DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/903,406 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of claim 1 is anticipated by claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/903,406.
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 in view of claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/903,406.
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/903,406 in view of Giovanni et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0369511 A1).
Claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/903,406 fails to disclose wherein the disruptive coloring clusters comprise a maximum delta E of 12 or less.
Giovanni teaches an absorbent article (abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, wherein at least a pair of disruptive coloring clusters have in the range of about 6 to about 15 (¶ 0150) which falls within the claimed range of 12 or less. Further, Giovanni discloses a delta E such that a human eye can detect a difference (¶ 0150).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify at least a pair of the disruptive color clusters of claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/903,406 such that they have a maximum delta E of 12 or less, as taught by Giovanni, in order to configure the color clusters such that a human eye can detect a difference (Giovanni ¶ 0150).
“[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (see MPEP §2131.03.I).
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 in view of claim 6 of copending Application No. 18/903,406.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 in view of claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/903,406.
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 in view of claim 8 of copending Application No. 18/903,406.
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/903,406 in view of Giovanni et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0369511 A1).
Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/903,406 fails to disclose wherein the backsheet comprises a laminate, wherein the laminate comprises a film substrate.
Giovanni teaches (fig. 6-7, fig. 25) an absorbent article (10) and thus int eh same field of endeavor, comprising a backsheet comprising a laminate, wherein the laminate comprises a nonwoven substrate (outer cover nonwoven material 40, ¶ 0058) and a film substrate (backsheet 28, ¶ 0057), the backsheet laminate configured to enhance the consumer experience (¶ 0004) and the film substrate configured to be liquid impermeable (¶ 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the backsheet of Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/903,406 such that the backsheet comprises a laminate, wherein the laminate comprises a film substrate, as taught by Giovanni, as such backsheet laminate can enhance the consumer experience (Giovanni ¶ 0004) that is liquid impermeable (Giovanni ¶ 0057).
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/903,406 in view of Giovanni et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0369511 A1).
Claim 9 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/903,406 in view of Giovanni et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0369511 A1).
Giovanni teaches wherein at least a pair of disruptive coloring clusters have in the range of about 6 to about 15 (¶ 0150) which falls within the claimed range of 15 or less. Further, Giovanni discloses a delta E such that a human eye can detect a difference (¶ 0150).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify at least a pair of the disruptive color clusters of claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/903,406 in view of Giovanni such that they have a maximum delta E of 12 or less, in order to configure the color clusters such that a human eye can detect a difference (Giovanni ¶ 0150).
“[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (see MPEP §2131.03.I).
Claim 10 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18/903,406 in view of Giovanni et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0369511 A1).
Claim 11 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/903,406 in view of Giovanni et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0369511 A1).
Claim 12 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 18/903,406 in view of Giovanni et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0369511 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first plurality of fibers" in ln. 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Such limitation of claim 4 will be interpreted as the “first fibers”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the second plurality of fibers" in ln. 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Such limitation of claim 4 will be interpreted as the “second fibers”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the first plurality of fibers" in ln. 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Such limitation of claim 5 will be interpreted as the “first fibers”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the second plurality of fibers" in ln. 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Such limitation of claim 5 will be interpreted as the “second fibers”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the first plurality of fibers" in ln. 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Such limitation of claim 10 will be interpreted as the “first fibers”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the second plurality of fibers" in ln. 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Such limitation of claim 10 will be interpreted as the “material”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giovanni et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0369511 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Giovanni discloses (fig. 6-7, fig. 25) an absorbent article (10) comprising:
A garment-facing surface (2);
A wearer-facing surface (4);
A topsheet (26);
A backsheet (characterized by backsheet 28 and outer cover 40);
An absorbent core (30) positioned between the front sheet and the backsheet (fig. 7);
An elastic belt (54, 56) connected with the backsheet;
The backsheet comprising a laminate, wherein the laminate comprises a nonwoven substrate (outer cover nonwoven material 40, ¶ 0058) and a film substrate (backsheet 28, ¶ 0057);
The nonwoven substrate consisting of first fibers having a first color (¶ 0123);
The film substrate consisting of a material having a second color, wherein the first color and the second color are different (first color is from a colorant, additive and/or dye and second color is a color of the film);
Wherein the laminate comprises a first side (garment-facing side 412, ¶ 0148) and a second side opposite the second side, wherein the nonwoven substrate forms a portion of the first side (fig. 7);
Wherein the portion of the first side of the laminate comprises a plurality of disruptive color clusters (first regions 404 and second regions 406, ¶ 0148).
Regarding claim 10, Giovanni discloses wherein at least one of the first fibers and the material comprise a colorant (¶ 0123).
Regarding claim 11, Giovanni discloses wherein the first fibers comprise a colorant (¶ 0123).
Regarding claim 12, Giovanni discloses wherein the first side of the laminate forms a portion of the garment-facing surface (fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunoda (Pub. No.: US 2022/0071817 A1) in view of Giovanni.
