DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the term “disclosed”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is drawn to an “intelligent lockset” that comprises mechanical element. At the instant, it is unclear how the claimed lockset is considered as “an intelligent” lockset, without the controller 60.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, the term “intelligent” will be considered as a label.
Applicant is reminded that where there is physical identity between the subject matter of the claims and the prior art, the label given to the claimed subject matter does not distinguish the invention over the prior art.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “comprises a controller and a second switch”. The claim depends on claim 1, which does not define any other switch so as to name the one in claim 3 as “second switch”. Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, the claim will be interpreted as dependent on claim 2, which requires a first switch. Correction is required.
Claim 9 requires that the main body part of the follower is rotatably disposed on the bottom plate.
At the instant, the limitation is indefinite since the main body part is actually disposed between both, the bottom plate 312 and the face plate 314 (fig 8). Correction is required.
Claim 10, the claim recites that “the main body part comprises a first side surface, a second side surface and a third side surface which are sequentially connected along a circumferential direction of the main body part”. At the instant, the term “sequentially” in combination with the phrase “along a circumferential direction” is indefinite.
As seen above, if the circumferential direction is viewed along a counter wise direction, yes, the surfaces are in sequence. However, as seen above, if the circumferential direction is viewed clockwise, the surfaces are not sequentially, since in order to be sequential; i.e. in order, the surfaces need to be 1st, 2nd and 3rd, while as illustrated, they are 2nd, 1st, and 3rd.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, the limitation will be interpreted as along the circumferential direction being along a counterclockwise direction. Correction is required.
Claim 14 requires that one of the first groove and the second groove is capable of corresponding to the connecting hole, to make the connecting member selectively abut against a groove bottom of one of the first groove and the second groove by passing through the connecting hole.
At the instant, the limitation is indefinite since the member that abuts against a grove bottom is the pin member. The connecting member comprises the grooves, so how it can abut them.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, the limitation will be interpreted as the pin abutting the groove bottoms. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9, 10, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Pat No 9,790,711 to McKibben et al (McKibben).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, McKibben discloses an intelligent lockset that comprises a first base (76, 88); a lock body (64) that comprises a lock case (106) and a latch assembly (54), the lock case being connected to the first base, and the latch assembly being movably disposed in the lock case and being capable of extending or retracting relative to the lock case; and a transmission mechanism that comprises a follower (108), a transmission assembly (82) and a knob shaft (72).
The follower is rotatably disposed in the lock case and being in transmission connection with the latch assembly. The transmission assembly is rotatably disposed on the first base. The knob shaft is configured to penetrate the follower and the transmission assembly, and the transmission assembly is capable of rotating under driving of a driving mechanism (80) and driving the follower to rotate through the knob shaft.
As to claim 5, McKibben discloses that the transmission assembly comprises a rotating seat (84) and a transmission member (98).
The rotating seat is rotatably disposed on the first base, and is coaxially disposed with the follower. The knob shaft is further configured to penetrate through the rotating seat.
The transmission member is sleeved on the rotating seat, and the driving mechanism is in transmission connection with the transmission member, to make the transmission member drive the rotating seat to rotate.
As to claim 6, McKibben discloses that the outer peripheral surface of the rotating seat (84) is convexly provided with a boss, an inner peripheral surface of the transmission member (98) is provided with an arc-shaped slot, the boss is at least partially disposed in the arc-shaped slot, and a width of the boss is smaller than a length of the arc-shaped slot.
As to claim 7, McKibben discloses that the rotating seat (84) comprises a rotating body and a protruding column, the rotating body and the protruding column are substantially cylindrical structures, the protruding column is farther away from the first base relative to the rotating body (with respect to a point of view), a diameter of the protruding column is smaller than a diameter of the rotating body, and the boss is convexly disposed on an outer peripheral surface of the protruding column (where the body and the column meet), wherein, the rotating body is rotatably disposed on the first base, and is coaxially disposed with the follower, the transmission member is sleeved on the rotating body, and the knob shaft is configured to penetrate the rotating body and the protruding column.
As to claim 9, McKibben discloses that the lock case comprises a bottom plate and a face plate (each side of 106). The face plate is covered on the bottom plate.
The follower comprises a main body part (126) and a latch shifting rod (120) extending outwards from the main body part. The main body part is rotatably disposed between the face plate and the bottom plate, and the latch shifting rod is configured to penetrate the latch assembly.
As to claim 10, McKibben discloses that the main body part comprises a first side surface, a second side surface and a third side surface which are provided along a circumferential direction along a counterclockwise direction of the main body part, the latch shifting rod is convexly disposed on the third side surface, the lock body further comprises an elastic piece (110), and the elastic piece is disposed in the lock case, and selectively abuts against the first side surface or the second side surface.
As to claim 17, McKibben discloses that the lockset further comprises a second base (60), the first base and the second base are disposed on two opposite sides of the lock body, and the first base and the second base are symmetrically disposed with respect to a central axis of the lock body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 9,790,711 to McKibben et al (McKibben) in view of US Pat No 10,487,544 to Ainley et al (Ainley).
