DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-10, 12-14, 17-19, 21-22, and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. 2022/0386292 to Hajri et al. (hereinafter Hajri).
In regard claim 1, Hajri teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Figs. 1 and 7), comprising:
one or more memories (see Fig. 7); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to (see Fig. 7, paragraph [0086]):
detect that an interference prediction event that indicates to generate an interference prediction for a future air interface resource has occurred (see paragraphs [0069], and [0070], the UE receives a radio resource control configuration including at least one CSI reporting configuration for which prediction is configured/enabled and multiple prediction windows for one or multiple CSI quantities. At 304, the UE receives downlink control information triggering CSI reporting containing, at least, one CSI quantity for which prediction is enabled/configured. At 310, for CSI quantities for which CSI prediction is enabled/ configured, the UE selects one or multiple prediction windows, based on its channel state and/or position and/or velocity and/or a network/UE/specification-defined prediction performance metric. The prediction window where the UE receives DCI triggering CSI reporting (408), the prediction windows where the UE receives downlink reference signals for a channel and/or interference measurement (406), and the prediction window where the UE transmits a CSI report or a plurality of CSI reports (410)); and
transmit, based at least in part on detecting that the interference prediction event has occurred, an event-triggered interference prediction report that includes the interference prediction (see paragraphs [0069], and [0071], the UE transmits triggered CSI report(s) in uplink control information. At 512, the UE transmits one triggered CSI report or a plurality of CSI reports in uplink control information. As further indicated at 512, the UE feeds back one or multiple prediction window shift indicators and, for CSI quantities for which prediction is enabled/activated, either a model valid for the shifted prediction window or multiple quantized values of the CSI quantity spanning the shifted prediction window).
In regard claims 2, 10, 18, and 26, Hajri teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the interference prediction event comprises at least one of:
a measurement metric satisfying a first trigger threshold (see paragraph [0071], at 506, the UE receives downlink reference signals for channel and/or interference measurements. At 508, the UE computes CSI quantity values and/or CSI quantity prediction models, based on downlink reference measurements, the CSI reporting configuration and the configured prediction window),
a first interference metric generated using a non-serving beam of the UE being lower than a second interference metric generated using a serving beam of the UE,
a first signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) metric generated using the non-serving beam of the UE being higher than a second SINR metric generated using the serving beam of the UE, or
an interference variation between at least two air interface resources satisfying a second trigger threshold.
In regard claims 3, 12, 19, and 27, Hajri teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive, prior to detecting the interference prediction event, information that configures the UE to monitor for the interference prediction event (see paragraphs [0003], and [0057], receive a channel state information report in uplink control information, based on a determination related to the at least one channel state information quantity or at least one channel state information prediction model, the determination having been performed with use of the at least one prediction window. The UE receives a radio resource control configuration including at least one CSI reporting configuration for which prediction is configured/enabled. At 204, the UE receives downlink control information indicating a prediction window and triggering CSI reporting containing at least one CSI quantity for which prediction is enabled/configured).
In regard claims 5, 13, 21, and 28, Hajri teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
update, based at least in part on detecting that the interference prediction event has occurred, a machine learning model using an interference prediction configuration, the machine learning model being trained to predict interference (see paragraphs [0029], [0035], [0083], and [0160], CSI prediction may be performed at the UE side using any of the suitable algorithms, which may be machine learning algorithms or simple filtering or interpolation operations. As UE hardware capabilities are ever increasing, it becomes possible to envisage using powerful machine learning algorithms that can achieve good prediction performance for CSI in future time instances).
In regard claims 6, 14, 22, and 29, Hajri teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the interference prediction configuration comprises at least one of:
an interference prediction time window (see paragraphs [0049], and [0057], at 204, the UE receives downlink control information indicating a prediction window and triggering CSI reporting containing at least one CSI quantity for which prediction is enabled/configured),
an interference prediction sampling rate,
an interference prediction resource resolution,
an interference prediction beam configuration,
an interference prediction pattern configuration,
an interference prediction bandwidth resolution, a number of sub-band interference predictions,
a prediction metric type,
an interference autocorrelation matrix prediction resolution, or
an interference prediction algorithm type.
In regard claim 9, Hajri teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
one or more memories (see Fig. 7); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the network node to (see Fig. 7, paragraph [0086]):
receive an event-triggered interference prediction report that includes an interference prediction generated by a user equipment (UE), the event-triggered interference prediction report being associated with an interference prediction event (see paragraphs [0069], and [0070], the UE receives a radio resource control configuration including at least one CSI reporting configuration for which prediction is configured/enabled and multiple prediction windows for one or multiple CSI quantities. At 304, the UE receives downlink control information triggering CSI reporting containing, at least, one CSI quantity for which prediction is enabled/configured. At 310, for CSI quantities for which CSI prediction is enabled/ configured, the UE selects one or multiple prediction windows, based on its channel state and/or position and/or velocity and/or a network/UE/specification-defined prediction performance metric. The prediction window where the UE receives DCI triggering CSI reporting (408), the prediction windows where the UE receives downlink reference signals for a channel and/or interference measurement (406), and the prediction window where the UE transmits a CSI report or a plurality of CSI reports (410)); and
transmit an air interface resource allocation that is assigned to the UE, the air interface resource allocation being configured to mitigate interference that is indicated by the interference prediction (see paragraphs [0069], and [0071], the UE transmits triggered CSI report(s) in uplink control information. At 512, the UE transmits one triggered CSI report or a plurality of CSI reports in uplink control information. As further indicated at 512, the UE feeds back one or multiple prediction window shift indicators and, for CSI quantities for which prediction is enabled/activated, either a model valid for the shifted prediction window or multiple quantized values of the CSI quantity spanning the shifted prediction window).
