DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,102,564. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the prior patented claims encompass all of the limitations of the instant claims and therefore anticipate them.
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,102,564 in view of Claus et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0278983) hereinafter referred to as Claus; in view of Hipsley et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0105200) hereinafter referred to as Hipsley.
Prior patented claims teach all of the instant claims excepting for wherein the treatment region setting unit divides the set treatment region into a plurality of sub-regions based on a patient's eyeground condition, and wherein the radiation density setting unit sets the radiation density of the treatment beam for each of the plurality of sub-regions.
Attention is drawn to the Claus reference, which teaches wherein a treatment region setting unit divides a set treatment region into a plurality of sub-regions based on a patient's eyeground condition (¶¶[0117-0119] plurality of treatment locations in a treatment plan overlaid over a real-time image of the total treatment area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the treatment planning of the patent claims in U.S. Patent No. 12,102,564 to include sub-division into treatment locations, as taught by Claus, because Claus that the developed treatment plan may optimize laser parameters to improve the procedure in a variety of ways, such as improving effectiveness, reducing time, minimizing necrosis, etc. (Claus ¶[0093]).
U.S. Patent No. 12,102,564 as modified does not teach wherein the radiation density setting unit sets the radiation density of the treatment beam for each of the plurality of sub-regions.
Attention is drawn to the Hipsley reference, which teaches a radiation density setting unit sets the radiation density of the treatment beam for each of a plurality of sub-regions (Fig. 1A-4, ¶[0175], ¶[0567]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the laser parameter setting of U.S. Patent No. 12,102,564 as modified to include per location density setting, as taught by Hipsley, because the adjustable dose and inflammation control provided by adjustable micropore density minimize unfavorable outcomes such as coagulation zones (Hipsley ¶[0567]).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: display unit, treatment region setting unit, treatment beam radiating unit, radiation density setting unit, and control unit, in claim 1; and display unit in claim 19.
The display unit is depicted in Fig. 1.
The treatment region setting unit is disclosed in Fig. 2 as part of a general purpose computer.
The treatment beam radiating unit is depicted in Fig. 1-2.
The radiation density setting unit is disclosed in Fig. 2 as part of a general purpose computer.
The control unit is disclosed in Fig. 2 as part of a general purpose computer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0331585) hereinafter referred to as Kim; in view of Claus et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0278983) hereinafter referred to as Claus; in view of Hipsley et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0105200) hereinafter referred to as Hipsley.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an ophthalmic treatment apparatus (Abstract) comprising:
a display unit for displaying an image of a patient's eyeground (Fig. 11);
a treatment region setting unit for setting a treatment region on the basis of the image of the patient's eyeground (¶[0037] determine location through display unit interface);
a treatment beam radiating unit for radiating a treatment beam to the set treatment region (¶[0005], ¶[0037]);
a radiation density setting unit for setting radiation density of the treatment beam radiated to the set treatment region (¶[0075], ¶[0082], the examiner interprets “radiation density of the treatment beam radiated to the set treatment region” as the spot density of treatment beams radiated to the region); and
a control unit for controlling the treatment beam radiating unit so as to radiate the treatment beam onto the set treatment region on the basis of the set density (¶[0082], ¶[0084]).
Kim does not teach wherein the treatment region setting unit divides the set treatment region into a plurality of sub-regions based on a patient's eyeground condition, and wherein the radiation density setting unit sets the radiation density of the treatment beam for each of the plurality of sub-regions.
Attention is drawn to the Claus reference, which teaches wherein a treatment region setting unit divides a set treatment region into a plurality of sub-regions based on a patient's eyeground condition (¶¶[0117-0119] plurality of treatment locations in a treatment plan overlaid over a real-time image of the total treatment area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the treatment planning of Kim to include sub-division into treatment locations, as taught by Claus, because Claus that the developed treatment plan may optimize laser parameters to improve the procedure in a variety of ways, such as improving effectiveness, reducing time, minimizing necrosis, etc. (Claus ¶[0093]).
