DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Specification
3. The objection of the specification is withdrawn in view of applicant's amendments/remarks.
Claim objections
4. The objection to claim 12 is withdrawn in light of amendments/remarks.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s argument filed on 03/16/2026 with respect claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
6. For claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112: The applicant contends that claim 1 meets the primary requirement under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) that the scope of the claim is clear since the applicants are their own lexicographers, and therefore, Applicant is free to choose the term (in this case "second") to define the claimed subject matter so long as the claim scope is clear. Examiner understands that the applicants have their own lexicographers, but still respectfully disagrees and asserts that claim is indefinite when it contains words or phrases whose meaning is unclear. The lack of clarity could arise where a claim refers to the term where the claim contains no earlier recitation or limitation of a lever and where it would be unclear as to what element the limitation was making reference. The claim 1 contains no earlier or later recitation or limitation of “a first generator matrix” the claim recites “a plurality of first generator matrix cores” which is different from “a first generator matrix” and by referring to a "second" element implicitly requires that a "first" element was previously established in the claim that why the Examiner indicated that claim was ambiguous. Usually, the applicant refers to the “first” and then to the “second” and in this case the applicant refers to the “second” first without referring to “first”. Depended claim 8 recite “a first generator matrix” which is a first time has been introduced by the applicant (e.g. wherein the determining the second generator matrix comprises determining the second generator matrix based on a first generator matrix. Therefore, the examiner respectively requests to amend the claim for best understanding and clarification. See MPEP 2173.05(e).
7. For the Double Patenting: Applicants contends that the amendments have already obviated the alleged double patenting issues, and withdrawal of the double patenting rejection is now believed appropriate and therefore respectfully requested. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts that the present application claims are substantially equivalent to claims of the reference application. Therefore, the Examiner maintains the double patenting rejection because there is no terminal disclaimer has been filed and/or claims have not amended in such a way to overcome the double patenting rejection.
8. For claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103: The applicant contends that the office action fails to teach or suggest the limitation of "wherein each sub-matrix included in the sub-block is one of the plurality of first generator matrix cores or a zero matrix." The Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts that WU XIAOWEI ET AL: "Partially Information Coupled Polar Codes" in abstract, pages 6390, page 63693, and Fig. 14 teaches the such limitation. For example, we propose a new class of partially information coupled (PIC) polar codes to improve the transmission efficiency of transport block (TB)-based communication standards. In the proposed PIC polar codes, every two consecutive systematic polar code blocks (CBs) in a TB are coupled by sharing a few systematic information bits. Dummy bits are inserted at the two ends of the TB to construct terminated PIC polar codes. We propose a CB decoding scheme which only uses the information associated with correctly decoded coupled bits to mitigate the serious error propagation problem in successive cancellation based polar code decoding algorithms. We also propose an inter-CB decoding scheme which realizes a windowed. See abstract.We propose a class of PIC polar codes and the corresponding decoding scheme. The PIC polar codes are constructed by sharing a few systematic information bits between every two consecutive systematic polar CBs and inserting dummy bits in the first and the last CBs. A CB decoding scheme and an inter-CB decoding scheme are proposed. See left column of page 63690. IKc and IKu are identity matrices of size Kc x Kc and Ku x Ku, respectively, and K= D 2Kc +Ku. And P1 and P3 are submatrices of P of size Kc x (N-K), P2 is a submatrix of P of size Ku x (N-K). ↔ means that the lower matrix in (13) is obtained by swapping the columns of the upper matrix in (13). It can be seen from (13) that the top-left submatrix IKc and the bottom-right submatrix IKc of the lower matrix are the same. Therefore, spatially coupled polar codes can be constructed by sharing the submatrix IKc between consecutive polar CBs. See right column of page 63693. Also see matrix 14 printed below for your convenience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claims 1, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The claim 1 recites the limitation of "--- determining a second generator matrix---." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no determination has been made for a first generator matrix previously in the claim. Independent claims 11 and 14 recite similar limitation of claim 1. Therefore, are rejected for the same reason of claim 1. Dependent claims 2-110, 12-13, and 115-20 depend from the base claims 1, 11, and 14 respectively and inherently include limitations therein and therefore are rejected under 35 USC 112, 2nd paragraph as well.
Double Patenting
11. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, and 14-16 are non-provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 10, 11, 13, and 15-16 respectively of patent application No: US 12,136,932 B2 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, and 14-16 of the present application are substantially equivalent to claims 1-5, 7, 8, 11, 13, and 15-16 respectively of the reference application as shown in the chart and explanation below.
