DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits for this continuous application filed on 10/01/2024
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9, 11, 14, 17, 27-28, 30-35, and 44-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (US 2011/0190194 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lim et al. discloses a method of producing [0021] a polypeptide [0005 and 0097] of interest, comprising:
(a) binding [0017] the polypeptide to a chromatography matrix, and
(b) washing the [0018-0019] polypeptide-bound chromatography matrix with a wash solution at a pH of lower than about 4.0 [0018], wherein the wash solution comprises a sufficient concentration of salt ([0019 and 0076]) to substantially reduce elution of the polypeptide during (b).
Regarding claim 2, Lim et al. discloses that the chromatography matrix [0018] is an affinity chromatography matrix [0069].
Regarding claim 5, Lim et al. discloses that the chromatography matrix is a mixed-mode anion-exchange chromatography matrix [0066].
Regarding claim 7, Lim et al. discloses that the elution of the polypeptide during (b) is reduced to less than 30% [0021 and 0018].
Regarding claim 9, Lim et al. discloses that the pH of the wash solution is about 2.5 to about 4.0 [0006].
Regarding claim 11, Lim et al. discloses that the concentration of the salt is greater than about 0.5 M [0018].
Regarding claim 17, Lim et al. discloses that the wash solution further comprises arginine [0093] and PEG [0093].
Regarding claim 27, Lim et al. discloses that the polypeptide is recombinantly produced [0005 and 0097] in a cell culture.
Regarding claim 28, Lim et al. discloses that the cell culture is a human cell culture [0097].
Regarding claim 30, Lim et al. disclose that prior to (a) and (b), the polypeptide is harvested after recombinant production in a cell culture [0097].
Regarding claim 31, Lim et al. discloses that the polypeptide is bound to the chromatography matrix at a pH from about 6.0 to about 8.0 [0080]
Regarding claim 32, Lim et al. discloses that the method further comprises eluting the polypeptide from the chromatography matrix with an elution solution [0065].
Regarding claim 33, Lim et al. discloses that at least about 70% of the polypeptide is recovered in the elution solution [0072].
Regarding claim 34, Lim et al. discloses that at least about 70% of the polypeptide is recovered in the elution solution [0072].
Regarding claim 35, Lim et al. discloses that the polypeptide comprises CH2/CH3 domains [0093] of an immunoglobin constant region.
Regarding Claim 44, Lim et al. discloses that the polypeptide comprises an antibody [0093] or an antibody fragment.
Regarding claim 45, Lim et al. discloses that the polypeptide comprises an antibody [0074]
Regarding claim 46, Lim et al. discloses that the antibody is a human antibody [0037, 0069].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2011/0190194) as applied to claim 27, and further in view of Lozano Soto et al. (US 8,404,633 B2).
Lim et al. appears silent to disclose that the human cell is a Human Embryonic Kidney (HEK) 293 cell.
Lozano Soto et al. discloses pharmaceutical compositions for prevention and treatment of fungal infections (col.1, lines 26-30) that uses Human Embryonic Kidney (HEK) 293 cells since such cells provide stable expressing systems (col.9, Example 5). The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to add Lozano Soto et al. Human Embryonic Kidney (HEK) 293 cells to the method of Lim et al. cells [0005] since such cells provide stable expressing systems in experiments related to treatment of human diseases.
Conclusion
/MONZER R CHORBAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799