Kim as modified does not teach wherein the radiation density setting unit sets the radiation density of the treatment beam for each of the plurality of sub-regions.
Attention is drawn to the Hipsley reference, which teaches a radiation density setting unit sets the radiation density of the treatment beam for each of a plurality of sub-regions (Fig. 1A-4, ¶[0175], ¶[0567]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the laser parameter setting of Kim as modified to include per location density setting, as taught by Hipsley, because the adjustable dose and inflammation control provided by adjustable micropore density minimize unfavorable outcomes such as coagulation zones (Hipsley ¶[0567]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified teaches the ophthalmic treatment apparatus of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the set treatment region is displayed in an overlapping manner on an eyeground image displayed on the display unit (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the ophthalmic treatment apparatus of claim 2.
Kim further teaches wherein information about the set radiation density is displayed in an overlapping manner on the eyeground image displayed on the display unit (Fig. 11, shading).
Hipsley also teaches wherein information about the set radiation density is displayed in an overlapping manner on the eyeground image displayed on the display unit (Fig. 2K-18, Fig. 2K-19).
Regarding claim 4, Kim as modified teaches the ophthalmic treatment apparatus of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the radiation density setting unit provides a plurality of options corresponding to various radiation densities to a user through the display unit (Fig. 11, Density slider, dot patterns).
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified teaches the ophthalmic treatment apparatus of claim 4.
Kim further teaches wherein the plurality of options is provided using at least one of a plurality of dot patterns distributed at different densities (Fig. 11, dot patterns).
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified teaches the ophthalmic treatment apparatus of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the radiation density setting unit is configured so that the user may directly input a radiation density value, and displays a distribution shape corresponding to the input radiation density value to the user (Fig. 11, Density slider, dot patterns).
Regarding claim 7, Kim as modified teaches the ophthalmic treatment apparatus of claim 3.
Kim further teaches wherein the information about the set radiation density displayed on the display unit is displayed using at least any one of a dot pattern distributed at a set density, a color, a shade, a pattern, or a value (Fig. 11, dot patterns, and shaded portion).
Hipsley also teaches wherein information about the set radiation density is displayed in an overlapping manner on the eyeground image displayed on the display unit (Fig. 2K-18, Fig. 2K-19).
Regarding claim 8, Kim as modified teaches the ophthalmic treatment apparatus of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the display unit displays an eyeground sample chart in which main organs of the eyeground are schematically displayed, and the treatment region setting unit sets the treatment region on the eyeground sample chart (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 9, Kim as modified teaches the ophthalmic treatment apparatus of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the display unit displays an eyeground sample chart in which main organs of the eyeground are schematically illustrated so as to set the radiation density of the treatment beam and the set treatment region is displayed, and the radiation density setting unit sets the information about the set radiation density in the treatment region displayed on the eyeground sample chart (Fig. 11, dot patterns, and shaded portion).
Hipsley also teaches wherein information about the set radiation density is displayed on an eyeground image displayed on a display unit (Fig. 2K-18, Fig. 2K-19).
Regarding claims 11-17/19-20, the claims are directed to a method comprising substantially the same subject matter as claims 1-10 and are rejected under substantially the same sections of Kim, Claus, and Hipsley.
Claim(s) 10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Claus, and Hipsley as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Ha (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0243936).
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Kim as modified teaches the ophthalmic treatment apparatus/method of claim 1/11.
Kim as modified does not teach wherein, for each of the plurality of sub-regions, the treatment beam radiating unit randomly radiates the treatment beam to the sub-region at the set radiation density.
Attention is brought to the Ha reference, which teaches wherein, for each of a plurality of sub-regions, the treatment beam radiating unit randomly radiates the treatment beam to the sub-region at the set radiation density (¶¶[0043-0044], Fig. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the radiation pattern of Kim as modified to include random delivery, as taught by Ha, to avoid unwanted destruction of tissue due to a degradation phenomenon (Ha, ¶[0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0058367 to Dantus teaches varying spot density to improve patient outcomes.
/AMANDA L STEINBERG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3792