DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0243429 A1 (“Lee”) in view of US 2021/0092397 A1 (“Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a method performed by a video decoding device for intra-predicting a current block, the method comprising:
decoding, from a bitstream (e.g. see image decoding apparatus 200 in Fig. 2 decoding bitstream, paragraphs [0070]-[0071]), an intra-prediction mode of the current block (e.g. see intra-prediction mode, paragraphs [0081], [0093]);
deriving a reference line group of the current block, the reference line group comprising at least one reference line (e.g. see plurality of reference sample lines includes adjacent reference sample line and non-adjacent reference sample lines, paragraphs [0132]-[0136]);
deriving a reference line within the reference line group, wherein the reference line in the reference line group is indicated by a reference line candidate index (e.g. see index information, e.g. intra_luma_ref_idx, identifying a reference sample line for the current block, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0134], [0137]); and
generating a predictor of the current block by using the reference line according to the intra-prediction mode (e.g. see intra prediction, e.g. 235 in Fig. 2, paragraph [0149]).
Although Lee discloses the reference line group of the current block, it is noted Lee differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose wherein the reference line group of the current block comprises a blended reference line derived by weighted-blending a plurality of reference line candidates. Kim however, teaches wherein the reference line group of the current block comprises a blended reference line derived by weighted-blending a plurality of reference line candidates (e.g. see two or more of a plurality of reference pixel lines may be selected to perform intra prediction using the corresponding reference pixel line (e.g., applying a weighted average, etc. to each reference pixel line data), paragraph [0219]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Lee and Kim before him/her, to modify the Method for encoding/decoding video signal and apparatus therefor of Lee with the teachings of Kim in order to improve the efficiency of intra prediction.
Regarding claim 4, Lee further discloses wherein the reference line group comprises: a reference line adjacent to the current block (e.g. see plurality of reference sample lines includes adjacent reference sample line and non-adjacent reference sample lines, paragraphs [0132]-[0136]).
Regarding claim 5, Lee further discloses wherein deriving the reference line group (e.g. see plurality of reference sample lines includes adjacent reference sample line and non-adjacent reference sample lines, paragraphs [0132]-[0136]) comprises: decoding, from the bitstream, a reference line group index indicative of the reference line group (e.g. see index information, e.g. intra_luma_ref_idx, identifying a reference sample line for the current block, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0134], [0137]); and determining, among a plurality of reference line groups, a reference line group indicated by the reference line group index (e.g. see index information, e.g. intra_luma_ref_idx, identifying a reference sample line for the current block, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0134], [0137]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee further discloses wherein deriving the reference line group comprises: selecting the reference line group from a plurality of reference line groups based on block features that include all or part of features of the current block, features of an adjacent block of the current block, features of a block reconstructed earlier than the current block, and features of a collocated block with the current block in another referenceable picture and an adjacent block of the collocated block (e.g. see at least setting of candidate reference sample lines of non-adjacent reference sample line based on size or shape or intra prediction mode, paragraphs [0132]-[0136]; also see paragraph [0149]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee further discloses wherein deriving the reference line within the reference line group comprises: decoding the reference line candidate index from the bitstream (e.g. see index information, e.g. intra_luma_ref_idx, identifying a reference sample line for the current block, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0134], [0137]); and determining a reference line indicated by the reference line candidate index (e.g. see index information, e.g. intra_luma_ref_idx, identifying a reference sample line for the current block, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0134], [0137]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee further discloses wherein deriving the reference line within the reference line group comprises: selecting the reference line candidate index based on block features that include all or part of features of the current block, features of an adjacent block of the current block, features of a block reconstructed earlier than the current block, and features of a collocated block with the current block in another referenceable picture and an adjacent block of the collocated block (e.g. see index information, e.g. intra_luma_ref_idx, identifying a reference sample line for the current block based on the size or shape or intra prediction mode, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0134], [0137]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee further discloses wherein the reference line candidate index indicates which reference line is to be used within the reference line group (e.g. see index information, e.g. intra_luma_ref_idx, identifying a reference sample line for the current block, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0134], [0137]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee further discloses wherein the reference line candidate index is determined according to a mapping between the reference line candidate index and a reference line index that indicates a reference line of the current block (e.g. see index information, e.g. intra_luma_ref_idx, identifying a reference sample line for the current block, e.g. as shown in Fig. 7 and/or Table 1, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0134]; also see, paragraph [0137]).