As to claim 2, McKibben discloses that the intelligent lockset further comprises a controller (88) and a first switch (86). The first switch is disposed on a rotation path of the transmission assembly and is electrically connected to the controller and the driving mechanism, to send a first signal when the transmission assembly drives the latch assembly to extend to a maximum extension position (col 6 line 18, figs 6-9).
However, McKibben fails to disclose that the controller further controls the driving mechanism to stop running according to the first signal.
Ainley teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a controller (140) that receives a signal from a switch (150) regarding the position of a latch mechanism and the controller controls a driving mechanism (72) to stop running according to the signal (col 3 line 58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the controller/switch described by McKibben to allow the stopping of the motor, as taught by Ainley, in order to stop the transmission movement and prevent any damage to the motor.
As to claims 18 and 19, McKibben discloses that the lockset further comprises a resetting detection switch (86) and a controller (88), the resetting detection switch is disposed on a rotation path of the transmission member, and is electrically connected to the driving mechanism, to send a resetting normal signal when the transmission member is reset to an initial state (when is moved back to the original position).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 9,790,711 to McKibben et al (McKibben) in view of US Pat No 10,487,544 to Ainley et al (Ainley) and US Pat No 8,621,900 to Wu et al (Wu).
McKibben fails to disclose that the device comprises 2 switches and that the controller further controls the driving mechanism to stop running according to the switch signals. McKibben discloses one switch (86, 606).
Ainley teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a controller (140) that receives a signal from a switch (150) regarding the position of a latch mechanism and the controller controls a driving mechanism (72) to stop running according to the signal (col 3 line 58).
Wu teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a lockset with two switches (171/172 or 171/173 configuration) that is configured to detect the locked or unlocked positions.
First, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the controller/switch described by McKibben to allow the stopping of the motor, as taught by Ainley, in order to stop the transmission movement and prevent any damage to the motor.
Second, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an additional switch, as taught by Wu, in order to detect each position. Applicant is reminded that duplicating the components of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 9,790,711 to McKibben et al (McKibben) in view of in view of US Pat No 4,664,433 to Solovieff.
McKibben discloses that the lock case comprises a lining plate, an outer sleeve and an inner sleeve, the outer sleeve is sleeved on the inner sleeve and the latch assembly is configured to penetrate the inner sleeve and the lining plate, and is capable of extending or retracting relative to the lining plate.
However, McKibben fails to disclose that the lining plate is connected to a side of the outer sleeve. McKibben discloses that is connected to a side of the inner sleeve.
Solovieff teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a lock case that comprises a lining plate (106), an outer sleeve (102) and an inner sleeve (104), wherein the outer sleeve is the one connected to a side of a lining plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the outer sleeve described by McKibben connected to the lining plate, as taught by Solovieff, since it would be considered as a design consideration on which sleeve being connected to the plate that will not affect the mechanism and function of the device.
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 9,790,711 to McKibben et al (McKibben) in view of in view of US Pat No 4,664,433 to Solovieff and further in view of US Pat No 4,725,086 to Shen.
As to claim 12, McKibben discloses that the latch assembly comprises a latch body and a latch connecting member defining a transmission section (by 122).
McKibben, as modified by Solovieff, fails to disclose that the latch body and the latch connecting member are two separate elements fastened together so as to change the backset of the latch assembly. McKibben discloses a different adjustment, by adjusting the sleeves.
Shen teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a latch assembly that comprises a latch body (3) and a latch connecting member (4) fastened together so as to adjust the backset of the assembly.
The latch body comprises an installing hole and a connecting hole (31), the installing hole is disposed along an axial direction of the latch body, and is configured for installing the latch body to the latch connecting member, and the connecting hole is disposed along a radial direction of the latch body, on an end of the latch body close to the latch connecting member, and communicates with the installing hole, to make the connecting member pass through the connecting hole and be fixedly connected to the latch connecting member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the latch assembly described by McKibben, as modified by Solovieff, as separate elements fastened together, as taught by Shen, in order to provide a more stable way to adjust the backset of the device without moving the sleeves of the lock case.
As to claim 13, Shen teaches that the latch connecting member comprises a connecting section and the connecting member is capable of being connected to the connecting section by passing through the connecting hole.
As to claim 14, Shen teaches that the connecting section is provided with a first groove and a second groove (421, 422) which are sequentially disposed along a length direction of the face plate, wherein the second groove is farther away from the latch connecting member relative to the first groove, and one of the first groove and the second groove is capable of corresponding to the connecting hole, to make the connecting member selectively abut against a groove bottom of one of the first groove and the second groove by passing through the connecting hole, to fixedly connect the latch connecting member to the latch body.
As to claim 15, Shen teaches that the connecting section is further provided with a communicating slot (at 42), and the first groove communicates with the second groove through the communicating slot, to make the connecting member be capable of moving from a position corresponding to the first groove to a position corresponding to the second groove through the communicating slot.
As to claim 16, Shen teaches that a side of the transmission section away from the face plate is further provided with a protrusion, the bottom plate is provided with a guiding slot extending along a length direction of the face plate, and the protrusion is configured to penetrate the guiding slot, and is configured to limit a moving direction of the latch connecting member, to make the latch connecting member move along the length direction of the face plate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
February 19, 2026