CTNF 18/903,365 CTNF 65035 DETAILED ACTION This is the initial Office action for application SN 18/903,365 having an effective date of 01 October 2024. A preliminary amendment was filed on 04 May 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Ahmed et al “Transforming red mud into an efficient Acid-Base catalyst by hybridization with mesoporous ZSM-5 for Co-pyrolysis of biomass and plastics” . Ahmed et al [“Ahmed”] disclose a multifunctional catalyst by modifying the catalytic properties of red mud for the co-pyrolysis of biomass and polyethylene. Ahmed discloses that the optimum hybrid catalyst (0.4 red mud/ZSM) exhibits higher porosity (10 times more porous than pristine red mud), more accessible pores, and new weak basic sites compared to conventional red mud. Ahmed discloses that the multifunctional catalyst shows a higher catalytic activity than mesoporous ZSM-5 in promoting decarbonylation over dehydration . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Dependent claims 4 and 5 further add a matrix material and a binder to the hybrid catalyst of claim 11 which is not taught or suggested in Ahmed. Claims 10-20 are allowed over the prior art references of record. In regard to method claims 10-16 and system claims 17-20, no prior art references of record use the catalyst of claim 1 in FCC cracking of plastic derived oils. Ahmad discloses the use of the multifunctional catalyst for the co-pyrolysis of biomass and polyethylene, and not as the catalyst in FCC cracking of plastic derived oils as claimed. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JO et al (US 2025/0197725) disclose a method for producing waste plastic pyrolysis oil with reduced chlorine comprising charging a waste plastic feedstock and modified red mud into a reactor. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ELLEN M MCAVOY whose telephone number is (571)272-1451. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:30am - 7:00 pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, PREM SINGH can be reached at (571) 272-6381. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ELLEN M MCAVOY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771 EMcAvoy May 28, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/903,365 Page 2 Art Unit: 1771 Application/Control Number: 18/903,365 Page 3 Art Unit: 1771