In regard claim 17, Hajri teaches or discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
detecting that an interference prediction event that indicates to generate an interference prediction for a future air interface resource has occurred (see paragraphs [0069], and [0070], the UE receives a radio resource control configuration including at least one CSI reporting configuration for which prediction is configured/enabled and multiple prediction windows for one or multiple CSI quantities. At 304, the UE receives downlink control information triggering CSI reporting containing, at least, one CSI quantity for which prediction is enabled/configured. At 310, for CSI quantities for which CSI prediction is enabled/ configured, the UE selects one or multiple prediction windows, based on its channel state and/or position and/or velocity and/or a network/UE/specification-defined prediction performance metric. The prediction window where the UE receives DCI triggering CSI reporting (408), the prediction windows where the UE receives downlink reference signals for a channel and/or interference measurement (406), and the prediction window where the UE transmits a CSI report or a plurality of CSI reports (410)); and
transmitting, based at least in part on detecting that the interference prediction event has occurred, an event-triggered interference prediction report that includes the interference prediction (see paragraphs [0069], and [0071], the UE transmits triggered CSI report(s) in uplink control information. At 512, the UE transmits one triggered CSI report or a plurality of CSI reports in uplink control information. As further indicated at 512, the UE feeds back one or multiple prediction window shift indicators and, for CSI quantities for which prediction is enabled/activated, either a model valid for the shifted prediction window or multiple quantized values of the CSI quantity spanning the shifted prediction window).
In regard claim 25, Hajri teaches or discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising:
receiving an event-triggered interference prediction report that includes an interference prediction generated by a user equipment (UE), the event-triggered interference prediction report being associated with an interference prediction event (see paragraphs [0069], and [0070], the UE receives a radio resource control configuration including at least one CSI reporting configuration for which prediction is configured/enabled and multiple prediction windows for one or multiple CSI quantities. At 304, the UE receives downlink control information triggering CSI reporting containing, at least, one CSI quantity for which prediction is enabled/configured. At 310, for CSI quantities for which CSI prediction is enabled/ configured, the UE selects one or multiple prediction windows, based on its channel state and/or position and/or velocity and/or a network/UE/specification-defined prediction performance metric. The prediction window where the UE receives DCI triggering CSI reporting (408), the prediction windows where the UE receives downlink reference signals for a channel and/or interference measurement (406), and the prediction window where the UE transmits a CSI report or a plurality of CSI reports (410)); and
transmitting an air interface resource allocation that is assigned to the UE, the air interface resource allocation being configured to mitigate interference that is indicated by the interference prediction (see paragraphs [0069], and [0071], the UE transmits triggered CSI report(s) in uplink control information. At 512, the UE transmits one triggered CSI report or a plurality of CSI reports in uplink control information. As further indicated at 512, the UE feeds back one or multiple prediction window shift indicators and, for CSI quantities for which prediction is enabled/activated, either a model valid for the shifted prediction window or multiple quantized values of the CSI quantity spanning the shifted prediction window).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hajri in view of US Pub. 2015/0257118 to Siomina et al. (hereinafter Siomina).
In regard claims 4, 11, and 20, Hajri teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the interference prediction event is based at least in part on a statistical computation that uses multiple measurement metrics (see paragraph [0057], [0069], [0070], and [0071], a UE procedure 200 with a dynamically indicated prediction window. The UE feeds back either a model valid for the indicated prediction window or multiple quantized values of the CSI quantity spanning the indicated prediction window).
Hajri may not explicitly teach or disclose wherein the interference prediction event is based at least in part on a statistical computation.
However, Siomina teaches or discloses wherein the interference prediction event is based at least in part on a statistical computation (see paragraphs [0208], [0225], [0226], and [0229], the conditions may be "discovered" by the node based on baseband or RF measurements (e.g., received signal strength, noise rise due to interference, received signal to noise ratio, total interference and noise, amount of co-channel interference, amount of in-band or out-of-band interference, etc.). There may also be a reference/target false alarm defined, e.g., 1e-6. Calculated as a statistical measure comprising one or more values, e.g., a standard deviation, median, mean, Xth percentile, CDF, PDF, a characteristic function, histogram. The reference performance may be the performance in ideal or optimized conditions, performance with a reference RF configuration, performance at a reference time, performance in a reference condition (e.g., SNR or SINR at a certain level), performance prior an event (e.g., prior starting the measurement)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify apparatus for CSI prediction control of Hajri by including wherein the interference prediction event is based at least in part on a statistical computation suggested by Siomina. This modification would provide to permit an efficient adaptation of an RF receiver configuration in connection with measurements and other operations performed by an RF receiver read in paragraph [0006].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 15, 16, 23, 24, 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476