Instant Application No. 18/903,370
U.S. Patent No. US 12,136,932 B2
Claim 1.
An encoding method, comprising: obtaining K to-be-encoded bits, wherein K is a positive integer;
determining a second generator matrix, wherein the second generator matrix comprises T sub-blocks arranged along a diagonal of the second generator matrix, wherein T is a positive integer greater than 1, a position relationship between every two adjacent sub-blocks of the T sub-blocks is determined based on a preset position relationship, and an overlapping portion exists in the two adjacent sub-blocks, and each sub-block of the T sub-blocks comprises a plurality of first generator matrix cores, wherein each sub-matrix included in the sub-block is one of the plurality of first generator matrix cores or a zero matrix; and polar encoding the K to-be-encoded bits based on the second generator matrix, to obtain encoded bits.
Claim 2:
wherein T is a minimum integer that enables a first condition to be satisfied, and the first condition is that a size of the second generator matrix is greater than or equal to an encoding length.
Claim 1.
An encoding method, comprising: obtaining K to-be-encoded bits, wherein K is a positive integer; determining a first generator matrix, wherein: the first generator matrix includes at least two sub-blocks distributed diagonally with a preset overlapping position relationship between every two sub-blocks of a predetermined distance; and a sub-block includes a plurality of first generator matrix cores, wherein the plurality of the first generator matrix cores are distributed in the sub-block in a lower triangular form, and the plurality of the first generator matrix cores in the sub-block are in a lower triangular form;
generating a second generator matrix based on the first generator matrix, wherein: the second generator matrix includes T sub-blocks, wherein each of the T sub-blocks include a plurality of the first generator matrix cores, and the plurality of the first generator matrix cores in the sub-block of the T sub-blocks are distributed in a lower triangular form; an overlapping position relationship between two adjacent sub-blocks of the T sub-blocks is same as the preset overlapping position relationship between every two sub-blocks of the first generator matrix; and T is a positive integer; and polar encoding the K to-be-encoded bits based on the second generator matrix, to obtain encoded bits; wherein a sub-matrix included in the sub-block is the first generator matrix core or a zero matrix; wherein the position relationship between the two adjacent sub-blocks of the T sub-blocks is the same as the preset position relationship, and a size of the second generator matrix is selected to be at least equal to a predetermined encoding length; and wherein T is a minimum integer that enables a first condition to be satisfied, and the first condition is that a size of the second generator matrix is greater than or equal to the encoding length.
Claim 3:
The method according to claim 1, wherein all sub-matrices along a first diagonal of each sub-block of the Tsub-blocks are first generator matrix cores of the plurality of first generator matrix cores of the sub-block.
Claim 3:
The method according to claim 1, wherein: a first diagonal of the sub-block includes the plurality of first generator matrix cores.
Claim 5:
The method according to claim 1, wherein distribution of the plurality of first generator matrix cores each sub-block of the T sub-block is the same as distribution of elements in a second generator matrix core, and a quantity of elements in the second generator matrix core is the same as a quantity of sub-matrices in the sub-block.
Claim: 4
The method according to claim 1, wherein: distribution of the plurality of first generator matrix cores in the sub-block is the same as distribution of first elements in a second generator matrix core; and a quantity of elements included in the second generator matrix core is the same as a quantity of sub-matrices comprised in the sub-block.
Claim 7.
The method according to claim 5, wherein the quantity of sub-matrices in the sub-block is 2*2.
Claim 5.
The method according to claim 4, wherein: the quantity of sub-matrices included in the sub-block is 2*2, and the sub-matrix included in the sub-block is the first generator matrix core or the zero matrix.
Claim 9:
The method according to claim 5, wherein the quantity of sub-matrices in each sub-block of the sub-block is 4*4.
Claim 7:
The method according to claim 4, wherein: the quantity of sub-matrices included in the sub-block is 4*4, and the sub-matrix included in the sub-block is the first generator matrix core or the zero matrix.
Claim 11:
A decoding method, comprising: receiving polar encoded bit information; and polar decoding the polar encoded bit information based on a second generator matrix, to obtain polar decoded bits,
wherein the second generator matrix comprises T sub-blocks arranged along a diagonal of the second generator matrix, wherein T is a positive integer greater than 1, a position relationship between two adjacent sub-blocks of the T sub-blocks is determined based on a preset position relationship,
an overlapping portion exists in the two adjacent sub-blocks, and each sub-block of the T sub-blocks comprises a plurality of first generator matrix cores, wherein each sub-matrix included in the sub-block is one of the plurality of first generator matrix cores or a zero matrix.
