-DETAILED ACTION-
Priority
This application is a CIP of 16/636,127 filed on 02/03/2020, which is a 371 of PCT/EP2018/080359 filed on 11/06/2018, and claims foreign priority in Portuguese application PT171000073487 filed on 11/06/2017.
Claim Status
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Election Restriction
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-9 and 16, drawn to an adhesion material, classified in A61L15/585.
II. Claims 10-15, drawn to a method for manufacturing an adhesive material, classified in A61L15/585.
III. Claims 17-19, drawn to an adhesive patch comprising the adhesive material of claim 1, an intermediate layer, and an external layer, classified in A61L15/585.
The inventions are distinct, each from the other because the following reasons:
Inventions I and II are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case, the product can be made by a materially different process where the components are combined in a mixture without reacting as required by the method in Group II.
Inventions III and II are directed to an unrelated product and process. Product and process inventions are unrelated if it can be shown that the product cannot be used in, or made by, the process. See MPEP § 802.01 and § 806.06. In the instant case, the product is a patch whereas the method is a method of making an adhesive material. The patch cannot be used in, or made by, the process.
Inventions II and III are directed to related products. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; and do not overlap in scope. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all these inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because at least one of the following reason(s) apply:
the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; and
the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes
/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or
search queries).
In the instant case, a search of the adhesive would require different search strategies than the search of the method of making the adhesive. For example, the search of the method requires searching the method steps of blending, mixing, drying, and reacting various claimed elements, whereas the search of the product need not take this into account. A search of the patch of Group III comprising the adhesive of Group I requires searching additional patch components, whereas the search of the adhesive does not require searching said components.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Notice of Possible Rejoinder
The examiner has required restriction between product and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product, and the product claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of the allowable product claim will be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must require all the limitations of an allowable product claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04(b). Additionally, in order to retain the right to rejoinder in accordance with the above policy, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product claims. Failure to do so may result in a loss of the right to rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
During a telephone conversation with Robert J. Paradiso on September 15, 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group III, claims 17-19. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 1-16 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 is drawn to an adhesive patch comprising the adhesive material of claim 1 and recites “the adhesive material being in contact with the skin”. The claim is indefinite because it is not clear how the limitation “the adhesive material being in contact with the skin” affects the scope of the patch. The limitation could be interpreted as an intended use of the adhesive material or it could be interpreted to require the patch to be located on the skin.
Claim 17 requires the adhesion material of claim 1. Claim 17 is indefinite because it is not clear how “a polymer molecular chain composition” comprising the list of compounds affects the scope of the adhesion material described in claim 1. The limitation could be interpreted to mean that a polymer molecular chain composition comprises a reaction product of the listed compounds. According to paragraph 0028, a polymer molecular chain composition is described as a polymer chain with the chain having the following composition, followed by the list of instantly claimed compounds. According to this description, a polymer molecular chain comprises the claimed compounds which would have been only possible when the listed compounds react with each other and form the polymer molecular chain. Since the compounds are recited as complete compound names, an alternative interpretation would be that polymer molecular chain composition comprises a physical mixture of the listed compounds which includes the polymers PEG 200 and PEG 400.
Applicant is requested to amend the claim and make clear what structure is implied by “a polymer molecular chain composition”. Based on the instant specification, it appears that the polymer molecular chain composition is a reaction product of the listed compounds. If this is the intended meaning, ground of rejection may be obviated by amending the claim to recite “a polymer molecular chain composition comprising a reaction product of” followed by the list of compounds.
Claim 17 is indefinite because it is not clear if “at least one of a sugar and a sugar alcohol” means that the composition requires at least one sugar and at least one sugar alcohol where both sugars are required, or if the composition requires at least one selected from a sugar and a sugar alcohol where the two sugars are alternatives.
Claim 18 is indefinite because the meaning of “(60)” is unknown.
Claim 19 is indefinite because it depends from claim 17 and contains indefinite limitation of claim 17.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inazuki (US 2011/0184066 A1, Published July 28, 2011) and Tani (WO 2013/012000 A1 Published 01/24/2013 – English machine translation appended thereto).
The claims encompass a patch as described by the claims.