Regarding claim 1¸ Tsunoda discloses (fig. 1-4) an absorbent article (abstract) comprising:
A garment-facing surface (fig. 2, ¶ 0045);
A wearer-facing surface (fig.1 , ¶ 0044);
A topsheet (11);
A backsheet (liquid impervious sheet 12);
An absorbent core (absorbent body 13) positioned between the topsheet and the backsheet (¶ 0077, fig. 4A);
An elastic belt (elastic sheet stretchable structure 20X) connected with the backsheet (fig. 4A), the elastic belt comprising a laminate, wherein the laminate comprises a first nonwoven substrate (second sheet layer 20B), a second nonwoven substrate (first sheet layer 20A) (¶ 0208), and an elastic sheet (30) positioned between the first nonwoven substrate and the second nonwoven substrate (fig. 4A, ¶ 0093);
The first nonwoven substrate consisting of first fibers having a first color (¶ 0212);
The second nonwoven substrate consisting of second fibers having a second color (¶ 0212), wherein the first color and the second color are different (the first nonwoven substrate is a colored nonwoven and the second nonwoven substrate is a base sheet, ¶ 0212);
Wherein the laminate comprises a first side and a second side opposite the first side (fig. 4A), wherein the first nonwoven substrate forms a portion of the first side (fig. 4A);
Wherein the portion of the first side of the laminate comprises a plurality of disruptive coloring clusters (¶ 0216).
Tsunoda fails to disclose a plurality of elastic strands.
Giovanni teaches (fig. 4-7) an absorbent article (10, abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising an elastic belt (54), the elastic belt comprising a laminate, wherein the laminate comprises a first substrate (inner belt layer 66), a second substrate (outer belt layer 64), and a plurality of elastic strands positioned between the first nonwoven substrate and the second nonwoven substrate (68, ¶ 0046), wherein such strands are a suitable elastomeric material (¶ 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the elastic sheet of Tsunoda for the elastic strands of Giovanni, as the substitution would achieve the predictable result of providing a suitable elastomeric material (Giovanni, ¶ 0046). The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding claim 2, Tsunoda in view of Giovanni fail to disclose wherein at least a pair of the disruptive coloring clusters have a delta E of greater than 2, as measured according to the disruptive coloration test method in a relaxed state.
However, Giovanni further teaches (fig. 23-25) a laminate comprising a first side (garment-facing surface 408) and a second side, wherein the first side comprises a plurality of disruptive color clusters (first regions 404 and second regions 406, ¶ 0148), wherein at least a pair of disruptive coloring clusters have a delta E of greater than 2, according to a Nonwoven-Backsheet Laminate Color test (¶ 0148, ¶ 0150). Further, Giovanni discloses a delta E such that a human eye can detect a difference (¶ 0150).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify at least a pair of the disruptive color clusters of Tsunoda in view of Giovanni such that they have a delta E of greater than 2, as measured according to the disruptive coloration test method in a relaxed state, in order to configure the color clusters such that a human eye can detect a difference (Giovanni ¶ 0150).
Regarding claim 3, Tsunoda in view of Giovanni fail to disclose wherein the disruptive coloring clusters comprise a maximum delta E of 12 or less.
However, Giovanni teaches wherein the disruptive coloring clusters comprise a delta E in the range of about 2 to about 19 (Giovanni ¶ 0150) which overlaps within the claimed range of 12 or less, such delta E being of a value such that the human eye can detect the difference (¶ 0150).
In this case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed in the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP §2144.05 I.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disruptive coloring clusters of Tsunoda in view of Giovanni such that they comprise a maximum delta E of 12 or less, as suggested by Giovanni, such delta E range is such that the human eye can detect the difference (Giovanni ¶ 0150).
Regarding claim 4, Tsunoda discloses wherein at least one of the first fibers and the second fibers comprise a colorant (¶ 0217).
Regarding claim 5, Tsunoda discloses wherein the first fibers comprise a colorant (¶ 0217) and the second fibers does not comprise a colorant (base sheet, ¶ 0214).
Regarding claim 6, Tsunoda discloses wherein the first side of the laminate forms a portion of the garment-facing surface (fig. 4A).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giovanni.
Regarding claim 8, Giovanni fails to disclose wherein at least a pair of the disruptive color clusters have a delta E of greater than 2, as measured according to the disruptive coloration test method.
However, Giovanni discloses wherein at least a pair of disruptive coloring clusters have a delta E of greater than 2, according to a Nonwoven-Backsheet Laminate Color test (¶ 0148, ¶ 0150). Further, Giovanni discloses a delta E such that a human eye can detect a difference (¶ 0150).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify at least a pair of the disruptive color clusters of Giovanni such that they have a delta E of greater than 2, as measured according to the disruptive coloration test method, in order to configure the color clusters such that a human eye can detect a difference (¶ 0150).
Regarding claim 9, Giovanni discloses wherein the disruptive coloring clusters comprise a delta E in the range of about 6 to about 15 (¶ 0150) which falls within the claimed range of 15 or less.
“[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (see MPEP §2131.03.I).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Morimoto (Pub. No.: US 2017/0290710 A1) discloses an absorbent article having fibers having a color.
/MEAGAN NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/PHILIP R WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781