Claim 10:
A decoding method, comprising: receiving polar encoded bit information; and polar decoding the polar encoded bit information based on a second generator matrix, to obtain polar decoded bits, wherein: the second generator matrix is generated based on a first generator matrix; the first generator matrix includes at least two sub-blocks distributed diagonally with a preset overlapping position relationship between every two sub-blocks of a predetermined distance; a sub-block includes a plurality of first generator matrix cores, wherein the plurality of the first generator matrix cores are distributed in the sub-block in a lower triangular form, and the plurality of the first generator matrix cores in the sub-block are in a lower triangular form; the second generator matrix includes T sub-blocks, wherein each of the T sub-blocks include a plurality of the first generator matrix cores, and the plurality of the first generator matrix cores in the sub-block of the T sub-blocks are distributed in a lower triangular form; an overlapping position relationship between two adjacent sub-blocks of the T sub-blocks is same as the preset overlapping position relationship between every two sub-blocks of the first generator matrix; and T is a positive integer; wherein a sub-matrix included in the sub-block is the first generator matrix core or a zero matrix; wherein the position relationship between the two adjacent sub-blocks of the T sub-blocks is the same as the preset position relationship, and a size of the second generator matrix is selected to be at least equal to a predetermined encoding length; and wherein T is a minimum integer that enables a first condition to be satisfied, and the first condition is that a size of the second generator matrix is greater than or equal to the encoding length.
Claim 12:
The method according to claim 11, wherein the polar encoded bit information comprises N′ first log-likelihood ratio (LLR) sequences, wherein N′ is a positive integer.
Claim 11:
The method according to claim 10, wherein: the polar encoded bit information includes N′ first log-likelihood ratio (LLR) sequences, and N′ is a positive integer.
Claim 13:
The method according to claim 12, wherein the N′ first LLRs comprise T first LLR sequences, and the first LLR sequence comprises at least two first LLRs; and the polar decoding comprises:
determining T second LLR sequences corresponding to the T first LLR sequences, wherein one of the first LLR sequences corresponds to one or more groups of unencoded bits, and one of the second LLR sequences corresponds to one group of unencoded bits; and performing polar decoding based on the T second LLR sequences.
Claim 12:
The method according to claim 11, wherein: the N′ first LLRs include T first LLR sequences, and the first LLR sequence includes at least two first LLRs; and polar decoding comprises:
determining T second LLR sequences corresponding to the T first LLR sequences, wherein one of the first LLR sequences corresponds to one or more groups of unencoded bits, and one of the second LLR sequences corresponds to one group of unencoded bits; and performing polar decoding based on the T second LLR sequences.
Claim 14:
An encoding apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, to: obtain K to-be-encoded bits, wherein K is a positive integer;
determine a second generator matrix, wherein the second generator matrix comprises T sub-blocks arranged along a diagonal of the second generator matrix, wherein T is a positive integer greater than 1, a position relationship between two adjacent sub-blocks of the T sub-blocks is determined based on a preset position relationship, and overlapping portion exists in the two adjacent sub-blocks, and each sub-block of the T sub-blocks comprises a plurality of first generator matrix cores, wherein each sub-matrix included in the sub-block is one of the plurality of first generator matrix cores or a zero matrix; and polar encode the K to-be-encoded bits based on the second generator matrix, to obtain encoded bits.
Claim 15:
The apparatus according to claim 14, wherein T is a minimum integer that enables a first condition to be satisfied, and the first condition is that a size of the second generator matrix is greater than or equal to an encoding length.
Claim 13:
An encoding apparatus, comprising at least one processor; one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, to: obtain K to-be-encoded bits, wherein K is a positive integer;
determine a first generator matrix, wherein the first generator matrix includes at least two sub-blocks distributed diagonally with a preset overlapping position relationship between every two sub-blocks of a predetermined distance, and a sub-block includes a plurality of first generator matrix cores, wherein the plurality of the first generator matrix cores are distributed in a lower triangular form, and the plurality of the first generator matrix cores in the sub-block are in a lower triangular form; generate a second generator matrix based on the first generator matrix, wherein the second generator matrix includes T sub-blocks, and wherein each of the T sub-blocks include a plurality of the first generator matrix cores, and the plurality of the first generator matrix cores in the sub-block of the T sub-blocks are distributed in a lower triangular form, and an overlapping position relationship between two adjacent sub-blocks of the T sub-blocks is same as on the preset overlapping position relationship between every two sub-blocks of the first generator matrix, and T is a positive integer; and polar encode the K to-be-encoded bits based on the second generator matrix, to obtain encoded bits; wherein a sub-matrix included in the sub-block is a first generator matrix core or a zero matrix; wherein the position relationship between the two adjacent sub-blocks of the T sub-blocks is the same as the preset position relationship, and a size of the second generator matrix is selected to be at least equal to a predetermined encoding length; and wherein T is a minimum integer that enables a first condition to be satisfied, and the first condition is that a size of the second generator matrix is greater than or equal to the encoding length.
