow the ladder to be adapted for use with a different number of rungs depending upon the particular height a person wishes to climb (abstract).
Claim 10: Fix discloses the work machine of claim 9, wherein the first portion includes a mounting plate (Fig. 7; see detail) that is removably coupled with the frame of the work machine, and wherein the mounting plate defines one or more through-holes (Fig. 7; see detail).
Claim 11: Fix discloses the work machine of claim 10, wherein the ladder further includes a mounting member (Fig. 7; see detail) that is adapted to removably couple the ladder with the frame of the work machine proximal to the second end of the ladder, and wherein the mounting member is removably coupled with each of the pair of side rails and the frame of the work machine (Fig. 7; see detail).
Claim 12: Fix discloses the work machine of claim 11, wherein the ladder is adapted to allow access to an operator station (Para. [0018]) of the work machine, wherein the first portion is adapted to removably couple the ladder with an upper deck (Para. [0018]) of the frame of the work machine, and wherein the mounting member is adapted to removably couple the ladder with a lower deck (Fig. 1; the ladder allows access to lower areas of the work machine) of the frame of the work machine.
Claim 13: Fix discloses the work machine of claim 9, wherein the ladder is disposed in a service area to access a power source of the work machine (Para. [0019]).
Claim 14: Fix discloses the work machine of claim 9, wherein the ladder further includes a pair of connectors (Fig. 5; 90 left and right), wherein the rolled section of the second portion of a corresponding side rail at least partially receives a corresponding connector (Fig. 3; 68 left and right) from the pair of connectors, and wherein the pair of connectors are adapted to removably couple the ladder with a corresponding handrail of the work machine (Fig. 3; 66 left and right).
Claim 15: Ballek discloses the work machine of claim 9, wherein the side rail portion of each of the pair of side rails defines a plurality of slots (Fig. 4; S), and wherein each slot at least partially receives a corresponding rung from the plurality of rungs to removably couple the corresponding rung with the side rail portion (Fig. 4; S, Col. 3, Lines 21-29).
Claim 16: Fix discloses the work machine of claim 10, but fails to disclose wherein the ladder is made of sheet metal.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use sheet metal because applicant has not disclosed that using sheet metal provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Fix’s ladder, and applicant's ladder to perform equally well with either the material taught by Fix or the claimed sheet metal because both materials would perform the same function of structural strength equally well.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stand of Fix to be made of sheet metal, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would be cost effective to manufacture.
Conclusion
/Kathleen M. McFarland/Examiner, Art Unit 3635
Kathleen M. McFarland
Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/BRIAN D MATTEI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3635