DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 are pending in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 1, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without an "inventive concept" sufficient to transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible application. The claims are directed to a mathematical algorithm and a process of organizing or analyzing information, which are recognized abstract ideas. Claims 2 and 5 are explicitly directed to a mathematical formula for "Simulated Annealing" and the calculation of "cASR" (continuous Attack Success Rate). The core of the invention involves generating a random trigger, iteratively modifying it, and comparing "old" vs. "new" success rates (scores) to reach a conclusion. This represents a series of mathematical steps for data analysis that can be performed by a human or a computer. The method characterizes the behavior of an external model (the "black-box") solely by analyzing input/output relationships. Identifying patterns in data (Trojan triggers) through iterative optimization is a fundamental mental or mathematical exercise. Step 2A. The claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application that provides a "technical improvement" to a computer or another technology. The system in Claim 1 utilizes a generic "server," "processor," and "memory". These components perform their standard, well-understood functions of storing and executing instructions. While the specification argues that this method is "architecture agnostic" and "data-efficient", the claims do not recite a specific improvement to the functioning of the computer itself. Instead, the computer is merely a tool used to perform the mathematical optimization (simulated annealing) faster than a human could. Step 2B. The claims lack an "inventive concept" that is "significantly more" than the abstract idea itself. Simulated annealing, iterative optimization, and calculating success rates are well-known mathematical techniques in the field of computer science. Limiting the mathematical algorithm to the specific field of "neural Trojan detection" is a "field of use" restriction, which the courts have held does not transform an abstract idea into eligible subject matter. The claims do not detail how the "black-box" model is interacted with in a way that is unique to the hardware; they only describe the logical flow of the algorithm. Because the claims recite a mathematical algorithm (simulated annealing) executed on generic computer hardware to analyze data (cASR), they are directed to an abstract idea and are ineligible for patent protection under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feng et al. (Detecting Backdoors in Pre-trained Encoders, 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Feng et al. teaches a system for zero-shot black-box detection of neural Trojans comprising: a server (abstract); a processor (abstract); memory storing instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to apply a zero-shot black-box detection of neural Trojans algorithm (section 1, page 2, “the first backdoor detection approach for pre-trained encoders”).
Regarding claim 2, Feng et al. teaches wherein the zero-shot black-box detection of neural Trojans uses an algorithm (section 4.2, pages 4 and 5, “the cosing similarity of these embeddings guides the optimization of trigger”, “minimal trigger size”, “iteratively optimized to the minimal”).
Regarding claim 3, Feng et al. teaches a method of using zero-shot black-box detection of neural Trojans comprising: receiving a patch (section 2.1, page 2, “patch like triggers”); performing simulated annealing on the patch using a zero-shot black-box detection of neural Trojans algorithm (section 4.2, page 5, “trigger size is iteratively optimized”); detecting the presence of a Trojan (section 4.2.1, page 5, “detect backdoored encoders” and fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Feng et al. teaches wherein the patch includes at least one of a random pattern, a size, a shape, or a location (section G.2, page 15, random).
Regarding claim 5, Feng et al. teaches wherein the zero-shot black-box detection of neural Trojans uses an algorithm (section 4.2, pages 4 and 5, “the cosing similarity of these embeddings guides the optimization of trigger”, “minimal trigger size”, “iteratively optimized to the minimal”).
/BRANDON HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433