Regarding claims 12, 16, the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 2-3, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kim in further view of US 2022/0030226 A1 (“Lee2”).
Regarding claim 2, although Lee discloses deriving the reference line group (e.g. see plurality of reference sample lines includes adjacent reference sample line and non-adjacent reference sample lines, paragraphs [0132]-[0136]), it is noted Lee differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose further comprising: decoding, from the bitstream, a selective multiple reference line (MRL) flag that indicates whether multiple reference lines are to be applied selectively for the current block; and checking the selective MRL flag; wherein when the selective MRL flag is true, the method further comprises: deriving the reference line group. Lee2 however, teaches further comprising: decoding, from the bitstream, a selective multiple reference line (MRL) flag that indicates whether multiple reference lines are to be applied selectively for the current block (e.g. see indicator indicating whether multiple reference sample lines are utilized for prediction signaled, e.g. mrl_enabled_flag, paragraphs [0365]-[0368]); and checking the selective MRL flag (e.g. see indicator indicating whether multiple reference sample lines are utilized for prediction signaled, e.g. mrl_enabled_flag, paragraphs [0365]-[0368]; thus, its indication is checked to determine if MRL is utilized or not); wherein when the selective MRL flag is true, the method further comprises: deriving the reference line group (e.g. see when the indicator indicates that multiple reference lines are used, reference sample line indexes are also signaled, paragraphs [0365]-[0368]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Lee, Kim and Lee2 before him/her, to incorporate the teachings of Lee2 into the Method for encoding/decoding video signal and apparatus therefor of Lee as modified by Kim in order to provide an image encoding/decoding method and apparatus with improved encoding/decoding efficiency.
Regarding claim 3, although Lee discloses determining a reference line adjacent to the current block as a reference line of the current block (e.g. see adjacent reference sample line, paragraph [0150]); and generating a predictor of the current block by using the reference line according to the intra-prediction mode (e.g. see intra prediction, e.g. 235 in Fig. 2, paragraph [0149]), it is noted Lee differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose when the selective MRL flag is false. Lee2 however, teaches further comprising, when the selective MRL flag is false: determining a reference line adjacent to the current block as a reference line of the current block; and generating a predictor of the current block by using the reference line according to the intra-prediction mode (e.g. see indicator indicating whether multiple reference sample lines are utilized for prediction signaled, e.g. mrl_enabled_flag, paragraphs [0365]-[0368]; thus, if mrl_enabled_flag is false, then adjacent reference sample line is used for intra prediction as disclosed by Lee). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 2 applies here.
Regarding claims 13-15, the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kim in further view US 2018/0332284 A1 (“Liu”).
Regarding claim 11, although Lee discloses when the reference line group comprises one reference line (e.g. see adjacent reference sample line, paragraphs [0132]-[0136], [0150]), it is noted Lee differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose further comprising, when the reference line group comprises one reference line: decoding the reference line candidate index or inferring the reference line candidate index to be zero. Liu however, teaches further comprising, when the reference line group comprises one reference line: decoding the reference line candidate index or inferring the reference line candidate index to be zero (e.g. see reference index is inferred to be equal to zero, paragraphs [0107], [0111]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Lee, Kim and Liu before him/her, to incorporate the teachings of Liu into the Method for encoding/decoding video signal and apparatus therefor of Lee as modified by Kim in order to improve compression and decompression techniques that improve compression ratio with little to no sacrifice in image quality.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2025/0071259 A1, Sato et al., Intra prediction with multiple reference lines
US 2024/0244185 A1, Filippov et al., Adaptive offset multiple reference line coding
US 2025/0227245 A1, Lim, Image encoding/decoding method and apparatus
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Francis Geroleo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619