The teachings of Inazuki are related to a ketoprofen-containing aqueous patch including a backing layer and an adhesive (paste) layer laminated thereon. The aqueous patch includes as a main active ingredient a ketoprofen lysine salt completely dissolved in a paste including
one or more polyethylene glycols selected from the group consisting of polyethylene glycol 200, Polyethylene glycol 400, Polyethylene glycol 600, and polyethylene glycol 1000 (Abstract and paragraph 0012). The base components used for the ketoprofen lysine salt-containing aqueous patch are not particularly limited, as long as they are ones commonly used for the production of aqueous patches. For example, water-soluble polymers, humectants, excipients, stabilizing agents, cross-linking agents, anti-oxidizing agents, cooling agents or the like may be blended as appropriate (paragraph 0029). Examples of water-soluble polymers include gelatin, hydrolyzed gelatin, polyacrylic acid, sodium polyacrylate, partially neutralized polyacrylic acid, polyacrylic acid starch complexes, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinylpyrrolidone, hydroxypropylcellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, methylcellulose, carmellose sodium,
carboxyvinyl polymer, methoxy ethylene-maleic anhydride copolymers, N-vinyl acetamide copolymers, xanthan gum, and gum arabic. They may be used singly or in a combination
of two or more thereof (paragraph 0030). Examples of humectants include sorbitol (paragraph 0032). Example of the stabilizing agent includes citric acid (paragraph 0034). Examples of the cross-linking agent include polyvalent metal compounds such as dried aluminum hydroxide
gel, synthetic aluminum silicate, dihydroxy aluminum aminoacetate, synthetic hydrotalcite, magnesium aluminometasilicate, magnesium aluminosilicate and the like, and may be
used singly or in a combination of two or more thereof (paragraph 0036). Example of the anti-oxidizing agent includes ascorbic acid (paragraph 0037). The thickness of the paste in the aqueous patch is preferably 250 to 1400 μm, and more preferably 300 to 1000 μm. When the thickness of the paste is less than 250 μm, continuous stickiness or adhesiveness tends to decrease. On the other hand, when the thickness of the paste is more than 1400 μm, cohesion or shape retention tends to decrease (paragraph 0039). Examples of a backing layer for the aqueous patch include porous materials such as polyethylene, polypropylene, polyvinyl chloride, polyester, nylon, polyurethane, and rayon, and foams, woven fabrics, nonwoven fabrics, as well as laminated materials of films or sheets and porous materials, foams, woven fabrics, or nonwoven fabrics and the like (paragraph 0041).
Inazuki does not teach a fatty acid.
The teachings of Tani are related to a water-based adhesive plaster intended for application to skin. The plaster comprises a water-soluble polymer, a crosslinking agent, and a fatty acid as a crosslinking modifier. Examples of fatty acids include oleic acid (Abstract and bottom of page 3). Water-soluble polymers are described in the fourth paragraph on page 4, and include gelatin, hydrolyzed gelatin, polyacrylic acid, sodium polyacrylate, and partial neutralization of polyacrylic acid, starch polyacrylate, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinylpyrrolidone, hydroxypropylcellulose, hydroxypropylmethylcellulose, hydroxyethylcellulose, methylcellulose, carmellose sodium, carboxyvinyl polymer, methoxyethylene maleic anhydride copolymer, methyl acrylate/acrylic acid 2-ethylhexyl copolymer resin emulsion, xanthan gum, and gum Arabic. Top of page 5 describes crosslinking agents, which include dry aluminum hydroxide gel, synthetic aluminum silicate, dihydroxyaluminum aminoacetate, synthetic hydrotalcite, magnesium aluminate metasilicate, magnesium aluminate silicate and the like. A water-insoluble aluminum compound or a water-soluble aluminum salt such as potassium alum, ammonium alum, aluminum sulfate, aluminum chloride, and aluminum acetate can be used alone or in combination of two or more. The aqueous patch further comprises humectants including sorbitol and polyethylene glycol (top of page 5). Drugs include ketoprofen (middle of page 5). The patch further includes excipients including citric acid and ascorbic acid (middle of page 5).
The teachings of Inazuki and Tani are related to aqueous patches comprising ketoprofen, polyethylene glycol, sorbitol, citric acid, ascorbic acid, water-soluble polymers, and a crosslinking agent, and it would have been obvious to have combined their teachings because they are in the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 17, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed an adhesive patch comprising a backing layer and an adhesive paste layer laminated thereon, with a reasonable expectation of success because Inazuki teaches an adhesive patch comprising a backing layer and an adhesive paste layer laminated thereon. It would have been obvious to have formed the adhesive paste layer with a water-soluble polymer, a crosslinking agent, PEG 200, PEG 400, citric acid, ascorbic acid, and sorbitol, with a reasonable expectation of success because Inazuki teaches that a water-soluble polymer, a crosslinking agent, PEG 200, PEG 400, citric acid, ascorbic acid, and sorbitol are suitable for making the aqueous patch. It would have been obvious to have modified the aqueous patch by adding a fatty acid as a crosslinking regulator, with a reasonable expectation of success because Tani teaches using a fatty acid as a crosslinking regulator in a method of making an aqueous patch. One of skill would have had reasonable expectation of success in using a fatty acid in Inazuki’s method of making an aqueous patch because Inazuki and Tani teach the same water-soluble polymers and crosslinking agents, thus there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in using a fatty acid as a crosslinking regulator in Inazuki’s method of making an aqueous patch.