Claim 15:
The encoding apparatus according to claim 13, wherein an overlapping portion exists in the at least two sub-blocks.
Claim 16:
The apparatus according to claim 14, all sub-matrices along a first diagonal of each sub-block of the Tsub-blocks are first generator matrix cores of the plurality of first generator matrix cores of the sub-block.
Claim 16:
The encoding apparatus according to claim 13, wherein: a first diagonal of the sub-block includes the plurality of first generator matrix cores.
From the table above, claims 1-5, 7, 10, 11, 13, and 15-16 of the reference application contained every limitation of claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, and 14-16 respectively of the instant application. The only difference is the reference application is broader application and generate a second generator matrix, while the present application beside is narrower application and determine a second generator matrix. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, that the reference application can determine and generate a second generator matrix since is the first generator matrix is determined. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the generating a second generator matrix would have improved the encoding and decoding systems performance. Thus, claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-12, 14-16, and 18 of the present application are not patentably distinct over the patent application because both applications contain substantially the same limitations performing the same function. This is a non-provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have been patented.
12. Claim 4 is non-provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2021/0281279 A1).
Jang teaches or discloses the feature of “wherein the plurality of first generator matrix cores in the sub-block are distributed in a lower triangular form (see Fig. 8A, F.sub.2s in the sub-block 801 & 803 are distributed in a lower triangular form). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the patent with the teaching of Jang in order to generate a modified generator matrix and encode data by using the determined generator matrix as described by Jang in [0103-0104]. Thus, claim 4 of the present application is not patentably distinct over Jang et al. (US 2021/0281279 A1) because both applications contain substantially the same limitations performing the same function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2021/0281279 A1) “hereinafter as Jang” in view of WU XIAOWEI ET AL: "Partially Information Coupled Polar Codes", IEEE ACCESS, vol. 6, 24 September 2018 (2018-09-24), - 19 November 2018, “hereinafter Wu.”
As per claim 1:
Jang substantially teaches or discloses an encoding method, comprising (see abstract; and paragraph [0008], herein the disclosure provides an apparatus and a method for encoding and decoding by using a polar code in a wireless communication system): obtaining K to-be-encoded bits, wherein K is a positive integer (see paragraph [0016], herein encoding data by using a generator matrix which is determined based on the at least one inactivation sub-block; and transmitting the encoded data to a second device; and paragraph [0072, herein the controller 230 may control the data encoding unit 234 to encode data based on the identified sub-block); determining a second generator matrix (see paragraph [0099], herein the transmission end may generate an index sequence of the sub-block to be inactivated, and may determine a modified generator matrix [second generator matrix] from a generator matrix of a regular polar code; paragraph [00103]; and Fig. 8A modified generator matrices 801, 803, 805, and 807), a position relationship between two adjacent sub-blocks of the T sub-blocks is determined based on a preset position relationship(see paragraphs [0096] and [0103], herein generator matrix (F) and generator matrix (G) are arranged according to the position of the ones and zero), wherein each sub-matrix included in the sub-block is one of the plurality of first generator matrix cores or a zero matrix (see paragraph [0095], herein the transmission end may determine sub-blocks formed only of frozen bits or information bits as inactivation sub-blocks, and may set an element value in a sequence in a sub-block index corresponding to the inactivation sub-blocks to 1; and Fig. 8A); and polar encoding the K to-be-encoded bits based on the second generator matrix, to obtain encoded bits (see paragraph [0095], herein the transmission end may acquire the codeword vector (x) by encoding the source bit vector (u) through the modified generator matrix; and paragraph [0099], herein The transmission end may encode data by generating a codeword by multiplying the modified generator matrix by an information bit).
Jang does not explicitly teach wherein the second generator matrix comprises T sub-blocks arranged along a diagonal of the second generator matrix, wherein T is a positive integer greater than 1, and an overlapping portion exists in the two adjacent sub-blocks, and each sub-block of the T sub-blocks comprises a plurality of first generator matrix cores.
However, Wu in the same the field of endeavor teaches wherein the second generator matrix comprises T sub-blocks arranged along a diagonal of the second generator, wherein T is a positive integer greater than 1 (see pages 63693, matrix 13), and an overlapping portion exists in the two adjacent sub-blocks (see abstract; left column of page 63690, sharing a few systematic information bits between every two consecutive systematic polar CBs and inserting dummy bits in the first and the last CBs; right column od pages 63693, spatially coupled polar codes can be constructed by sharing the submatrix IKc between consecutive polar CBs; and Fig. 14), and each sub-block of the T sub-blocks comprises a plurality of first generator matrix cores (see page 63693, Matrices (13) & (14), where uGPIC corresponds to the second generator matrix generated based on the first generator matrix GsK,N and uGPIC comprises T sub-blocks, where each part of Gp1c framed by a solid line corresponds to a sub-block).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Jang with the teachings of Wu by including the the second generator matrix comprises T sub-blocks arranged along a diagonal of the second generator matrix, wherein T is a positive integer greater than 1, and an overlapping portion exists in the two adjacent sub-blocks and each sub-block of the T sub-blocks comprises a plurality of first generator matrix cores.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the second generator matrix comprises T sub-blocks arranged along a diagonal of the second generator matrix, wherein T is a positive integer greater than 1, and an overlapping portion exists in the two adjacent sub-blocks and each sub-block of the T sub-blocks comprises a plurality of first generator matrix cores would have improved partially information coupled (PIC) polar codes (see abstract of Wu).
As per claim 2:
Wu teaches that wherein T is a minimum integer that enables a first condition to be satisfied, and the first condition is that a size of the second generator matrix is greater than or equal to an encoding length (see right column of page 63693, herein u is the infinite-long input information sequence to the PIC polar code, GPIC represents the generator matrix of the PIC polar code,
constitute the input information sequence for the l-th polar CB and
constitute the input information sequence for the l C1-th polar CB. The l-th and the l C 1-th polar CBs are coupled together via the shared information sequence
).
As per claim 3:
Jang teaches that wherein all sub-matrices along a first diagonal of each sub-block of the Tsub-blocks are first generator matrix cores of the plurality of first generator matrix cores of the sub-block (see Fig. 8A, the first generator matrix cores (F.sub.2) are included on a first diagonal of the sub-block).
As per claim 4:
Jang teaches that wherein the plurality of first generator matrix cores in each sub-block of the Tsub-block are distributed in a lower triangular form (see Fig. 8A, F.sub.2s in the sub-block 801 & 803 are distributed in a lower triangular form).
As per claim 5:
Jang teaches that wherein distribution of the plurality of first generator matrix cores in each sub-block of the T sub- blocks is the same as distribution of elements in a second generator matrix core (see Fig. 8A, distribution of F.sub.2 in the sub-blocks is the same as distribution of is in the second generator matrix core 802), and a quantity of elements in the second generator matrix core is the same as a quantity of sub-matrices in the sub-block (see Fig. 8A, the quantity of elements included in the second generator matrix core 802 is the same as a quantity of elements in the first generator matrix core 800).
As per claim 7:
Jang teaches that wherein the quantity of sub-matrices in each sub-block of the T sub-block is 2*2 (see Fig. 8B, sub-matrices 821 & 823)
As per claim 8:
Jang teaches that wherein the determining the second generator matrix comprises determining the second generator matrix based on a first generator matrix (see paragraph [0099], herein determine a modified generator matrix from a generator matrix of a regular polar code, based on the index sequence of the sub-block to be inactivated); the first generator matrix comprises a first sub-block and a second sub-block (see paragraph [0103], herein the generator matrix 800 may be modified according to a position of the element 1 included in the index set of the inactivation sub-block. For example, in FIG. 8A, the generator matrix 800 may be modified to four types in total; and Fig. 8A).
Jang does not explicitly teach a first sub-matrix in the first sub-block overlaps a second sub-matrix in the second sub-block; and coordinates of the first sub-matrix in the first sub-block are (2, 2), and coordinates of the second sub-matrix in the second sub-block are (1, 1).
However, Wu in the same the field of endeavor teaches a first sub-matrix in the first sub-block overlaps a second sub-matrix in the second sub-block (see page 63693, herein coupled polar codes can be constructed by sharing the submatrix IKc between consecutive polar CBs); and coordinates of the first sub-matrix in the first sub-block are (2, 2), and coordinates of the second sub-matrix in the second sub-block are (1, 1) (see matrix (14)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Jang with the teachings of Wu by including the a first sub-matrix in the first sub-block overlaps a second sub-matrix in the second sub-block; and coordinates of the first sub-matrix in the first sub-block are (2, 2), and coordinates of the second sub-matrix in the second sub-block are (1, 1).