It would have been obvious to have formed the patch by layering the paste on a backing layer comprising a laminate of a porous polyurethane and a nonwoven fabric, with a reasonable expectation of success because Inazuki teaches that the patch comprises the paste layered on a backing layer made from laminated materials of films or sheets and porous materials and nonwoven fabrics where porous materials include polyurethane. Inazuki does not state which layer is external and intermediate, however there are only two ways to arrange the layers in the backing layer and both would have been equally obvious. Porous polyurethan layer is breathable because it is porous and polyurethane is a waterproof material.
Alternatively, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed an adhesive aqueous patch comprising a water-soluble polymer, a crosslinking agent, a fatty acid, sorbitol, polyethylene glycol, ascorbic acid, and citric acid, with a reasonable expectation of success because Tani teaches an adhesive aqueous patch comprising a water-soluble polymer, a crosslinking agent, a fatty acid, sorbitol, polyethylene glycol, ascorbic acid, and citric acid. Tani does not teach PEG 200 and PEG 400. It would have been obvious to have selected PEG 200 and PEG 400 as the polyethylene glycol component in Tani’s adhesive aqueous patch, with a reasonable expectation of success because Inazuki teaches that PEGs having a molecular weight less than 1000 are suitable for making an adhesive aqueous patch and specifically teaches PEG 200 and PEG 400.
It would have been obvious to have formed the patch by layering the paste on a backing layer comprising a laminate of porous polyurethane and a nonwoven fabric, with a reasonable expectation of success because Tani teaches that the patch comprises the paste layered on a backing layer made from laminated materials of films or sheets and porous materials and nonwoven fabrics where porous materials include polyurethane (pages 5-6). Tani does not state which layer is external and intermediate, however there are only two ways to arrange the layers in the backing layer and both would have been equally obvious. Porous polyurethan layer is breathable because it is porous and polyurethane is a waterproof material.
Inazuki and Tani’s patches are intended for application to skin where the adhesive layer contacts the skin.
The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose supports obviousness and combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results supports obviousness.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inazuki and Tani as applied to claims 17 and 18 above, and further in view of Holm (US 2011/0112457 Published May 12, 2011).
Claim 19 further defines the external layer.
The teachings of Inazuki and Tani are relied upon as summarized above. While the references teach a backing layer comprising porous polyurethane, the references do not state whether the urethan is thermoplastic.
The teachings of Holm are related to medical articles (e.g., wound dressings) that include a pressure sensitive adhesive layer and methods of making the medical articles using immiscible materials that increase moisture vapor transmission rates (Abstract). The article comprises a backing layer. Examples of suitable materials for the liquid-impervious, moisture-vapor permeable polymeric films of the backing layer include synthetic organic polymers including, but not limited to polyurethanes. Preferred materials are thermoplastic polymers, e.g., polymers that soften when exposed to heat and return to their original condition when cooled. A particularly preferred material is a thermoplastic polyurethane (paragraph 0122). Backings of the medical articles can also include other breathable materials including, for example, nonwoven, woven, and knit webs, porous films (e.g., provided by perforations or microporous structure), foams, paper, or other known backings. A preferred backing includes a combination of a liquid-impervious, moisture-vapor permeable polymeric film and a moisture-vapor permeable nonwoven web that can, among other advantages, impart enhanced structural integrity and improved aesthetics to the dressings. These layers of film and web may or may not be coextensive. A preferred such nonwoven web is a melt processed polyurethane (such as that available under the trade designation MORTHANE PS-440 from Morton International, Seabrook, N.H.), or hydroentangled nonwoven polyester or rayon-polyester webs (such as those available under the trade designation SONTARA 8010 or SONTARA 8411 from DuPont, Wilmington, Del.) (paragraph 0123).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Inazuki’s patch and Tani’s patch using porous thermoplastic polyurethane that is liquid impervious and moisture and vapor permeable in combination with a nonwoven fabric, with a reasonable expectation of success because Holm teaches that a thermoplastic polyurethane is a suitable material for making a backing layer and teaches using it in combination with a nonwoven fabric as a backing layer. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose supports obviousness.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ALMA PIPIC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617