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the a first sub-matrix in the first sub-block overlaps a second sub-matrix in the second sub-block; and coordinates of the first sub-matrix in the first sub-block are (2, 2), and coordinates of the second sub-matrix in the second sub-block are (1, 1) would have improved partially information coupled (PIC) polar codes (see abstract of Wu).
As per claim 9:
Jang teaches that wherein the quantity of sub-matrices in each sub-block of the T sub-block is 4*4 (see Fig. 8A, (i.e. sub-matrices 801, 803, 805, and 807).
As per claim 10:
Jang teaches that wherein the determining the second generator matrix comprises determining the second generator matrix based on a first generator matrix (see paragraph [0099], herein determine a modified generator matrix from a generator matrix of a regular polar code, based on the index sequence of the sub-block to be inactivated); and the first generator matrix comprises a first sub-block and a second sub-block (see paragraph [0103], herein the generator matrix 800 may be modified according to a position of the element 1 included in the index set of the inactivation sub-block. For example, in FIG. 8A, the generator matrix 800 may be modified to four types in total; and Fig. 8A).
Jang does not explicitly teach four first sub-matrices in the first sub-block overlap four second sub-matrices in the second sub-block, wherein coordinates of the four first sub-matrices in the first sub-block are (3, 3), (3, 4), (4, 3), and (4, 4); and coordinates of the four second sub-matrices in the second sub-block are (1, 1), (1, 2), (2, 1), and (2, 2).
However, Wu in the same the field of endeavor teaches four first sub-matrices in the first sub-block overlap four second sub-matrices in the second sub-block (see page 63693, herein coupled polar codes can be constructed by sharing the submatrix IKc between consecutive polar CBs), wherein coordinates of the four first sub-matrices in the first sub-block are (3, 3), (3, 4), (4, 3), and (4, 4); and coordinates of the four second sub-matrices in the second sub-block are (1, 1), (1, 2), (2, 1), and (2, 2) (see matrix (14)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Jang with the teachings of Wu by including the four first sub-matrices in the first sub-block overlap four second sub-matrices in the second sub-block, wherein coordinates of the four first sub-matrices in the first sub-block are (3, 3), (3, 4), (4, 3), and (4, 4); and coordinates of the four second sub-matrices in the second sub-block are (1, 1), (1, 2), (2, 1), and (2, 2).
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the four first sub-matrices in the first sub-block overlap four second sub-matrices in the second sub-block, wherein coordinates of the four first sub-matrices in the first sub-block are (3, 3), (3, 4), (4, 3), and (4, 4); and coordinates of the four second sub-matrices in the second sub-block are (1, 1), (1, 2), (2, 1), and (2, 2) would have improved partially information coupled (PIC) polar codes (see abstract of Wu).
As per claim 11:
Jang substantially teaches or discloses a decoding method, comprising (see abstract; and paragraph [0008], herein the disclosure provides an apparatus and a method for encoding and decoding by using a polar code in a wireless communication system): receiving polar encoded bit information ((see paragraph [0016], herein encoding data by using a generator matrix which is determined based on the at least one inactivation sub-block; and transmitting the encoded data to a second device; and paragraph [0072, herein the controller 230 may control the data encoding unit 234 to encode data based on the identified sub-block); and polar decoding the polar encoded bit information based on a second generator matrix, to obtain polar decoded bits (see paragraph [0079], herein he controller 330 may control the data decoding unit 334 to decode data based on the identified sub-block; and paragraphs [0061]&[0094]), a position relationship between every two adjacent sub-blocks of the T sub-blocks is determined based on a preset position relationship, (see paragraphs [0096] and [0103], herein generator matrix (F) and generator matrix (G) are arranged according to the position of the ones and zero), wherein each sub-matrix included in the sub-block is one of the plurality of first generator matrix cores or a zero matrix (see paragraph [0095], herein the transmission end may determine sub-blocks formed only of frozen bits or information bits as inactivation sub-blocks, and may set an element value in a sequence in a sub-block index corresponding to the inactivation sub-blocks to 1; and Fig. 8A).
Jang does not explicitly teach wherein the second generator matrix comprises T sub-blocks arranged along a diagonal of the second generator matrix, wherein T is a positive integer greater than 1; and an overlapping portion exists in the two adjacent sub-blocks, and each sub-block of the T sub-blocks comprises a plurality of first generator matrix cores. However, Wu in the same the field of endeavor teaches wherein the second generator matrix comprises T sub-blocks arranged along a diagonal of the second generator matrix, wherein T is a positive integer greater than 1 (see pages 63693, matrix 13); and an overlapping portion exists in the two adjacent sub-blocks (see abstract; left column of page 63690, sharing a few systematic information bits between every two consecutive systematic polar CBs and inserting dummy bits in the first and the last CBs; right column od pages 63693, spatially coupled polar codes can be constructed by sharing the submatrix IKc between consecutive polar CBs; and matrix 14), and each sub-block of the T sub-blocks comprises a plurality of first generator matrix cores (see page 63693, Matrices (13) & (14), where uGPIC corresponds to the second generator matrix generated based on the first generator matrix GsK,N and uGPIC comprises T sub-blocks, where each part of Gp1c framed by a solid line corresponds to a sub-block).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Jang with the teachings of Wu by including the second generator matrix comprises T sub-blocks arranged along a diagonal of the second generator matrix, wherein T is a positive integer greater than 1; and an overlapping portion exists in the two adjacent sub-blocks, and each sub-block of the T sub-blocks comprises a plurality of first generator matrix cores.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the second generator matrix comprises T sub-blocks arranged along a diagonal of the second generator matrix, wherein T is a positive integer greater than 1; and an overlapping portion exists in the two adjacent sub-blocks, and each sub-block of the T sub-blocks comprises a plurality of first generator matrix cores would have improved partially information coupled (PIC) polar codes (see abstract of Wu).
As per claim 12:
Jang teaches that wherein the polar encoded bit information comprises N′ first log-likelihood ratio (LLR) sequences, wherein N′ is a positive integer (see paragraph [0091], herein when decoding proceeds from the code bit end to the source bit end, LLR values corresponding to u.sub.0 to u.sub.3 before the decoding enters the sub-block 420 may be used directly for decoding of the source bits, and Fig. 4C).
As per claim 14:
Jang substantially teaches or discloses an encoding apparatus, comprising (see abstract; and paragraph [0008], herein the disclosure provides an apparatus and a method for encoding and decoding by using a polar code in a wireless communication system): at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, to: obtain K to-be-encoded bits, wherein K is a positive integer (see paragraph [0016], herein encoding data by using a generator matrix which is determined based on the at least one inactivation sub-block; and transmitting the encoded data to a second device; and paragraph [0072, herein the controller 230 may control the data encoding unit 234 to encode data based on the identified sub-block); determine a second generator matrix, (see paragraph [00103], herein determining a modified generator matrix [second generator matrix] according to an index of an inactivated sub-block if a size of a sub-block is 2. Referring to FIG. 8A, if a code length (N) is 8 and a size of a sub-block is 2, a generator matrix G.sub.8 of the existing normal code length of 8, and Fig. 8A) a position relationship between every two adjacent sub-blocks of the T sub-blocks is determined based on a preset position relationship integer (see paragraphs [0096] and [0103], herein generator matrix (F) and generator matrix (G) are arranged according to the position of the ones and zero), wherein each sub-matrix included in the sub-block is one of the plurality of first generator matrix cores or a zero matrix (see paragraph [0095], herein the transmission end may determine sub-blocks formed only of frozen bits or information bits as inactivation sub-blocks, and may set an element value in a sequence in a sub-block index corresponding to the inactivation sub-blocks to 1; and Fig. 8A); and polar encode the K to-be-encoded bits based on the second generator matrix, to obtain encoded bits (see paragraph [0095], herein the transmission end may acquire the codeword vector (x) by encoding the source bit vector (u) through the modified generator matrix; and paragraph [0099], herein The transmission end may encode data by generating a codeword by multiplying the modified generator matrix by an information bit).
Jang does not explicitly teach wherein the second generator matrix comprises T sub-blocks arranged along a diagonal of the second generator matrix, wherein T is a positive integer greater than 1; and an overlapping portion exists in the two adjacent sub-blocks, and each sub-block of the T sub-blocks comprises a plurality of first generator matrix cores. However, Wu in the same the field of endeavor teaches wherein the second generator matrix comprises T sub-blocks arranged along a diagonal of the second generator matrix, wherein T is a positive integer greater than 1 (see pages 63693, matrix 13); and an overlapping portion exists in the two adjacent sub-blocks (see abstract; left column of page 63690, sharing a few systematic information bits between every two consecutive systematic polar CBs and inserting dummy bits in the first and the last CBs; right column od pages 63693, spatially coupled polar codes can be constructed by sharing the submatrix IKc between consecutive polar CBs; and matrix 14), and each sub-block of the T sub-blocks comprises a plurality of first generator matrix cores (see page 63693, Matrices (13) & (14), where uGPIC corresponds to the second generator matrix generated based on the first generator matrix GsK,N and uGPIC comprises T sub-blocks, where each part of Gp1c framed by a solid line corresponds to a sub-block.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Jang with the teachings of Wu by including wherein the second generator matrix comprises T sub-blocks arranged along a diagonal of the second generator matrix, wherein T is a positive integer greater than 1; and an overlapping portion exists in the two adjacent sub-blocks, and each sub-block of the T sub-blocks comprises a plurality of first generator matrix cores.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized wherein the second generator matrix comprises T sub-blocks arranged along a diagonal of the second generator matrix, wherein T is a positive integer greater than 1; and an overlapping portion exists in the two adjacent sub-blocks, and each sub-block of the T sub-blocks comprises a plurality of first generator matrix cores would have improved partially information coupled (PIC) polar codes (see abstract of Wu).
As per claim 15:
Wu teaches that wherein T is a minimum integer that enables a first condition to be satisfied, and the first condition is that a size of the second generator matrix is greater than or equal to an encoding length (see right column of page 63693, herein u is the infinite-long input information sequence to the PIC polar code, GPIC represents the generator matrix of the PIC polar code,
constitute the input information sequence for the l-th polar CB and
constitute the input information sequence for the l C1-th polar CB. The l-th and the l C 1-th polar CBs are coupled together via the shared information sequence
).
As per claim 16:
Jang teaches that wherein all sub-matrices along a first diagonal of each sub-block of the Tsub-blocks are first generator matrix cores of the plurality of first generator matrix cores of the sub-block (see Fig. 8A, the first generator matrix cores (F.sub.2) are included on a first diagonal of the sub-block).
As per claim 17:
Jang teaches that wherein the plurality of first generator matrix cores in each sub-block of the T sub-block are distributed in a lower triangular form (see Fig. 8A, F.sub.2s in the sub-block 801 & 803 are distributed in a lower triangular form).
As per claim 18:
Jang teaches that wherein distribution of the plurality of first generator matrix cores in each sub-block of the T sub-block is the same as distribution of elements in a second generator matrix core (see Fig. 8A, distribution of F.sub.2 in the sub-blocks is the same as distribution of is in the second generator matrix core 802), and a quantity of elements in the second generator matrix core is the same as a quantity of sub-matrices in the sub-block (see Fig. 8A, the quantity of elements included in the second generator matrix core 802 is the same as a quantity of elements in the first generator matrix core 800).
As per claim 19:
Wu teaches that wherein the Tsub-blocks occupy an entirety of the diagonal of the second generator matrix (see pages 63693, matrix 13)
As per claim 20:
Jang teaches that wherein the quantity of sub-matrices in each sub-block of the T sub-block is 2*2 or 4*4 (see Fig. 8A sub-matrices 801, 803, 805, and 807; and Fig. 8B, sub-matrices 821 & 823)
14. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2021/0281279 A1) “hereinafter as Jang” in view of WU XIAOWEI ET AL: "Partially Information Coupled Polar Codes", IEEE ACCESS, vol. 6, 24 September 2018 (2018-09-24), - 19 November 2018, “hereinafter Wu” in further view of Wang et al. (WO 2018127140 A1) and for better translation the patent family of Wang et al. (US 20190334553 A1) will be used.
As per claim 6:
Jang-Wu as combined does not teach wherein the distribution of elements in the second generator matrix core satisfies
However, Wang in the same the field of endeavor teaches wherein the distribution of elements in the second generator matrix core satisfies
(see WO 2018127140 A1, paragraph [063]
; or for better translation see US20190334553 A1, paragraph [0060]; herein
is defined as a Kronecker (English translation: Kronecker) product of log.sub.2(N) matrices F.sub.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Jang with the teachings of Wu by including the distribution of elements in the second generator matrix core satisfies
.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the distribution of elements in the second generator matrix core satisfies
would have improved the data transmission reliability and ensure communication quality (see paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Allowable Subject Matter
15. Claim 13 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112, set forth in this Office action.
Examiner Notes
16. When amending the claims, applicants are respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Prior Art
17. The prior art of record, considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, is listed in the attached PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
18. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL; Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can normally be reached on MON-FRI 8:30 AM-5:00 PM EST, also please fax interview request to (571) 273- 2069.
/OSMAN ALSHACK/
Examiner, Art Unit 2112
/ESAW T ABRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2112